(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

O. The aviva insurance sound good..

Any anyone share the details with me. or weblink to read..

Ya. This thread instead is moving fast..
Hi Pat, Today you haven active yourself. No posting from you..

juxta....
tats a wise choice!!

cos i calculated, its really worth it lo!!
FREE COVERAGE wo.... so attractive!

for those who are interested to convert to Aviva, i can ask my frd to help cos she's actively helping mummies to do this..

tks tks..

re: bb pampers
ya.. just buy wat is enuf first.. cos u wun know if bb can fit in e size of each brand cos each brand has their own cutting, types of materials, velcro sides or those plastic tapes type..
just try 1-2 brands and see which brand u r more comfy and bb no rash..

oh talking abt tis.. mummies, dun forget to buy nappy rash cream for your new born to prevent diaper rash..

mummies..
anyone keen to go for photoshoot at studioloft?
cos one mummy, May is gg to do bp for this wo..

sounds quite affordable.. but hv to consult hb first.. :p:p

LovJ,
maybe i pass u my frd's number for more clarifications?? easier bah..

dun worry, she's nt those pushy types..

she's a mummy herself.. hee...

Ciarie, hehe yeah gotta do the sums right, if i didnt take up aviva i'd need to pay for 4 heads! now i only pay for hb and myself, the kids get it free. But this free coverage is for restructured hospital hor although we got ourselves covered to the max, cos in their opinion KKH is the best for kids. For those who's got the budget or think is necessary, my gf highly recommends Great Eastern for this medishield.

din know aviva got such a good deal, me & hubby already tied to prudential, not wise to switch cos that would mean all the premiums paid gone down the drain, so baby will follow the same plus we will up our coverage also.
think most important thing with insurance plicy is not abt cutting cost, must ensure the policy we sign up cover all the concerns, eg. sufficient fund for baby future education or we are able to leave behind enough money to raise him/her should anything happen to us, worst still, if we lost ability to work (permanent disable) we still can rely on insurance..
i know some parents even go to the extend of appointing trustee/guardian to ensure no mis-use of insurance fund should anything happen to them and they are not around to oversee the use of insurance fund..

So many posting.. Lost track already hehe....

Hi Jas J,

THe FBI's free insurance is from AXA not AIA. I meet the agent already. The plan ok la but is paying you cash on top of your basic plan claim so you still need a basic plan or else the money claimable not enough to cover too.

Re: Insurance
I have start looking for my bb hehe... Kia su.. So far I found TM Asia is the cheapest even cheaper than NTUC (for Life & Endownment). Thinking to get the Hospitalize coverage from NTUC but my agent told me AIA coming out with one 100% coverage soon but not firm yet. SO better wait see.

My agent told me baby can get coverage after 1 month from their birth date le.

Re: Heartburn
Anyone can tell me how is heartburn feel like? I don't know whether I have or not le..

Re: Diapers
Mummies, anyone here plan to go for cheap diapers? Any opinion about Pet Pet? Any other preference that not so costly?

Hi LovJ,

If you thinking to BF, think too fast to buy milk powder now le cause also not sure how long you can BF.

Re: Nanny
I am lucky. Found a nanny near my house only charge me $500/ month for baby but price will increase around 50-80 more after bb start eating porridge. Hehe... Cheaper than hire a maid coz maid need salary$330+levy$170+food+expenses staying at your house. Haha... Me very calculative.

Yvonne, if i'm not mistaken, the CPF linked medishield is paid yearly and is all cost no returns until u need to utlise it. So it doesnt matter if u switch halfway, only the std life , endowment etc cannot be terminated b4 maturity w/o seeing a lost.

I've also did a will (not say we're well off haha) but just to get all these matters settled. As 2 of my insurance were bought b4 I got married and I cannot change the beneficiaries, only way is to assign a will

Hi Ciarie,

I agree with you that Aviva is cheap cause give free coverage for bb upto 20yo. My agent also ask me to change to Aviva initially but I don't wanna let go my income shield enhance + rider that i bought last time with 100% coverage cause can't find any plan with 100% at the moment. Die die don't wanna let go hehe....

oh yes, the medishield one has got no different, even if you switch, CPF will pro-rate the premium and refund you the balance. i refer to other policies that we have like life and investment linked that cover critical illnesses like cancer etc..

Hi Juxta,

FYI, Will not able to overwrite the normination you have made directly to insurance company. You have to change your normination with the insurance company directly if you norminate before. Will can only overwrite the standard rules set like if you are married without kids, 50% for parent and 50% for husband. With kids, 50 for husband 50 for kids and left your parents with nothing.

By the way, another things need to know is if you are older than your husband. Anything happen to both of you on the same time, standard rule will split your wealth first as your age is higher to 50 to husband too (althought he no longer here) and 50 for kids. And after that, split your hubby's 150% to 50 for his parents & 50 for his kids and left your parents with nothing again.

Yvonne, these thoughts only came after I had a child and also seeing an uncle pass away suddenly and the wife and child had to scramble around to get his estates settled.

I didnt get an endowment plan for my boy, my hb thinks is better to have cash that can be liquidated for investments rather than tied up with something that will be penalised for terminating b4 maturity. Frankly, I'm not good at this investment part. End of the day, insurance are made for different ppl with different needs, so get the one u feel works best. haha

bargainhunter, i'll check with my agent on the nomination again, the last time i spoke to her, she told me the will will work best in all cases. Anyways I'm not intending to leave everything to my hb if i'm to go earlier, my hb can take care of himself!! i'm very bad i know, but seeing so many cases of remarriage after the wife passed on, i dun want my money to get to the wrong person wahahaha, afterall they're my flesh and blood! life is practical and so cruel!!

Jas.J,

Oh izzit AIA, i think its not from AIA leh.. Aiyo, now i feel so worry that i may not have a place for my bb leh... : (

Pravina,

My fren also paid $214 for the class, cos she is delivering at Mt A. I think only pple who deliver at TMC and has the FBI membership has the discount.

I think it will be good for us to try breastfeeding our BB direct for the 1st few mths, and we should try to switch to bottle feed 2 weeks or a mth before we return to work. likewise, we can still continue to breastfeed them direct after work. I think i got this infor from a talk which i attended 1-2 mth ago.

Think for breastfeeding mom, we still need to think of what formular milk do we wanna give our bb in case we may not have sufficient milk flow for the 1st few days or weeks. before we leave our hospital can try to get few bottle milk samples from our hospital one.if you are not buying any to standby, best to let hubby know which brand u wan, so i case when we need it while we r having our confinement, hubby can do the shopping.. same for some bb products.

LovJ,

My fren recommended me fisco (i think wrong spelling) & enfa, cos it has less bubble or sometimes like that, so can reduce the risk of colic/ wind. She said enfa is better than fisco, but price is of cos higher too..

I have already stock up the diapers for my bb for up to 3mths le..i think the best diapers would be Pampers (abt $26+ from NTUC), material is v gentle and good for bb, but super ex lor, so i bought only 2 big pack for 1st mth use), I bought drypers, S size, 54 pcs i think , 2 paxs @ $24+ during discounts at shop & save. other than that i bought 4 huggies (purple package S size, good for over night use, heard can last atleast 8 hrs)and 4 huggies (blue package, S size, money saving for day use) brought from JB with discount so probably cant compare the price.

Ciarie,

I did check and i guess thats the only infantcare le...the other two nearest one would be at bukit batok which i need to take a bus..

i realised my earlier post may be offending to some, but just coming from a mom who's thinking of the best for the kids when she's not around anymore, dun take it personally ya!

bargainhunter3,
that's a very good piece of info, i m like juxta, don't intend to leave anything for my hubby, haha.. (better make sure he don't read this post)..
so will write a will. i did not do nomination for all my insurance policies, was being advised that this is the best way..

for those who intend to deliver at Mt.A, anyone signing up for the childbirth education classes, i intend to do that after CNY, it cost $160+ for weekday classes and $180+ for weekend classes..

Tingting arh, about the bubble tea hor, my place selling $1.20 but at my work place selling $1 leh. My place there cheat me of $0.20!!

Yvonne, if your gynae says it's ok, I think you should be fine. Just continue being very careful coz at 26wks, bb is still quite small to be out. So if you really do feel contractions, faster contact gynae. Something can still be done to keep your baby in.

LoveJ, I busy today leh. Really feel like posting with abandon like yesterday but I think quite hard liao. So I may have to revert to being a by-stander. Just reading posts coz cannot catch up keke.

yvonne..
think it will not go down to drain.. cos think they will refund you for those "unused" premium..
tats wat happen to me when i switch from AIA to Income last yr.. w/o knowing Aviva has gt this free coverage for kids.. den i preggie le!
SHARKS!!

re: diaper
ive tried using pet pet, seems bit leaky.. but my frd said she's been using it, and said very good!
but now, my #1 use Fairprice housebrand diaper for daytime, and Mamy poko for night time...

note: fairprice housebrand sometimes have good promo, den can save $$.. whereas pet pet, thou price almost e same, but sometimes they have dun further disc like FP housebrand..

for new born, i've used Mamy poko new born, den subsequently, changed to e cheaper ones to reduce cost..

anyone know what is the benefit of eating birdnest?? i have been eating it for abt a mth already but not sure if it worth the price i pay or not, altho it is not the expensive type. my mum got it for me from malaysia, is abt S$100 for a box of 8 pieces, last check the price went up already, so wonder should i continue eating..

JamGal & I are attending Mt A's antenatal classes which started 2 wks ago. Think it's good for 1st time mummies..

Juxta, very good planning you have leh. I also need to sit down and plan liao.

Okay dear mummies, keep your posts going so that I can have an interesting read when i've got time to spare!!!

Enjoy

re: will writing
think right now, only NTUC Income's policies allow a nomination, all others will have to write a will...

which i havent do so.. but i do agree w juxta, i wld want to leave everything to my son, than to my hb if i pass on earlier...

bt of cos, if i have those unpaid properties, i have to make sure things also gets covered so my hb dun have to struggle w paying house loans cos we're double income family..

re: birdnest
heard my hb's frd gt lobang for bulk purchase in kilo... nt too sure still hv or nt lo.
but e birdnest from msia.. think quality is quite ok one..
whether does it really help, i seriously dunno wo..

bt i heard cordysep does helps to nutriente bb's "fei" so i will brew and heard must also eat e cordysep as well, jic all e nutrients dun come out, at least i still eat up e cordysep and not waste any single bit lo..

mummies who dun have enuf "qi", go buy "dang sheng" and "pao sheng" to brew and drink.. good to pu "qi" and it will come in handy during delivery stage!

pat, is it? i've only bought at $1.50..

re: breastfeeding

would really discourage thinking of using infant formula as a backup, if mums really want to establish a good milk flow. bbs don't really need food in the first few days of their life, cos they have stores accumulated while in us. and the "little" supply that comes out is colostrum, which is not supposed to be volumous in the first place, so when pple express n find little coming out, they tend to think that their supply is not sufficient. if u supplement with formula early on, bb will not stimulate ur milk production as much as they should, and it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy that ur supply is not enough. At most, get a sample tin of formula fr the clinic as standby, and try your best not to use it.

<u>RE: Confinement Agency/ Food Delivery</u>
Pravina! I went back and dug out the Oct08 issue of Mother &amp; Baby. Hope it helps!

Confinement
1) GPLS Confinement Care Agency
(Website is easily found by google search. I am unable to post due to restriction in the words)
2) A-Team Amahs &amp; Cleaners
www.a-team.com.sg

Food Delivery
1) Natal Essentials Pte Ltd
www.natalessentials.com
2) New Baby Pte Ltd
www.newbaby.com.sg

You may need to do some research to get feedbacks!! I've scanned the article. So if you would like to have a read, just pm me your email then I send to u ya?

Wah Pink Piglet,

You already stock up the diaper liao..

Hee Hee. Chinese New year is coming. I had crazing for Pineapple tart, but heard that we cant eat Pineapple. Is it true?

Ciarie,
Nuk Premium teats fit into AVENT bottles?? That's good news! A great backup in case baby reject avent teats! Have you tried it? And does it leak? I like nuk teats.. and the avent "bottles". haaa..

RE: Birdnest
I actually have no idea if it helps baby or mummy. But I do realise that my skin condition improve after taking birdnest! So I just take it!! Yum yum!

RE: Insurance
I know nothing about it! So the postings are really informative!! Good to know FBI comes with some short-term insurance plan!

RE: Breastfeeding => Breastpump
Tingting, would you suggest getting a breastpump after delivery or before since the initial supply is not a lot? Initially, I thought a good breastpump would help encourage supply!!

baby_mummy,
Thanx so much for the info!! will def get info on that..=)

Pineapples
i hear its not good for 1st trimester.. i've had it as cut fruits but eat in moderation...
plus i think pineapple jam shd be safe right?? its soo processed; shd not hv any effect..
Again, to check with gynae

Wills, insurance etc
i have not really thot abt starting on wills but makes sense to start early.
as for insurance, i thot i saw some coverage for 0-6mth babies.. lemmknow go look for it again.. mebbe i see wrongly!

Breastmilk vs Formula,
i think i will def try to BF and see if it goes well for a mth or 2. Colostrum is for baby's early development so wortha try plus i hear it helps to lose weight more efficiently.. how true that is.. i'll update after a few mths!! =P

all this talk abt honey green tea with pearls got to me.. and i got one today for S$1.20... very nice!! very refreshing!!! hoping not to get hooked onto it!! =P

anyone taking chicken essence during pregnancy? was thinking of starting on some.. is it better to try the ones with cordyceps?? btw i did not understand the "pu" and "qi" and stuff..><

Mt A or TMC??
cant decide which one yet.. my gynae said he can deliver at either... so will go and check out TMC next..will check into TMC's antenatal classes too!!
Thanx for the info , Pink-piglet! =D

pat...
wat happen? hw come today so bz??
me also getting bz.. trying to meet all e ad-hoc reports request.. see data until my eyes crossed le..

have all mummies taken tea break??
and bubble tea lovers.. dun indulge too much in sweet stuff ok..

Hi Baby_mummy.

Wah Confinment meal is expensive leh.. at least 1000 plus for a month supply..

Everything cost money. wah.. think most of you all here are rich mummy.. heehee

Ya loh! I wonder how much confinement lady &amp; meals delivery would cost 10 years down the road!!

Anyways, those are recommended by magazines.. so I believe there could be cheaper options available!! Need to do lots of research.. to save save save!

RE: Pineapples!
I know pineaples cause cramps! Hence not recommended. I didn't know it then and bought a super sweet pineapple when I was 5wks and indulge! Kenna cramps leh! Felt very uncomfortable the whole day! Lucky nothing happen to baby! Else I'll be so guilt ridden!

Not sure if baked ones will have any effect though.. but I think take in moderation should be fine.. depending on individual's health constitution!

ya. think I really need to save for my baby.. Being a mummy is not easy..

still need to think of insurance.. confinement, baby product.. and etc etc

Hai.. I really envy those ppl that can give birth to 3 kids and low income earner.. Wonder how they do it..

RE: Tea Break
I was so hungry just now although I had a packet of chicken rice for lunch + apple juice!!

Lucky someone came by with a yummy muffin!! Tea break!!

RE: Block Ears
I recall someone mention about blocked ears!! I also suffer from it! Only my left year! Makes having conversation so difficult.. as I can hear my own voice...
Any solution for this??

Hope for more govt subsidy?? :p

Many mommies &amp; daddies actually told me that with the increased subsidy, the childcare centres also took the opportunity to increase the COST!!

And the difference between now and the implementation of the new higher subsidy on the nett childcare cost can be as much as $100/mth!

Sigh... and I thought the subsidy is for us.. not the childcare centres...

Ciarie,

wow, so is the Aviva plan ex? and what kinda plan izzit? cos i'm already covered under the enhance incomeshield from NTUC. Where i will enjoy 100% coverage if i'm hospitalize or undergo any opertions (expect for child birth). But i heard from my agent that now they only cover 90%. Thats why i feel like checking the one offer by great eastern lor (i know they do have similar plan just unsure whether they have adjusted their coverage like NTUC anot lor..

Actually for me hor i may not allocate any % of coverage to my BB leh, I may allocate more to my parents compare to my hubby. cos who know if i mati, will my hubby find another love few yrs later and spend my money on his new family..touch wood...

if i leave the money to my parents i'm quite sure they will keep the money to my child. the reason why i dint wan allocate the $ to my child is that they can only use the money when they reach 21... i think it will be a burden to the family lor. cos it happened to a relative of mine. and whats the use of giving the kids the money when they already grown up (21 yrs old)and be more independent le..

thats just my tots lor...

LovJ,

I think the pineapple tarts are still ok ba.. actually during the prenatal class, the trainer did mentioned that its true that in olden days pple use it to abort BB, however, they were using green pineapple (not ripe ones), and infact the ripe ones are high in Vits, so taking them r actually fine.

Ya confinement meals r ex..confinement lady also v ex, and thats excluding the amt spend on buting the food wo..my confinement lady from KL cost $2k..but my mom is sponsoring for me..heehee..
cos i think she has no confident if she were to do for me..

Pravina,

Hmmm...actually i did contact Brands' somewhere in my 1st trime to enquire whether its fine for preggie mom to take their chicken essense. They told me its good to take chicken essense, but they mentioned maybe to just purely take the normal ones (without cordyceps etc ones).

baby mummy,

yes, it's true, in fact ever since govt informed of the increase of infantcare subsidies..many childcare starts increasing their charges, saying they need more expertise or saying that the salary of the childcare teachers r too low.. i think its v mean of them leh..

probably the situation will be improve after more infant &amp; childcare centres are open lor...but i think papers mentioned that in 5 yrs time leh...sianz...maybe we should try to feedback to the govt hor..

baby_mummy,
i hv both my ears blocked, blurred eyesight and heightened smell..its actually not a nice feeling when i keep asking ppl to repeat what they say to me!!
plus everything smells bad to me, esp eating outdoors.. i smell the foodcourt from a distance and i hv to run to the toilet to puke!!
cant stand perfumes, coffees, smoke, garlic.. anything very pungent.
as a result, i dun eat out much, have to do take-away food.
i read that all these heightened "capabilities" will go away after delivery and the hormones go back to regular levels.
Advised not to have lasik surgery while pregnant as it will alter your corrected sight.

babies are expensive and really have to watch the expenditure; some things can aviod, but most hv become essential lah!!
everyone's been so pessimistic abt 2009 so best we mummies gear up by saving!!
=D

lovJ,

hey we dont have the envy those pple who have many kids (w low income) i'm working in social service sectors..have been seeing poor kids who have not been well fed..really pity the kids not the parents lor..cos the parents cant even be bother to find a job.

I ever seen parents who feed their BB with i condense milk for Tea from coffee shops.. thats v terrible lor. and yet the wife may be still expecting w no 3/4/5..

Pink_piglet,
Thanx for the brands info... i have the normal ones but read in this thread that cordyceps brewed is good so thot can buy the essence with cordyceps

pravina,

hmmm...actually my gynae did told me thats its true that certain herbs are really good for preg moms. however, we wont know that real quality and source of the herbs..more over, they r mainly from China. and some of the low quality herbs does carry mecury..so she advice me not to take.

So I didnt take any lor. more over my mama is not v pangtang so i dont have pressure from her.. But she do prepare me birdnest for both me &amp; my SIL who is also expecting.

pravina, i took childbirth education classes for me first one but not from hospital. i felt hospital ones like not v useful leh, it's stuff i can read, and besides they have free classes and they show the videos during my stay at the hospital. so i went for hypnobirthing classes with www.fourtrimesters.com, found it v helpful. i also wrote a birth plan, but found my doc was not very supportive of my preferences (can understand his reasons).

for this one, i haven't written one yet. but should be quite similar to my first one. this time round, doc is supportive of my desire for natural birth.

pat, well that is what they always say--that chances of successful natural birth is not as high with mothers who had c-section before. i guess it's coz of the risk of the uterus rupturing at the previous opening. but my doc said despite the small risk, chances of success are actually abt 80%. i was quite happy to hear that
really dun wanna repeat the c-section experience...

oh ya, for those who would like to take birdnest but with tight budget hor. i heard white fungus can give the same benefits. but i'm very lazy, and i bought those 3-in-1 ones..kekkee actually its best if you can boil urself lor...

can add white fungus with Dou Ji Zi and red dates..but please dont keep it for next day, cos the white fungus will let out some hurmful chemicals after keeping for more than a day. some kinda chemical effect i guess..i learn it from one of the TCM show on channel 8 1-2 yrs ago.

So i think its better not to order white fungus desserts at the restaurants...u never know when they prepare them..

karrie..

wow sounds scary..."uterus rupturing at previous opening"

U have an unpleasant experience w c-section. is that why u prefer natural delivery?

Hi Pink Piglet,

Wah.. your mummy is very good. she sponsor 2k..

U sure got this kinda happen in mummy giving condensed milk to their baby.. Irresponsible parents... Hai.. Really pity the baby...

Re: Infant care..

I heard the price is rising as well.. we still need to pay a sum of money after govt subsidary.. Agreed we should feedback to the govt.. By the way,, as first time mummy, what benefit we can get from the govt beside the 16 weeks of maternity leave??

I JIA ZUA!!!! kekek Eating anaconda now. Secretly come in to post leh.

Actually not suddenly busy lah. I just had no mood to work yesterday, that's why thought I'd let my hair loose mah. But think this is quite addictive. Can't do this too often, later dio pok.. Lose my job, can't support baby you know??

keke this pravina so funny. get influenced so easily one. I haven't had my bubble tea fix today but I had a can of green tea too. sweet sweet! *nice*

Actually those low-income earners are very good at apportioning their expenditure I think. We have double incomes, so we are very spoilt lah. Need to buy green tea lah, need to go pre/post natal massage lah, go Batam for hair treatment, mani/pedicure, buy maternity clothes at Song &amp; Song kekeek. The low income earners don't have such 'wants' wor.

My ears also blocked but in a way good also. Coz when your ears are blocked, you hear yourself very clearly, so won't speak too loudly. More refined mah.

I will keep swallowing and yawning to try to unstuff my ear but I find no use one, so I just listen and admire my own voice lor.

Learnt from prenatal classes that the birds eat/catch fish from the ocean and when they build their famous nests, their regurgitated saliva will contain protein, calcium and minerals. So it's a good source of protein &amp; calcium bah. Good for skin or not I really don't know but very good to drink, this I am very sure.

What about hashima?? Which part of frogs do hashima come from huh? Sounds gross but also good to drink keke.

Oh, pink piglet was asking me about bbsitter's price right? I don't know if they charge differently in different areas but it's about $550-$600 market rate.

Confinement nanny's rate is about $1.9k now. Everything also going up, even our weight also must follow. Why salaries never follow?!!?! So sad.

wah karrie, rupturing at the previous cut arh? so serious? I thought the wound should be healed after a few years. Skin should be nice and strong already. Just curious, if it ruptures, would gynae/hospital still charge you for caesarean birth huh?

I know a bit funny to be asking this but gynae never do the cut, it auto open. So gynae only needs to do stitching. Like that got discount?

Condensed milk?? That's horrible leh.

I heard from my friend about a case of a mummy who got her rib fractured by her kicking baby. That must have hurt. I quite paranoid now coz we're reaching the points where the baby will be right under our rib cage already. How huh especially ppl with short torsos?

pink piglet...yah scary hor. but not so easy to rupture one lah. my gynae said very small risk oni. just have to be careful.

well my experience was not exactly unpleasant. i just dun like the longer recovery period. guess im just itchy backside lah...wanna do a lot of things and not have to lie down all the time...

pat, hahaha yahloh that's why my gynae said not so easy to rupture, coz it would have healed mah. actually i was thinking yesterday, if it really opens, then isn't it convenient? no need to cut mah. so they should not charge emergency c-section rate loh. hahahahah