(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Talking abt natural birth, I had au naturale for #1 too. My water bag bursted at 1am. Called gynae. He asked me to monitor baby movement and go to hospital at 7am. We reached hospital at abt 7am. Admitted to labour ward at 8am. But i had fever and kept vomitted when I used the laughing gas. Baby was out at 10+am. Hope #2 will have short labour too.

Anyone have story to share about induce birth? Induce is totally out for me. I really cannot take it even with epidural. So ya epidudral is useless to me. Still pain like hell when i had epi. When i had my 3rd no induce all natural and fast.

kidzskidz:
I like the pic. It's so cute.

Really hope u dun get HFMD. Let us know. Initially I tot HFMD only kids will get it, how come adults these days also get it?

new mummies:
Welcome on board.

DTSmummy:

I like to get the following:
1) Elmo - B15 - Sesame Street Elmo [Made For France] 6-9m - $8

2) B12 - GAP Mom Thinks She's In Charge 18-24m - $7

will pm u as well.

hmmm... me shall be the "slowest" to catch up, man... lost touch of what's going on here... ha!!! need time to browse...

me in my 23rd week, now me have gained est 8kg lor... baby is okie... still dun wan to know the gender of baby. but my gal always says the baby is mei mei... hope so lor...

my 1st one was of natural birth, thru induced. checked in hospital aro 10pm after reg check up in the am coz of spotting. gynae said water level was low do gotta go for induced. the real thing contraction came only the next am, aro 7. took the gas but didnt really help but endure the pain lor.... and screaming did help to relieve pain, in my case. but gotta "scold" from the nurse mgr... she said why waste the energy to scream, save it later when pushing. control your breathing.... she really knock me up lor.... collected myself, with tears.... anyway, then gynae came in and said okie, one 1 push, the baby will be out... the next min, my gal wa out... fast??? dunno leh... coz my gal is tiny lor... hee!!!! but she's healthy precious... so #2, gynae said will be fast one too coz of #1 history... hope so lah...

HFMD is not meant for kids only, adult will get it too... My nephew got it, then his uncle got it from him too. Heard from my sil that her bro took a longer time to recover from it...

hi Kidzskidz,
Hope your girl and you recover soon.

me just started to stock up diapers for #2 whenever there's any offer. busy browse for #1 CYN clothing leh.... keke!!! poor #2 gotta wear jiejie ones, no matter boy or girl lah...

Hi eviangal

My EDD is also 8 April 09, having a prince!

I have been having rashes and also red patches on my stomach, lower abdominal, thigh and now the butt area... they really itch. It is really bothering me. My gynae gave me some anti-inflammatory cream to apply but i am a bit hesitant to use it everyday though it helps. If it gets worse, I might need to see a skin specialist.

Anyone has this problem? Can give me some advice?

Hi all mummies

what is amnio test ?

dodos

what is induce birth ?

ref : natural birth
talk abt natural birth my 1st bb i didt take epidural & others injection on the butt i only use gas

Amnio test is a test to gather information about the baby's health and development from a sample of the amniotic fluid (fluid that surrounds the baby in the uterus). The most common reason to have an "amnio" is to determine whether a baby has a genetic disorder or a chromosomal abnormality, such as Down syndrome. Only amniocentesis or chorionic villus sampling (CVS) can diagnose these problems in the womb.

Talking about induce birth....my gynae advised that I cannot go for induce birth because I had a c-section for my twin girls in my 1st pregnancy. Also, I will only be able to wait for 6 hours (instead of usual 12 hours) before I will be asked to go into emergency c-section. *sad*

Hi jinglebel, maybe u shd change ur body wash/soap n see if it helps? anw i think if the cream is prescribed by ur gynae, should be safe for use. i know its not good, but i just scratch when my tummy itches. my problem is when nipples itch.

Hi mommies: Thanks for the well wishes. My girl's rashes are drying up n becoming scabs. Those on my hands drying up too though stl red. It's the ones on my soles that are stl large and causes lots of discomfort when I flex my toes or hv to walk i.e. apply pressure (for same reason that the rashes on my fingers were painful initially). HFMD is more common in kidz due to lower immunity and as they don't know how to uphold good hygiene standards e.g. don't know to cover mouth when coughing/sneezing. Think I kena coz I was also battling flu bug since last Mon, when my girl came down with HFMD. That's why GP @ 1st say my rashes may be result of the flu virus and he only labelled me as suspected case. But think now no nd to suspect anymore -- confirm it was the butler who killed Colonel Mustard with a candlestick in the library

There's no med to take, no vac available either. Worst is that there are many strains of the virus that causes HFMD so even though I get it now and am immune to this strain, I may get it again if it's another strain. Same goes across the ages. Again, for adults so long as in good health, hard to catch it or just practice good hygiene shd our kidz get it.

Queen: Ur boy poor thing kena full-blown case.

Coolzy: I also threw up after inhaling the gas for a while... side effects (the drowsiness too).

Reiner: Do note abt stocking up on diapers -- during this rainy season the diapers can absorb the moisture. Just make sure you store in a well-ventilated place. I kena once where the urine indicator line was already showing on the diapers when I opened a brand new packet (I bought from another mom who said she had it for a couple of mths).

{<font color="0000ff">Do be mindful of what type of adhesive tape is used on the diaper</font>
We tried PET PET on my girl when she was abt 6MO - fren said it was cheap and good. But the hard plastic adhesive tape on the diaper meant the corners (attached to the diaper itself) was very sharp. These caused cuts into my girl's chubby thighs and we felt so bad. Banned Pet Pet and other brands with same type of adhesive ever since. Just go NTUC and check out the samples before you buy. <font color="0000ff">Thus, I strongly recommend adhesive tapes that are the soft, paper-type</font> (like Pampers/Mammy Poko/Fitti, etc). Feel the diaper for it's softness and also guage the bulkiness (Mammy Poko veri chunky tho gd absorbency).

Or do online search for diaper companies and request for free samples now -- they usually take >1M to process requests.

MUMMIES.. ANNOUNCEMENT.. I AM SHORT OF 11 BOXES OF THE DELICIOUS MUAR OTAH TO GET FREE DELIVERY TO MY PLACE IN SENGKANG... I CAN BRING TO MY WORK PLACE IN CHAI CHEE ALSO.. ANY MUMMIES INTERESTED.. PLS SMS ME AT 81703429 ... U TRANSFER TO ME $ BY TODAY ... AND COLLECT WHENEVER U CAN OK? COZ I WANT TO TAG ALONG SOMEONE TODAY .. BUT KIND OF PAISEH LAH... COZ I M OFF DAY TODAY SO CANNOT WAIT FOR HER AT BEDOK? ANY MUMMIES...

I just bought a box of jazzytoes mary jane 0-12mths socks. Anyone interested to share? I just need 2 pairs. Each pair $5.

chris: yah, it's my 2nd pregnancy, but 3rd child (first pregnancy was a set of twin girls).

coolzy: hey, nice to hear that! where are u delivering?

Can i check with u all..how much diaper to stock up at home before we give birth? Will the hospital give us free ones? How many times can we reuse the diaper (eg. baby will urine how many times then we change the diaper?)

Will u all be intending to use cloth nappies as well? I heard they are good for the skin. Any idea where to buy the cloth nappies?

Jacqueline,
This is my 2nd pregnancy and will be delivering at TMC.

Beloved,
when discharged, 1 small package of diaper will be given by the hospital. Yes, we did use cloth nappies for my #1. I bought Tollyjoy brand fr M'sia. Thk is RM20+ for 10 nappy.

hi coolzy and jacqueline

this is aso my 2nd preg but my due date is on 21/04/09
1st bb is a girl
2nd bb is a boy --- just know yesterday (i and hb happy to hear doctor said is a boy and my mil more happy than mi)
but i forgot to ask doctor what is bb weight ---i now coming 21 week

hi beloved
as coolzy said hospital will given 1 package pamper i think 20 to 30 plus pcs per pack
and i use dryper 1 package for nb after that i use s size dryper liao

I have not logged in here for sometime now. So much to catch up.

DTS Mummy: Not sure if this comes too late. Wana share that I just went to a toys warehouse sale at Boon Lay by Mattel. The babies and toddlers toys there are very cheap. I bought a FP rocker at only $40. Its retailing at $100 in stores. I also bought FP rattlers at 3 for $10. UP is at least $12.90 each. Bought a stroller toy. Its a cloth book kind that plays music at only $5. Its FP brand. Its till the end of this week, 14 Dec.

As for the 3D scan, I guess part of the cost component goes to the growth analysis. Thank you for your assurance that its babysafe. All the more I wana go for it.

Can I also check if you will be having more sleep bags designs coming in? I wana get a girly design for my daughter.

Eline: My antenatal is on 3 Feb (Tues). I realised its 3 Feb not 7 Feb. =p

KidzKidz: Thank you for the link recommendations. I saw some clothes I like from there liaoz. Gona email the seller on this. I am also happy to know that both your gal and you are recovering now. Take care. =)

so many post; almost lost track liao!

nice to see some mommies share their birth stories - mine was C-Sect, so no drama at all :D

re: diaper/nappy
yes, upon discharge will be given 1 pack diaper (oredi included in your bill so PLEASE remember to bring it home!)
i use cloth nappy for my gal coz they pee/poo a lot during the 1st mth - save $$$ lor plus the confinement lady will do the washing.
2nd month also cloth nappy (but i wash) and 3rd mths onwards, nite time diaper and day time cloth nappy.

after that, all the way diaper liao coz so tiring washing the nappies!!! :D

Beloved: Like Kittybride says, unless you got someone to do the dirty laundry for you, it can be very tiring washing the cloth nappies. Generally, whether cloth or disposable, still important to apply diaper rash cream as NB's skin is very delicate and hasn't build up any resistence. Thus some mommies have found even "branded" shower foam also caused allergic reaction to their babies skin. Basically, must observe closely to see if there's anything in particuarly that "sets off" our babies.

NB needs changing at least 5 times a day so get ready!

<font color="0000ff">What the hospital gives/provides which we should take if need:</font>
1) Bath tub (nt sure abt govt hosp. tho) -- my 21MO girl enjoys splashing in it but we only offer it to her occasionally.

2) Disposable bed-liners/pads -- those blue plastic ones lined with cotton layer. It's laid under us after delivery to avoid staining the bed. Bring back for own use for great as disposable changing pad for baby. Subsequently I bought my own (20 cents/pc) and use to line dept stores changing table -- cleaner lor.

3) Diapers -- @ Mt A it was Pampers brand. They'll provide when baby's delivered and open another pack once used up. It's already in the bill. Take back any leftovers

4) Maternity pads -- usually the Kotek loop type with a string to tie around our waist. Super chunky. They'll put this on us straight after delivery (they layer like 3pcs criss-cross -- kiasu lah) and the leftovers into our bedside table. I personally brought my own Sofy Night Safe (at least 38cm one) since it's thinner and more comfy. Plus self adhesive.

5) Surgical recovery underpants --
the senior mid-wife got me a pair and it's charged to my bill. This is an incredible thing: small yet super stretchable. Looks like stretchable bandage but very comfortable to wear -- no pressure on skin at all. The other mid-wives didn't offer it to me but the senior one said they have it somewhere and went to search. Came back with it for me to wear after I delivered. It's washable to keep reusing like regular underpants.

6) Other miscellaneous stuffs like box tissue (hosp. charge for per box used), toiletries kit -- see if you want to bring back too. I kept the PVC toiletries bag from Mt A as I could pack baby's lotion, etc in it for trips out.

I can't think of anything else -- other mommies? But seriously bringing the Sofy self-adhesive pads was one of the best things. Otherwise no way you can move around with the chunky Kotek maternity pads -- some more it's so expensive!

Btw, I just saw GP again coz my MC's till today. Confirm HFMD and given another 2D MC as stl got blisters on my soles tho rashes on hands getting tinier. Those on my soles did appear 1-2 days later so expected to take longer to clear...

<font color="0000ff">What hospital provides...</font>

Forgot this: Baby wipes. Think it was J&amp;J brand at Mt A. So bring home the leftover to use up coz really need this!

I am starting to stock up diapers now. Just bought 4 packets of Mamy Poko New Born from NTUC as they are having offer.

But I read from somewhere cannot stock up too many as the diapers will absorb mositure.

kidzkidz, what is surgical recovery underpants?? Got this type of pants? Never hear before.

Confirm government hospital don't have bath tub. I wish they can give. Then i don't have to buy.

All the things in the hospital can bring back it's all charge already. I always take everything. I can't stand the kotex loop pad i don't know how to tie and find it very uncomfy. I will ask for the stick type.

Not advisable to stock up on diapers yet. Just buy as and when you need. Like very near due date just buy 1 pack will do. I usually take back from the hospital cos still left alot. One reason is bb grow quite fast...don't buy to many NB diaper end up too small wasted. Also the diaper change color.

Mumu: I posted earlier about moisture getting into the diapers as I kena before when bought ovr a pkt fr another mommy. Also heard one mommy who bought some pkts @ some charity event, brought home also found the urine indicators showing already. Basically our weather is the culprit. We gotta make sure what we buy now kp in an airy place -- don't like put in storeroom.

Dodo: I don't know what the underpantz actually are called but I can seriously tell you it's one size like fits all type of super stretchy material. It's like those super stretchy dressing that hospital uses to cover over wounds e.g. on arms. If I find them I'll take foto and post here

Mommies: Nursing bra is a must to bring to hospital and last yr I found these super cheap ones ($3.90 ea) at a dept store called Shop 21. Think got an outlet opp St Andrew's Cathedral, next to Gramaphone CD shop. I'll nd to go get some more to replace the worn out ones. Anyway, they carry nursing bras that's a MIC(hina) brand but good enough to wear @ home or out. Provides good stretch too. Oh yeah, I realised better not to buy those nursing bras that clicks together in the middle of the bust coz cannot "operate" with one hand. Those with "hook up" cups can be managed with one hand while other hand still cradling baby

i went to tmc today for my 20th week detailed scan and also went parent craft to make payment for the course commencing Feb 7th. anticipating cos 1st time LOL

wanna check if any mummies saw the 2 tiny playpens in front of the Parent Craft counter? i got a playpen from a relative that is new but its too large to fit in the bedroom! so might have to use it in living room for day time maybe haha

i asked the staff and just nice Mrs Wong BB walked out and said all items you see there can be ordered and purchased incl those 2 small playpens. anyone knows where else to find such small playpen/cots?

many thanks!

hello all.long time no post, so many posts to catch up!!

finally went for my detailed checkup today. Glad to see baby doing well and very cooperative during the scan. He turned in so many directions so that the doctor could view him properly...haha..

Mine's confirmed a boyboy, EDD brought forward to 1st week of april'09.

I'm just glad baby is growing well. Makes the blood sugar monitoring and carbo counting oh so worth the effort!!! I'm a very happy mum today!!

I hope everyone is doing fine with their pregnancies.

Went for detailed scan on Tue and bb is doing fine. Confimred no. 2 is boy and EDD is 26 Apr.

Kidzkidz, actually I never really use the nursing bras I bought cos once I BF, too lazy to put on bra so even when I go out I just stick the breast pad on clothes to prevent leaking but go braless as it's so much easier to BF without a bra. :p So wasted money on the many BF-bra I bought...Hope you'll get well soon!

Congrats Raspberrytea77 and Coral on your boys!

Kidzkidz, I hope you get well soon.

For nursing bras, I bought mine from this new mum, her blog is stylishmum2b.blogspot.com. Find it quite cheap. About $8.90 each. Not sure if you gals like it. I havent tried wearing these bras myself either. Just bought 1 to try first.

As for diapers, I was recommended to purchase from Jin Tai Tong Medical Hall as they carry Huggies brand at $14 only. You can try calling them to check for their address. Heard they have a few locations - Pasir Ris 65823027, Sengkang 68813027, Tampines 64543027. I have not purchase from them myself yet as I thinking of buying only in March. Mummies, you can try calling to check it out if you are interested.

jacqueline

i aso not advisable to stock up diapers
the reason is for NB they grown very fast
and some brand may be unsuitable for you bb

kidzkids

hope you get well soon

as u mentioned shop 21 --do they hv any other outlet ?

and i aso never heard abt surgical recovery underpants

coolzy
thks for you wishes

congrats raspberrytea77 and coral having a boy

eviangel

i heard abt jin tai tong medical aso they said their diaper cheaper than supermarkert like ntuc,shengsiong
but i never go there because out of the way for me

didnt stock up for NB diapers at all. coz will be using cloth diaper. used cloth diaper on my #1 till 6mth (MIL does the washing everyday ones, me bad DIL, right??!!!!). started to change to disposable ones for nite time when in 3rd mth then fully on disposable when she turned 6mth lor... so bot all size M ones... my gal, my niece and maybe #2 can use those diapers. not really bot a lot kinda lah...

does anyone of you go for 3D scan? how much does it cost? or already included in your package eh?

Hi kiszkidz,
speedy recovery for you &amp; your girl...

mummies, take whatever in the hospital room when you discharge lah, coz everything is charged to you. my SIL told me b4hand so me got prepare a big shopping bag to put all the things... me cheapo leh, gotta grab eveything, dont leave anything behind... hee!!!

Chris: I think the 3D scan is different from DS. A 3D ultrasound scan provides a photographic image of the baby. Like the one shown in this link =)
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/diagnostic_ctr.htm

Hi all mommies,
Wanted to know if it is compulsory to buy the car seat support stand if we were to use the car seat in the car? I found out that the Maxi Cosi Easy Base is more expensive than the Maxi Cosi Cabriofix itself!

The last round I used cloth diapers for my twins...and I think the washing is rather tedious. This time round thinking of using diapers fully to cut down some hassle.

I am newbie here. Will be having my first baby next year April. Would like to seek for advice to hire maid or nanny to take care of my baby.
Any comment? Would appreciate if you guys can let me know your experiences. Thank you!