(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Abt amnio: Yes, w age every part of our body deterioriates. For older women who wants kids, it's ovaries that are main concern thus stats shows greater risk of bearing DS baby when a mother crosses 35 (can't rmbr exact stats). Younger moms also hv slight risk of bearing DS babies. With advance in tech nowadays, think cautious gynaes advise their patients to do a particular ultra-sound scan: Nuchal Translucency (Down's Syndrome Risk Assessment) which is at 11-14wks. This measures thickness of the fluid at the back/base of the neck -- thicker means higher risk factor. Since B1 was b4 I turned 35, my Dr asked me to do that scan. But this time he gave us option. Scan about 90% accurate, amnio 99%. Still all Drs will say whatever tests or scans done for whatever reasons will always have some chance results not accurate.

Baby movements - sorry ladies I'm back on this topic. Been having a very ticklish feeling on my umbilical area... and sometimes, it 'pulls' all the way down to 'down there'.

Anyone have the same feel? Any idea if it could be baby movement?

Kidzskidz

dr give u antibiotic 1 course ? so fast
my dr said will give me antibiotic during give birth

dr said at the moment dont need because mine is not smelling

i thinking go and see chinese 'sisen' since dr didt give me any medicine to cure Group B

Jas J: Any "respond" when you get this feeling and you put your hand there and apply light-medium pressure? Usually if baby's moving and you apply pressure, will "kick/push" back.

Hi kidzkidz... I've not tried it... will do so the next time I feel this. I'm only 16weeks this time, will I feel baby's kick back?

Veron: The test not for gender but it's a detailed test so even gender will come up. Just that when I did my amnio, umbilical cord was between baby's thigh so Dr couldn't tell me. Test will in 3wks time. But I also hv to do another type of scan @ TMC before that, I'll ask the radiologist then if got clear pic. That's what happened during my 1st preg too -- very naught babies. In fact during 6-7M period, when can do 3D scan to see face of B1 she refused to cooperate. Just lie facing my spine or face-down...

Chris: Think he gave to see if can help the situation -- but he clearly stated can't get rid once virus in body. I didn't even hv discharge -- results juz came up in the urine test.

thank you Shers.... Thanks for your inputs, great help

hb will be coming over to my mum's pl over weekend only, with my gal (tentative, this'll be the arrangement)... so thinking to buy the necessary stuffs myself on weekdays n bring over to my mum's pl.... hmmmm... gotta ask my mum to do the marketing for me lor on sat. btw, my mum is working lor so nobody will be @ home then.

leereiner,

no problem. i was staying with my in law when no 1 was birth.

so i did most of the marketing with my in law on weekend. when CL came and when things ran out, she will inform my in law and she will buy the stuff on weekend. marketing is done once a week for my case because all working.

so weekdays, only maid, me, CL and no 1 were home..

for my no 2, my no 1 will stay with my mum on weekdays and hb and mum will bring no 1 back on weekend. so weekdays will be me, CL and no 2 at home.. hb is working so back in evening time.. mine tentatively will be this case..

this time i want to have as much rest so that i can have more milk.. so my hb says put no 1 at my mum place..

when CL goes back, then i will try to cope with 2 kids myself for my remaining ML..

Jas J: 16wks can start feeling some movement when we press down (that thing lah: for every action there's an opposite reaction...). Shdn't tickle now leh. When baby's bigger (7M+) can do kungfu kicks and Kallang Wave (can see movement from left to right of belly) -- or with one movement knock the wind out of us.

<font color="ff0000">Tickle Time Nursery Rhyme</font>
Learnt this from my sis who was a pre-sch educator. She "played" this on her belly while pregnant and on baby after birth -- baby could recognise. Same results when I do on my girl before and after she's born:

Dot, dot, dot (use finger to "poke" dot, dot, dot down from middle of diaphragm to belly)

Line, line, line (use finger to draw line from diaphragm to navel, drawing from up to down position)

Spider crawling up your spine (one hand pretend to be spider crawl from navel to diaphragm)

Spider here (move "hand spider" L-R across mid-belly)

Spider there (move "hand spider" R-L across mid-belly)

Spiders everywhere (use two "hand spiders" to move madly all over belly)

<font color="0000ff">Wonderful bonding game with baby after birth. My hubby and I like to "descend" on our girl with 4 "hand spiders" to tickle her all over. She'll squirm and laugh loudly, then ask for "more"

kidzskidz,

Thanks... Ya.. to my knowledge.. i know that test is only for down syndrome only...

Re: Baby movements
I will ask my husband to listen to the bb's heartbeat every morning... and as usual, he listened this morning again... and he can feel the baby's kick on his face... and he was surprised... haa...

Veron: Yeah, B1 used to kick her daddy in the face too. Actually still do when playing madly... Heehee, nothing's changed.

Movement: Up to 3wks back, I did get sudden singular muscle spasm -- above belly button. Especially when I was changing position e.g. getting up from sitting. Had to stop and not move or breath deep. Happened about 3-4x then no more. Anybody kena that? I didn't with B1. Had "loose" leg though -- with each step I was limping at pelvic joint. Found out during the prenatal class at Mt A it was due to a pregnancy hormone "Relaxin". Meant to make pelvic joint loose enough for baby to pass through but this hormone can end up relaxing any joint. Good thing it stopped right after delivery -- in some cases the OT says can persist for up to 3M after.

One more post before I log off:

Aqua cushion -- the kind drivers sit on to cool their bums. It's great to have around when baby running fever -- let baby slp on it to help bring temperature down. I got the usual square one but saw later there's a rectangular one. Now even when my hubby or I run a fever, we also slp on it. Juz passed mine to neighbour for her feverish kid so told myself muz share this here. Btw, I bought it coz saw a newspaper article that they use it in KKH too

hehe Veron, so cute right?
Well think if u can feel bb movement more distinct, then maybe dun need ur hb to listen to heartbeat lor
Nw when my bb move, I will tell my hb to place his hand to feel bb move and he loves it,hehe!

Limus, congratulations on hvg bb girl! =)

2nd tri got different kind of "bu" soups? anyone care to share?

im in my 17th wk &amp; i still havent felt baby leh, but do feel some 'funny' feelings sometimes, but dunno issit bb turning or wat...

white discharge cld b a symptom of something serious??? i tot as long as no itch it's normal?? any other symptom other than white discharge? so scary leh...

Hi Kidzkidz... I think I had that last week. If you referred to my posting last Thursday...

I was in pain during lunch suddenly at my belly..., couldn't breath deep, and had to walk like a turtle back to office due to the pain (but not loose leg). Rushed down to gynae, but everything seems fine from scan and I felt ok by the time I reached the clinic. Until what you just said, I think I had that symtoms... =(

It was a very scary experience... I tot I was losing...

mummies, have you heard that next yr will not be a good yr for ox? Last night my hubby was telling me that his colleague was telling him.

hee oki Veron

MTBs here, what's for dinner tonight?
Hungry liao but need inspiration to eat :p
Everyday eat outside also dunno what to eat,hehe...
BTW, do u all snack at afternoon teatime? I depends...i gt biscuits but also eat until sian :p

mangogal,

I also eat outside 24/7. Haha.. tired of that... think i will eat hor fun tonight... I snacked in the afternoon as well with biscuits and sometimes, oatmeal...

me also eat outside except for wed and fri nite when i get to eat my mum's cooking..

today is wed so will eat what my mum cooks..

if noon eats soup stuff, dinner will eat rice and alternate.. very sian to think of what to eat.. so very often, i like fast food.. no need to think

haha Shers, i am also thinknig of fast food nw but nt very healthy leh :p

weekends I will go back my mummy hse for hm cook food, weekdays my hb will cook on every friday cos he will be hm early.

so mon to thurs dinner gt to eat outside till very sian..

Veron, hor fan ah?
me no craving for zhi char leh...meeting my hb at compasspoint n will decide what to makan there:p

I love MOS burger fat fries,haha!

i did some search online.. not really helpful towards ox babies.. but more to family members..

""2009 is Year of the Yin Earth OX. OX is earth element, so earth comes very strong in 2009. How good is your lucky in 2009? How good is it for the stock market?

The following is the forecast of Luck in 2009 based on your lucky element:

Metal : Very good luck. Earth supports Metal.
Water : Bad luck. Earth can make Water disappear.
Wood : Poor luck. Earth is afraid of Wood. But Wood needs to fight with strong Earth to win
Fire : Fair luck. Strong Earth could weaken the Fire.
Earth : Very good luck. Even better if the birth chart has Yang Wood or Rat.

Generally, people with lucky element of Earth and Metal have more lucky months in 2009, while those with lucky element of Water have least luck in 2009.""

thanks Shers for research.

For me, I like soupy stuffs, so will ask my maid to cook carrots, potatoes, corn soup with rice. But my maid is new... so need time to train. So last week and this week I have the same stuffs so that she remembers how to cook them.

For lunch, I like to eat plain porridge e.g with long beans and egg or beehoon soup and etc. Sometimes, I ask her to buy duck rice.

hee..hee.. weekend is unhealthy for me, I will eat nasi lemak, fried bee hoon, western food and etc ha...ha...

I find that during the 1st tri, I can only eat carbo e.g. plain toast bread or rice... now better already. Hor Fun can eat only Hor Fun and not the liao...

Rachael, u consider very healthy liao, only weekend unhealthy &amp; ur lunch eat porridge so healthly! Glad that u hv maid to solve ur meals headache

So u nt working? SAHM for ur child?

Rachel,
I heard that too... haha... the next season will be mid of next yr... but then, we still can find durians in the market now... but mostly are from Thailand...

shers,

so sian.... my baby will make me &amp; hb disappear next year!!! i hope it doesn't mean BIG HOLES in our pockets! ahahaha...

but next year we oredi mentally prepared to brace ourselves for the recession liao... so a lot of things gotta cut down liao. my #2 will wear all jie jie's home clothings (even if it turns out to be a boy!) wahahaa... but lucky lah, my gal's home clothings mostly neutral colors one.

i just pray hard i have MILK, else will be tough coz 1st stage milk powder (0-6months) SO.... EXPENSIVE!!!

re: eat out
sama sama... every day my hb will call me about 530pm and ask me, later wat to eat? where to meet? wah... i also dun know wat to say oredi.

then if hb got other ECA in the evenings, he will surely ta pao supper back home - usually are very sinful stuffs like satay or fastfood... i think this pregnancy to-date i drank more soft drink than the whole of my last pregnancy!!! just hope it doesn't lead to me getting too high blood sugar!!! grrrr.....

rachel,

until now, i cant eat anything with garlic or with spices..

last week, i cooked spagetti and i put in rosemary spices.. and i puke like siao..

even vege, i tried to look for those with not that many garlic..

me also.. prefer soup stuff because i feel that those food made me better..

2nd tri onwards then wack on durian.. but by 3rd tri, stop because all those 'goodies' will go to mummies and not babies..

if u can take beef, eat more during 2nd tri also..

next time yr baby will be very fit!! but will sweat alot.. like my little gal..

i take in alot of cheese, milk, salmon fish, beef and durian for my no 1.. now she is very tall for her age, bigger build than other kids.. and of course, she is not afraid of cold.. and easily sweat..

mangogal, this is my new maid and she just came for 3 weeks and I have a hard time training her. Training not done yet... so don't envy me, as their hygiene and cleaniness is not there one.

No, not SAHM, currently working from home. And my todd is with nanny during the day. When hub picks him back daily, we will play on the bed with him. Eunice put me working from home, then will do 2 weeks of bed rest after the amnio... When are u going to see her again?

my gal is very active.. my bro in law says its because during pregnancy, i took too much sugar contained stuff.. so baby is kinda active.. hehehe..

so kittybride, be careful..

for my no 2, i'm quite careful on my drinks..

lunch, i try to take barley.. at home will go for cool water..

at least cool water its better than luke water.. heheh..

chat with u gals tml! going home le..

shers,

ya, i also scared #2 hyperactive later on...
thk i really gotta restrain myself liao.

okie, me gotta pack too.
chat tmr, ladies.

Rachel, your soup sounds like my most often cooked soup at home too! haha thats easy to feed and my hb and son both likes it.

thought i'm the only one who can stomach carbs only in 1st tri. I also like eat rice mostly and if fish ball kwayteow, i dun touch the fishballs. Until now, I still cannot handle garlic and anything with strong spices. I havent been eating much green veg cos is often stir fried with garlic!

kittybride, my #1 i had tons of supper, put on so much wt and i loved durians!!!

Shers: Yes, eat more beef, bb will be strong. I also heard 2nd tri must wack more durians. But heard now the durian har, not pure like last time, so limit the wacking also..ha...ha... But I will definitely eat durian was my favourite but now can't.

aiyo.. talking abt sweat, my bb also sweat alot. Also don't know good or not? I scare his sweat gland not working lah... don't know normal or not. But some pple told me means healthy wor.

milk and soya bean drink, ice-cream, I can't eat, after eating will vomit... now can eat plain stuff only. But things are improving...

anyway I read that early 3rd trim, good to eat ginko nuts and barely, good for bb skin or brain I think. I eat during my 1st pregnancy also.

mummies eat more silver fish, as good source of calcium.. but remember must soak for 30mins to take away the salt...

Veron, I think can try the durians at 711 it's near serangoon. Think quite famous there. If not, try Geylang if got craving but I usually order from my usual fruit stall.... but I have been asking, they say not here yet...

I dun like Thailand one as eat a little bit full already, no smell like eating potatoes... I like the mountain cat one... nice. yummy yummy... aiyo... I think I am hungry but now too early to have dinner now... bye chat again tomo...

wah so many post suddenly!

Rachael , so far I hv nt start durian, prob after late 2nd tri..think can find durian now but dun eat too much cos heaty, everything in moderation lor,oh I am seeing Eunice next week, actually I am seeing her on weekly basis cos I very gan jiong abt this pregnancy and my case abit special..

Shers, I also still get 'fan3 wei4' but not vomit on certain food, so i still picky, i like soupy food so lunch will eat more like ban mian, I also eat alot of beef for iron source.

I hv nt start ANY bu at all like birdnest, ginko nuts etc...I find so long as gt balance diet nt neccessary...hmm maybe late 2nd tri will eat some. But meat, I will take more bu type like salmon &amp; beef.

Kittybride, try to cut dwn soft drinks, I very scared artificial drinks so only drink sweet stuff likefruit juice, ribena, prune juice and cranberry and all in high vit C

Jas J: Yeah, I was worried too about baby when the spasms started. Esp as never experienced it with 1st preg.

Durians - just had some yummy home-made durian cake in office, made by one of my colleagues. This Fri she making glutinuous rice (zhu bee png). This wk get to eat lotsa nice stuffs... Anyway, nowadays durian are genetically modified so can find year-round

Earlier on there were posts about preggies milk intake. Quite a few of my frenz &amp; colleagues told me Anmum is more fattening. For one of them, her gynae told her specifically to switch to other brands. Anyone been told this too?

Soyabean milk: Dietian @ the Mt A prenatal class said the one we buy from hawker has minimal nutritional value. Best if want to drink, to get the carton type whc is enriched.

Bird's nest: she said no real proof it's very good to take during pregnancy (grannies say good for complexion...). But these birds normally lives near sea-caves and eats fishes (including the bones) so the spit got lotsa minerals e.g. calcium, magnesium.

Breastmilk supply: I'm stl bfdg my 20MO morning and night. Hopefully supply will be sufficient when B2's born. Otherwise I intend to standby bottle of fenugeek 1st -- it helps increases milk supply (my fren tried it).

juxta, almost the same... i eat hor fun, i only take the hor fun, not interested in the liao. prefer plain carbs. i find my taste really change, things tt i really liked like tt, now i dun like, like garlic. last time take garlic pasta will ask for extra garlic, now i dun even eat tt anymore. u must take veg leh, fry it urself at home w/o garlic?? or take those in soup?? tdy is a bad bad day for me...i tot my MS was getting much better then tdy back w vengence &amp; got bad tummyache after not being able to pass motion for past few days (GP says as long as not tummyache cannot pass motion, then its ok, maybe body system changed...if 3 days pass 1 time, then so be it)

<font color="0000ff">Jshoppers.com Free Shipping Promo</font>
Hey ladies, free international shipping now (till Christmas)with no min. limit on purchase
I've purchased baby stuffs from here before and liked the design and quality -- www.jshoppers.com

eunice, i like bian mian, so luckily got veg in it. I try to up my veg level also, but the green taste sometimes puts me off leh. I used to love mushrooms and garlic, now i just dun want to touch it! hahah pregnancy can be so beautiful yet weird!

its yet another fastflowing week with more newcomers... welcome, kidzskidz. =) love the conversation roll on caregiving for kids of 2nd time or more mummies, though im not in that category [hope to be there by year 2010 =p]...

lilmoo/raspberrytea: definitely in difficult times, its best to have good rapport with your doctors to handle the situation as best as possible. its not very ethical to treat patients with new drugs and especially with underlying motives, unless the patient has a good understanding that he/she is 'under trial'. lilmoo: thanks for the info on FBI. =)

dev19: regarding discharge and intercourse, it really depends on what the discharge is due to, if its due to candida/[touchwood]STD, can be infectious.

raspberrytea: i heard a lot of better ob/gyn have left for the private sector; dunno whos good thats left.

rachel: are u doing amnio because its recommended for mummies over 35 yrs old? i dont think its meant for mummies to check gender of baby...

kittybride: best lah, ur kid takes ur tummy as a super tall stool. =D

shers: thanks for ur clarins lobang =))

re: calcium &amp; muscle cramps
- calcium is needed for muscle function, and so theoretically can cause cramps, but for most mummies, ur daily intake should be sufficient, especially with multivitamins [so dont really think theres a pressing need to take calcium tablets].however, i dont think theres harm in taking a trial of calcium supplements for a couple of months if the muscle cramps are bad and frequent massages/balancing out sodium and potassium [e.g. pinch of table salt in a cup of fluids, if u r the type to perspire a lot] has not helped. veron's article is good to read. =) shers/dev19: milk that has sufficient amounts of calcium is what's most important, regardless of flavouring. maya: i think its the milk u consume more than the chocolate. =)

re: gender scan &amp; cord
i agree with dodos &amp; kidzskidz that it really isnt that easy to tell whether its a boy/girl, especially in earlier stages when things arent fully developed yet. kidskidsz: thats a cheeky lil girl =D. aries: i think thats a nice way to bond with the kid &amp; train the kid while in the womb. well all in all, i think God still wants to give us that little bit of mystery till birth!

re: hunger
im 16-17 weeks now; just want to ask if u gals wake up at 4am hungry frequently like i do? i think im still eating a fair portion of food throughout the day, but somehow i get up with a strange gastric discomfort at 4am [i take the chance to pee too].

re: caregiving for kids of 2nd time or more mummies
queen: is there an option of monthly rotations between your MIL and your mum so that your #1 and #2 can spend time together, and so your MIL and mum will have alternate month breaks [but still they can visit each other if they miss their grandkids too much]? kidzskidz: how much is infantcare for u? dev19: its interesting ur ILs think having a maid is better than childcare; so they are ok with leaving ur child at home with a maid [ i thought quite a lot of elderly folk are worried about maids 'abusing' kids]?? shers: i dont think kidskidsz means to be offensive; i think based on her experiences, she wanted to share about responsible parenting. seriously, parents can also be at home all the time, but leave the caring to the maid or other family members and its not ideal for the child's emotional health.

re: SAHM
i really do think that its a tough and often unappreciated job [especially in a 'non-contributive to economy' light]. if the situation is favourable, ill like to homeschool my kid [or kids] till at least age 6 before they enter primary school to ground them in good values and to bond with them, especially in this progressively degenerate society. sigh...

re: vitamins
maya: folic acid shouldnt be that big bah? mines teeny - got it from the polyclinic [retail], 5mg, so maybe u can try those instead. kittybride: fishoil shouldnt taste bad - mines a softgel, no taste at all.

re: low placenta
i posted previously on it - most of the lowlying placentas will move upwards and not be of concern as pregnancy progresses. but very importantly, ANY sign of BLEEDING [especially with ABDOMINAL PAIN], you must IMMEDIATELY go to the hospital/obs for medical attention. leereiner's and mangogal's links are very good reading material. =) shers: i dont think the belt is proven treatment for moving up placentas...

re: group-b-streptococcus infections
GBS screening sounds very important indeed, based on chrisong's article - ill probably ask for it, nearer delivery date, coz GBS infection of the newborn occurs during delivery and its not proven to take antibiotics for GBS vaginal colonisation as its likely to grow back. however, if theres symptoms of GBS urinary tract infection, they will give a course of antibiotics. btw, GBS is a bacteria and not a virus, thats why u can take antibiotics for it.

re: birdsnest
to my surprise and a bit of shock, my hubby ordered $45/piece quality birdsnest, to boil with $90/2bottles 'paoshen' and rock sugar to boil birdsnest for me. very very sweet lor, but $400 down just for birdsnest liao... what happens if u take too early ah? my hubby wants to start making it weekly for me now?

re: durians &amp; gian-foods
i think theres a 711 branch at the S11 in jurong east for those who r interested. after the talk on dinner foods, all of a sudden i feel like munching char kway teow and chye tow kway, plus cold coke and durian... =D

chris, just like i said usually have to wait till detail scan then will know. Sometimes may not know also. I know they only give multi vit if not it's obimin never others. White discharge i thought it's normal? Only yellow or green then not normal mah.

kidzskidz, so good the baby can respond back when you poke/press. My baby didn't respond back leh. It's so difficult to make bb move. Even if i try to take sweet drink also no use.

Anyone using the maternity belt to support the tummy? Is it useful?

Anyone using the tube like thing? It's suppose to wear on your tummy to support the pants so you still can wear the normal pants.