(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

i havent take my lunch yet.. had v late breakfast.. waitin for colleague to pack back for me.. very lazy to walk out..

prefer to eat soupy thing..

my test is 31 oct at nuh.. i'm going to korea so that is the only date i can make it.. dr tham says cannot wait too long coz do oscar test got a period of time..

Wow! Shers, Devil & Maya your kids are so adorable! Really liven up the page! :D

Side track a little. It will be my first time going for OSCAR. Do I need to fast before that?
Or I can still have my breakfast as per normal?

baby_mummy,

not sure le.. maybe can ask yr gynae before the test.. but i know that u need to have full bladder

Hi Shers!

Thanks for the suggestion.
I just called the clinic to check!
Good news! No need to fast!! Else I might faint!

Haha ya need the bladder full for the scan.. and I usually am quite bad with the estimation due to the waiting time.
Hope tomorrow will be better.

Or so must be full bladder huh. That is something impossible for me, cos my water consumption is very low.
1760930.gif

wow!!!! countless postings..... really cant catch up lor.... or rather me being the oldest here...

hey maya, me too, has 7 pax @ home now... staying with my in-laws... PIL, BIL, SIL (my hubby's younger slibings). my gal will not be lonely at any time... and hubby and me can go pak tok anytime too... ha!!!!

shers, envy your home pl has so many selection. @ my side, no pri sch is within 2km. so me gotta be very very kiasu - gotta do pv one... even for the neighbourhood sch leh...

hi queen, things will work well for your boy... jiayou hor...

so you can see, there's no extra room for my gal to be kick out.... ha!!!! so for the #2, we will have 4pax in a bedroom cum toys, cum all barang barang... hee!!!!

glad to see that so many mummies with experience around. Can hear ideas.

I am into my 11 weeks plus and it seems like my vomitting has increased. Thought that it is supposed to subside after the 12 weeks. Sianz.
Anyone still experience MS after the first tri?

I have no appetite also..really dunno how. It seems like my weight has not increased at all. In fact it dropped by 1kg from my last gynae visit.

Wow so interesting!

Shers, you can try this website to check your conceived date.

http://www.amazingpregnancy.com/duedate/
After you get your due date, you click on the "pregnancy calendar".

For conversion to LUNAR age and month, (not sure if my interpretation is correct.., please help correct me if I'm wrong k)

Age of expectant mother (Chinese) = Current age (as in NRIC) + 1 year.

Month of conception should be within the "Mid Jul - Mid Aug" range for most Apr09 mummies to be.

And based on the lunar calendar, if you conceived bet 1 Aug - 30 Aug, it will be the lunar seventh month.

If you conceive between 3Jul - 31 Jul, then it will be the lunar sixth month.

Hey Leereiner, wah so good go pak tor hor. Sometimes I would also go lah, but always feel very guilty, cos I can imagine the chaso happening at home between my parents and the 2 rascals....hehehe
After 3rd dunno whether I dare or not. But since taking maid, can curi curi go jalan jalan lah.

Shers, I anyhow hantam. I just follow english calendar.

Leeuwin, maybe bcos of your vomitting, you lost weight. Don't worry, hopefully your ms will subside soon. Try taking your meals in very small portions.

hi Maya and Shers, i think can email the supplier for the specific measurements?

Share my boy's pics from the studio shoot:
1761087.jpg

1761088.jpg

he brightens up my day

wow, in just a few hours, the conversation has ranged from resale housing costs to oscar/gender predictions, to the karrie's cute kid with stitch's ears.

leereiner, thats a good way to go - must pak tor with lao gong forever and ever!

leeuwin, quite a few women i know suffered till the 2nd trimester too. small frequent nutritious meals should help the bloated and filled sensation. as a minimum, i take regular amounts of juices and a little yoghurt. ive grown to tolerate cereal [i used to hate it, but aspen is pretty good], and my wonderful hubby has dedicated the past week and the next week to making daily breakfast soup [fish/chicken/beef enriched with marmite] for me...thats why we must continue paktor-ing even after we have kids... ;)

I just had the Oscar Test last tuesday. The appt was 12.15pm so I had a full breakfast before the test. Though the nurse told me must drink lots of water to keep full bladder, but before I went for the scan, I couldn't control so I went to the toilet. But still able to finish the scan very fast. The doc even say my bb very co-operative hahaha

It's been awhile since I came in to contribute. Already sort of reaching 2nd trimester but ms sickness still doesn't want to go away, especially nights, if I eat just a little more, sure will merlion.

I just did the Oscar test on Friday. Reached at 1pm, by 2pm I'm done. Baby was being mischevious, jumping up and down and even waving at us, but we still manage to take the scan.

Hope everyone is feeling much better now.

Oh...so with bb's cooperation then test procedures will complete quickly eh? Interesting. Thanks.

Kwan and JamGal, did you get your results immediately?
I am waiting patiently for my test this Wednesday. Very stress also.

Hi Maya,
During the scan when the doc is doing the measuring, she did mention tat everything is normal. As for the blood test, the nurse frm my gynae clinic did call to inform me everything is normal. More detail explanation will be made during my next gynae visit.

hi mummies!!!

hows everyone in the house!!!???

I've just came back from my biz trip at QingDao, China...
everything is ok until e bb meets the dad and e bb starts to show all those funny symntoms to show e dad that e bb is around!!!
faint.....

today will have my appt w gynae.. think now have just cross the 12th week mark!

Wow.. So much postings since I've last login.. Keke... How's everyone?

Hi DTSMummy, I'm seeing the same gynae as queen. Yup.. His package is very cheap...

leereiner, so nice.. You still have time to go pak tok with your hubby. We will try to make time maybe once in a month go for movie.. Then got to rush back my mom's house to pick my gal up. Last Sunday she was so angry with us for leaving her there.. And she bite me on my stomach really real hard, with her teeth marks.. Think she knows we go out without bringing her along...

Shers, your girl also still sleeping with you? Mine too.. When No 2 comes, my room have no place... Coz got a little walk in wardrobe.. I guess need to remove that to make space.. but cannot do any renovations, hacking, etc.. Dunno what to do...

Karrie, your boy is so cute..

Why must we have full bladder before the OSCAR test? I thot it is only taking bottles of blood? I did that for my No 1, but not for my No 2 as Dr Ang said can no need to do, just do normal blood test.

Mummies, have u booked CL yet? Need to book now? Am still looking out...

Hi Maya,

As my next appointment with the gynae is only 18 Oct, they will send it directly to them. Did not tell me anything about the results. I also did not do a blood test, maybe it's because I just had one during my previous gynae visit

Ok. Cos I was informed that I wld be given the results and my gynae didn't mention anything abt going thru. So very blur on who is gonna explain to me. Guess will just have to wait and find out.

Btw, I read some mummies talking abt a kit from NLB. Has anyone taken it?

hi im from nov thread
my confinement lady last minute cancel our booking. anyone here got any good confinement lady to recommend? Please Pm me, thanks

hi ladies... just wondering if any of you might have answers to some of my questions below...

1. Any idea where sells maternity strapless bra?
2. Can we use nipple tape (the sticky type) - is it ok?
3. is it safe to do brazilian waxing?

thanks Devil, he knows he can get away with anything with his cutie pie face. such a handful!

yupp can claim $450 for antenatal care using Medisave. Just keep the consultation receipt(s) from your gynae and submit it when you're at the hospital. Some of them will issue you a consolidated one like queen said. So do check with your gynae. As for the hospital stay, the amt claimable usually depends on which ward you stay in...queen's link is v informative

Hi jo yeo, hmm you may want to try Bliss Confinement. Just google for them. I engaged my CL from them last yr n she was a great help. But do ask to meet the CL assigned to you before u give birth, then if you don't feel comfortable at least u can ask for a change.

Jas J, Spring has some nursing strapless bras. You can give it a try. Nipple tape is ok but the cheapo ones dun work for me. Gotta get the better ones...

I think should be safe to do brazilian waxing if it's after 1st trimester...heard a few mummies do that. but be warned that it could be more painful because our nerves are somehow more sensitive during pregnancy. yesterday i went for upper lip threading and i teared altho i'm so used to it oredi!

Tks Karrie...

Thanks for the advice! Nipple tape.. erm, so far mine are all from dept stores, didn't know they had better range since all the prices are quite standard right?

did upper lip threading 2wks ago, ok for me this time still. Yar, heard abt the sensitiveness for waxing during pregnancy... so considering hard wax this time. =p Hope it helps...

Thanks. Do you know where has 'spring'? Anywhere near Seng Kang / Vivo?

Hi queen

Thanks for the link. It is indeed useful. By the way, do you have any idea how much Dr Ang charges for normal delivery and C-section?

This few days, after consuming the fish oil, i will burp with the fish taste. Any solution for this? It is so fishy and makes me feel even more nauseous.

Hi Jinglebel... tks much!

I'm doing my OSCARs next week. Getting really nervous.

Got pregnancy rash this morning (on tummy only)... going to see a GP later on to make sure its normal. Anyone came across this?

Hi jinglebel,
Last yr when i delivered my boy in TMC. The charges was abt 3k+. Single-bed room, hubby stayed-in, natural w/out epi. After deduction fr medisave, i paid 1k+ in cash.

Ya, after eating the fish oil, i will also burp the fish taste. it's disgusting.

Had done my NT scan yday. I passed the test too. Chances of getting down syndrome baby is 1:4995. So very low chance. Phew. But baby is abit naughty, keep tossing about. I ended up have to scan twice. Empty bladder, drink water and walk around to make it move. The radiographer dun want to help me scan for gender. She ask me to ask my gynae to check around wk16. Else wait till 24 Nov for my detailed scan.

JamGal! U are so lucky!

I was in the clinic from 930 all the way till 12pm for the OSCAR. The blood test is quick but baby is not coorperating for the scan. By the time I finish my consultation, it was already 1pm!

The radiographer needs baby face up lying down but my bb kept sitting up till the radiographer decided to "wake" it up!
Haha then bb started raising its hands to poke and protest being disturbed!
I had to do the scan 2 times till bladder almost burst liaoz.

Hmm till now they havent call to inform me the result though.. I had the test done on sat.
Hope all is well.

Btw mummies..

How do you find the size of the assortment of pills we have to take?

I had a gigantic fish oil pill that is oval in shape and 1 cm in diameter!
Its really tough swallowing it.. always, nearly choke. I can really feel it going down from my throat

Also, my prenatal multivit is 1 inch long!

Seems like being pregnant means taking more pills!
But no choice loh.. for the sake of bb gotta swallow them up!!

Anyone has any idea to make the pills easier to swallow? :p

Hi May,

You have any idea what is the detailed scan for?

I was asked to sign for the OSCAR package that includes the first scan to check the thickness of the neck and another scan at 20 weeks.

My gynae never mention what the scan was for... end up topping up $100+ for the entire package.

First time mummy so very blur.. whatever they tell us we just nod our head.