(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

can I check with u all.. The EDD that our doc give us, is it accurate one? How do we plan when to go for our maternity leave? Or should we work until the day we have the stomachache? :p

Any idea usually first baby will come earlier or will be delay?

eunice

thks explain for me

Aiyo marie --- do take care lor

eunice my 1st bb is girl --- when i in tri 1 and tri 2 as u said 3rd tri bloom suddenly

Thanks for all the concern. I'm getting better and the nasty blisters have subsided.

I've signed up my pre-natal class with Mrs Wong starting next year Feb 7 2-3pm class on Sat. Anyone in this time slot?

Hi Koi,

Glad to hear that we share the same EDD. Which hospital are u intending to deliver? I'm gg to TMC.

Hi Beloved,

It all depends if u wanna take some time off before ur delivery or start ur maternity leave until ur delivery. Some pple would like to have some time before to prep or rest.

Beloved

actually is depent --- some earlier some delay
for my case i earlier 2 week

and i take maternity leave on that day i give birth

Beloved,
Me too. I gave birth 2 weeks earlier for my #1. I worked till the day i gave birth. And luckily, i gav birth on Sunday.

Hi Christine

Congrats on having a girl. I have yet to sign up for my class yet. Who know? We might end up in the same class. Is your class conducted by Mrs Wong? I wanted to have mine conducted by Mrs Wong but not sure whether AMK have her classes or not.

Hi Denise

Thanks for the info on the baby's kick. I guess the discomfort I felt in my stomach sometimes is the baby bah... Same as you, I am targeting baby's birthday to be the same as my dad. He is born on 13 April. I hope baby come out 1 week earlier to share the same birthday as the grandfather.

As for my stomach, its starting to get bigger now. Wasnt very big initially but its starting to grow for at the end of month 3. I have more people giving up their seats to me lately. Rather surprised. In the past, people just treat me as transparent.

Hi Chris

Was the day you give birth a working day? I keep wondering in what kind of situation will I be at on delivery day. Will I be in the office? On my way to work, etz.

Hi Coolzy

I admire you being able to give birth on a Sunday. I hope mine is a Saturday and I start my maternity from Mon.. Keke...

Hi Christine,

You can call this number 6251 4090 to check on the availability of the class by Mrs Wong. Register at TMC level 3 but class is held at AMK Hub, Little Skool House. Call fast..it's filling up fast. With FBI, price will be cheaper.

idaarshad: What happened to yr director suddenly passed away when she is still pregnant? Can they save the bb? Today I read in the "Mind Your Body", there is this Malay lady only know of her cancer while she is pregnant, so she dun want to have treatment and continue with the pregnancy then went for chemo.. Mummy like her, really brave... go through alot.

EDD = Estimate due date
So it's only estimate not accurate.

My 1st overdue and 3rd early by one week.

Can't wait till DS next week too.

icic so we will not koe..it be a surprise?! That means 1 mth before we have to start to prepare our bag to the hospital.

Yah i also hope mine will be on a weekends too. At least on a more 'relax' mode.

Why is Mrs Wong so famous..2 of my frens also say her classes not to be missed.

eviangal, u very lucky. Yesterday on my way home on the MRT, a guy gave up his seat for me (got eye contact..so i tink should be for me)..but a lady standing nearby sat on it before me (coz I was too slow). Then the guy looked very paiseh. The lady juz ignored me even though I already standing in front of her, me rubbing my belly (21 weeks). Then I pretended to look clumsy and swayed from side to side when the MRT jerked..hahaa But I still standing till I reached my station.

hi Mummies,

I also would like to know more mUmmies too.. hehe.. recently been sick.. gastric and headache.. and my hubby iS sick too..did not manage to keep up with the forum.. can't wait for my detail scan tomorrow.. will update with all mummies here.. also update yours too.. bless all mummies..

Feel free to add me in ur msn.

my msn: [email protected]

Hello Mommies....I'm new here. Just managed to register for an id. I've surfing on and off for a while. Here my details

Baby No: 1
EDD: 10 April 09
Hospital: KKH
Gynae: Dr Khoo Chong Kiat

Hi Mummies, thanks for the warm welcome =)

Sonnya79: Welcome! I am new here too.

Beloved: I have also signed up for my prenatal classes with Mrs Wong starting 3 Feb. Heard from the nurse that Mrs Wong is rather reputable in this field. Later found out that she is the head of the ParentCraft Centre and has been giving lessons and talks on parenting since 1987.

You will receive 3 books written by her when you signed up for the FBI.

I tried to sign up for Mrs Wong's prenatal class (weekend classes) but are all fully booked till Feb 09. No choice I have to go for other trainer's classes. Feb is not late for me. By then my movements would be very clumsy like not so advisable.

By the way, I have experienced leg cramps recently, on two nights. Anyone has this problem already?

Welcome Sonnya79!

Evaingirl: so 'qiao' coz my brother's birthday is on the 12th & dad's is on the 20th. aiming for my EDD on either days. haha. quite shocked that singaporeans do give up their seats, some really ignorant of the surroundings. my only prob is my indigestion everytime after meals feel like my stomach going to burst! somemore i'm the very small size type, can't imagine when my stomach start to grow i think i'll look like humpty dumpty!

eunice (alayna): I go to Heng's Clinic at Eastshore hospital coz i prefer going to lady gynae. my scan is on 2nd & 10th dec is my detailed scan. do u go to Heng's Clinic too?

Anyone knows of any good stretch mark cream? I'm currently using the clarins toning oil & clarins stretch mark control, its good but i thought of trying something differant.

Hi i am new here, just want to share my details ; -

EDD : 10 April 2009
Gynae : Dr Joycelyn Wong
Hospital : TMC

hi eviangal

i delivery bb on wednesday morning
actually i stomach pain and my period come little bit on midnight 2-3 am and i stil go to office on the morning to settle some important thing for abt 1.5 hr after settle everything and go straight to hosiptal ---- so when i in labor only take less than half an hour

but if the water break u hv to go hospital directly cant delay

if stomach pain or period ---u stil can delay a while but depent some people can stand the pain some cant.

and may i know what class you attend ?

Hi Denise, nopes, I'm seeing dr aziz but he delivers @ ESH or Raffles. Havent really decided which hospital I'll deliver in... Wrt stretch mark, we had an earlier discussion hehe. Most of us either use Palmer or Clarin's oil. Read somewhere oil is better than cream. Cream is more for after delivery. I found a place which sells the oil pretty cheap. I tot I posted here last nite but the post seems to hv disappeared. Can buy from website beautynscent.com.sg, more than 25% discount from retail.

hi eviangal

i know liao --- u attend prenatal class

but may i know what is the course content

when i hv my first bb i never attend prenatal class.

Prenatal class is a waste of time to me. :p didn't find it useful when you are in labour at all. Just read up will do.

i didnt attend prenatal class either. Quite a number of friends told me like what dodos mentioned, total waste of time when in labour! For some, they said is more like a wake up call/education for the hb!! haha needs a 3rd party to remind them what their wife is going thru and teach them to be hands on.

Hi Marie

Thanks for the info. Now I know that Mrs Wong actually have classes at AMK. Good, will sign up at TMC on Mon when I go for my detailed scan. Can go on weekdays then. I guess the earliest class will be Feb. Not sure if too late or not. Afterall, in 3rd trim at that time..

Hi beloved

I also thinking of packing my bag for the hospital around Feb/ March. Abit Ks but just in case.. keke.. The lady in the MRT is soo... buay zi dong (inconsiderate).. cant she see you are pregnant?!!! I cant stand people like that.. We need the seats more than her!!

Hi Sonnya

Welcome! =)

Hi Jinglebel

I think I have some little leg cramp situations like you occasionally lately but it goes away quite fast, so I didnt really bother with it. I was thinking are we too early to be experiencing this somemore. Thought it will occur later..

Hi Denise

haha.. really very qiao... I also have the same situation as you. After dinner every evening, I just lie on the sofa and dont feel like moving.. Full and quite uncomfortable.. My husband said I looked like a fat hippo/ ball lying there.. =(

Hi Chris

Thank you for the delivery info. Now I know.. keke.. In that case, I no need to be so kan chiong liaoz.. I know better what to do liaoz.. thanks thanks.. thats very important info.

Btw, prenatal class teaches stuff like how to handle a baby, how to bathe them,etc. Cos I never really touch baby before, need to attend the class to practice before baby born. Since this is not your first child, I dont think you need to attend the class liaoz. In fact, I need to pick up baby care tips from you somemore. =)

hi eviangal

oh ic prenatal class is teaching all this thing

actually this class is unnecessary to take
because because when u bb born

nurse will teach u all this thing example bath for bb (some more is real bb - they use my bb to demostrate) ,change pamper (they didt teach but i ask so they teach lo) ,and breastfeed --- if they didt tell u u can ask aso

but depent to individual some people they think need to attend

eviangal

and in labor ward (is free course)--- b4 u give birth u can go to labor ward (when u pregna. abt 30 week) and see what to do

b4 and during you going to delivery

this is the course i advice you to take so on the day u will know where to go and what to do

Hi ladies... I'm on my 18th week, still not felt BB's kicking. Sometimes tot I felt something, but its so faint, I think I'm imagining it.

Just wondering if anyone still not felt BB's movement at this stage yet?

Hi Jas J.. tink i started feeling movements ard 20 weeks. Try to lied down on the bed, be quiet and feel. Little wave like bubble it's the BB. kekee I realised that if I play loud music (eg. in the movie)..BB din move. Mayb scare??

Chris the free course u refering too is it available in any hospital? I also no time to go for prenatal course.

Does the breathing tactic they teach helps during labour? Or when if we in pain..will totally forget what the teacher taught liao :p

Jinglebel, I read somewhere in the forum (can't rem which link) that the leg cramps is due to lack of calcium (juz take more calcium supplement) and also at nite your leg cold. Just cover with blanket can liao. Dun koe true or not.

Hi belovedgal...
ha, so cute. Whenever I lie down quietly, no movements. But when TV is on loud, I 'tot' I feel movements. haha...

So you mean at week 20, you see the baby moving ... as in... your tummy 'bumps up'?

pre-natal class --- we wanted to go for it. But in the end, gave up the idea. Instead, we decided to train our dog thru classes - to make sure its tame enough for the arrival of his new sibling... >_< His training should end close to the arrival of his sister, just nice.

no lar..at 20weeks cannot 'see' him moving lah. I mean when BB move.. u 'feel' it..like a faint bubble feeling. Butterfly feeling in the stomach.

I wonder does the BB depend on the mood to move.

Jas: Like Beloved says, lie down and quiet time is best for trying to pick up baby's movements. But I find can detect better when press down a little -- baby will react by pushing back. I do this every night before I sleep

beloved

yes the free course (labor ward course) is available in hospital only --- i using sgh
if i no wrong 1 day 2 times u can choise but have to register first

oh ,may be when u check up in private clinic
only when DS will in hospital

in this case u can ask u doctor to arrange
or
b4 u give birth
or when u during DS
u can go to administrator counter or receptionest counter in hospital to check out like which floor i shld go and what is the procedure &amp; accesories will use and etc when going to give birth

for breathing tactic they teach you after you out of labor room --- DONT WORI

Hi kidzskids and marie

mine is opposi --- when my hb 'push' his face on my tummy bb will stop

but bb will hv movement when my hb dont want to try liao

Hi Beloved/Kidzkidz/Felicity,..
thanks for the advice!

Well, yesterday I went to watch a movie (Quantum of Solace). It was really loud... and I felt BB's movement for the 1st time! ha... she must be really irritated by the sound...

Chris: That's unusual
My hubby "talked" every night to B1, telling her what we wished for her e.g. born safe &amp; healthy, be obedient, be a happy spirit, etc. After she was born, she enjoyed her daddy's company alot -- very often sleeping on his "magic chest" very quickly. I think it helped that daddy gave her nightly prep talk!

Jas: Wonderful! In the last few days, I've realised that I can detect slight movement, like a quick tickling across part of ab -- it's B2 making his presence more pronounce. He was moving a lot during my DS on Wed so the ultrasonographer commented that he's quite an active one. I just pray he won't be too active once he's born coz B1 is also a very playful girl.

Beloved: I attended the childbirth education class @ Mt A (my hospital of delivery for B1 and will be for B2 too). It's 6 sessions and opened to those delivering in other hospitals. The course covers nutritional info during and post pregnancy, exercises during pregnancy, explanations of some of the pains and discomforts felt during pregnancy (blame it on hormones) as well as breathing techiques, pain management (the various options available), care of baby (bathing, breastfeeding, etc)...

My hubby and I found the course useful for the information provided and the staff's help in clarifying queries or fears that were raised by the participants. There were also a few videos shown -- including one of the baby actually being born and this one caused many people to cover their eyes or bury their faces in their spouse's shoulders (my husband called it a horror movie!

Oh yeah, the class was also brought into the delivery suite and shown the equipment. Basically the whole course provide info to help prepare ourselves for the actual childbirth process. However, I understand that some gynaes have certain preferences (peeves?) so whatever is learnt in such classes that you intend to put into practice in the delivery process should be clarified with your gynae. Like a couple of my friends have encountered gynaes who are not keen to have their patients opt for epidural and will try to persuade them otherwise during their visits. Not saying whether it's good or not good to have epidural.

Here's the link to Mt A's childbirth class brochure. Generally, you can start signing up fr 20wks on.
http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/Childbirth%20Education%20Brochure.pdf

Of course real-life is unpredictable so some may find whatever learnt in such classes of little benefit in the anxiety and pain of the actual delivery situation. In my case I asked for epidural and it helped with the pain management but next door to me I could hear women screaming at the top of their lungs -- the nurses said those didn't opt for epidural. Frankly, some of the screams were blood curdling and made my hubby worry for me but because I opted for epidural, I didn't experience the "real" pain and he didn't faint from me needing to cut off the blood supply to his fingers!

so many posts to catch up liao... tried logging in ystdy but can't find the thread!

went for my detailed scan last fri, confirm i'm having a BOY. yippeee... so now i can close factory liao :D

re: ante-natal class
waste of time for me, coz end up i C-Sect. and i went more for hb' sake coz he never handle bb; and let him learn abt it coz he will have to handle bb too. can't expect everything throw to me, rite?

jinglebel
i had leg cramps a few times oredi, i thk very early stage, in my 2nd month or so. but now getting better liao; hardly have it (touchwood) during this 2nd tri

bb movement
1st timer will only feel bb move/quickening around 20wks. ur gynae will also ask u abt it. for me, 2nd time round came quite early lor. and bb very active at nite. will kick kick here n there; like buay si tiam like dat... ahahaha...
i scared towards 3rd tri, still so active then every nite hv to endure his kicks n kallang wave, i no nid to 'koon' liao... grrr....

joanne.. welkum

had probs loggin to motherhood forum aneone.. since yesty leh.. cannot loggin

kittybride.. wah u so cunone ahh!!! so good u are having a boy..... congrats.... and can close factory.. no lah.. still can have no 3.... btw u were glowing when i collected my items from u .. and suspected u were having a boy oredi

hi hi everyone....very long time since I came in...bb #2 confirmed 2b ah boy (same gender as #1)

I did went to pre-natal course for #1 @ Thomson Medical. Course conducted by Wong Boh Boi....she's very entertaining &amp; informative. Quite beneficial for me &amp; hubby cos I picked up the breathing method 2b used during labour...helps me with the contraction pain. It also answered a lot of queries for me. Think what's important is whether u read the information (in books &amp; online) or not. Me &amp; SO not the reading type so we went for course &amp; asked all questions there.:cool:

Yah me also unable to log in during the weekends..I thought our (2009/04) April 2009 MTBs has been removed liao. Haha

Thanks Chris for the info..i will check wif TMC when during admission. Kidzskidz, thanks for the details abt the course, I think its very useful especially for us first timers. But hor..my weekends usually all burnt..(visit in-laws/do housework/gg out/napping).. if got 'time' should attend.

All of us here mostly 2nd tri, can I check if U all if U will feel emotional etc. I dun koe if its due to the pregnancy or wat (last time i very bochap and not like tat one)..during the weekends..I cry for no reason. Even hubby sweet talk I also cry (I'm not touched.. but feeling sad instead..dunno why for no reason). This morn, a staff requested a letter the last minute and demanded she "wants it NOW" .. (KPI is 1-2hrs) i got so irritated that I raised my voice and scolded her until she cried. Me not so nasty one.. I think something is wrong with my emotions recently.

congrats kittybride =)

beloved, i think its the hormones. im naturally emotional but think im even more emotional now. n i find myself more clingy n needy of my hubby's attention. i also find myself more irritable now (but im easily irritated naturally too). i dunno wat else to do but try to control lor... *hugs*