(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi 4Eva,

I'm checking it out with my fren for the confinement food prices. Will post the details asap.

Hi Pat,

I take the ROM as my anniversary date, 14 Feb. :p cos legally married le.

Hi Jas,

I found out this spa place does pre & post natal. 1st timers got special rate. Prob u wanna check it out.

http://www.rusticnirvana.com/index.php?p=/html_sg/promo_mother

4eva,
re: NUK teat
NUK premium teats are compatible w Avent bottles.
But if its those normal ones, den cannot, Avent bottles are way too big..

Eh.. i think its e shape of the teat that resembles mummy's nipples, and e way bb suck e teat's pattern is similar to e way they shd be latching on when comes direct breastfeeding.
hence, very popular for breastfeeding mummies.
then again, Avent teats also claims to be so..
so.. its really up to mummy's preference.

I have also frds' bbs using pigeon teats and also direct breastfeeding, also dun have any problem for bb..

since u still have those teats, make sure its still usable condition, den dun waste.

I am not an expert in teats lah but I am thinking that it should be very dependent on bbies bah. "Acquired tastes" likely. Dependent on how bb is introduced to it's first teat lor.

Some like it soft, some like it tougher??

Rustic Nirvana is at Kembangan area right? Doesn't seem very cheap leh.

I used to need monthly massages to ease my aching back but since I'm pregnant, I find that I don't ache as much. Weird.

Pat! Haa I poor lah especially after such indulgence loh!!

The Mega Mall is right next to the ferry terminal called Batam Centre. There is a sheltered link way to Mega Mall. But the total ferry ticket for 2-way costs $47 and it is an hour journey from SG to Batam! Btw, the hair spa uses LOREAL product wo!!

Mani + Pedi also about $10 too.. but they use faceshop polish.. so erm I'd suggest bringing your own OPIs or colours as the choices are very limited!

Beauty to admire!! I also wan! Haa but am not in the same class leh.. muz wait till Feb for mine!

wow..the thread move very fast, i only missing for half a day, already a lot of posts to catch up..

my mother and MIL have offered to help during my confinement, hope they can handle both baby and cooking confinement foods...

my sis had the same problem of low placenta in her 2 pregnancies, placenta move up eventually and she delivered both her kids through normal delivery..

i want to try normal deivery, hopefully can tahan and no need epidural...

pink piglet,

my son's in full day childcare, so i'll be relatively alright during weekdays.. and weekends my hb is around. but whether he'll be of much help is another matter.. haha.. i'm almost confirmed getting part time cleaner for the house, but havent decided on the catering yet. any good lobang for that?

pat,

i'm also a bubble tea addict for this pregnancy.. downed a lot during 1st n 2nd tri, but now trying to cut down. quite hard to find nice and cheap ones right? missing those times when u'd find a stall around every corner..

pat..
*pat pat* your eyes, fingers, arms & mouth...
rest well!! :D

re: massage
I wld say, my therapist at Rustic @ Cuppage is good!

I've used them for my #1.... but din do it regularly, so results not visible..

yvonne
re: normal delivery
shd be ok one.. provided ur threshold for pain is high and u can control or nt....

learn and make use of the breathing technique, and i really feel it does help!!

ciarie,
i don't think i can take the pain cos even menstrual cramp i also cannot tahan, haha. my sis told me it is going to be many times worst than menstrual cramp, i will just see how it goes, so far, i have not heard of anyone who went through normal delivery without epidural/pain killer (except my mum)..

i went to see my gynae today cos got spotting for the past 2 days. i m in my 26+ wk already, anyone has the same experience??? i had spotting in my early pregnancy and it stop when approaching 3rd mth. my gynae did some scanning and told me nothing wrong, everything seems ok, placenta no tear. she ask me to stay home and rest these few days, if feel anything not right to call or see her immediately...

wow, the thread moving so fast today...

re: swollen legs
getting swollen feet too. i tink started since last mth and some days can be quite bad, so trying to cut down my salt intake and drink more fluids now. But the problem with drinking more fluids is that it makes me go toilet more often too, especially nowadays :p

re: TMC class
i've signed up for the fri evening classes cuz' near my hb's workplace. anybody taking the fri evening classes too?

re: confinement
my mom's going to do confinement for me. dun really like the idea of a stranger staying together with us and i want to have to freedom to do things my way during my confinement (read: bathe and shampoo everyday! hyaks hyaks ..)

re: avent bpa free bottles
i tink the avent bpa free bottles cheaper from US online websites like amazon.com. Probably can do BP or get someone to buy back for u...

Tingting, actually i think DIY confinement is doable, if there's someone to help care for your no.1. if not, then will be qute difficult...my maid will be caring for my boy. I also dun take some confinement food items, i'll just ask the caterer to replace those dishes with something else...will have to pay surcharge for delivery to my area too. but aftr calculating the costs, still abt $1000 cheaper than hiring a CL.

pinkpiglet, im going for normal delivery without drugs
first one was c-section...if you're concerned about pain management, can explore hypnobirthing techniques at www.fourtrimesters.com. I attended their classes for my first pregnancy but baby remained breech so opted for c-section. this time im going to use what i learnt.

sanni, i had CL for my first baby but i still bathe and shampoo everyday. I was breastfeeding exclusively so I told my CL I cannot don't bathe. After all, I'm the employer, so she should listen to me rite? haha. But I used the herbal bath lah...

Hi Jas, No prob. I think i'll prob wanna go n try either the rustic or javanese.

My mil is totally alright with me bathing everyday during confinement.

In fact, i've attended a talk by eu yan seng. The chinese physician said that the no shower during confinement is a myth. In the ancient China, they bathe from well water, which is cold n dirty which explains why the no shower. As long we shower with hot water slightly higher than our body temp it's ok. Do take note that all windows must be closed tight before showering, and be sure to blow dry your hair after shower.

OMG!! so many posts today!! good to see the hearty exchange...
its my first baby and dunno if i can handle DIY..mom has said she will help but she has not carried a baby in like 26 years!!! so kinda worried abt that!!
i really want to take care and be very strict abt it.. cos my mom still feels pain from the epidural shots she had when she had me and my siblings and back in those days, she had no help and did not take care!! hence my persistent search for a confinement lady, or day confinement lady or confinement food catering..

good to read abt the BPA free bottles and NUK teats.. i wasnt aware of it at all... thinking of getting the madela systems and bottles..

reading this thread, i'm starting to feel very "behind" cos hv not even start setting up baby room!! and still doing market research on stuff, cots, strollers and carseats!!

btw, any views on car seats?
thinking of skipping the stroller for now.. but will get the sling ..

MILK
recommended intake is abt 3 glasses a day and i cant even handle 250ml!! so a choc and milk at nite keeps me satiated till morning!!
i get heartburn when i drink too much milk so hv to take soy milk, yogurt and fortified cereal..

confinement food
i saw online that min 1000SGD for a 28day 1meal/day cost... 300-400 is really cheap..

massage lady
anyone booked their massage lady yet??
thinking of trying jamu massage.. any comments on that??

TMC prenatal classes
trying to sign up for the feb intake.. is there a cost invovled??

infant health insurance
anyone know much abt it?? heard they dun cover infants from day 1? is that true??

diet >> fruits and Vege
i try to follow the 5 fruits and vege a day motto.. very hard for me.. but been doing oki i think..
fruit jucies are oki plus got variety.. but fruit pieces are better in that you get natural fibre
i eat most veges but no bamboo shoots!! yucks!

anyone experienced blocked ears, blurred eyesight and heightened smell capabilities??
i hv the above and its making me super blur... very forgetful too!!

anyone attended childbirthing classes??
its supposed to help both mummy and daddy deal with the whole birthing process and help in more ways than one..
just curious ad anxious at the same time??
anyone done a birthplan yet??

just want to share that i bought evenflo BPA free glass bottles - 120ml at $9.90 and 240ml at $10.90.

Can be found at Robinsons.

Anyone attended the doctor talk at Singapore Chinese Girls School earlier at 7pm? The whole Auditorium were packed with pregnant women =)

helo,

long time since i've posted. check with u mummies, whether anyone is skipping the traditional confinement like not bathing during the 1st month? my hubby's mum is kind of "pan tang" type so i'm confirm just gonna bath! lol.. lucky both of us are staying with my mum instead.. will i be able to bath at the hospital before i come home?

i'm a FTM and no intention of getting confinement lady too.. too EX..

tingting, i find the nicest bubble tea is still sweettalk leh. my favourite is honey green tea with pearls and sweettalk's honey green tea is so sweet, it leaves me very very happy.

Everytime I drink, I will grin keke. plus the pearls are so chewy, so nice leh. and it's only $1 or $1.20 per cup right??

Realized that different outlets charges different prices one though.

Keek, thanks Ciarie for patting my tired areas. So sweet..

Yvonne, spotting as in like brown stains? Or a glob of goo? I hope you have not lost your mucus plug. Read that sometimes ppl do spot or bleed a little this late in pregnancy and it is normally due to low placenta. But if this is not the case, do look out for other signs that you may be having premature labour. eg. cramps

Remember to keep your gynae's number on hand so that you can get help anytime.

Hi Karrie

correct me if I'm wrong but for mummies who already had a caesarean for their 1st/2nd births, the likelihood of going natural for the next one actually decreases right?

Pravina

Yes it is true that no private insurance companies cover our babies from Day 1. My agent actually advised to cover our baby using our CPF medisave first.

The coverage is minimal though and we would probably have to get a proper insurance/hospitalization coverage when bb is about 1 yr old.

Insurers are not willing to insure newborns because they are still very vulnerable and are susceptible to hospitalizations. So the only time when they actually give adequate hospitalization coverage is when baby is above 6 months to 1 year old.

We can apply for the hospitalization insurance coverage once the birth certificate of the baby is ready but when it will come into effect and the amount of coverage will depend on the insurer's assessment of your bb's condition.

That was the advice given by my agent when I asked her about it last month.

HI,
Am new here and also due in April.... and first pregnancy..

Need to ask if anyone experiences very smelly discharge? I have been lately and am not sure if its normal.. pls help?

thanks..

Regarding the insurance for new born babies, the advice I got from my AIA insurance agent was that for hospitalisation coverage, it can only come into effect 1 month after the birth of the baby. For the other insurance plans, such as savings and educational ones, they can come into effect 2 weeks after the birth of the baby. Just for information. =)

SKS: More discharge experienced yes... but smelly does't sound very normal, maybe you wanna check with your gynae? Just to be on the safe side...

By the way, any mummies here using the BabyPlus prenatal education programme?

SKS,
smelly as in fishy smell? best to get it checked with your gynae ASAP.
whitish/yellowish discharge is normal and will increase closer to due date.
shd not hv smell; shd not look cottage-cheese like texture.

LovJ,

I believe that NUK teats are best suited for newborn babies because the teats are designed in a way it's like a mother nipples. And it doesn't cause any leakage when the bb drinks from it

hi pat,
the stain was like fresh blood stain initially on first day and subsequently became brown color on the second day, i m worry abt pre-term labour also, but my gynae check and do some scanning, everything seems ok, pelvic did not dilate, placenta not low also..

re: bath during confinement
my mum and sis said is ok to bath as long as using boiled herbal water,water must be boiled, cannot use raw water cos raw water got wind..

re: insurance for baby
insurance company usually start covering baby from 28 days old onwards, depending on what kind of insurance plan you intend to take up, eg. life, saving/endowment/education, investment linked (all these policies come with supplementary benefits that cover critical illnesses). the most common one that you should first consider is the CPF approved shield plan using medisave, you can enhance the coverage by paying extra cash, in this case, medical & hospitalisation bill will be fully covered, the one using only medisave, you will have to co-share, ie. if it is a 80/20 kind of plan, you will need to pay 20% of the medical/hospitalisation bill and insurance company pay the other 80%..hope this help...

pat, i like sweet talk's bubble tea too.. but it's usually priced at about $1.50. So far pricing quite consistent amongst the outlets i've visited.

re: bathing

i'm planning to bathe everyday too! I didn't bathe at the hospital last time bcos it's aircon all around, n i didn't feel sticky or anything.. just changed my pjs everyday, and wipe my body with warm towel. But back home i started bathing bcos it's more humid.

Jas.J,

I tried to contact the infantcare centre near my place...it's already fully booked till Aug onwards...i'm currently in their queuing list..
I'm not sure how are they gonna managed the Q, cos i intent to place my bb after i return to work in Aug. She said unless there's pple who decide to withdrawn than they can give the place for my bb.

Pat,

Do u know whats the current rate for nanny? i m afraid that i may not have enough budget for nanny...i heard can cost $550 - $650..

Ciarie,

I'm staying at Bukit gombak. there's only one infantcare which is walking dist from my place.. sob sob

4eve,

Sian lor, now dont know what to do, my bb will be on queuing list for infantcare le.

Yap, my SIL recommended me NUK bottles too. Teats are v close to mummies nipples. However, it wears off fast too, cos they r softer. I have bought 2. I will slowly change to Avent later. I have bought the Avent starter kits that comes with with bottles.

During my last check last thursday (wk 27) my gynae told me my bb is on my right and placenta on the left, she dint mentioned whether its low lying so i assume its ok.. i have no idea where should be our placenta be lying currently to consider it as normal..

Marie,

I gain 9 kg when i was in 24wk..going for next appt this fri..i think i may gain >10kg. but many pple also said my tummy is small leh..i think thats becos I'm pretty tall, no one can really tell that i'm 7mth preg too..

Karrie,

wow whats hypnobirthing techniques? Breathing techniques? I attending TMC prenatal class now, this sat will be my last lesson. The trainer did
taught us on breathing techniques etc...

Pravina,

I signed up the TMC class at abt $180+ (with the 1st born incentive membership card). have u book the class, their classes r v popular, should book early..i'm ks, i book mine in last yr Sep,started my class in laste nov. this wk is my last lesson le.

I do intent to have traditional massage at 1st. but i heard some pple r allergic to the spicy they use.. like lemon grass etc..

I have a cousin who's wt drop from 80+ to 60kg (within like 4-5mths, massage once every 2 wks)after she went for a massage at a JB slimming centre. So i intent to go to the same one.cost RM1500 for 10 sessions.

Eline,

I went for the talk last night too..

anyone one applied for the 1st born incentive membership from TMC? It comes will free 6 mths insurance coverage for our bb, i think also starts after bb 1st mth too..

I have met up with the insurance agent, and i may intent to extent the coverage. anyone also intent to continue with the coverage and any idea whether the coverage is sufficient?

i think if we intent to breastfeed our bb we should bath everyday lor. else i think its very unhygienic wo..dont think bb will like our sticky bb when we carry them too...kekekek

Hi Ping Piglet,
yar, if someone gives up their 'sitting', then we can have a placement. Mine mentioned that they have some 'graduates' around that period, so I should have a high chance to get a placing there during that period, which was why I put a deposit first.

I applied for the FBI membership. =) I'm supposed to meet the agent this mth, but she have not gotten back to me so far. So I've not much knowledge for this yet. But because the ins company is AIA, so I doubt I will extent/continue after the 6mths.

Hi Jas?

Buying insurance for Baby from Great eastern is it save? Any advise.
I did not go for any lesson,,not much budget for all this..

Hi Pink Piglet,

Oh dear,, Hope you can get a place in your infant care..

Pink piglet,
i'm trying to sign up for the TMC pre-natal class and was told it was 214SGD.
hv gynane check up this sat so will snoop around a bit more!! will share findings here!!

do you intend to feed your bb directly from breast or pump into bottles to feed bb?
just wondering cos i hv heard how some babies take ages to transit from breast to bottle..
i intend to go back to work after 2 mths of maternity and so will not be able to breastfeed often...so was thinking start from the beginning pump into bottle and get bb bottle-trained with breastmilk..

any comments??

hi pravina,

it's sort of like taking a bet on breastfeeding and weaning.. some bbs switch easily, but others are more fussy. if u like, can try the combi method, e.g. breastfeed during the day, and give expressed milk via bottle during the night. but suggest u do this abt 2-3 weeks after bb is born, so that he learns the technique of breastfeeding first, which is harder than bottle feed. Also, for you to establish your supply. Colostrum, which is produced during 1st week of birth, is hard to express and best if bb can suckle straight fr the source. Using pump right at the beginning may also cause nipple abrasion bcos ur milk flow is not in yet.

coming fr someone who breastfed my 1stborn, i really enjoyed the breastfeeding process after the initial hiccups, even though i only did it partially after i return to work.

lovj,

no need to be scared la, in singapore we are quite safe, MAS has a rulling for all the insurance companies to set aside at least 120% fund to cover their liabilities..

best not to stock up diaper now as advised by my sis cos baby may have allergy reaction to certain brand of diaper..

MORNING mummies!!!

today's thread is SO ACTIVE!!

have hard time catching up postings... wonder how mummies reply such long post...

must impart techniques to me... :p:p

Pink piglet
your IFC ard bt gombak is so hot cakes ah...
some other areas around block?? no more IFC available??

did u chk e MCYS website for e available IFC ard your place?

re: bathing during confinement
mummies.. would really encourage to do e herbal bath during confinement, at least u can so-call prevent wind from getting in to your body...
u wun see e effect now, bt when age catches up.. den you will regret...

and make sure u r dry and dressed up before u step out of e bathroom to prevent e wind from getting in to your body as well..

i feel, its better to be safe than sorry. anyway e herbal bath cost abt $2 per pack?

re: massage
wow pink piglet! all e way to JB ah...

i dun thk i have e determination to do tat.. BUT, i really hope I can build up e determination to do so after this #2..

LovJ, JasJ & Pink Piglet..
Actually there's a way to save on H&S plan..
Its from Aviva!

When papa & mama is insured under Aviva CPF H&S Approved plan, meaning premiums are paid via CPF Medisave acct, bb gets covered FOR FREE, up to 20 years old!!!!

And it dun limit to just 1 bb, it can be for your #1, #2...
bt not too sure how many do they limit to the # of children.. but definitely its FREE till age of 20!!!

On one condition is that, papa & mama must be insured under Aviva as well.

I've done comparison myself, and I found e coverage is much better than AI*... :p
so have enrolled my hb into Aviva le.. now waiting me to deliver so I can convert to Aviva and den, enroll my #1 & #2 for FREE!!! :D

wow! everyone's gearing up le, i better buck up!

RE: Insurance
we've only planned to get the NB signed up with the CPF linked one once I pop so we can some minimal coverage for health and hospitalization, the rest can think slowly . Oh yes, I've recently converted to Aviva cos it gives free coverage to kids until 20yrs old. I've compared with my previous AIA, AIA covers too much which we may not be able to utilise in this entire lifetime so Aviva seems more practical plus is free for the kids, so we save!

I've also booked my massage lady which I've used her for #1, she managed to contort my outta control body back to some decency haha and I wasnt really guai, I took off the cloth/wrap like few hours later cos is so warm. I'm going to make sure I'll wear it till she comes the next day.

lovj, agree with Yvonne, some bbs may react to some brands, my #1 couldnt take mamy poko. If you expect many friends/relatives visiting, you prolly dun have to stock up so much. I only brought back the pack from hospital and bought 1 pack myself, the rest were given. By the time I finish with it, I could go jalan and stock up liao