(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

All my friends also said that rather don't take durian when pregnancy for whatever reasons. But I can't resist the temptation when I had my 1st child and now he is a health 3 years old boy. So don't know eh.

dodos
My back was very pain when I had my 1st, esp after 5months preg, then I bought the support belt and it does help alots. Does anyone experience difficulity to position the tummy at nite? I wear the support belt and it helps me to keep my tummy in a good position.

You can buy them from the big malls like ST or Vivo they come with different brands. But I thought I bought it from www.coozfashion.com at that time.

Good morning mummies...
Wow.. So many posts yesterday.

RE: Discharge
DTSMummy, thanks! I will ask my gynae this Friday. Hopefully, the discharge is fine. I had it when I was carrying my #1 too. It turns out to be a yeast infection. Gynae gave me a pill to slot into my vagina and I recovered very fast. But the first baby I kena when I was in the 3rd trimester.

RE: Food
Seemed like food is the topic now. I think I can more lucky. I have home cooked food everyday. Everyday (weekdays) when I fetch my gal home, I will also tapao food home from my mom's place home for my hubby and me. Just need to cook rice at home. As for soup, too bad my hubby not chance to drink the soup, I will normally drink the soup at my mom's place. She will normally cook like black chicken with some herbs, herbal chicken soup, etc...

As for weekends, normally my hubby or me will take turns to cook during the weekends. And weekends sure have soup. We will cook like sharkfin's melon soup (abit cooling), potato and carrot soup, pig's stomach soup (this one my hubby cooks), corn's soup, etc... Sometimes, I will just boil longan red dates drink and drink it throughout the day (like having confinement) Haha... If not, can cook like claypot chicken/pork rice or cabbage rice with pork and mushroom and chinese sausage etc...
Also very nice...

RE: Beef
I think I will try not to consume beef for this pregnancy. I ate alot of beef in my first pregnancy and my daughter can really sweat even in air-con room. Though can make her stronger, but like very ke lian.. Keep on sweating.

Devil, when you see ur gynae, can u ask how to differentiate b/w "normal" discharge & discharge tt we have to tell them about??? Thanks. & u're so lucky to have a hubby who can cook so many delicious food...

Eunice, sure no problem. I will check with my gynae on Friday.

My hubby was overseas on his own for 3 years to study in Sydney. So he had to cook on his own... That's why he's good in cooking. But he hates to wash. So I have to wash the utensils after that...

Good morn MTBs, such a good weather to sleep
Just realise I have 3 babies 1st mth shower and 3 weddings to go frm this mth till Jan, faint!
Dunno want to go all or not, so lazy and gn gto pok gia liao :p

Devil, hey my hubby was in overseas for several yrs so he loves to cook too, we are so lbess with hubbies can cook, yeah?

Dodos, dun need to panick if baby dun respond if u 'disturb' ur tummy, think bb hv a routine to hv active movements, but u unsure can chk wif ur gyane or read more info frm pregnancy bks
Is maternity belt useflu?

kidzkidz,
you still bf yr kid? Heard it will cause early contractions leh... do check wif yr gyane for more information.

Mangogal, yeah.. We are really fortunate. But my hubby very strange. He never cooks when he is at his parents' home. His parents keep on bugging him to cook but never succeeded. Haha... Coz he stayed with his uncle in Sydney and his uncle praised him for his cooking to his parents...

Only when he is at home, then he will cook. I guess he prefers to cook, coz dunno what kind of cook I will come up with. Haha...

You got so many weddings to go. Aiyo.. For me, mainly is baby showers and 1 yr old birthdays... All close friends and relatives... So pocket will have a big big hole..

Dodos, my baby will only disturb me if I disturb, like forgetting about my stomach and lying straight down on my stomach on my bed.. Then I will feel some poking effects. I think should be ok...

I gt craving for nasi lemak for dinner, will go to the kovan area for the famous punggol nasi lemak tonight, hehe!
think weekend will go geylang buy thr tau huey with yutiao and crispy biscuit with park floss!
oh no,I realise my craving increase as move into 2nd tri! Just now one of my colleague in washroom say ur tummy so much bigger than last week!

Devil, my hb also only cook at our hm, he wont 'snatch' my mum's kitchen to cook cos he will feel stress plus his cooking style is more 'ang moh', he likes Rachael Ray & Jamie Oliver recipes.

Hanor so many but think I will go 1 bb shower and 2 weddings , close fren and colleagues. Sure pok gia liao :p

mangogal: I see Eunice 2 weekly. Think she mentioned to me that another patient of yrs seeing her weekly, think must be you lah...
Is this yr 1st bb? I have a 1 yr old boy.

Juxta: I also like Lotus root soup.
But heard that from China in the end, I dare not to boil to soup them.

DTSMummy: Sorry for the confusion. Yes, do amnio becos above 35 not because to find out the sex of bb.

RachelC, i like that too! with peanuts and dried cuttlefish! so sweet and tasty, but lazy now to cook :p

I just got a call from the doc's clinic that my blood test came back normal, such a relief!

RachelC/mangogal, thanks!!

mangogal, when i had #1, super kancheong, everything i'll fret about, now really like abit bochap liao hahaha

mangogal,
you live ard north east around is it. cos the nasi lemak you mentioned around the area seems to be one of my fav food too.

I also find that my tummy suddenly bloated since 1-2weeks ago.

haa Juxta,
u are an experience mummy nw liao mah, so dun need to be so gan jiong.
Think next time when I preg 2nd time also dun need to fret too much

Haha isit Aries? Yalor the famous Punggol nasi lemak one with long queue, so far I only eaten nasi lemak once during this pregnancy, cos was having ms and coconut smell turns me off, now appetite liao so gt more craving :p

U how many weeks liao?

I don't find the famous punggol nasi lemak nice leh. Also don't understand why so long queue. My hubby and i think it's not nice. Nothing special.

This preg i super gan giong although it's my no.4 liao. How i wish i can see the gynae every week. Put my mind at ease at least. I have to worry for another 3 weeks till the next check up

mangogal, eh too bochap also no good, like not eating healthy enough heheh.

aries, my tummy also seemed to ballooned overnight.

Dodos wah u mean u already have 3 kids, wah peifu u still gt energy for the 4th one!
My hubby likes their nasi lemak samba chilli, actually that stall is nonya nasi lemak, he dun like malay NS LM cos he say chilli too sweet not nice.

Yala Juxta, so eat heathliy lo

Jas, cramp need to rest in bed? I also got bad cramps.. U mean leg cramps or???

Wow... Dodos... U have 3 kids already? I thot in the spreadsheet is your first kid... Really salute you... You still have the energy...

Wat kind of cramps? If tummy cramps better rest at hm, try nt to walk around...

I also have some aching lower cramp near groin area and upper thigh very suan if stand too long. Need to sit dwn and cant walk or stand too long or far.

dodo, you are really good!!!

Last night i was having dinner, when i saw a family next table, i supposed they've got 7 kids!! all with the same face and single birth as can tell visibly no twins! really peifu. age ranging from under 2 to possibly pri sch. And the kids are so well behaved, the elder ones will help to buy dinner, the younger ones will sit quietly and wait for it to come and then feed themselves.

Veron, i also get some cramps on and off, eh not normal ah? i thought is like uterus expanding

ya, i thk i'm also a little bit guilty of not taking a more 'gan cheong' attitude towards my #2. but m trying hard lor coz #1 kept me n hb occupied every evening till she zzz...

but #2 is constantly reminding me of its presence by tiny thumps here and there... which is good coz i will 'talk' to him/her when i feel it poking me. of coz i only do it when nobody is around lah.

dodos,
3wks fly by very fast one... just think, in 3 wks' time u will be able to see ur baby again and may even find out the gender!

re: durians
i'm also a big fan and can just wallop 2 styrafoam boxes in one session! ahahaa... that time i was abt 7m pregnant w #1 and had cravings lor. even my hb scared of the way i ate, ask me to CONTROL.... ahahhaa...

now my hometown is durian season liao - my mom said got quite a bit oredi and are those super creamy/yummy type lor. too bad i had no chance to eat by the time i go back for Xmas...
everytime wrong timing.

Veron: don't worry, rest more. No bleeding is good. Don't walk too much. If u have helper at home, ask her to be yr hands and legs if possible.

seem like mommies here are in love or craving for durian and even crabs leh....like to recommend this period at merchant court now have promotion for both crabs and durian serving. Can go and satisfy your craving there ladies okie.

oh yes Limus! Merchant court are famous for their durian goodies but only buffet hv leh, the promotion is under their buffet menu or can just buy back hm and njoy?

Veron, just rest more and dont go anywhere after work

Hi ladies...
I've been having ligament pain, but this cramp is different. I have difficulties walking when the cramp happens...

This cramp pulls from my belly, to the right side of my adominal... its terrible. I thought last week was a 1 time incident, till it happened again last night. So decided to just rest in bed the whole of today... its better now, but still have slight discomfort on my right adominal. =(

Last week when I went to see the gynae, we didn't detact any abnormal syntoms...

Jas J: doesn't yr tummy hardened? If yes, maybe it's good to let yr gynae know? If you don't feel good, maybe can visit gynae again?

hi all MTBS,
wah this thread is moving fast, i check back every day but seems like can't catch up liao..

i also don't know the gender of my bb yet, hopefully next week (18 weeks) will be able to know...

btw any mummy feel the belly area like kinda itchy?? I was told this was because the belly's stretching to accomodate the growing bb...also i feel some fluttering in the tummy..not sure if i'm oversensitive or is it bb's kicking...

DTSMummy, thanks for your post. I guess I'll be sticking it out with the same gynae for this pregnancy...next time I will do more homework to find a better gynae. My priority now is to keep my blood sugars in check to ensure bb is healthy. You don't know how tough that is!!!

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Can I breastfeed while pregnant?</font></font>

<font color="ff0000">Yes!</font> "Breastfeeding during pregnancy is fine for most women, although it's important to eat well. Hormonal changes in the early days may give you sensitive nipples making breastfeeding difficult. Nipple stimulation through breastfeeding or making love will cause mild uterine contractions, but, for most women, these are not strong enough to create a problem. However, if you have a history of premature delivery or miscarriage, or if you are bleeding, then you might need to think about weaning your older child." - Extracted from Baby Centre (US) http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/breastfeeding/breastfeedwhenpregexpert/

My personal note: Breastfeeding while pregnant is an age-old practice still common in lesser developed countries i.e. no milk powder available. Even today in the west, where breastfeeding is much supported -- the concept of Tandem Nursing (TN) is encouraged. TN is when you breastfeed two children/babies at the same time. This can thus be the breastfeeding of your newborn + your older child, or breastfeeding of twins.

I've realised breastmilk is the earliest gift we can give our newborn and being able to breastfeed truly helps build a strong bond between mom and babe. So I encourage MTB to commit to breastfeed before electing to offer formula/water.

I actually had a tough time breastfeeding B1 initially. First she was a nip and napper and secondly, I didn't get the technique right in the 1st week that resulted in painful, cracked nipples. So I feed on demand and B1's style was to feed for 10-15mins and then fall into deep sleep. But wake again anywhere between 45mins to 1.5hrs to feed again. You can guess how tiring this was for me but I was adamant about not introducing her to the bottle too early (some babies don't look back after trying the bottle...). Thank God B1 was able to modify her feeding pattern by 1-1.5M and we quickly settle into a more regular routine.

Thanks Rachel and mangogal... I used to have bleeding during my early pregnancy... so, am a bit paranoid...

But i found out from TMC 24 hrs clinic that as long as there is no bleeding accompany with cramp, it should be ok....

Veron, ya I can understand your worries...me too gt spotting in 1st tri so paranoid like u.
So rest well over the weekend

kittybride.... u preggie now???? wow mummies.. i like no mood to loggin here.. and see .. but reading all this.. wow.. so nice to hear all this... guess wat.. still cannot see gender of bb when go for detailed scan... must go again next week.. hope for the best for me ok.... i m still pumping out ebm and mix firmula since last month coz my supply dropped SO MUCH,, eso after fasting month.... i managed to fast for the whole month again.. managed to do it for all my 4 babies.... and do 11 types of hari raya cookies....

I am in my 20th week of pregnancy and still will vomit daily when i brush my teeth in the morning. At night, sometimes will also vomit, but, like alternate nights. I am not sure do I still call this MS.

I treat it as BB saying Good morning and Good Night to me when vomiting take place.

hi eunice,

dont like dat like... cheer up, man.... My SIL had MS thru' out her preg of 38 weeks.... sometimes better, somethimes worse than before.... mummies are strong ones... hang on... things shall improve one lor.... jia you!!!

I dun vomit food or liquid out now but gt the urge to vomit after brushng teeth, very xinku, then I realise when donig the urge to vomit action, i will leak abit of urine and whole tummy will feel very xinku
..do u all as well while vomiting? THen I gt to wear panty liner lor.
Do u all wear panty liner becos of this?

Mangogal: My MS was very bad with B1 -- threw up so loudly whole office knew I was expecting. And I did leak urine too coz my vomitting was with a lot of force -- felt like the Merlion at time, suddenly gushing out full-force. I actually wore regular sanitary pads instead. In my 3rd tri, coz of indigestion, I ended up with bad heartburn and and often had to throw up too as the felt food stuck in my chest. Now with B2, 1st 2 to almost end of 3rd mth was a breeze. But since then I've had very bad indigestion after lunch -- again feeling is can't even slouch coz food stuck in my chest. Makes me feel like throwing up or sometimes I just gotta purge in order to get relief. But this time round, haven't leak urine.

Do drink in moderation (don't down whole cups at in a short time) and go toilet inbetween more often. Also, do your Kegel exercises to strengthen your pelvic muscles: when in loo, try stop urinating half-way to tell which are the muscles to focus on. Afterwards, wherever you are (sitting, standing) just keep tensing (hold tightly for 5 counts) and releasing this set of muscles. As muscles strengthen, count higher before releasing. This will help.

In 3rd tri, baby's bigger and sits on bladder so some women will experience involuntary urinary incontinence when coughing, laughing too. So keep doing Kegels! (Impt after delivery too...)