(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

wow.. so good 5pm knock off.. i still have to wait for another half hr..

okok.. chat again tml.. me also.. wldnt online after work..

Devil, yah hor, you gal looks like your hubby.
I think she will look cute if you grow the hair and tie 2 pigtails : )

Shers, your gal looks like you abit. Very chubby also. Nice when they are chubby.

My eldest was the biggest and chubbiest, but now we call him lizard. Cos he is so skinny. Too bad no one can see the invisible tails they both have. They really know how to drive me mad. I hope they are going to be helpful and not hinder. Next yr big one going to P1, very stress also.

Actually my two boys are what I call extraordinary, got story one. Elder was born with 2 teeth, that's why till now don't have. Am hoping that it will grow soon. 2nd one has got the thing at the head(dunno what they call in english). Like the circular thing at the hair, they will say those who got 2 is naughty etc. Well he's got 3!!!! Yup!

Confinement, as usual my mom. Right now she has been helping me look after my kids. In between I had maid and sent back after contract finish. So that 2 yrs was a break for my mom. Now she is staying with me ever since my maid left and looking after for 1 yr already. So i told her I want to renew her contract for 2 yrs....my mom just stared at me.....hehehe
But I will have to get another maid soon before delivery lah, cos pity my mom. She is also getting sick often lately. Cannot trouble her too much.

aiyo so many cute babies!

Little Devil, put a hairband for ur gal la, if nt mistaken as boy leh :p

Shers, ur gal so chubby!

maya, 2 teeth when born?? thats very strange.. whaha.. then 6 yrs old still no teeth there?? cute!

oh.. i know what u mean.. the round thingy.. in hokkien, we call it 'zeen' got 3 ar?? is he really that naughty?? no wonder u kept wanting a gal.. whaha..

i think i cant get my mum to do confinement for me.. she needs to take care of the kids.. moreover confinement needs alot of cooking and waking up at nite.. so i think as usual i will engage CL..

with my last CL, i can slp in peace and have plenty of time for milking.. wahhaa.. now i'm determined to BF longer!

am thinking want to get a maid again.. to lighten my mum's load.. coz next yr my sis is not working so maid wldnt go over my mum place.. but the tot of getting a maid scared me..

Re. weight gain
Thought I had put on 1.5kg when I went to gynae at 7th week. Now in my 10th week, I could still fit into my normal wear, except for some pants. So maybe I have lost weight due to the MS? Anyway, will only see gynae again in 2 weeks' time, not sure of my weight now. I just told my bosses that I'm preggy but not my colleagues. But none of them seemed to notice that I'm preggy...
Heheh, maybe they are too polite to tell me that I have put on weight.

RE. baby gender
I'm hoping for girl... my MIL hopes it's a girl too! But seriously will not mind if it's a boy. As long as healthy... my boy has a hole in the heart now. So really, all I ask is for my #2 to be completely healthy.

Re. contraceptives
Actually can try the patch. Just paste the patch on the tummy and the effects last for a week I think. Have to change weekly though I don't think it's something that easily forgotten since you'll see the patch everyday while bathing right?

Shers / Devil,
Very nice shots! I also took studio pics when my boy was 1+ yr. Will also take for #2. I took pictures when preggy with #1 as well. Will see if can post later.

Maya,
Very handsome boys! Wowee, you are Miss Singapore India?

dodos,
I also thought I could feel baby. Sometimes I get a mild tapping sensation in my tummy as well, especially when I lie down. Not sure if it's the digestive system though... haha.

mangogal, my gal's bone structure is big.. u see her chubby but when touches her, she is not really meaty type.. my mum says her bone structures are big.. so next time will be big size gal.. i hope she is not..

plus, when pregnancy, i drank alot of milk, bread and cheese.. not forgetting durian and beef.. whatever pple say its good, i eat..

Shers, strange? Imagine when I bf!!!! I had to endure so much pain. But in the 3rd week one got loose, so we decided to take both out, cos what if come out when drinking milk than swallow/choke. Scary! So he had been without that 2 teeth till now. Doc say if that is extra teeth it will grow, otherwise may not.

3, you think naughty or not. Handling him is like handling a childcare full of kids! When good he is very good. But when bad, he is intolerable.

I am also afraid of maid, but at least got parents around the house to supervise, so I have to take that as a consolation. Must really pray hard before I go and choose.

Queen: Sorry abt your boy. Hope he is getting fine now. Handsome, but both very mischievious lah! I always wanted to join a contest so just went ahead lor. But even though I was very fleshy, I just join. hehehe....but didn't qualify for the finals lah. It's a learning experience that I can keep in my memory.

Shers,
wah so ur gal is consider big frame? Uaually baby frame will follow the parents right?

Queen, yalor I also pray for baby healthy, gender nt an issue. Oh sorry to hear that your boy prob, but heard that it can close up by itself right?
Can it be detect during scan?

Maya / mangogal,
My boy has a 6mm size hole in the interatrial septum which is the tissue the separates the left and right atria of the heart. It's called Atrial Septal Defect (ASD). The hole is considered small to medium size. Now it's just monitoring... the pediatric cardiologist says should the hole not close by itself in the next few years, then have to go for heart surgery. So far, the hole hasn't even reduce in size, much less close. But it's not considered dangerous now but will need to be closed nevertheless cos of the risk of complications in later years. There's no restriction to his lifestyle for now. He's very active.

Actually, during fetal development, the interatrial septum remains open so that blood can be circulated to the heart directly, bypassing the lungs which are not fully developed. But the interatrial septum should close upon birth or shortly before/after birth I think. So I guess the "hole" is normal and will not be detected as a anomaly during our scans.

Anyway, the one thing I regretted is not getting medical insurance for my boy within one month of birth. I only bought insurance after my boy is diagnosed with ASD. So the insurance will not cover heart related problems for my boy. Sigh...
Which means if my boy needs surgery (*choy! *Touch wood!), me and HB have to fork out money from our own pocket.
My insurance agent advised me that for my #2, I better buy immediately after birth, before any such illnesses can be diagnosed and confirmed.

minimum order is $100 or 5 pieces...coz they're wholesaler. maybe mummies here can combine their orders. I'm resisting temptation coz i got tonnes of maternity wear from my previous pregnancy liao :p

Hi mummies, speaking about this thread being slow, i got a "shock" when i opened up my email and annouced that i've almost 100 posts from this thread!

Mangogal, i also didnt put on weight but my tummy is showing slightly thou not enough for anyone to notice. My no. 1, i could still hide very well until 6-7 mths, prolly my ht and built. As for makeup, i still put on. skincare i've stopped using whatever contains BHA

Not fussing on the gender either as long as healthy. My 1st is a boy and EVERYONE is telling me will be good to have a gal now!

Shers/Devil, both of you are still so "nian qing piao liang"!!! and a mother already!Oh my! all the mummies here are so young!! so envious! i'll be almost 32 when no. 2 pops and agree with Maya, my energy has dipped drastically.

hi april-mummies-to-be!

this is my first [hopefully of many] posts in this forum. its quite fun and exciting to see everyone in the same phase of pregnancy life [im waiting for the NT scan like maya, dodos and shers], though some have more to share than others [i.e. non-first time mummies, or mummies with super-duper mummies]. =)

firstly, a quick thanks to little_devil19 for the nice little hospital checklist zip file. do u have one for general baby and mummy items to get?

secondly, i dont have a regular obstetrician yet. which obstetrician are u gals with and why did u choose that obstetrician? also, are u gals are on any packages [cost and detail please]?

hope im not asking too much for a first post – just bubbling with curiosity… i think the forum seems to be picking up good pace now.

cheers and happy post-holiday one and all,
dtsmummy

Juxta, haa cos this morn I was 'complaining' our thread so slow :p
So the other MTBs suddenly no mood and post alot of cute pics!
hee...post ur boy pic also leh

Queen,
sorry to hear ur boy condition and thks for explaining, did ur gynae or PD explain how come this happen? Well so long as you bring ur boy for regular chkups and scans for close monitor, he will be fine and it's a small hole, continue to pray for good health and he dun hv to go for any surgery!
You are a strong mum!

Welcome DTS!
So all along who scan for ur bb since u do nt hv a regular gynae?
For me I hv been wif my gynae for yrs since I gt married.
Think you stick to the gynae that ask you to go for NT scan...TMC have alot of good gynaes and range varies..

Shers, I'm going to employ a CL this time round. Hope to rest more and still got an elder one to take care of. Dun think I can be a super woman taking care of 2. And need time to breastfeed too. Hope I can be determined and endure till my baby is 1 yr old, just like my No 1. It was so tired though.

Maya, your son born with 2 teeth? So special. Did you ask the PD?

Mangogal, not I dunwan to put for her. She will scream at me if I touches her hair, even when I put a nice nice hat for her, she will also remove it.

Queen, sorry to hear about your boy. Dun worry too much... He will be fine.

DTSMummy, there are 4 worksheets inside the Excel File. One for contacts, one baby, one mummy and one hospital. Did you see them? Should be there leh... If not, I'll repost.

I choosed Dr Ang as I was with him since my No 1. Find him quite good and his fees are very cheap. Just very long queue only...

Mummies, post your kids photos leh... Good nitez.. Chat with ur tomorrow.

hi mangogal, i went to an obstetrician who wasnt terribly good for my first scan. so im awaiting my NT scan and trying to see the other obs in the same clinic. whom are u seeing in TMC?

little_devil19, who is dr ang? any details?

p.s. to queen and other mummies, as far as i can tell from ultrasound scans, as it depends on the ultrasonagrapher, it is highly possible to easily miss problems up to 1cm in size. but for holes in the hearts, they can be quite common and most kiddos are monitored til a few years of age, unless it affects their growth or activity.

Welcome dtsmummy! what are u doing up at 4.55am?!

i'm having a hard time catching up with the sudden influx of posts from yesterday. kekeke

DTSmummy,
Welcome! My OB is Dr. Lawrence Ang with TMC but clinic is at Sun Plaza, Sembawang. His package is one of the cheapest, $550 which is fully claimable from Medisave. Quite a no. of mummies here are with Dr. Ang as well. He was my OB for my boy as well.

Yep, you are right about the hole in the heart, which is why I'm not too worried now. But I hoping that the hole will close by itself cos I can't bear the thought of my boy going through surgery and as with all surgeries, there is always risk.

devil,

my mum is taking care of my no 1 and i think i will fetch her home only weekend to have bonding with no 2.. i dont think i can cope during confinement.. confinement is abt resting, eating and breastfeed..

i just confirmed with my CL yesterday. the charges increases again. OMG!

And i just book my massage lady also.. hopefully her charges will not increase.

BTW, my gynae is Dr Tham from Gleneagles. He is my family gynae and trust him.. though have to wait damn long..

karrie, i want to order but dont know abt sizes le..

DTS, my gynae is Dr Eunice Chua frm TMC, I prefer female and she is very gentle

Little devil,
hee I see...dun worry ur gal hair will grow faster

BTW I still feel very NUAH...drag myself to work everyday n just want to head hm, even weekend just want to stay at hm...do u all feel that?

Hi queen, we shall all hope for the best for your boy. You are one strong mummy! May god bless you and yr family. Don't worry.

Karrie, thanks for the link, but they never indicate size. The model legs looks smaller than mine, dunno can fit or not.

Welcome dtsmummy.

Devil, the doc say possible bcos of alot of calcium. But the funny thing is I was not on calcium pills nor a die hard fan of milk. But really now I realise how important it is to have sufficient calcium esp during pregnancy. Dentist said it could be his milk teeth that sort of decided to come out earlier. But won't know if he will have adult teeth till his milk teeth drops and grows. Intend to get an xray done or something to check on this. Feel very ptitful for him. He has to bite sideways.

I was also up till 4+am last nite. Cannot sleep.

thanks for the info mummies on the obs... how old do u think dr lawrence ang and dr tham are? being 31, i kind of find it weird to go to young obs. ;p anybody has good or bad vibes to share about any private hospitals to deliver in? sentimentally, ill like to deliver at mt alvernia [born there], but i heard tmc is better.

juxta, hi there! well, sometimes just the excitement of having a kid keeps one up. kekeke...

queen, if im not wrong, theres probably a better chance that a small one will heal up as compared to a big one. just pray hard and leave things to the One up there... =)

shers, wah how much is the CL?

and once again, morning gals! =)

mangogal, i think its the tiredness for pregnancy..

every morning, i'm late for work. i just want to slp and slp.

for sunday, i can slp even longer. take 2 hrs nap with my gal. late afternoon naps again. then at nite slp at 10pm.. very very tired..

stay at home no need to make up, no need to dress up.. whahhaa..

dtsmummy,

Dr Tham is about 50 plus.. he is a professional in fact.. but if u want to see him, really got to wait lor.. i think all good gynaes are like that de..

Since my no 1, i was with him so automatic will go back to him again. which hospital i think isnt that important. more to the gynae.

CL says now the rate is $2000.. but she charges me $1900.. $100 increase from my no 1..

hahaha, while i was typing my msg, 2 more msgs got posted... this forum is moving along so well. thats why singaporeans must comprain! ;p

mangogal, dr eunice chua... is she young? [for the same reason above...]

maya, glad to know im not the only one...

cheers again!

DTSmummy, hahah complain is the word, i kept having the small box popping up at the side informing of msgs coming in. Ya, i've been getting some sleepless nights too! kept waking up for dunno what reasons

Maya, calcium is relaly impt, i was beginning to feel some pain in the kneecap until i started the calcium tabs gynae gave. I've heard of a horro story from my fren, someone she knows lost some teeth, apparently from the calcium deficiency at childbirth. I asked my dentist and he said is possible!!

mangogal/shers, i also just want to sleep in, lazy to even shower somedays, just want to lie there even if is doing nothing!

whoa things are seriously moving here - type one msg get two more (better than sale).

shers, being a mother of more than 1 bb, ur tiredness will be doubled [worse still for those who have more...] but hopefully more than adequately compensated by the joy of having the kids in ur life! seriously though, if its getting worse, better go for a medical check up...

Ya tiredness...I drag myself up on weekdays so always looking fwd to weekends though I sleep around 10 something on weeknights.

DTS, hmm she is in her 40s...well she is also popular and gt to wait at least 30min, so depends on ur prefrence.

I am one deep sleeper. But ever since got pregnant, feel so sleep deprived. Keep waking in the middle of the night and end up watch tv till can sleep again. Than usually as I doze off for like 2hrs wake up again and get ready for work. Sigh.......I miss my nite sleeping!!!!

I also prefer to stay in bed during the weekend, but now with Deepavali coming up, so many things to do. Also have to crack my head on how fit in a new baby and a maid. My house is so overcrowded! : P

Maya, how many ppl in your house now? we've only 2 bedrooms and now i wonder where to house another child and all the stuff. i missed my sleep thru the night too!!!

My family is four with the kids. My parents and bro shifted in with me So that is 7. Plus 2 new addition becomes 9. I don't mind having so many ppl around but its the space that gives me a headache. I was actually contemplating on getting a Jumbo flat. But with the rising electrical costs and many others, wah better not. I will just have to manage for a while. Next year when things are a bit settled in, I have to start looking around to upgrade liao.

maya, wow! thats indeed a big family with you now! your parents and bro will be staying with you for good?

my no 1 is slping with us and we had a custom made bed jointing ours. now with no 2 coming, wondering if enough to squeeze..

sometimes with no 2 coming, space becomes a problem..

i got 3 bedrooms, 1 master which we occupied. 1 is my little gal's future room so inside all her toys, clothings etc.. 3rd room is my hubby's computer and playstation room..

shers, same scenario, my other room is study room and filled with junk. boy's room already filled up with all his toys and stuff. Really gotta re plan the space to fit another.

juxta, i think at least for the next 3 yrs dont really have to worry too much.. except for clothings.. toys can share..

when they are bigger like 6 yrs old, then reconfigure the rooms for them to be study and/ or bedrooms..

i still prefer my little ones to slp with me till they are about to turn primary school..

i'm training my little gal to be mummy's girl.. hahaha

shers, that time i just cant wait to throw him out to his own room so i can walk ard in my room and watch tv as i please.

I'm hoping to let no. 2 gain his/her independence even much earlier and sleep on his own. tsk tsk

No juxta. They can only buy resale now, so waiting for prices to be reasonable. Another reason is also bcos I want them to be near me but since I intend to shift we haven't really started looking yet. Cos I dunno where I wanna buy : )

Anyway, its nice to have elders around especially since I am gonna take a maid again. At least got my parents around to supervise when hubby and I not around. And the kids also have a good bonding with grandparents. Though in my side my kids end up bullying my parents!

Wah, you'll still sleep with your kids. I think I only had them with me like till 1 yrs old.

Maya, ya is good to have elder in the house when a maid is ard just to keep an eye esp with kids ard. I've this prob so no maids for us. We're also thinking of getting a new place but duno where to shift to and the prices are crazy now!

I no longer sleep with my boy, i "shifted" him out when he's 1yo.

maya, the price for resale is still increasing.. dont buy 1st if u have a choice..

in yr case, i think its good to get a semi-D with 2 storey.. too high is no good.. climbing alone can kill u

Yah prices are so horrible now. That's why I told my mum nvr mind just hang in there, we can make adjustments. Cos she like to have her own home and she feel bad on imposing on us. But I think its a chance for me to serve them back.

Shers, I wish! In Singapore, its not easy to own a Semi-D. Soooo expensive. Maybe, if got chance i will surely run away to another country....hahaha Just waiting for the right opportunity and chance to migrate.

This fast paced life here is so stressful, I wish I could provide a better life for my kids. When i found out that P1 got compo and comprehension, I flipped. And with reason of bringing in foreign talent, they getting much better welfare than us singaporeans, the govt is only pushing us away from the country. Many ppl I know are making plans to settle elsewhere.

maya, hang on~~

have u enrol yr boy to P1 yet? i think thats the horrible stage of being mum!

my colleagues actually asked one day whether i started to do volunteer work at the school my gal is going to study. i was like "-_-

really need to do until like that mah?

anyway my hubby says give him another 10 yrs.. hopefully we can move to NZ and live by the government $$.. hahaha..

Yup, got the school right behind my block.

My coll were also asking me last yr whether I got do v work. Duh, why bother. I am not that active parent, where got time. I also got see parents who really do all sorts of things just to get their kids to "top" schools. Personally, I think at the end of the day as long as a parent we do our job to motivate kids and spend time with their school work, i think its enuff to get them on the right track. I am not worried abt neighbourhood school is good or not. Cos ultimately, it is the child's decision to study well or not. We need to be their guide.

ya lor.. nearby my house got alot of schools.. top school, girls' school, neighbourhood schools.. i think very much depends on the kids.. if they dont study hard, how 'top' the school is, also no use..

i have another 5 more yrs before i headache abt this problem..

now just rest and relax.. let my little gal play and play.. haha

That's why next year with new baby on the way and my son starting P1, i really have to plan my time well. He needs alot of pushing. If it were my 2nd one, I wldn't be so worried. That fella can survive one. He is one boisterous kid. But when i bring them out, ppl will never believe that they both are very hyper and misbehave. It is in the homeground that choose to attack!

Wats for lunch?

We shld let them have fun now. That's what I told my son too. Enjoy your time till Dec. Cos come next year, you are gonna have alot of limitations like tv time, play time etc.

Hey, when is your test? At nuh?