(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi Spinko,
I was at e clinic in e afternoon. Ya....I'm going to do e oscar test end of this mth in my 12th wk.

Hi Bokebiegg,
I'm having my oscar test on 30th Sep too. What time is ur appt? Don't worry too much abt e dates, maybe u ovulate late.

eek..talking about milk.. I puke each time I drink with my meals.. can only take half a glass

I like ribena too! esp. the one with lemon taste.. Kind of like sour n spicy food now

Hi Koi,
my apptmt is at 930am, after that see gynae. but wanted to change to a afternoon apptmt, scare that i will faint there, better to bring my hubby along. waiting for him to come back from overseas.
Once i drew blood at my family doctor and i fainted at his clinic.....

Any idea how to reduce bloated stomach and constipation?

I eat a lot of fruits. Sometimes, I drink yakult but all don't seem to work. I also try dried prunes and drink lots of water. But I still can't overcome this constipation problem..

for me i face both diahorrea and constipation for this pregnancy...and one thing for sure, i have lots of gas inside me, keep burping...

if i have constipation i dun dare push it too hard since i'm pregnant....

Hi spinko n zazan,
If all else fail, u can try Coke light or mashed/ whipped potato/ wedges...our water intake has to b high too.

Ani1 here takes enfa grow e.g. *enfa mum to ensure our babies grow bright n healthy? Wat other pdts do u recommend taz safe for both mum n bb?

Thanz!

Hi Everyone

I am a new member here. Am expecting my first child now. EDD is 16 Apr 08 and my OB is Lawrence Ang.

I am experiencing MS too and makes me so restless and sick. It's so irritating. Really feel like taking 3 months unpaid leave and rest at home.

By the way, do all of you drink milk everyday at this stage? The thought of milk just makes me feel so unwell.

Hi Jamie and all...
I'm also a new member here. Am also expecting my 1st child. EDD is 23 Apr 08.

MS just hit on me the last 3 days. Been reading a lot and heard that Omega-3 helps a lot on BB development. But same feeling as Jamie... tot of milk really brings up all MS. And worst is... I never liked milk... But I guess I'm still gonna try...

My gynae mentioned that I should be eating/drinking anything I feel like at this stage (except for a list of no~nos). Only after the 1st trimester, I will need to watch my diet. Was this adviced to any of you as well?

Welcome and congrats to those new mummies.

I got another tips to cure MS. Drink 100 plus. My ex-gynae told me that my MS was so bad during my 1st pregnancy, he asked me to take 100 plus and ribena. 100 plus can replace mineral salts lost during puking and reduce puking too. I am doing that now. I love COKE too. The word will make me wake up. But dh say dun drink so much.

I have phobia sleeping at night. I can't sleep at all. Thought i should be very tired and sleep like a log but i just can't sleep.
Any idea what to do other then taking sleeping pill?

lilmoo, so sorry to hear about your trisomy case...yah, it's true that going these tests it often to give us a peace of mind...up to the mummy to decide really...

Yeah May, I drank a lot of 100 plus and ribena with my first pregnancy too! now im still drinking ribena too...helps with the queasiness.

dodos, have you tried warm baths or listening to relaxing music? or maybe aromatherapy might help. but preggy mummies can only use certain essential oils...read that lavendar and bergamot are fine, not more than three drops tho.

oh yah...mummies who hate to drink milk...you can consider taking calcium pills...im not a milk person too...

Hi Bokebiegg,

My appt is b4 urs, 9am. Going to see Dr Wong after tat too so we might bump into each if u are still going for the morning appt.

anyone opting not to do the nuchal test??
also my MS seemed to ease up , and i'm hoping it won't come back.

Feeling super bloaty due to gas in tummy tho...aiy...how to overcome this???

hi lilmoo,

What is CVS and Amnio? I only heard about OSCAR, that i was advised to do in the 12th wk of pregnancy cos i m 34. By the time of EDD i m just 2 months short of 35.

Is it normal to worry, esp during 1st pregnancy?

Thot i shd be very happy since i find out about my preggy,but i hvnt be able to sleep well....

Hi Jamie & Jas J, congratulations! I'm also expecting our first child & EDD is 24 Apr 09 =)

Jas - It's weird that your doc said 1st tri no need to watch diet, I tot it was the 1st tri tt's the most impt since bb is just starting to develop?? Havent heard anything abt Omega, just know that we shd avoid some fish due to high mercury levels.

For mums who dislike milk, can try ANMUM. I just bought it this weekend. Its choc flavour & u can drink it hot or cold. It's really not too bad & its full of folate & whatever is gd for bb. Any idea if you can take too much folate???

Spinko, not sure leh. but i take kiwi & pear n i dun hv this problem. try??

i tried Ribena but it doesnt seem to curb the MS =(

blacksheep, CVS and amnio are invasive tests to test if baby has chromosomal abnormalities...basically they extract placenta fluid (CVS) or amniotic fluid (amnio) and analyse the chromosomes to see if there are any extra or missing ones. but there is a small risk of miscarriage so only those who have high risk of having DS babies after going thru the OSCAR will be recommended for that.

If you're a mummy who will keep the baby no matter what, then there's not much use in going for it. it's expensive too!

well it's normal to worry...i cried almost every after i got my bad OSCAR results until i got my CVS results. but i think we should try to enjoy our pregnancies, because after my son was born, i actually missed the times when he was in my womb!! no one else can feel his movements but ME!!! hahahaa...

Back from Perth. Was a good but tiring holiday. Was a nauseous on a few days during the trip but luckily still bearable. But MS came really bad for me yesterday. I vomitted 4 times throughout the day, the gassiness is unbearable. I didn't even have lunch. This time round, MS is worse as compared to my first pregnancy.

Re. diet
My OB says we can eat and drink anything except coffee, alcohol and raw food. No sex recommended but me and HB still have our 'sessions'. Hahah.
It was the same for my first pregnancy.

Re. gassiness
I also want to know whether there are ways to overcome this... though I think probably not?

Re. milk
I'm not a millk person too... and for my 1st pregnancy, I did not make efforts to consume more milk and usual. For 1st Tri, the most important thing is to remember to take the folic acid pills. 2nd Tri onwards, my OB will prescribe multi-vits which includes folate and calcium. It's not necessary for other calcium intake. I will also take fish oil supplements from 2nd Tri onwards.

just wanna check with second or third time mummies--anyone trying for vaginal birth after caesarean section (VBAC)?

anyone know any pro-VBAC gynaes? coz i know most will advise c-section if the first was c-section.

Hi queen

I would like to ask if starting folic acid late, eg 5th to 6th wk is going to harm the baby? I wasn't aware that I was supposed to start immediately & the GP I went to did not give. Only started after I saw my gynae. Anw, issit ok to start with the multi-vits now? Thanks!

Hi eunice,
The importance of folic acid is to prevent neural tube defects and possible other defects like cleft lips, which are likely to occur in early pregnancy. In fact, it is recommended that women should start taking folic acid even while trying to conceive. That said, a lot of mummies do not take folic acids till they discover that they are pregnant... like me for both my last and current pregnancies.

Not to worry too much... we only need 400mcg minimum of folic acid a day which can come from fortified cereals, bread, rice, dark leafy vegetables, brocoli, orange, papaya etc. The folic acid pills we take now is usually 5mg which is way more than what we actually need.
Also, the risk of having baby with such defects are usually low, like 1 in 1000.
If you like, you can start with multi-vits now. No harm, but I will just wait till 2nd Tri when my OB prescribe as part of the package. In the meantime, just maintain a healthy diet.

hi mumz & mtbs...
can i join this thread? im a 1st time mtb & am in my 7th weeks preggy. my edd will be ard 29 apr09. while my ob is dr sidek & planning to deliver at esh. ;)

i got a ques. does yr breast seems swollen & sensitive? im juz worried dat my nippies are gonna 'drop' due to these horrible feeling.. ;(

HI oshiezan!

My breast are swollen and sensitive too! But the nippies definitely won't "drop"! Haha!

I wear thick padded bra to avoid any abrasion with my clothes.. it helps for me..

bokebiegg,

Re. tea
All teas have caffeine, like coke. In fact the amount of caffeine is comparable to a can of coke. My OB only advise against coffee which has more than twice the amount of caffeine in tea. I read that it is actually not detrimental for preggy mums to have a cup of coffee a day, but limit to 1 small cup. But I guess to be on the safe side, just try not to have coffee. A few sips here and there will not do too much harm. I still take my cup of Teh every morning.

Hi oshiezan, welcome =) I'm planning to deliver @ East Shore too! My doc is Dr Aziz.

Spinko, me!! Doc says it's safe to travel by then. Planning to go bangkok to buy clothes for bb cos friend said its real cheap. ditto for Monday blues =(

Hi Eunice,

You are planning for a holiday in December? Is January too late for April mothers to travel?

I want to go for a relaxing, by the pool kind of holiday.. no shopping! Haha!

Hi Spinko

Planning to go in Nov actually, but with the situation in Thailand now, might have to postpone. I'm not sure, according to some friends, you won't be allowed to travel after 6 mths. Bali will prolly b a gd place to R&R but then it's such a waste we cant do massage!!!!

My gynae also told me to eat whatever i want during this period. Whatever I do not feel like eating do not force myself to eat. The reason he gave was that the fetus is not feeding on what I am eating now as the placenta has not been formed. After hearing, it does make sense to me but i try to control a bit too so as not to put on too much weight.

Does ribena helps? I heard ribena contains a lot of sugar, scared of having diabetes during pregnancy.

My nurse told me if you feel that you have lots of gas in your body, you can drink some fizzy drink to help with the burping. It does work for me when i feel that the gas cannot come out. Those with this problem can try

The most uncomfortable part for me is that I feel like puking but does not puke. Not sure for those who puke, whether you feel better than me.

eunice, regarding travelling during pregnancy, i think it depends on the airline. some still allow mummies in final trimester to travel (but not beyond 36 weeks i think)...but must provide documentation to prove that you are fit to travel. as for massage, if it is pre-natal massage we still can go! i went for lots of pre-natal massages with my first pregnancy and it really helped with my swollen feet...would always go one size down after my massage. but can only go after first trimester lah.

I'm thinking of going to Japan this Dec, think the problem will be finding winter clothes to fit ah...haha...

Jamie, i also feel like wanna puke but cannot puke even after trying to. very 'kang kor'..

Hi Spinko

I cant wear padded bra coz my size are big oready.. Dcup leh.. if i pad it, too heavy & hot.. Thanks for sharing tho.. ;)

Eunice, i was contemplating to take dr aziz oso coz he's the nearest. but my mum & some frenz told me dat the waiting hours are super long.. and they wont follow appt, its according to queue, first come first serve.. plus his nurses are a bit stuck-ups bcoz the clinic is popular..

but so far how was yr visits?

bahbah
both cvs and amnio are tests to find out if the baby is genetically healthy. cvs can be done earlier, by taking cells from the placenta. amnio is done later and take amniotic fluid for the testing. both tests are invasive and have risk of m/c.

if you google these tests, if you can find out more details info on them.

karrie
i am still considering if i want to try vbac this time. my ob is willing to let me try though she thinks it will be like #1 and i will end up in c again. i'm going to wait till nearer then think about it. not keen to think of c now. :p

spinko
was originally planning a short trip in oct then a longer one in dec. now with this m/s and the price of air tix, dump the oct trip idea already. maybe will just go somewhere nearby for dec.

re flying
i think intl flight can fly until 32 weeks? any later needs letter from dr. diff airline also have diff rules. i flew round trip to US twice in my last pgy. the last trip my feet were swollen for 3 whole weeks!!

<table border=1><tr><td>Mommy</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>Baby #1</TD><TD>Baby #2</TD><TD>Baby #3</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OB</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>little_devil19</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>June-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 1, 2009</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang P S</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ayambunny</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 1, 2009</TD><TD>Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>missycandy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>zazan</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>December-05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD>Y C Goh</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>stephie81</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD>Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>patlpt</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD>Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>eliora</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD>Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>elina</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 3, 2009</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvagape</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 3, 2009</TD><TD>L C Cheng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>piggy_77</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 3, 2009</TD><TD>K H Chan</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>connz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 4, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cocobunz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 4, 2009</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>idaarshad</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>January 12, 2000</TD><TD>February 11, 2001</TD><TD>February 12, 2008</TD><TD>April 4, 2009</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>reiner</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>April-06</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 5, 2009</TD><TD>Tony Tan</TD><TD>Raffles </TD></TR><TR><TD>spinko</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 5, 2009</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>bokebiegg</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 7, 2009</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>cath</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>April-05</TD><TD>Apr-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>April 7, 2009</TD><TD>C H Koh</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>chocbabe</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>February-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 8, 2009</TD><TD>C H Koh</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>mickeymummy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 9, 2009</TD><TD>Adeline Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>troylee</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>16 years old</TD><TD>3 years old</TD><TD></TD><TD>April 9, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>koi</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 10, 2009</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>lovesphagetti</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 10, 2009</TD><TD>Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>trampezz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 11, 2009</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolene78</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 12, 2009</TD><TD>W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>jamgal</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 12, 2009</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>maywong</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>January-06</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 13, 2009</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>cynlim</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>October-06</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 14, 2009</TD><TD>Clifton Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulipjo</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 15, 2009</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>dophone_baby</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 15, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>leeuwin</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 16, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jinglebel</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 16, 2009</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>asp_23</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 17, 2009</TD><TD>C H Koh</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jj79</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 18, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chocz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 18, 2009</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>raspberrytea77</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 18, 2009</TD><TD>Tan Lay Kok</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>tft</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>April-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 20, 2009</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>dodos</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 20, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>veronbb</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 20, 2009</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>clairebear</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 21, 2009</TD><TD>Chris Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>lilmoo</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 21, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>indulgence_queen</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 21, 2009</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>December-05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 23, 2009</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jas42</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 23, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alayna</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 24, 2009</TD><TD>Aziz</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4evaluv</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 27, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>vulnerable</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>April-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 29, 2009</TD><TD>K L Lok</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>karrie</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>October-08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 29, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>oshiezan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 29, 2009</TD><TD>Sidek</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>rachel18</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>November-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>May 3, 2009</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>chen</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_mummy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>coolzy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>August-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tigger88</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>April-05</TD><TD>July-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>freskanova</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>princesskris</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>April-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>melon_winter</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>coralmarine</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>October-06</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Han How Chuan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>bahbah</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>Raffles</td></tr></table>

karrie - really?? which massage place did u go to?? as for pregnancy winter wear, just buy something bigger?? wanted to go japan originally but its winter so im afraid bb n i wun b able to take the cold so decided on bangkok.

oshiezan-i've only been there once. he's really nice..as for his nurses hehe tend to agree la =P i was lucky, considering it was a sat, i only had 10 ppl in front of me (i went abt 1pm) but the gd thing is, u dun hv to wait there. u just go n put ur name then u can go wherever u wan n they will call when 3-4 patients in front of u. some ppl even go for movies!! im lucky cos my grandma lives nearby so i can go there n rest while waiting.

Anyone drinking Anmum? I'm just wondering if it's possible to "overdose" on Folic acid? Any diff b/w folic acid n folate?? cos i'm taking the folic acid given by my gynae. MIL asking me to drink the milk which has folate...hubby is worried i might overdose. anyone can advise? Thanks!

eunice,
no worries on overdose on folic acid. according to gynae, any excess will just pass out from our urine. no harm to our body or ur bb.

eunice,
Folic acid is folate. I think no harm in 'overdosing' since it's a water-soluble vitamin and whatever extra not absorbed by your body will be flushed out by your body. Actually, I feel that if you are taking dairy products such as cheese or milk or foods rich in calcium and your diet is generally balanced, there's no need for ANMUM? I heard it can be fattening if your current diet is already sufficient.

Hi elina &amp; queen, thanks for your advice =)

ANMUM IS FATTENING!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!! Hmmm... I'm not really taking normal milk anymore. Not much cheese either. Actually now i cant eat much anymore, everything makes me wanna puke =( Even my favourite ice-cream is no longer tempting.

I went to see Dr Adrian last fri n manage to c BB's heartbeat blinking..so amazing. But bb so tiny only 0.81cm, est 6wk 6days and EDD change to 25 April. Does EDD change every visit?

Hi lilmoo,

Pls help me update my EDD to 25 April.
Thk alot.