(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi Coral,

JUst realized your baby have the same EDD date as mine but I will only do my detail scan next Monday. Can't wait to see my baby again. Congrats for having 2 bb boys.

Hi KidzKinz,

Have you getting better today? Hope you get well very soon.

To all mummies

Does any of you know whats the average weight n length of bb for 20 wks? Is it shown on the scan? Cos I m quite petite and now in 20 wks n had gained only 5kg.. so i m abit worried.

My EDD has changed to 18 April (EDD seems to change on very visit)and had my detailed scan last week, its a princess

chocz: i read from few books that average weight for baby at 20 wks is 350g. My baby is 365g at 20wks+6 days. You wont be able to get a measurement on baby length at this stage. In DS report, its broken down into many readings like Abdominal Circumference, Head Circumference, etc. Doctor will advise you if your baby is at average size, smaller or bigger.

I only gain less than 4 kg till now (at 22weeks now) so as long as baby is growing, you dont have to worry much. =)

Harlo..

kidszkidz
Glad to hear dat u r recovering!

eline,
i've also gain less than 4kg n now at 23rd wk. Just went to doc on tues n bb estimated weight is abt 630g, growing well.

chocz, bargainhunter3, marie: glad to know that many mummies are in the same scenario as I am. hubby is worried that mummy not gaining enough weight! =)

i guess we fall in the group where our weight gain will increase in the last 2 months. i also know other mummies gaining more weight but as long as baby is growing well, dont worry. this is definitely not the time for dieting!

honestly, im still eating 3 meals a day, with 1 tea break (fruits or bread) between lunch and dinner. i do realise that my food intake has decrease since pregnancy cos no tibits, chocs and junk food (guess bb follows hubby!). also, no cravings at all (always tell hubby how lucky he is! lol).

also diligently taking fish oil and calcium.

like that i abit worry. cos last week at 21 weeks scan bb only 380g. like abit small. Then don't know why this two days i don't really feel the bb movement. I tot bb movement should get stronger each day?

dodos: what did your gynae says? mine is only 365g at 20wks+6days. And DS scan shows that bb is at average size.

its funny... i just told hb that i dont feel bb moving that much these few days... will feel movement of bb during meal times.

dr say ok but seems abit small.

regards the movement i also heard people say once you felt the movement everyday will get stronger. Also their bb r hardly resting moving alot the whole day. That's what i heard.

Hello Mummies!!
I am new here. During this pregnancy, I'm spotting brown blood during my 18-20 weeks. Does anybody else have the same experience? I am a bit worried...

Hi Orangejuice -- welcome! Do see your gynae about the spotting -- mine always tell me to contact him if something like this happens.

Mommies who PMed me for baby list, I've emailed out list of furnishing. Sorry it's late, couldn't extract original from external hard-disk so had to find time to retype.

Shopping wise, here are some more links to where I've bought things:
1) www.kidzcottage.net -- bought lotsa stuffs here)
2) www.babysoft.com.sg (for some of the soft books, cheaper from this mommy Meihua http://picasaweb.google.com/homehuahua/ThingsForSaleAllBrandNew# -- found her posting at this thread http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?451986/1965118)
3) www.anneematthew.com (maternity + nursing wear -- I bought the latter)
4) www.momsinmind.com.sg (got slings but never used, other stuffs))
5) www.cutelittleangel.com/shop (got Jesus Loves Me lamb stuffed toy)
6) mymiraclebaby.com.sg (got Nursing Nest)

I chk out the "Sale" corner 1st. Also do compare prices with some of the BP here and check out the "Want To Buy" threads for response to what others have posted which are also on your Wish List

Btw, my friend told me about 4D scan which is 3D plus they show the baby moving. I understand from such scans are about $300?

its been a long time since i log in....
realised quite a number of pp attending the tmc pre-natal class by Mrs Wong... marie, i also attending the same slot as u, 7 Feb 2pm
will see u thr

woh, alot of u start stocking up things already... think i better get my list done quickly n start shopping with the year end sale.. hehe..

hi orangejuice, did you check with your gynae?

I am looking for Feng Shui Master near TMC for choosing of baby names after birth. Any recommendation?

Morning everyone,

Chris - Phew, gald to know that to gain 5-6kg at this stage is normal.

Eline - Thanks alot for your advice, feel more at ease now cos I'm a 1st time mum. For food intake, I m oso having 3 meals a day n no food cravings at all.
kao_smile2.gif

bargainhunter3 - Thanks for the link, it is really informative.

Hi, I have the follow to sell as not breastfeeding anymore.

1) Medela breastmilk Bags (20)selling at $15 Brand new.
2) Medela Disposable bra pads 30 pieces selling at $10 brand new

Self collect at Bugis or Bukit Batok.
Pls PM me.

PeachMomo -- Why not get the Calendula Cream @ $18.55 thru Nabmum's BP @ this thread (stocks arriving around 1st wk Jan '09)
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1965908.html?1229227327

I like the cream and hv joined Nabmum's BP to purchase more before i.e. she's a reliable seller. For Desitin, I understand there're quite a few sprees on (usually combined with First Teeth edible toothpaste). You can compare prices there as the price difference you are quoting between what you can get and what is actually retailing locally is a very small compared to getting it thru sprees from the US.

JTS, thru the sprees I managed to get First Teeth Toothpaste (w/ finger brush) @ abt S$8.50. This set actually retails @ >S$20 locally.

i've put on about 7-8kg the previous time i checked & i think its alot so i keep telling myself now that i'm not eating for 2 so i've stopped putting on weight for around 1-2weeks now.. during my scan at 20 weeks my estimated baby's weight was at 384gms!! is it too big? i'm only at 50kg now and at 21 weeks.. my tummy doesn't show much too.. both myself & hubby are both petite..

my detailed scan was fine, expect that the doctor didn't talk much to me, just saying that everything is good! i thought of doing the 3/4D scan as well because i heard that will be able to see baby's face features from there too.. how much does it cost? and is it necessary?

Hi Kidzkidz, I havent tried any BP before and I tot its quite ma fan to go through that. But if you say its $18.55 then its quite cheap la.
By the way the calendula cream is sold at $30.55 (not $35) at the Mom's essentials at Suntec.

PeachMomo: You can try Nabmum's BP coz she arranges for quite a few pick-up pts across the island. I ordered quite a bit from her incld sunscreen, calming massage oil, etc. since California Baby's prdts are natural. Last I checked with some organic prdts shops (think got one @ Cuppage Terrace), Calendula Cream was retailing around $28.

Denise: The 3/4D scans are not necessary -- just extras that comes with our day and age. But it is a nice thot to have a portrait of baby before he/she's even born
Check w ur gynae to see if his/her machine can capture it. If not TMC offers this service so you can call for pricing to compare.

Weight-wise, don't worry too much if you're eating well and eating right. Better gain in last trimester than overeat now (a few of my friends did and they blamed it on cravings...) then need to constantly watch their weight before last 3M

Thanks for the tips mummies, so tat I be better prepared what to buy and how much to buy! Now still not sure what are the 'must buy' stuff..if can save $, will try to save. As for milk bottles? Will most private hospital (when we admitted) give us free ones to bring home? Any idea if TMC will be giving any hamper for the new parents?

Hi Elene Peh,

Look like your baby same as mine. Like to kick during meal time hehe... They must be happy with the food. I also realized my baby very active at night time before sleep & sometimes when I am sleeping. This must be bad cause it disturb my sleep since I am a light sleeper.

Hi Orangejuice,

I have the same problem with you too. In fact i can see the brown spot very frequent till now not only week 18-20 (I am week 21 now). My gynae told me brown blood is ok. But it would be better to inform your gynae.

Anyone know which hospital has the cheapest rate? My gynae from TMC group. Will it be the best if I choose to deliver at Thompson?

The reason I changed to TMC is because I heard it is one of the cheapest private hospital.

They have this card call the FBI or SBI that gives some discount for delivery.

Beloved: PM me if you want my list of baby furnishing -- what we've personally found good and practical to invest in especially for the NB-6M period. Regarding your question, hospitals don't usually give milk bottles unless it's sponsored. When I attended the Mt A class, there was 1 240ml bottle from Avent -- which I thot was quite generous of the company. So you'll need to buy your own milk bottles (check this forum for BN ones ppl never used/rec'd). The ones to get nowadays are the types that are anti-colic and BPA-free (special plastic that doesn't dissolve in hot temp. etc). The bottle teat should be peristatic design e.g. shaped like nipple. But of course 1st thing to pray for is that you can breastfeed successfully coz saves lotsa money and time!

And yes, the private hospitals usually do give a "hamper" in the form of a cheapo diaper bag (satchel or haversack type) filled with various freebies given by baby products companies e.g. small plain changing mat, parenting mag, bib, burp cloth, fridge magnet photoframe, lotsa brochures. Actually the one I got from Mt A last Feb was a haversack with a goody mag of such things consolidated by Mediacorp under their parenting mag (is it Mother & Baby?). Then when I went to gynae for follow-up checkup, the staff also gave me a similar bag but different "edition" so the things were different.

Bargainhunter3: I saw @ TMC 2wks back for detailed scan. In the lifts were posters showing the delivery rates private hospitals charge. I believe right now it's East Shore (at Telok Kurau). TMC is one of the cheapest, even cheaper than Mt A. A colleague delivered at East Shore coz near her place. She liked the service. However if your gynae only offers TMC, you hv no choice leh.

Wow thanks for all the friendliness on this forum! Actually I am not in Singapore, I am living in the UK becos my husband is posted here but will be coming back in Jan. Really miss sunny Singapore and Really want to see a Singapore Gynae.
Here, all they give me is midwife appointments. Any problems, see your GP! Private Gynae is too expensive for me- almost 200 pounds!! So when I first got spotting, I told my GP. She could detect the fetal heartbeat and she said if any more, go A&E. So of course it din stop and I rush down to A&E. I saw a Registrar ( trainee gynae) at the Early Preg Unit- she could not even read the scan and had to ask the technician. Anyway she said baby ok, placenta ok, no sign of bleeding up there.
But it didnt really stop , then I sway sway got flu, cough and sneeze until I wet myself and the the blood got a bit redder with a tiny bit of clot. But I was too sick to go A&E again. Whats the point? they will say nothing wrong and send me home. Then last week I saw the midwife who was quite caring and she sent me back again to the Early Preg Unit. Once again scan ok. Then my 20 week scan also ok. But then I still worry because the spotting comes on and off. Now it;s off...so I'm keeping my fingers crossed...

BargainHunter: I hope your spotting stops too, I soooo understand it can be soooo frustrating!

Orangejuice: Oh dear, 200 pounds is veri ex! I understand fr my friends who are nurses that in the UK, it's always been the midwives who "drives" the industry since there aren't as many trained gynaes around to serve across that whole country. In fact, some of my friends who had nursing training in the UK had even considered midwifery coz it's veri established. But the one who had to get the technician to read the scan is probably not as experienced?

Bargainhunter3: Baby's kicking is actually more obvious when we are lying on our back coz we're likely resting then and more intune to baby's movements. Also as baby grows bigger (or is big), there isn't enough space for him/her when we lie on our back -- nd to slp on our side then. We may also tend to feel baby kicking away when we lean forward or say, against a table i.e. @ wk or mealtimes -- these are when baby's "pressed down on" and again lacks room to move. This was the likely reason my B1 always "protested" hard whenever I sat down @ wk...

Btw, 2wks back I saw family Dr for some stomach upset, she pressed a bit on my tummy and told me B2 was in traverse position (side to shoulder) and that I shouldn't sleep on my back coz baby won't have enough room to move. I could feel that distinctly so as much as I could, I wld slp on my side. I'm going back to this Dr later to see if I'm cleared to go back to work. But right now I still hv 2-3 tiny red bumps on my fingers and at least 6 on my feet (toes mostly, whc is most uncomfortable). But B1 looks cleared so hubby wl bring her to PD later to get her "all clear" ltr and hopefully she can go back to CC 2mr.

Hi Kidzskidz,

Thanks for your information. Now I know why my baby kicking hehe.... My doctor offer Mt A, Grand E, Mt E & Thompson actually. But since THompson the cheapest, I will go to Thompson.

Hi Orangejuice,

THanks! Hope your spotting never comes again too...

hi orangejuice,

me got spotting at my Week 19... due to low placenta... but gynae said as long me can feel the baby is kicking then we are okie lor... went to reg checkup on 6 Dec (4weeks later), my placenta is no longer near to cervic... erm still me have brownish discharge... but baby is kicking so me not that worry.... baby wt is 610g @ 23rd week....

Hi ultrabeary,

Great to hear that we're attending the same class.

Hi Eline/Chocz,

Same here...eating as usual with no cravings. My frens all say that my hubby is lucky.

Oh yes. my baby is getting more active. used to be just in the evening just before i sleep. now baby is moving even in the morning to wake me up!! the movements are getting stronger each day and so ticklish!

To all mummies, just eat normal n be happy, your baby will be happy n grow well!!
Smile~~~

its yet another week towards delivery! kekeke... a welcome hi to bargainhunter3 and orangejuice.

re: natural births
thanks to all mummies for sharing their experiences on au naturale vs epidural. i really hope i can do it au naturale without feeling too much pain, thus im looking forward to a short uncomplicated labour, hopefully less than 8h for a FTM... =p

re: diapers
was wondering whats the average no. of diapers we will use a day for our babies... coz afterall disposables arent that cheap! was thinking about cloth nappies, but a bit hesitant coz ill have to end up washing quite a bit of poo n goo... =p also, disposables seem to have overlapping sizes, e.g. newborn is 0-6kg, then S is 4-9kg - how do u all decide whats most fitting for baby? also, any diaper lobangs - like how much n where to buy?

re: weight gain
since my 1st measurement at 10 weeks and my measurement at 21 weeks, i think ive gained about 7kg! im feeling much more easily bloated and full, and sometimes gastric pain coz i still eat the same amount... [sometimes i cant gauge coz the bloatedness comes 30min after eating! =(]

re: baby movements
ive found that my baby likes to stamp/punch my bladder to get my attention, and that he/she doesnt like lateral positions and likes me to sleep straight! kekeke... this was verified by on-the-bed testing today... =D

kidzskidz: thanks loads for your input on stuff to get! =) i'm sure we FTMs have loads more to learn from u! glad also that it wasnt too torturous a time... i really hope ur rashes clear up fast - coz its infectious, most GPs will probably wait till ulcers and rashes clear before stopping ur MC...

leereiner: think its too fast to stock up on diapers, but maybe u better buy more neutral colours for CNY otherwise if ur 2nd is boy, wearing pink will be...

jinglebel: i read from a book that pregnant mummies may tend to have drier skin - maybe moisturise that portion? but if ur GP gave u mild steroid cream, it should be ok for short term use up to 1-2 weeks...

jacqueline: ur obs is quite strict about delivery but i guess its for ur own sake... maybe he/she knows ur previous C-section was more complicated?

eviangal: thanks for the mattel lobang - too bad ive no chance to go liao - next time have similar lobang - share share ok? =p as for sleeping bags, the supplier im getting from doesnt seem to have a nice design specifically for girls - im still waiting too... i like the SOZO design ones but i guess its velour thats why nobody is keen [but i think it looks very nice n comfy leh...]

raspberrytea77: im so happy for u that ur efforts in taking care of yourself is showing in baby growth... =)

orangejuice: hope ur spotting gets better and that ur obs [the one at the A&E] has checked u below. coz i heard besides a low placenta [which u have to be very careful and go to A&E immediately if theres more bleeding or tummy pain], one of the other possible reason is growth at the cervix or vagina. also be careful to avoid intercourse for 1-2 weeks.

bargainhunter3: what is grand e hospital?

Hi dtsmummy,

I guess you are right. My situation is a bit more complicated. :p

I am feeling a lot more kicking these few days.
Getting more excited.

hi dtsmummy,

if this #2 is a boy, he still will be wering #1 clothes, mean home wear type. cos all #1 home wear are from my nephew. when my #1 wore my nephew ones, everyone said she was a boy... lotsa of BLUE... lucky got frenz and relatives gave pink ones as presents lor... but me still wanna spend monies, cant resist not to buy for #1... ha!!! partly coz natrual of my job lah... me is a buyer... buy and buy....

wanna survey here... what you gonna do with the umbilical cord? put in cordlife/ stemcord bank? or donate to the public bank?

I am still thinking should I choose put the cord blood to cordlife/ stemcord bank. The reasons for my hesitation are as follow:
(1) number of illness that could make use of the cord blood is limited
(2) only siblings could benefit from it (not parents) - limited beneficiaries
(3) the cord blood cells may not survive 21 years as in the promotion articles - depending on the storage AND quality of the cord blood

Wanted to opt for donation but there's a clause that says "multiple birth" cannot donate. Not quite sure what it meant by that.

Any comments from other mummies?

I have a Brand New Kiddopotamus Swaddle Me Infant adjustable wrap for sale $20.
Colour: blue cocoa dot.
PM me if interested. thanks.

1987688.jpg

Hi Kidzskidz: Seems like it!! the Gynae here is a very very rare species! like endangered!

Leereiner and Bargainhunter: Thanks for your encouragement! Yes mine is brown blood. The technician said the placenta is 1cm from the cervix- so that's pretty close. Maybe that's why i'm spotting. Hope it moves up soon...

DTSmummy: All the docs I saw refused to check my cervix. they said since the scan ok, no need to check!!For a long time, i worried about incompetent cervix...now that the spotting is off, i hope my cervix is ok.

Coral: is it because of the diff in cost betw pte and public cord bank?

Dear mummies, when the Baby is kicking, do you ladies sometimes feel a tightening over the area... or is it just me? I dont think it's braxton Hicks, I'm only 21 weeks! And it's not all over, sometimes it's just low down above my bladder...

Hi Mommies: Quick post to update that B1 and I have fully recovered

DTSmummy: U r most welcomed abt the list of baby furnishings. I'm very blessed that my sisters were able to provide lotsa inputs fr their own personal experience + go shopping with me so we didn't go overboard buying unnecessary stuffs. Still, we'll find that some stuffs are only useful for like 1st 6M of baby's life then baby outgrows its usefulness or we get lazy and just use other alternatives. Like my friend got expensive changing table then end up changing baby on bed...

Leereiner & Jacqueline: We banked B1's cordblood w Stemcord coz it's an additional insurance plan. With all the research going on, more benefits of cordblood use being discovered. We'll likely do same for B2. Choose Stemcord as they presented at Mt A's antenatal class so we had opt to hear abt their service/technology, etc. They are only one to store in two bags and in separate location as added insurance e.g. each bag can only be used once so w Stemcord there's two chances and different locations to insure against power failure, etc.

This said, it's really a personal preference so mommies, just do what you feel like -- don't be pressured.

Hi DTSmummy,

Thanks! It should be Gleneagle.

Just went for detail scan on Monday. Lucky to hear that my baby boy is ok. I am in week 21 and bb is 420g now hehe... SO happy to hear everything ok.

Hi Orangejiuce,

I have the tightening problems too. Again hehe... my gynae said it is normal. So as long as my gynae say ok, i will try to relax myself cause too much worry not good for baby. Hope you can relax yourself too...

Pte must pay but public is free.

I opt for Pte for first due to selfishness, I was afraid that once out in public, used up by others, what can we do if we need it in future? For no. 2 I decide to put in public is bcos I already have no. 1 in pte and so I sort feel that I can donate no. 2 into public either for research or use by anyone who needs it and anyway, if no. 2 really needs it, can still use back or find a match from the public bank.

I guess price is the last consideration here as the amount is negligible if it can save life...But frankly, we still dunno how useful it can be, maybe donating it for research purpose could end up helping more...Like Kidzkidz say it's up to individuals comfort level. So no pressure to go either way ba. It just happen that for no. 1 hb and I get very protective and as we read more, we both came to the same decsion when I had no. 2 in fact we had made our mind even b4 discussing wiht each other, so it was a much easier decision when it comes to no. 2.

Kidzkidz glad that you n B1 are fine.

My bb seem to be growing these two wks been feeling the stretch and pain at lower ab. Gynae said it's bb expanding not to worry, but sometimes can be quite painful.

I have went to seminar organized by cord life. But funny part is, public told that they wil dispose the cord blood after 15 year cause no more use but cord life encourage everyone to store forever.

FYI, i have checked with cordlife's staff, we can't choose to donate to public if we decided not to pay cordlife like after 10 years storage due to different requirement but they allow us to bring home. Funny :p

Will be going to stemcord seminar in Jan 09. The charges offer by stemcord is cheaper than cordlife but need to know the quality too.