(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi mangogal, I drink. But all cooked by my mom...

Let me ask my mom and let you know. Actually, can drink the 6-taste soup (liu wei tang) with about $2 to $3 pork ribs. Very nice. The herbs she asked the chinese herbal shop owner to mix for her.

wah Little Devil, that's good
Ya pls let me know the recipe! hee..so that I can ask my mum n hubby to cook for me :p

I am gng to ask my mum to buy cordycep (dong chong chao), wolfberries and red dates these 3 herbs, all safe and good for pregnancy n baby

mangogal, i duno whats good, but i normally take cordyceps with wolfberries and red dates and double boiled with pork. I give my boy this too, is good for the lungs

oh i put in pao sheng also normally, but dunno pregnant can take anot? but confirm the 3 herbs can. i boil with pork, cos TCM always says chicken can induce phlegm. my boy got this respiratory issue

hi iwry,
thanks for the info.. i am seeing Dr. Yvonne Soong at tmc too. NT scan is the one that check the thickness of the neck or something right??

hi mangogal
my mum makes me drink home made chicken essence. she get one black chicken, chopped into pieces and double boil. i just drink the juice collected. taste like chicken soup.

Thanks mangogal, jinglebel, & May. Will go & take a look if i happen to pass by e areas.

Devil, I hav actually bought the pre-natal package fr GNC, started to take before i got preggie but the pills are too big for me, i finish one set, still got half a set to go. As I jus finish the folic acid my gynae gave me, i re-started the GNC pills, hoping to finish it soon then dun hav to suffer sallowing the huge pills...

U taking multi vitamins? Which brand, is it very big? I hav problem sallowing big pills.

lovesephagetti and juxta,

oki will stick to the three herbs and drink bolied chicken soup or essence

Happy Children's Day to our little one inside our tummies and MTBs kiddos here!

Hi mangogal, dong chong chao cordycep, is very expensive right. A little bit costs about $300+++. I was wondering to buy anot. But I heard good for baby's lungs and wont cough so easily. My gal is only 15 months old. Is it suitable for her to drink also?
How to cook it? Must cook for how long? My mom also not sure how to cook that...

Hi juxta, I think better dun take pao sheng now. I remembered that time the chinese herbal shop owner advised me to take after 5 months.

Hi Devilaz, my multi-vit is given by the gynae. The brand is SUNWARD PRENAVIT. Quite easy to swallow and not as big as GNCs. I also dun like GNC. Bought one bottle of the multi-vitamins for my No 1 during breastfeeding, in the end, I went back to buy from Dr Ang's Clinic. The GNC vit is now still in my fridge. Think have to throw it away liaoz.. Haha...

Devil think your mum can ask the herbal shop assistant or boss for advice on cooking using herbs. Sure they will help.

I took the GNC pre-natal and calcium tablets early this year. Still consuming them w/o asking for more vits from GP/gyne. I started taking folic acid since last year too. Had it all prepared. Machiam waiting to get preg only. Hehe.

Dear ladies

Sorry to interrupt, I'm from Oct 2008 thread

I have a set of belly belts bought from Mothercare in May 2008 to sell off. The set consists of:

(1) 2 sizes of belly belt button-up
(2) 2 sizes of belly belt slide
(3) 3 coloured panels to mix & match

The above are all brand new and unused, except for the small sized button-up, which was used only twice.

Perfect for wearing your usual clothes when preggy!!!

Bought at: $32
Selling at: $20, inclusive of normal postage

Please PM me if you are interested

1755845.jpg

Hi Devil, ya the price for dong cong cao has shoot up tremendously! i gave my boy from abt 2++ onwards cos he kept having this nasty cough with phlegm. Thought it helped alittle, but he still gets it. Used to give him weekly, but now very very "tang bhun", so only once or twice a month if he's well. I double boil with with pork, pao sheng, red dates and wolfberries for 2.5 to 3hrs. This is taught by the Eu Yan Sang's SA. Red dates and wolfberries are sweet and will mask the smell of the worm and pao sheng.

Ok, i'll check with the medical hall when i pop by next time, meantime will steer clear of this pao sheng, thanks!

Mangogal, u're good leh, can take chicken essence, i smell the chicken soup only i wanna run to the bin! my mom been plonking boxes and bugging me, told her dun waste money now, wait till the MS subsides, haha. Anyways you can check with the medical hall on what herbs that can be taken for pregnancy, they sure will plenty of ideas.

Thanks juxta. I'll have a try. Is Eu Yan Sang's dong cong cao better? Or any medical shop? I heard some are fake. Not sure how to see which are fake and which are not...

Hi Mummies, have your companies started the additional 4 days child care leave yet? My company seemed like not going to implement it. Can we complain to MOM since it is already started by the government and our company is refusing it. It is after all paid by the govenment, not by the company...

Juxta & Little Devil, no la I will take chicken essence, birdnest and cordycep once a Wk and alternate on these 3 herbs only 16 or 20weeks onwards, nt now cos so ex and cant afford to take everyday even 16weeks onwards...meanwhile will start this week with wolfberries & redates & brew double boil pork or chicken soup once a week

Little Devil, chk wif ur HR if they hv implement the new childcare leave system. THink all will start at least next yr 1st of 2009, dun worry

U buy ur dresses liao?

Devil, ya i heard abt the fake ones so I normally buy from EYS, should be reputable and safe ba.

Mangogal, you're taking good care of urself. For me, my no. 2 like "deprived" cos of the MS hahah. how many weeks are u now? sorry gets alittle confused with so many MTBs.

Juxta,haa it's ok...nw 13 weeks liao, cant wait next week 2nd tri to start

Hmm..our thread very slow..nt like March & May 09 MTB thread, they post alot...hee...

hihi.. i'm new to this thread.. my baby is due early may but will have c-section end of april.. have a lovely 15 month old girl.. my baby is currently 9 weeks

Hi mangogal, my sentiments exactly. I was wondering how come April mummies got nothing much to talk one......hehehe

I also will check the March and May thread to see wat they talk abt. KPO lor. So long nvr go and see my baby liao. Waiting for next week, my OSCAR test. If very long nvr see do you'll get like paranoid. I do alot of times esp now recovering from my flu. I keep wondering got heartbeat or not....

Just wondering, have any of you like signed up for cord blood banking?

I never did for my other 2 kids. But have been pondering long to do for this kid. Which is better?

mangogal..yah...our thread v slow...the other thread i'm in (oct 07) moves fast!! sometimes within 1 day will have archived items one.

i came across an online maternity clothes wholesaler yesterday...the pants only like S$18! lemme go dig it up when i get home and i'll post it here later.

Hi Maya,

Im also waiting for next wk NT scan. Don't know how's the little one doing inside. Ya i keep thinking whether got hb or not....

Im also thinking about the cord blood thing. I also never did for my other 3 kids. I thinking whether should i do it this time.

maya,

u r here too?? hehhee

me also waiting for my oscar test.. gynae mentioned that its new test so its good to have 1.. got blood tests also..

hi dodos,

i did cordblood for my 1st and will do for 2nd one.. if u want, i can refer u then u will have $100 or $200 discount.

Haa Maya & Juxta, think they talk abt confinement, changes in preg like hair/complexion etc...very interesting!
Wish our thread also so active, maybe the MTBs here more busy at work?

But just curious, any of you put makeup n wat skincare u are using? I still use my makeup if nt face look so pale but I stop wearing contact lens, too lazy to put.

I hate the bland taste every after meal

So far I put on 2 kg for my 1st tri, any of you put on wt?

Hiaz me too miss my little bb and only get to see him/her 3 weeks later cos just scanned on Mon, so active and like to kick alot!

Shers, how much do we need to pay every year for cordblood? I actually didn't go read up. What can we do with the cordblood? Is it useful??

mangogal, i didn't put on any weight so far but tummy getting bigger.

Dodos: Ok so I am not the only one being paranoid...hehehe

Hey Shers, i dont know if I got see you during the last checkup or not leh. I know it was the same date right. Btw, I am thinking of changing Gynae. Waiting time is really stressing me out leh. What time did you see him ah? I came in at 4pm and only went in to see him at 6pm!!! Can share details on cordblood. By when do we have to decide and sign up? When is your test, at NUH?

Mangogal: Than we also create topic to talk lah. Normaly I don't wear make-up. I am a plain Jane....hehehe so makeup and skincare is not my forte,cannot comment.
Think I also put on abt 1.5kg.

Karrie: do post here, I have been thinking of getting maternity pants. It sounds like a good deal.

Can I know what do you gals usually have for lunch? My canteen food sucks. I am running out of options. Too lazy to walk out.

Just had cup noodles. Suddenly taste so nice...but cannot eat everyday got alot of msg.

haha Maya then we talk abt food, oh well I also too lazy to walk too far, usual like noodles or economic rice lor
ok so u put on 1.5kg...I read my preg bks that each week suppose to put on 0.5 or 1 pound, note is in pound nt kg

I also crave for salty food esp french fries but try to control not to eat too much..then those maggie mee noodles type I will go for Korean ramen, yum yum :p

dodos gd lor, then once 2nd tri u can put on wgt liao

where to sign up cordblood? can sign up wif gynae or the hospital we gng to deliver?

Hi Shers, congrats and welcome.

Mangogal, but I heard many companies already started the additional child care leave for this year leh... Next year will sure have. Just this year one... I havent bought my dresses yet. No time to go yet. Dinner is next Sunday. Haiz..

Yeah, I also went to Feb and March thread to KPO. And most are prince in March babies. Haha... Looks like now in the baby gender for their topic.

Oh Yah... Just to share esp for 1st time mummies... Baby checklist...

I repost it in a ZIP file. Too big to post the excel file directly here.

Hey Devil, wah you so good got compile list one. Will take a look at it later at home. So organised!

So wat are you'll hoping for? Gal or Boy? I tried those gender predictor charts, but dunno how accurate it is. This is also stressing me out leh. Already got 2 rascals at home, so very stress on whether want to know or don't want on this baby gender. Every nite think abt this cannot sleep properly. Sigh!

Little Devil, thks for the list! I save liao, it's very useful

To me gender nt impt, so long as baby is healthy, no austistic, ADHD prob etc...

i paid all when i signed up.. i can have up to 3 or 4 years free. paid a total of 3k plus till my little 1 turns 18 (but i paid till 16 or so) then little 1 will have a choice to continue to keep the cordblood ornot..

plus i signed up with my friend's referral got extra $100 or $200 free.. then on and off they have promotion got another $300 off..

this cordblood is quite popular in the recents years after the case of a SG little gal who had blood disorder.. the parents couldnt give their blood to her because dismatched. then they spent more than 20k just to find suitable blood for her in USA.

in SG, there are 2 private bank i.e. cordblood and stemcord. stemcord is from malaysia (i think) where cordblood is more to international and the way they stored our precious blood is better.. i went for a talk during the motherhood exhibition.. so very good la.. signed on the spot.

storing cordblood is more like insurance lor.. buy a 'in case'.. if paid yearly think its aboout 200 plus.. almost the same as insurance lor..

i didnt put on any weight because i got bleeding and puke quite a far bit.. but good now..

maya, the waiting time is horrible.. avoid that timing.. i usually go early in the morning or straight after lunch.. waiting time is only half hr or 1 hr..

dont change gynae.. Dr Tham is very good and experienced.. my whole family women all go for him.. if he is no good, the Q wldnt be that long..

Haha.. It's from my collegue. Passed down from collegue to collegue. Quite useful. Not need to exactly follow, but at least will not worry forgot to buy this or that... Keke..

Maya, Me ah.. If a boy then good lah, since already got a gal liaoz... So will make up a "HAO" (Good) word, But even if it is girl, also good lah. No need to be so stress lah. As long as baby is healthy, can liaoz.. That's what I hope for. You got 2 kids at home already. So fast... Give birth earlier then can retire earlier. No need to slog till too old.. Must enjoy life after that... Keke..

Those gender predictor chart not accurate for me leh.. Saw it in the March MTBs forum, tried for my No 1. But not accurate.

Mangogal, no problem..

I find it very useful too for my No 1.

I'm also looking at Oct 2008 MTBs. My sis is giving birth this month. EDD is 6th Oct... Baby still refuses to come out. If free, can go have a look, so many cute new born babies photos there.

i got make up.. else will look like ghost.. hehehe..

didnt change product le.. use the same toner, moistures, make up..

did u ladies start on stretch mark cream?

this is my 2nd pregnancy so i realise my tummy balloon up faster.. my 1st pregnancy my tummy shows only after 4th month.. now only 9 weeks, can see liao.. all my bottoms cant wear.. must look ard for more maternity pants and skirts.. any cheap recommendation?? i know cloud9 from suntec is having closing down sales.. anybody want to go together?

devil,

i also have a gal already so hoping for a boy.. me traditional woman.. want to have the word 'HAO' also.. hehehe...

after this, i close factory lor.. irregardless gal or boy.. 2 is enough..

haha Shers, hope u hv a boy this time n can close factory liao, what's their age gap?

Little Devil, I also hv 3 frens giving birth this mth!
One already give birth yest liao...

Jialat hungry liao :p Already think of what to hv for dinner, nw munching my tidbits
Do u gals hv tidbits munching habit after lunch?

mangogal, my little gal is 15 months now.. so their age gap will be around 22 months apart.. very xiong lor.. but chop chop la.. i'm not sure whether i'm consider youthful here ornot.. i want to close factory before i turn 30 yrs old..

i didnt really munch alot.. just feel abit hunger, i eat.. i cannot be hungry for awhile else will see me in toilet holding to toilet bowl liao

during my 1st pregnancy, i have a mini booklet.. inside got alot of information.. like what to pack for hospital, what to buy for full month, what to do etc.. now got to dig back the booklet.. information such as confinement lady and massage lady all inside.. heheh

ya same here cannot be hungry otherwise will feel naesous esp towards evening!

wah you are a young mummy can close shop before 30,so good! Me will be 31 next yr will hv my bb

i'm considered 'old' in my family already.. my 1st sis had her 1st at 24 years old, my 2nd sis had her 1st kid at 22, 2nd at 23 and close factory at age 25..

25 is the age i got married.. i'm 27 this year..

have u ladies consider to take a pre-delivery photoshooting?? with big tummy showed? half or full nude type??

i did a semi nude for my 1st.. am thinking whether want to do for this with my little gal involved..

Anyone have craving?

Don't know why i suddenly crave for durian. Durain pancake, scoopz durian ice cream etc.

MS no more but bloating. Can only eat a little bit at a time.

My hb say if boy again he will faint.

wah all ur sisters so young! But it is good

I married at 28 so only baby comes next yr, I hope to hv 2 or better 3 kids before I close shop at 35! See gt stamina or nt :p

dodos, how about doing the gender prediction??

actually i dont know how to key in.. the age, birth date of mum is in lunar or english??