(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

congrats on those having princess!

dodo,
how was the DS?

Rachel C
ya, this boy of mine ah, really likes to kick a lot leh. but when daddy put his hand on my tummy to feel baby; he will STOP and keep still. very notti lah! :D

hi Denise, I've put on 2kg (but considering I lost 1kg in the 1st tri, total weight gain =1kg) I think I would have put on at least 1-2kg since my last check-up. Doc says its ok, not too much, not too little.

hi Always, I'm envious of you having a boy!!! I hope mine's a prince =P But as you said, it's all God's will la. I'll know this sat during my detailed scan . Congrats to you =)

oh no, i think i'm really getting worried that i'm putting on alot of weight. i still thought i wasn't putting on enough. got to control my diet already. maybe its due to me being a 1st time mother?

congrats to those having boys. i wanted a boy but it was a girl.

Kittybride: my baby also like that! when my hubby put his hand she will stop besides that she's always kicking. maybe it shows daddy's gonna be the discipliner?

Hi mommies - saw my gynae y'day. Amnio results normal too. Baby's now 513g -- last Wed was just 370g. But Dr says normal 4 baby to put on this much in a week. Only catch now is B1 caught HFMD from her classmate in Child Care. Thank God though that she doesn't have uclers and is her usual cheerful and cheeky self. Praying that I don't catch it as I'm now down with flu so immunity's low...

Marie, hope you're recovering well from HFMD.

Today, I received some Carter's rompers I bought through a local internet seller. With cute animal applique and buttons all the way down to crotch -- makes diaper changing much easier.

Regarding baby stuffs, if any mommy has any query can post here or PM me. After all the stuffs we bought for B1, we now realise what's practical, what are must-have in the 1st 6M, next 6M, etc. I also still got my lists (hospital, baby clothes) if anybody needs. I think now that we know B2 is a prince, I should also start to lelong B1 pretty princess clothes -- but gotta find time to clear 1st

Wow.. so many posts abt weight n gender.. I think i put on too much weight this month.. my 1st 3 months no weight gain but once I reached 2nd tri, WAH! Poof! 5 kg gain and my appetite is super duper good.. Now veri worried if i could shed all the weight away..

kidzskidz, how many wks r u now? your bb growing fast.

Today i went for the DS bb weight 385g everything is gd but breech position. Any gd chance bb will turn?

Hi Mums

Just want to say hi. New to the gang. I am a mother of a two year old gal. Last time I deliver my gal in glenegle with Dr Ang. feeling not so good. So this time my gf recomm me to Thomson Med, feeling better at least the whole centre is for mums and bbs.

Anyway looking for some maternity outfits, any good idea I can get some good deal? don't want spend to much on it this time. Thanks

eunice... the article on my finance director came out in the newpaper ysterday.. as in wednesday.. COD .. dunno... even doctors cannot determine who died 1st .. bb or mummy,.. but her hubby put the foetus in mum's arms and cremated together

Hello mommies,

Back from hols and dd had tummy upset, so tired of changing diapers so many times a day. Then she went for her MMR and had to watch her for reaction to the jab. Finally have time to sit down after she zzz and I can still keep my eyes open.

So fast hit 20w already, half way there! Last thursday, I had my hand on my belly and I thought I could feel baby's movement on the outside. At first I thought it was my imagination cos I can feel it anyway so I asked hubby to feel and he said can! I felt movement later with this baby but yet from the outside hubby can feel so much sooner than my other babies. This baby is definitely a kicker, some time move and kick until I cant sleep. One morning she kicked so hard, I gave a small yell before I even realized it. heehee

Some time we listen to the bb with the doppler and i will feel her move. i tell hubby "she just moved". hubby will be like "yup, i just lost track of her heartbeats, must find her again." it's like playing hide and seek.

Next wed going for another detailed scan. Hopefully can get some good pix.

coral
what an eventful trip! at least your girl enjoyed it despite dislocating her arm.

eviangal
congrats on the girl! scans are mostly harmless. if you want to do 3D scan, i think the advice is to do a bit later when bb has more meat and can see features. i did mine at 30w and the pix was pretty good, except my girl used the placenta as a pillow so quite hard for the tech to get her whole face in the pix.

eviangel /chris
i thought normal delivery is 2 nites and c sec is 3 nights?

rachel
congrats on the amnio result and finding out it's a girl!

kris/indulgence_queen
congrats on the girl!

always
congrats on the boy!

kidzskidz)
congrats on the amnio result!

dodos
still so early, bb can still turn and turn. even at 34w my girl was still swimming and turning. i did detailed scan at 32w and the tech was shocked in the 45 mins my girl turned a full 360 degree.

idaarshad
i didn't catch the news about your finance director but so sad for the family to lose both mom and baby.

by the way, a few days ago i went to glen e to visit a fren who just delivered. was quite surprised to see the single room was so small. she got one of the not yet renovated room (requested for renovated but didn't get one) and the condition was just slightly better than the room i was in at TMC for my dd (mine was also not yet renovated room). my room was about 2x the size of her room but the bathroom was in worse condition than hers.

next wed when i go for my detailed scan at TMC, will ask about the rooms to find out more.

juxta / coral/ lilmoo:

Thank you and hope u mummies are doing well yrself.

Mummies:

I got a lobang for enfrapro - stage 2. 1 tin $33.3 and must order 12 tins for home delivery. u can call 91007722 and look for Annie

kidzskidz:

congrats on yr amnio result. And hope yr B1 gets well soon. And she won't suffer much... How come other kids got HFMD, their parents still send their tod to school? School dun check?

lilmoo:
Where did you go? Good to hear that you are doing well.

my boy just went for chicken pox vac and next month will be due for puemo jab.

Kittybride:
congrats on having a boy.

Hi Joanne

I just double checked my prenatal course schedule and realised that I am attending the same course as you. We could meet each other there then. =)

Hi Kidzskidz

I am considering the purchase of a stroller and a car seat. Already got 1 stroller from my cot purchase. But it is 8 kg in weight. Any recommendations on this?

Hi Lilmoo

You sure had a great time with your new baby. I am also experiencing hide and seek moments with my daughter. Sometimes can feel her, sometimes cant. I am in week 20 now. Thanks for the info on the 3D scan. In that case, guess I will go for it then. So sweet to know that your girl actually used the placenta as a pillow. I guess its very endearing to catch your baby on video. =) Cant wait for mine. Have arranged it on wk 27 (just before CNY). Is it too early?

Hi Iddarshad

I didnt manage to read the news about your Finance director. But it sure is a very sad moment for him and his family members.

Hi Kittybride

I read somewhere that the baby will usually stop moving when the father places his hand on your tummy. This is because the baby could feel that the father's hand pressure is bigger than the mummy and hence would stop moving. Seems to be true for most cases. =)

My husband and I would talk to the baby regularly now. Read somewhere that this helps the baby to recognise our voices when born. The father's voice will usually be heard as it is deeper and less sharp than the mother's.

Hi...anyone keen on Brand New Burberry Brit Sheer Gift Set (50ml EDT + 100ml Body Lotion) or separately? PM me...

Harlo kidzskids,

Thanks! I've receovered from HFMD. Phew~~ U take extra care. Make sure u dun have any sore throat or fever. Drink lots of water to counter it. I'll be praying for u. :* Is it possible to send me the link to the local internet seller for the Carter's rompers? Thanks!

Hi Always,

I've signed for the TMC prenatal classes with Mrs Wong. My class is starting on Feb 7 2-3pm.

Rachel: Forgot to congratulate you too on your amnio results. Regarding HFMD, I know now that's really hard to tell coz my girl was okay when she reached school on Mon AM. Then when we bath her at home in the evening, spotted like 3 rashes around her kneecap. As there were already a couple of cases in her CC the past few weeks, we grew suspicious and kept her home. By Tue AM, she had a lot more and PD confirmed it.

However, my girl didnt' run a fever -- temp was max. of 37.2. So far, she don't seem to have ucler too so appetite's been good. Usual happy spirit too and enjoying time @ home terrorising our poor cat (who's lost another life at least...)

Dodo: I'm @ 21wks. This past wk like my tummy suddenly become very pronounced.

Lilmoo: Thanks, we're so happy that everything's well with B2.

Eviangal: I don't know much abt car seats as neither of us got license to drive. But stroller wise, we got a Combi one that was meant from NB to 36M, with reversible handle too.

its been almost 2 weeks since i last posted. =p hi lucky, eline, marie, sonnya79, joanne and lindakoh.

re: baby position
i think that we only need to be concerned about it when its near 32-34 weeks coz baby can [and will] still turn now - around that time, baby's head needs to be downwards for normal delivery.

re: baby movements
hahaha, i finally feel baby's moving around since last saturday at 19 weeks - mostly thumping [compared to other descriptions of bubbles or waves], but not necessarily daily though. i was joking with my husband it's probably protesting the bumps on the roads and my tightish pants. yesterday after a particularly bumpy stretch, i had a little bit of abdominal pain as well, and after i got up to pee in the middle of the night, the naughty baby thumped my bladder, making me want to go again. =D

re: natural birth
any mummies thinking of doing it au naturale, i.e. no epidural? heard that its quite painful, but some places have gas instead to reduce the pain? any non-FTM want to share their previous experiences? =)

re: emotional rollercoaster
i find that i tear more easily when i see/hear of sad things and laugh loudly when i see/hear something funny. all in all, im glad ive not turned into an emotional wreck - im more worried when the kid comes and ive a chronic lack of sleep how my response will be...

re: hearing baby

eline, i agree with dodos/eunice/chris/eviangal, i think the water sounds are probably from your stomach or intestines. its very difficult to hear baby's heartbeat - you will need a doppler [like lilmoo, or at your obs with a doppler machine or the ultrasound machine]. eunice, i don't think you can use an ordinary stethoscope to hear it either. =)

re: price of things
now theres quite a lot of sales right? any mummy can share what u managed to buy at what price? for e.g. items such as stroller, car seat, cot?

idaarshad: what happened to your finance director? what's COD? i cant find the news article leh - where is it?

kidzskidz: hope you dont catch the HFMD bug... btw, can share with us what u find useful to buy for baby?

coral: how's your daughter now?

eviangal: did they tell u what the in-house courses cover? i hear that hospitalisation for normal delivery averages 1-2 days, C-section about 2-3 days. also, the 3D scan, like our usual scans [that are via ultrasound techniques], should be radiation-free and babysafe. i think what makes it expensive is the software that conjures the image.

rachelc: by the time the child is diagnosed with HFMD, the kids have already been exposed to the bug for 2 days plus already. in this sense, its kind of similar to flu bugs.

mariekwek: glad u have recovered from HFMD. ive got carter's rompers too [new stock from my recent BP] if u want to have a look - www.dtsmummy.blogspot.com. =)

cheers mummies, have a great weekend ahead!

Joanne: We are attending the same pre-natal classes!
Eviangal: Quote[7 Feb, Tues at AMK] Is your classes on 3 Feb (tues) at AMK Hub?
DTSmummy: i am thinking of doing natural, w/o epidural. Since this is my first child, can any mummies share your experience on natural birth?

all mummies: Have a fantastic weekend ahead! =)

lilmoo..... yup.. sad for her whole family

DTS Mummy . . . COD = Cause of Death. the article is in the newpaper on lst and 3rd Dec

Natural birth - i went natural for all my 3 kids (in a way to save money,,, ehhehe and also dun want to have the side effects many my frens had after it - dunno how much true) definitely it is painful but once bb is out... no longer... and u will heal faster in a way w/out the drugs.. planning to go drugs free too this time round definitely... even with nurses keep asking me... u want any pain relief... all i could do is shook my head....
go for it mummies.///

eline.... i know u can do it esp with short labour.. no point having pain relief....i had frens who had first babies with 4 hours labour just like me

DTS mummy... i want the romper which says .. mommy thinks she is in charge.. u dunn accept PM.. pls sms me at 81703429
hope to hear from ya

HFMD update: At about 8pm I felt a pain in my left hand and found a small red bump on my index finger. Now I have like 4 and think I can spot 2 under the skin of my left foot... No fever, no ucler now and praying won't get...

Marie: Glad you've recovered - looks like my turn now...

Ida: I salute you for being able to tahan the pain. I just kept telling the midwives I wanted epidural.

Using gas: In the Mt A class, the instructor said to inhale when pain starts. Catch is gas can cause drowsiness. My experience with it went like this: I inhaled, fell asleep, woke up again later to feel pain so it was too late even when I inhaled again!! (and the cycle kept repeating itself so I just asked for epidural)

Will still have to see GP 2mr to get confirmed diagnosis then next few days likely sit and home and do this...
1954616.jpg

(scatch butt)

Here's the links to where I bought 3 Carter's button-front rompers. The seller's clearing inventory of various baby & kidz clothings + Coach items. Think she only emailed her regular customers as the prices here are cheaper than on her website (see end of this post) http://picasaweb.google.com/jcastorsee

I shopped from the Baby Boy category and got the striped blue romper with a bear's face at the butt (4th in 1st row of pics) and the white one with ducks (last in 4th row of pics). The 3rd she didn't post the pic but emailed me about the design. Anyway, I bought these at $6 each excluding about $1.50 for P & H. Btw, the blue romper is SUPER CUTE many coz of the bear on the butt!!

Btw, when I shop I really bargain hunt so these are to me great finds

<font color="0000ff">Sleep Bags</font> like the one DTSmummy has for sale is good investment -- works better then blankets which gets kicked off, rolled over, etc. Can also invest in the zip up type which are like real sleeping bags with feet "sealed" in. We bought both types and used the real sleeping bag one at night as baby sleep with us in A/C room.

JTS: Was at Clementi Central's Song &amp; Song ($5 shop). Picked up Baby Gap 2-pc PJ for $3!! Design is red top with stitched on snowman + Christmas checked pants. BN with snipped tags. Size from 3M to 3T size.

kidzs2... alamak... pray hard u deun get hfmd.. oisshhh.. pls take care and btw i saw u are actuve in WTB.... wanna buy stuff for ur lil one?? heheheh// put up the pic lah u bot from clementi.. maybe can tompang u next time to buy
....i too will source for great buys

Hi mummies, detailed scan showed tt we're expecting a princess =) baby was moving a lot but legs were closed. only when her daddy entered the rm then we managed to see the gender but only 80% confirmed. but well, according to the chinese calendar, girl is correct.

DTSmummy, I'm definitely going to try for natural birth if I can...pray hard =)

Hi mommies - I saw GP y'day and am labelled highly suspect case of HFMD coz I only have rashes on hands and feet but NO fever or mouth uclers... so he says. But got MC anyway... My girl also stl recovering but in super good spirits so itz very tiring having to entertain her whole day. Everytime she's sick, she'll skip PM nap.

jacqueline... heloo n welcome... mummies maybe those delivering tmc.. we mite br ard each other when we deliver.. who knows..

eunice.. congrats.. so envious

kiddzs2.. iisskkhh... pls take care if urself.. hfmd i heard is quite painful

hi hi...expecting another princess (I already got 2 princesses at home) in early Apr. Now busy e-shopping for necessary items...as my girls are already 6 and we did not plan for this baby until early this year.

hi kidzskidz,

can check with u how to order from the website u shared? cos can only see the pics but how to contact the selleR?
Tks!

Also, where is the link to the sleepbags u mentioned DTSmummy has for sale? Don't see it leh..:p

just a short one post today. welcome jacqueline [u had twins 6 years back?]...

dodos/idaarshad/mimi, ive replied u via PM/email already. >_<

re: headcount for au naturale vs epidural
- 3 for [idaarshad - u should get a prize for courage sia, eline, eunice]
- 1 against [kidzskidz]

* ill always remember the story of my sis-in-law who tried natural birth for a few min before asking for epidural, and saying my other sis-in-law who did natural birth as well and said it was ok was 'siao' =D

kidzskidz: id say u r really highly suspect for HFMD - pls take care! im glad ur girl is recovering well though. thanks for sharing about sleeping bags, the jcastorsee and the song&amp;song lobang too - im also keeping a lookout for bargain stuff. =)

Sorry to interupt. I am an Oct mummy.
I have 2 boxes of Medela washable breast pads for sale. Did not get to use them coz gave up breastfeeding since Day 1 ... Bought them for $20.50. Willing to sell them at $25. PM me if you are interested.

jacqueline... wah envy u for getting anther princess.... did u aim for a prince actually?

dts mummy..
.. i m sure u can do it too... the pain will be all gone the moment the head crowns..

Hi all -- sorry, left out the contact for how I got the 3 button-front rompers. The email is [email protected] and the inventory sale link is http://picasaweb.google.com/jcastorsee If need, do indicate you got contact from Kidzskidz since she only email out this sale to her existing clients (that's why cheaper than on her website). And here's a link to the pix of the $3 Baby Gap Snowman PJs that I bought at Song &amp; Song in Clementi Central http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&amp;item=290277162564 Tag is snipped. Think there were abt 6 sets left. Realised too that different Song &amp; Song outlets have different items at Special Prices so need to visit more to save more!

Mommies who PMed me for my "need to buy list", I will reply you by Wed as trying to find weblinks to the actual products to make it clearer

Abt epidural: Know someone who went au naturale 1st round and screamed a lot. 2nd round opted for epidural and realised she was so silly for going au naturale that 1st time
. But seriously, to each their own coz neither options does any harm in the long-term. Short-term I suppose hubby suffers the most -- blown out eardrums, broken fingers, etc. |clipart{wink}

Good morning mummies,

Long time no post, hope everyone is going well with the pregnancy...

Re. natural birth
I had au naturale for #1. I was determined to try without epidural. Contractions were very painful but I got by using the breathing techniques taught in the pre-natal classes. Only when the contractions were about 5-10mins apart, I admitted straight into the labour ward in TMC, and by then I was already 8-9cm dilated. I inhaled the gas while waiting for my gynae, but I think at that time, the pain was really excruciating and the gas was not really helping. It was more of a 'clutch' than pain reliever.
I didn't scream at all though, not even during delivery, but I remember grunting and tears running down my face from the efforts of pushing. The contractions were manageable for me, only when I was about 9cm dilated and felt the need to push, did I feel that the pain was excruciating, but the moment didn't last that long cos that, basically, was the start of the whole delivery process. After baby was out, it was just a huge feeling of relief and no pain at all.
Anyway, I was quite lucky, my labour (starting from 1st contraction to delivery) lasted only about 6 hours, quite short for 1st birth I guess. If I had those 20 over hours labour, I think I might cave in to epidural as well.

Jacqueline,
Welcome!

Kidzskidz,
Hope your girl and you recover soon. When my boy had HFMD, it was bad for him. He needed to be hospitalised as he refused to take fluids and food cos of the mouth ulcers.