(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

I am going to buy fenugreek from GNC later. Anyone knows where I can get nursing tea?
Does anyone let bb sleeps on pillow so that their head will be nice and round? I am thinking of getting one but was told by PD that bb at this age doesn't need to sleep on pillow.

cocobunz, so we must avoid seafood for as long as we are breastfeeding?!! Very ke lian leh... How about eating nuts? I have been eating them throughout my pregnancy and even during confinement!!

<font color="119911">ciarie,
mine no shelving, mine is open frm top de. onli those open frm front got shelving. i bag my ebm in bags n labelled them. so i juz take out according to date. i got pix on my blog, www.yeejuniors.blogspot.com, go take a look.

pei,
u can get nursing tea frm momsinmind.</font>

queen, you even latch on in the night? yes in the nite i feed on demand and she can sleep 4 hrs stretch and i feed her bottle EBM. too tired and messy to latch her on.

Pei, PD also told me the same thing, that they don't need pillow now. but my girl's head behind too sharp, so once in awhile let her sleep on newborn pillow.

karrie, happy anniversary!! Enjoy your couple massage and dinner!!
So envious... :p
cocobunz, the back of my girl's head is sharp too. Maybe it's cos we had c-sections. Later I will go kiddy palace to buy her a newborn pillow. Hee hee, an excuse to go out!! Any recommendations on pillows?

cocobunz...ok i will go get it then. gotta find time to go AMK hub to buy.

Ida, thank u!!

i took off my bandage today. wow Dr Tseng managed to somehow 'cut away' my unsightly thick old scar and the new scar is so thin n nice! wow. i feel like i went for plastic surgery hahaa.

Pei, thanks...it's a welcome break away from the constant feeding latching n pumping :p at the same time do some post natal massage to expel all the wind mah.

i no longer swaddle my gal.. she startles a bit sometimes but never enough to wake her up, plus she seems to sleep better without swaddle.. she quite impressive woh.. yesterday the fire alarm at my place went off and the bell was just outside my house.. rang so loudly and suddenly, but she never stirred from her sleep! she's like just 2m away fr it cos i place her cot in the living room... i think next time hard to wake her up for school loh... haha...

oh kris: so u bag it up and place into e chest freezer... hmm... okok...

karrie: so loving leh!! couple massage!!!
enjoy ur couplehood time tonight!! :D

re: direct bf..
thik my boy is boycotting my nipples liao!
either too much flow one mouth.. (cos bottle teat only 1 hole)..
or... positioning tak shiok! sigh....
try harder next time.....

pei: newborn bb dun need pillow... if want bb's head round round, just sow sow e head more often in circular motion can le..

swaddle: i also dun swaddle my bb le.. cos he likes his hands out most of e time..

so i'll just make sure his sides have gt bloster so tat he'll feel more secure..

ciarie, my sowing is not powerful to counteract her hours of sleeping on her sides leh (even though I alternate the side she sleeps on)!! hee hee will it be such that the more I sow, the more unbalanced her head is?!!

my gal also sleeps on her sides, so now her side seems v longish.. thinking of buying a contoured pillow also, but dunno if it'll help?

kris: how to empty breast huh? everytime after i pump 10 mins e flow slow down by jus trickles den i will stop pumpin liao.. do i haf to continue until no milk? cuz after i pump, i can still feel my sides a lil painful..

Hope you are all doing well with your babies.
I gave birth at 14 April to a little girl at TMC,time fiied she is already two weeks old now.
I read this thread since I was pregant for 37weeks..I did get many useful tips from all mommies! Meantime i feel i also have something to share with you..

About my confinement..my parents/PIL are all oversea (by the way I am chinese, my husband is French) so I didn't have any professional help here.So.. it ends up I showed everyday with hair washed; drinking iced water since 3days after birth; walking with baby outdoor for whole afternoon non-stop; sleep in air con room 24/7...all the so called "illegal" things I have done, which is extremely against Chinese confinement traditions.
However, so far I have to say I feel quite good..except the "swim ring" around my waist reminds me that I have given birth not long time ago,otherwise I feel like the condition before pregancy.Milk supply is good enough and so far no engorgment (counting on baby to wake up and drink cos my breasts are filled with milk and going to explode.)
I am not saying confinement is not necessary..of course there must be reasons it exists for so many years..just by sharing this to let some moms know that don't feel bad if you don't follow it exactly..

Also I have some questions about baby..

My girl vomits milk quite often,sometimes she just split the whole amount of milk I just fed her.. looks very scary.is it normal? how to prevent it?

By the way I use GOO.N diaper -- quite good actually..

cocobunz,
Yes, I latch on 24 hours... I find it a hassle to pump, wash, sterilise and then bottle feed leh. And now, it seems like my breasts are 'programmed' to letdown every 3 hourly, even when I'm sleeping. So if my boy sleeps past 3 hours, I will actually wake up even though he isn't crying for milk cos I feel the letdown and my breasts are very full. So easier to just latch at night.
But I'm going to start tandem pumping soon cos returning to work after 2 months.

tingting,
I'm using the contoured newborn pillow by BabySafe.

queen, is the contoured pillow any good? I am thinking of buying it from kiddy palace. Like you, I latch 24hrs and find myself dripping every 3-4hrs. However, there was once I tried pumping, but the amount was pretty pathetic. Feel quite disappointed actually.

Lisha, our situation is quite similar. I am Chinese and my husband is English. He doesn't believe in those confinement practices and what's worse is that my gynae told him the same things too! I don't have a confinement lady but my mom comes over to my place to cook lunch and dinner for me. Other than that, it's pretty much the 3 of us at home. I don't really follow those confinement practices too.

<font color="119911">owmum,
after u pump, u can feel dat ur breasts r soft n can shake. dats when u empty ur breasts. if still hard mueans not empty yet, can con't to pump+massage.</font>

kris: wa like tt tiring leh.. i ardy pumped out 200ml (one side) but still abit hard..tt means must still continue..? walau.. e flow becomes trickle ardy hw to pump.. very slow lo.. i lazy la..

Hi Pei,
Nice to hear that you have the same situation here..
Yes European they don't believe in confinement at all..also my husband against me to wrap the baby, he lets her expose in the air con room with only a tiny piece of baby clothes..guess they raise child all in a rough way.. at least rougher than us..
How old is your baby? a little princess or prince
?

Mummies who latch on, do encounter this...

My bb would be very frustrated after latching on...keep twisting &amp; turning his head...

Is it flow too small or too big or he wanta burp??? How to know which is the case?? What to do???

Pei,
Er... I'm not sure if the pillow is any good but just thought I'll buy it cos I guess it helps to keep baby sleeping on his back (reduce SIDS). No harm lah.
If you pump after a good latch, cannot expect to pump out much lah. The trick to a good pump if to achieve as many letdowns as possible.
Could it be that time when you pump, no letdowns?

Catherine,
Sometimes my boy does that as well, though I think it's usually when the flow is too slow (after letdown) and he is impatient. ANd then sometimes when I letdown, the flow can be too fast and he will unlatch himself and my milk drips all over his face!!! So when I feel that the letdown is fast, I will lean back a bit.

Lisha,
Personally, I don't care for confinement as well. Heheh... my mom is doing confinement for me and she'll nag when I insist on washing my hair everyday (and not blowdry), have cold drinks (once in a while) and I go out every weekend to nearby malls! I even managed to convince her to go to Robinsons' Closed Door sale with me and HB yesterday, even though I still have 1 week of confinement to go!

Lisha, my baby girl is 3 weeks old today

Queen, I think I only experience let downs when bb is latching, not when pumping. When pumping, initially it's a squirt, then it's a trickle

My mom also always nag me about food and stuff. I ate ondeh ondeh the other day and got a huge scolding from her!! She says coconut gives wind. Any one knows whether that's true??

lisha, my husband also, let the bb wear only a diaper and a top, expose legs and stomach...*faintz* and always says she is hot. But whenever I feel her feet, it's cold!! We keep our air con temp at 26 deg, how about u.

Pei,
Try deep breathing. Inhale and count 1234, then exhale 1234. Feel your whole body relax. Do the deep breathing while you are pumping. It helps to bring about letdown. This is the only thing that works for me in stimulating letdowns while I was pumping at work for my #1 last time.

catherine : my girl does that too sometimes. Then I read online, they're saying that this could be because the milk flow is too slow. Maybe you can read on from this website : http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/ under info corner, I find the articles and videos by Dr Jack Newman very informative n useful.

Confinement matter : Luckily my mom not too strict bout confinement. Although yes I'm not allowed to wash hair (but I secretly wash once a week kkekekeke), I have to bathe in ginger and lemongrass water every day, drink all the soups and red date tea she made, but she still allow me to go out at times to do some grocery shopping or baby stuff shopping he he he. Our moms just want us to be well. During my mom's time, she don't have the luck to have a confinement lady or a maid to help to take care of her children. Now, in her fifties, she has knee and back problem. So, she told me to nourish myself well after giving birth. Furthermore, women age faster than men..

hello...

my girl also hates to sleep in the aircon... so mummy has to suffer with the fan
... but as long as she gets a good sleep, i will accept the suffering.. heheheh..

she also is annoying from abt 7pm - 1am.. i wonder if its the wind in her stomach.. but i do apply the yu yee oil n she still is grumpy..must carry her n walk around the house .. i think my mum b bro r spoiling her ...

anyway, need to ask you mummies something - does breastmilk attract ants? i realised tat after cleaning my girls mouth with the bip n leaving the bip for wash, it will attract ants. am wondering if this is normal?

Re. Ruyi oil
Anyone using this already? I have started to put rub a bit on my boy's tummy and feet every morning and evenings. Cos I'm worried he will be colicky due to wind in tummy. My 1st boy had a colicky period in 2nd month. He would cry every evening without fail for 2 hours or so non-stop and he was really wailing! Very traumatic for me to handle my boy when he had his colicky cries. I tried those colic drops but didn't realy help. Anyway, the colic went away after 2 to 3 weeks but I'm not taking chances this time. Dunno whether the Ru Yi oil will help, but just doing whatever I can to pre-empt, if it's possible at all.

Hi Ciarie,

Just wanna update your list. I delivered my baby girl on 20th April at Mount Alvernia. EDD was supposed to be 24th April.

To all the mummies out there:

Just wanna share with you all, if you're considering changing your gynae for the next pregnancy, you can try Dr Ho Hon Kwok at Mt Alvernia. He's my gynae and he's really an expert in stitching. I had my episiotomy done till near the anus. Quite a long cut. But after a week, I no longer felt any more pain nor discomfort. Seriously, the stitching technique is very important if you want a speedy recovery. I had a pile (haemorrhoid) operation done by an associate consultant once at SGH some years back and the stitches took me nearly a month to recover! It was a misery for me then.

To any mummies out there:

Can anyone advise how much breastmilk a 2 week old baby should approximately be consuming? I'm feeding EBM to my girl at 60ml. This lasts her for 3 to 4 hours. When she's hungry, she just won't latch on for long. She prefers the EBM in a bottle cos she's a super fast drinker. I think my milk flow is not fast. She slurps up her milk in less than 3 mins! Anyone facing the same problem as me? She only latches on when she needs comfort.

hi all..im new to this thread..will like to ask a few questions..

im currently giving EBM to my baby..however my milk supply is unable to catch up wif her demand.only managed to pump bout 4ounce every 4hrly. heard tat fenugreek seeds can help increase supply? (1) where do i get e seeds?
(2)and read tat we r supposed to boil e seeds wif water? (3) wats e proportion of seeds n water?
Thanks so much for answering my questions.
am so troubled over my milk supply problem.. sigh.

SKS, if there is wind try to apply ruyi oil. and if she's crying becos of wind in stomach, PD told me to carry her upright and let her head lie on the shoulder (like the burp position) then she will feel more comfortable. sway and move but do not shake her.

i aso notice that BM attacts ants when i leave my funnel and bottles unwashed during the nite.

Pei, when i pump, its also the same squirt alot and then after 5 mins it starts to trickle. i tot its normal becos the initial 1 is foremilk and the trickle pit is the hind milk. what about other mummies? is it always gushing out during a let down? hehe

ok. thnx cocobunz.

immas.. u can also get fenugreek pills from GNC. i did tat n it did help increase my bm.. but be prepared to smell like fenugreek too...n dont be troubled over it as it wont help but detter the increase.... am in my 2nd wk of feed n always tell myself tat bm will increase only if i worry less abt it...

queen, thanks for your suggestion, I will give it a try next time

cocobunz, at least your squirts lasts for 5 mins, mine only lasts for a couple of squirts lor (probably only a few seconds!!) Then I will try and squeeze my breast and then will get another squirt but then no more leh. Very problematic...

cocobunz, pei,

for me, my 1st letdown is almost always a gush, esp if the breasts are quite full/very full. subsequent letdowns are trickles, and can cease quite quickly..

Pei, i make our room temprature at 26 degree as well. baby sneezes sometimes then I wrap her..but soon she will be sweaty then her papa blames me for that..aiii..
your baby girl is 1 week older than mine
so how is her daily routine? mine is particularly active from 7pm to 10pm.. can be awake for full 3hrs.. eating====>pooing====>eating...then finally fall asleep at 1030pm..

lisha...my girl is just like urs active in the evenin but can drag till abt 1am. doesnt enjoy aircon but sweats when drinkin milk... sometimes i just wish they can talk to us....

and by the way mommies,

what is Ru Yi oil? where to buy it?
My girl also has some wind inside (when I use fingers to knock on her tummy,I can tell) so am afraid of her getting colic.. wonder where to have those "magic" oil?

SKS, try to exhaust her by give her a bath before you want to sleep, then lacth her on..it works. she sleeps straight away..

by the way how can you tell she doesnt like aircon?

lisha, my gal is rejuvenated by a bath leh.. she can be wide awake for at least 1 hr after bath, even after feeds..

Ruyi oil can be bought at most provision shops, guardian, supermarkets, etc. It helps to dispel wind in the stomach. place 2 drops on your palm, warm it by rubbing with your palms, and gently smooth over her tummy.

hahah..just like tingting, my girl is also rejuvanated by bath.

lisha, i know she doesnt like aircon coz when i try to make her sleep in the air con rm she gets cranky but when i take into the living rm n switch on the fan, she slowly settles down n sleeps...just like her dad

hehe..tingting &amp; SKS.. sorry to hear that bath does an adverse effect to your babies..it works on my girl..she plays hard in the water so get exhausted very soon..
yes tingting thanks for the info, guess am going to get the oil in case of colic.
so far any moms's babies encounter the colic? Or normally it would happen to baby older than one month?

lisha..my girl has lots of wind in her..even took her to the doctors... doc gave her colic drops ... doc says tat it will be common n tat i shld burp her more than once...

ok gtg.. need to pump.. breast r super full now although the max i can get is 5oz

lisha, my bb always sneeze when my hubby changes her nappy!! Told him it's cos her tummy is not covered up but he doesn't believe me. DOn't think he believes that bb can get wind in their tummy if they aren't covered up properly. Can be very exasperating!!
On most days, bb sleeps after every feed. But once in a while, she will be wakeful after a feed, normally in the afternoon.
As for Ru Yi oil, for some bb, they can be sensitive to it, perhaps cos they are still so young. My bb had a rash on her tummy after I applied the oil on her. NOw I am using Telon oil, read from the forum that it's not bad. So far so good.

tingting, sks, my bb also feels rejuvenated after a bath lor!! So normally I bathe her in order to wake her up, just before a feed.

I got colic drops from doc as well due to the little girl vomits milk quite often..i used the drop only once to her then I decided not to use it again.. She thought am going to feed her with milk.. so her mouth was widely open..with such an expectant look..then one sec after she tasted the drop,she was desperated to vomit it out.all the little body turned red...so heartbreaking...guess she thought mom cheated her. aiii.

Yvonne,

I guess our bill differs probably due to the gynae charges. I think Mt A maternity package is more or less the same, just that the doctor charges make a difference. I was in the labour ward for less than 3 hours, not sure whether that makes a difference too? Anyway here's my bill breakdown:

Hospital Charges for Mummy
Assisted delivery with epidural = $1,130
Single ward charges for 2days (3D2N) = $700
Clinical consumable &amp; supply = $39
Companion (non claim) = $150
Equipment usage = $20
F&amp;B Services (non claim) = $6.40
Pharmacy = $36.75
Total Hospital Charges with GST = $2227.90

Doctor Charges for Mummy
Doctor attendance fee = $400
Doctor operation fee = $1,000