(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

kittybride, i will try to ask the dr to tell me the gender this Thursday. At 17weeks got 90% accurate or not?
Getting excited liao.

actually, after pregnancy, u will know which women are pregnant and which are fat. there is a difference..

ya.. even if i bring my gal out in pram, when i see pregnant women, i will give up my seat to them.. i have been pregnant before and i know their difficult.. sometimes we just want to have a rest.. being pregnant is difficult enough.. without a seat to rest is even worse..

next week, i'm goin to gynae for checkup.. dont know whether my gynae can tell me the gender ornot.. next week, i will be 15 weeks.. abit early la.. but still hope so..

based on the lunar calendar, i'm expecting a gal.. but hope its not true!!! whahha

dodos,
i think 17wks can see gender liao.
is this ur 1st? cant remember liao

but finding out gender is always exciting coz by then, can start to think of name for bb liao... now i just call mine 'beanie' :p

re: PRIORITY SEAT on MRT
i also get pissed off easily if in bad mood n will 'deng' the person seating there pretending to either 'dozed off' or 'read newspapers/magazines/etc' or play PSP etc...

but strangely enuf, often the person giving up seats are either foreign men (not ang mohs but other nationality) or china lady and occasionally students.

and those who are likely to LOCAL uncles & aunties... usually these aunties are the ones that will 'snatch' the priority seats with preggers! grrr...

but these are just based on my personal experience lah. :p

Haven't been following this thread for 2 days and there's so much to catch up.

Congrats, Mangogal on knowing you are expecting a bb gal. Would be back at my own gynae this sat for check-up. Maybe can confirm gender. Another gynae in TMC referred by my gynae(in her absence) told me it's about 70% certain that mine is a bb gal.

Fruits
Have a strong craving for fruits today and spent $15.90 on 4 Fuji Apples. Quite extreme rt? Bgt guava, rose apple, winter dates and fresh dates too. Took a bit of each and felt so satisfied

Prenatal classes
I would like to attend classes at TMC too. Iwry/Always, when are you starting yours?

Brownish Discharge/Low placenta
I have brownish discharge (not due to intimacy -hb is overseas) and gynae also commented that my placenta is low. Iwry, did your gynae advise you anything about low placenta?

Gynae
Maya, which gynae did you change to? What is the reason for the change? Btw, wd get the clarins oil for you probably this evening or tomorrow noontime, but would definitely get for you. Been told by gynae to rest more and not walk around too much.

kittybride,
no leh... the person who snatched my seat is a China lady wor...
Not all students will give up the seats wor... i met some who dun and carry on chatting with their friends, look around or play psp.... most who gave up seats to me are aunties and some men lah...

Shers,
ic... I have low risks too.

veron,
har? but ya lor, depends on our luck.
like wat dodos said, getting a seat on a crowded mrt is considered BONUS if there are kind ppl on board. else just hv to bear wif him lah...

re: pregnant or just fat
talking abt this; i thk i was a bit blur on the differentiation coz there was once i gave up a seat on the bus (i was not pregnant then but still has the baby bulge) to another malay lady who LOOKED pregnant.
after i gave up my seat for her; she looked at me awhile but still took the seat... then i realised, alamak she's not pregnant lah, just plump!!! hahaha...

Hi Christine, my previous gynae is the same as Shers, nice and patient man. But think he is too popular cos waiting is always horrible. It causes me so much stress so decided to try another gynae. Will see if my second visit goes well before I confirm.

No probs, just let me know once you have gotten it so that can arrange collection. Thanks.

Hi Maya

I have done both Hep A&B jabs at SATA recently when I did my health check in Jul and 1 more jab due in Jan. Not too sure if can still proceed. This twin jab thingy comprises 3 jabs.

i can feel some fluttering and i experience a "harder" movement when I stood near the photocopy machine.. haha.. i was startled.. i think my bb din like the sound.. Im having a boy n no mood for sex lehz..

Dodos,
I think can buy lah coz my bb really seems quite active when i use babyplus.. if u wan, I have the distributor no..

Hi Veron, wat abt now during pregnancy. Has any of you been asked by your gynae to check. Cos I remember doing for my first 2, but not sure at which stage.

Jo, can I have the distributor contact too?

Hep - I think you need to check if you have the immunity against it. I didn't have, so it's best to get a jab.

Oh..talking about inconsiderate pple.. i was at tampines mall on sun n a lady bumped into my tummy VERY HARD.. So i went "OUCH" very loudly n stare at her.. she still got the nerve to say," Aiyah, tummy so small, how to see u r pregnant?"
Wah, I was so hopping mad!! She din even apologise!

Jo,

Wow! That is bad... she just walked off after saying that?? Aiyo... nvm, she will have retribution one...

Jo, thks for the no. Can imagine how mad you must be then. Your reply should be," Aiyah, eyes so blind, how to know your eyes are growing on your head."

Hi mummies! I just went on a shopping spree for clothes yday cos my clothes r getting tight!! got them all from PERFECT MUM @ suntec...salesgirl was v good..ended up buying 9 pcs in total!! haha... 7 pcs n u get 20% off... n some other promo la...

hi shers and veron

i aso experi it .they didt give up the seat is never mind
i have 1 time more horible --- some one stand up because arrive liao then have 1 ladies abt 20 plus year old fight the seat with me .

Eunice,

I went there before... feel that the sales gal a bit force selling ya... haha but then, overall service was good.... i bought from there a cadigan with short sleeves and 2 tube tops....

dodos

i cant feel it yet baby movement now i 16 week aso
next week tues (17week) i have check up may be will know baby gender liao

eunice, i also patronise the perfect mum at suntec b4, the salesgirls, 3 of them really "ying qing"!! Ended up with quite a number of pcs also hahah.

hi jo

u stay tampines area ?
now you how many week ?
and where got Maternity shops sell shirts saying"Im pregnant. Watch out!"
if have you dare to wear mei

This time confirm it's the baby kicking me 2 times liao. Feels good.

This time round i hate to wear maternity clothes. I just make do with bigger clothings till really bobian already then wear it. Don't think it's neccessary to waste money on maternity clothes. Left abt 4-5mths to go only.

mangogal, no hurry lah i heard SG will have it in dec/Jan. Not sure if it's true. But i don't use Avent. Now Pigeon also got BPA bottles. Will be using pigeon brand.

haha Dodos ok, will chk out in Dec/Jan

Oh Pigeon brand better than Avent brand? Can advise?
Hee...I like Avent bottle design & colour leh

dodos,

glad that u oredi can feel bb kicking!

i'm trying hard to 'feel' these few nites after my no. 1 sleeps... so far, nothing yet lor. can't wait to start experiencing it!

re: maternity clothings
for 1st time mom, ya go ahead and invest coz definitely will wear again for no. 2. :p
i still wear my previous maternity clothings coz still not too outdated since my 1st is coming to 1 y/o only. hee hee... saves $ mah coz wif no.2, nid $$ for other stuffs! but on n off still itchy eyes will buy from spree if price is cheap n quality not bad.

i find the maternity clothings here a bit over priced and designs also not so nice lor. so my investment for no. 1 are mostly those A-line or roomy dress type; after given birth can still wear... and dun look like maternity clothings at all! hiak hiak hiak... cham hor, v calculative now coz economy bad lah... next year lagi worst so hv to buckle up early! :D

chris,

aiyoh, did you manage to see which school that student was from?

ystdy on mrt while on the way home, got this teenager boy sitting at the priority seat and keep looking at his PSP. next to him one local chinese lady, abt 40+ i think. when she saw me she straight away kena the 'zzz' curse and shut her eyes so tight!

then next to her were 2 poly gals... both saw me and the one nearer to me was trying to avoid eye contact but they were like discussing whether 'to give or not to give up' their seat! wah... i just pretend didn't hear their whisper n looked out the window.

then 2 stops after, the one further from me gave up her seat.... FINALLY.... after thinking for almost 5 mins leh... OMG, dun know wat is really going thru their heads... one day they too will get married and get PREGNANT leh!!!

okie, enuf of my complaints... hee hee...

mangogal, cos i find avent teat too hard. Most breastfeeding mum will get NUK/pigeon cos the teat is soft.

RE: maternity clothes
I agree 1st time mum can get more cos they can wear them again. This is my last so no point getting it.

Can't wait for tomorrow to come. Will update if i get to know the gender.

I find maternity pants uneasy to wear leh, v shape headband,then gt to wear below belly button, but length too long! Gt to pull & pull to walk, very 'pieak cheak' (in teochew)
Elastic gather gt to wear up above bellybutton but feel restricted...but dun intend to buy any m clothes liao

Dodos, oh I see so is the type of teats they use...ok maybe I will buy both brand for infant bottle each to try next yr when their BPA free range is out
thks gal

mangogal, no need to buy 2 types of bottles la..

now economic so bad.. save money for yr kid's future education.. hahhaa..

i think both pigeon and avents are good.. just buy 1 of the brand will do lor..

also depends on which steriliser u buy.. if u decide on avent, all use avent.. if pigeon then all pigeon..

Talk about MRT seats, yesterday after work I was in MRT with seat but saw a very old lady wth walkng stick enter and noboday gave up their seat so I stood up and let her sit. And the young men and ladies beside me just look up and went back to sleep. This morning, I put a curse again, the moment I enter MRT, they all fell asleep.

Tomorrow I'm going to see gynae, at 15wks 4days, not sure if can see gender???

Avent steriliser can only fit avent bottles if im not wrong. So im getting pigeon steriliser can use all types of bottles. Alot of people like avent even my husband say avent is good but i prefer the softer type of teats.

Veron, im 17wks coming 18. I also don't know how to describe the feeling. Like something knock on your tummy.

I hate low waist maternity pants. Always like want to drop have to keep pulling up. For the high waist type also not so comfy. I prefer the high waist type with adjustable band at both side. Don't put so tight if it's uncomfy.

juxta/veron - yah lor..the salesgirl really v good hor haha... first time i choose w/o really looking at the prices!! i was quite scared when they were totalling the prices hahahahaha.... too bad din hit $500 if not can get GOLD card 20% lifetime haha.