(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Thanks again Alfafa fo being such a great host yday, Keenan & I had a so much fun w alla his little friends
Next gathering we'll sure be there again hehee

As for carrier, i'm looking at the beco, coz pumpkinseed really look so comfy in it, & yes definintely w pretty mummy too
Now checking out the specs & asking Djin his opinion first :p

So where next, Sassy's place?

Guys, I am going mad. I tend to be a bit obsessive when I do things e.g. when I want to do ebay business I just buy and buy and buy. But then I lost interest in listing on ebay. Takes a hell lot of effort. Then I was and still am into shares. Spent my preggie days reading multi industry (esp finance) news ... something I still do. Occupational hazard from my previous job. Then of course I got into sewing which took up most of my free time pre-preggie. NOw with a baby I cannot afford long stretches of time to sew so I stopped. Ironically it gives me much much more free time. Which is why I am on this forum alot now.

Anyway ... my point is ... my latest obession is checking out soft structured carriers (SSCs). Started with BECO, which led to interesting product PIKKOLO (can do front carry with bb facing out!), that in turn brought me to CONNECTA (apparently good for Singapore weather) and finally for now ... CARRY ME MAMA MEI TAI CARRIER.

Maybe I should venture into a trading business by bringing in more mei tai type carriers.

I am going mad.

LOLs

prosper,

oh dear, I didn't see you try on size 2, only size 1. But how about you? Which size is more comfortable for you when you tried it on? Which one allows you to sit down comfortably? And nursing too.

bb suddenly crying!

alfafa, rem yesterday i was trying out on the pink pupsik. tat is size 2. It seems big for me. think u commented a bit big for me, if i didnt hear it wrongly

i'm going to be rational n wait till i decide on which SSC i wan first before buying anything else. Will be using my pupsik for now.

starflower,
you are welcome. so fun to see everyone too. btw i've uploaded the pics on FB. my camera not good leh. pics a bit blur ever since i accidentally dirtied the lens. :p

tuskywoollie,
nope not the same. compressing means you hold your breast with a firm gripe to "compress" it or squeeze it somewhat, this makes the nipple/areola part much firmer to latch on.

no lah .. pink is size 1. i was saying it might be too small for you but it end it seemed ok, just that bb would be too high up for you to nurse. the size 2 pupsik is the checkered one from ann. didn't see you try that on.

try measuring fr the top of your shoulder diagonally down to your hip, the way a seat belt goes. in inches. then compare against the size guide i typed yesterday.

btw,

for mommies thinking about going into the share market now, please take the swine flu into consideration. might cause major upset.

suspected cases in S korea n OZ now. WHO has just increased the alert level from 3 to 4.

seabreeze,
but that clinic is always so crowded right? Dr Terrace Tan is sooo wonderful. Initially we wanted to scout for another PD (his queue is too long) but he is just such a sweet heart that hubby wants to stick to him. When we turned up at the clinic to collect yet another jaundice blood test form to bring down to the laboratory test centre, his girls paged him to double check. He wasn't around but he told the girls to give us a liver test form instead (skip the additional blood test) and also told us wait for him outside the test centre. Then he took time from his busy schedule to come all the way down to meet us at the entrance of the test centre, just so he could personally do a quick check on BB grace. He's such a dear. Needless to say, he didn't charge us any consultation fees AGAIN. THe lab test fees are charged by the lab, nothing to do with him.

oh fairymoss,
sorry forgot to reply to your post yesterday.

yah stirling road.
the whampoa ones are along Jalan Bahagia. Much more expensive than Queenstown which baffles me greatly. Location is not fantastic I thought. But then the estate there looks much more high class lah, really looks like landed. They don't even have block nos anymore. I bought it 3 years ago at valuation, definitely a good price compared to how much you need to shel out for one now. Actaually you would be surprised by how many of my neighbours are selling. Think there must be some property agents aggressively pursuing homeowners here cos within the last 6 months at least 6 units have been sold. 4 within a single block! Last I heard it was being sold for about 550k thereabouts. Decent price considering you get a landed property look alike at a location like queenstown, with MRT, swimming pool, stadium, library and all that jazz within walking distance.

You still interested ah? I know neighbours selling.

alfafa ...

yap he is a super nice PD thats why his Q is super super long ... i sort of give up seeing him cos of his Q so i am seeing Dr Lim now. he is oso q nice and he did not charge us consultation too when we went back for the liver test. Just do the lab test straight and he called me back with the results =)

Dr Lee is nice too =) i guess thats why the biz in the clinic is so good hahahaha cos i find all the 3 PDs nice

just to share some factors which I personally deem important in a carrier ...wah liao given how they tend to cost $200 thereabouts it's good to seriously consider in advance.

*carry styles available. Front carry? Back? Hip? For front carry is it limited to just inward facing or can it be both? Is your bb the curious type that likes to look out?

*For how long do yu intend to use it? as in ... until your bb becomes X age? Hip carry would be useful as do back carry when it comes to toddlers.

*suitability for hot and humid weather use. Indoor and outdoor use will be very different.

*ease of use. Can it be used by one person unassisted? Must you have a flat surface to put on?

*can it be interchanged easily between users? e.g. although this is on carriers let me use pupsik as an example. Ring slings can be adjusted thus can be shared between users. Whereas Pupsik is fitted to size ...

*Easy to clean/detach?

*durability. For a product that cost so much you got to make sure it can last through daily wear and tear for at least some years.

* and of course .... must look pretty lah

BTW be careful when buying 2nd hand carriers because I realised that several of these carriers, esp family owned ones like beco, are constantly innovating and improvising their products based on feedback. So an old model might come with teething problems that have already been resolved by recent models. Have also read about product recall of beco butterfly (not butterful II which is newer) due to sudden release of shoulder strap tension - risk of bb falling off! A couple of cases reported in the US but thankfully no deaths reported.

seabreeze,
good to know. In case next time we cannot tahan the waiting time we know we can just look for Dr Lim or Dr Lee. hehe

Re: next gathering
I want I want. Anywhere anytime is fine by me. Let me know.

prosper,
I'm sure she will. And you will too cos it's such a liberating experience to have your hands free again! Which pattern do you like? I like dotted daisy orange but will KIV my purchase for now.

Hello mummies....

Ugin vaccination
Phew... After all the worries it was finally over.... Surprisingly ugin didn't cry at all due to his vocally incline baby... The PD was really quick and good. She is a new. PD I got foe ugin. Previously was dr lim from mount a kinder clinic.. Becoz of the waiting time it's horrible and this new PD is quite personal and handles baby one to one slowly. She explained very well to me too. She is dr elizabeth Khor at paragon.

Outing
Yes do include me and ugin but also be prepared for his cries.. A very particular boy who really knows his preferences hehehe...

Carrier
I have a combi (4in1 for the cradle use), baby bjourn (normal face frontal usage but can be quite hot) and BECO (not delivered yet hit bought last night becoz of the light weight material & prints), MIM slings (which I really have no clue using it & ugin
hates it)

daphne.. saw ur name in the mailing list for the sling made in japan by yan.. wah ugin so fortunate to experience so many types of carriers...

Come come all come... All welcome to my place...

wow... seem like everyone crazy abt carrier... I personally own beco and mim sling past down from my ger... Not too bad after all... Honestly I nvr really make full use of the both. Alway pram... haha... ;p

<font color="119911">bluebell</font>,
oic...whn u latch on on side, the other side will drip right...so will u be using handkerchiek or something to hold onto the leaking bm? hmm seems like yr bb will empty yr b leh.

<font color="119911">Asura79</font>,
is the hot stone hot ?

re:latch on
do yr one b produce more milk than the other? my left b will produce twice the amt than right side b.

<font color="119911">Asura79\misscandy</font>
think all bb are alike....everything also loud....

re:diaper.
pet pet diaper got big cutting loh.

<font color="119911">sung</font>,
wow, yr boy so fast upgrade to m size?? my boy just past his 3mth (actual age is 1mth due to preterm) only wear s size diaper last wk. all his jie jie NB clothes cannot wear. shorts like 3/4 one and shirt like dress....

re:burping.
yup, my boy also big project burping him. but hor, sometimes burp very fast, dunno why. but even burp fast but he still need lot of burping.

re:falling slp.
it depends on his mood. sometimes, he can fall aslp on his own without rocking. but most of the time, he wanted to rock to slp in his rocker. yr little boy is cranky loh. last time, whenever my gar wanted to slp, she will scream and scream. so got to carry her and rock her to slp then she can calm down.

<font color="119911">JG</font>,
hmm..won't bb still merlion when burp? cos ppls said dun plc bb on tummy when bb is full.for me, I use the following methods like misscandy:

1. Over the shoulder. pat pat pat like siao.

2. Sitting on my lap upright. but this method dun really work and sometimes bb will still er ni or merlion.

3. if bb burp till zzz...then will plc him on his rocker and when he struggle then carry him again. this will burp him.

<font color="119911">tuskywoollie </font>,
hmm..my bb is like that wor...fussy over slp man....
hands and legs moving freqly n cries loudly. think there is wind in e stomach...

<font color="119911">miss83</font>,
re:latch on.
when u let bb empty one b then wait till next feed for the other side of b, won't yr other side of b engorge?

re:tummy
ai-yo...u only 1 mth + only, I delivered 3mth ago liao but tummy still wobble and worst still when after makan, will be bloated like 3-4mth preggie. ppls told me it will take at least 9mth to return to pre-preggies weigh.

Afcai,
I think putting her on her tummy makes her burp faster leh.. Heh.. Even when I put her over the shoulder, I tried to hold her tighter on her tummy to make her burp also.. Hee..

gathering
wow. i missed it.. i was busy with tristan (still having colic on n off).. and busy shopping in BP.. lols..

sling
im using mim sling.. imo, quite a gd one. can use for quite long, provided baby wants to be in there..

so balboa sling and pupsik sling which 1 better?
haha.. tempted to buy another 1.. too free at home , obsessed in buying things nw to kill time.

Hi tuskywollie,
I'm new and hardly able to b in the forum. You bb have got colic and you may try to get telon oil and do anti clockwise massage. Put your tummy &amp; bb tummy 2gether and pat him or her on theirback. This is what my massage therapist frm traditional &amp; holistic taught me during bb massage and its really works. Bb feel very confortable and sleep better.

afcai,

yes de, most of the time my left b producing double the qty of my right b. me working very hard to correct it, super irritaing.
hot stone is a stone tt retains heat very well, so u put in a pot to boil, then can last very long. sometimes i done with hot stone on boobs, me put on my tummy to aid my slow digestion prob,

sung - lechithin is working quite well for me, so far been taking it for 3 days...

mummies - does your bb kick their legs high high up when they are lying down? is it normal? is it colic?

afcai, I use breastpads leh so the other side will leak into the breast pad. Eh, you all dun use ah? I just bought another 2 boxes, pigeon, 36+6 pcs from KP, on offer at $8.90.

Tummy, not true la, need 9mths?? For #1 i took 2 months, maybe cos very stressed...hee...but this time my tummy still big at 6 weeks and I dun dare to move too much liao cos my c-sect kena infection. sigh.

Asura, coincidentally my left breast also producing much more than my right.

Btw, Mummies, how much are your bbs drinking?

Burping
Over the shoulder works for me. For hubby, he likes the sit on lap mtd and he can do it really well cos bb won't struggle like when I do it. Hubby claim the secret is to make sure bb is sitting upright and not slouching. Works for him every time

afcai,
For me, my right breast produce more than my left ;)

alfafa,
I caved in. I bought balboa. :X
I have a trip coming up which i will be bringing baby along and I thought the balboa looks comfortable enough for her to be in. She needs to be in it for really long hours cos we are not bringing the stroller along. In fact, I am going to bring the balboa, MIM pouch and even MIM sling along for good measures. Also in case one is dirty, I have another on standby. Since we are travelling, it is not like home comfort. Better make sure we have all the things with us!

Re: carrier

After the gathering, really love the Beco carrier that pumpkin was using. I managed to buy it from someone from the forum who has barely used it at a cheaper price. Very pleased with my purchase hehe. Going to try using it this weekend when I go shopping with hubby.

Gathering, count me and Marissa ann in. It will be good at sassybaby place.

sportyger,
how does the beco look like? am considering the balboa...

re: lochia
how long does it last? my baby is 6 wks+, im still having some brown spotting. issit normal? is it becos my bf is not constant due to low milk supply? cant be menses coming back, right?

sportyger, which one did you get?
Look forward to seeing you next time and we can match match he he

I am really stoked. Just made my first diaper cake. It's for another forum mummy who is due soon. Looked quite challenging from the youtube tutorial but I did a simplified version. Have3 more people giving birth this year so will be making diaper cakes for all! A bit more of a personal touch

By the way, did anyone see my FM container at alfafa's place? I think I left it there...

By the way, for those who missed the post:

Beco carrier from distributor, Ashley:

$200 without legwarmers
$210 with legwarmers

*min 3 pieces order
*organic series is $10 more
*free delivery and demo at one location

To view the designs for everything, go to www.cozybabies.com.sg

I am not a retailer, neither do I get any commission. Just a product I personally use and like!

elina, check out the website that pumpkin posted www.cozybabies.com.sg. I tried it last nite, will be able to give more comments when I start using it this weekend.
For the balboa, it is also very nice, cos saw missycandy using, the baby looks very comfy and snuggled in.

pumpkin, my is the butterfly 2 in Sands colour. ya ya next gathering can use

hi, i am going out later and need to pump outside for 2 times. I dun have any cooling pack so is it ok to store at room temp for more than 6 hours?

pumpkin seed,
whats a diaper cake? isit more a diaper or a cake?! anyways, looks like most of the mummies who were interested in the beco have already gotten theres! well, if you do manage to arrange for a demo, let me know
thanks for liaising with the distributor btw

Annt, 2 more mummies e-mailed me about the Beco and I don't think they have bought theirs yet. Ashley and Jody (bebelove.com.sg) sometimes participate in fairs and they bring down one or 2 styles to demo and sell. You can e-mail them to ask when next fair is. I think you can also go to Jody's place to view.

prosper, I don't think can be in room temp for so long...

pumpkin seed,
ah i see, i think i received something similar before; never knew there was a name for it! re: beco, will check with jody if i'm interested then. Thanks!

prosper, I think 4 hrs max? Not sure lei. Where u gg for whole day? Haha. But u can try to keep milk, before feeding u taste first. Must try then know whether can last so long in room temp or not.

Outing:
Yea, Jio me too. Haha. So many mommies bought beco. Next gathering can take photo of u all with bb n carrier! Hehe. Hope by next gathering I can bring her in bjorn Haha.

Alfafa... Still waiting for your uob acct details ha!

I finally tried giving her a bottle today. She is coming 9wks liao. Haha. First bottle, not ebm, but water. Thank goodness she managed to drink a little. Hehe. Now I can rest n relax to latch her on one last month before making adjustments for gg back to work. Hai...