(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Agnes,

Thanks for the link. Finally see solution for my oversupply problem

I've got the following, pls PM me if interested:
-Ready stocks for lansinoh milk bags (50pcs) / lansinoh nipple cream / avent bottom balm and Desitin creamy 4oz expiry:12/2010 selling 9.60 per tube exc postage

-Baby bjorn original/air carrier/active/synergy from $105 onwards only

-Medela Pis/freestyle BP

-Capella strollers BP

alfafa ...

hahahahaha i havent been to her shop myself =p

anyway i am a ergo user ... if you gals want i can bring it to the gathering for you all to try. my only complain is that its bulky but it served it well. bought it 2nd hand for only $100

wow! so much talk about baby carriers! ok, just to add in my opinions since i've tried bb bjorn, ergo and beco

bb bjorn: good for mummies whose shoulders are narrow, like me! the shoulder straps do not hv so much padding, so it doesn't look bulky on a petite frame. but if baby is too heavy or big boned, the carrier does feel a bit tight and will gv u a backache. i think it's also the easiest to use as it has less buckles.

ergo: i know a lot of mummies prefer this one as it doesn't cause backaches like bb bjorn. but for me, it's too bulky! the shoulders straps are sticking out of my shoulders and i dun really feel comfortable in it at all.

beco: most expensive but i think this one is most worth it. shoulder pads are not so bulky like ergo, but it offers the same support. love it to bits!

i know one of the factors that some mummies are considering is the how the carrier can be used for, ie. up to what age. seriously though, i dun think u would want to carry your baby/toddler when he's still 3 or 4 yrs old. by then he/she is walking and would be too heavy. you would still have a backache no matter how good the carrier is.

personally, i used a bb bjorn with my girl who is pretty small frame, up to about 10 months. right now, i m using it with my boy too, but he's pretty big so it already feels tight at 2 months. m switching to the beco soon.

yah missy candy u went expo or not...

mummies share with u good news.. hubby managed to start work yest aft 2 months jobless.... haizz.. but have lots of OT.. so not so much time at home.. but maybe for now first and when settle... hope can reduce a bit of OT - dun wan earn so much money and no time for the kids.... money is not everything rite./

hello mummies...

carrier...
have been reading up on the beco alot myself and watch the demo on the instructions..
yes although it does not allow baby to face front, i reckon the crutch carry for baby will not be good like the bb bjourn..
i like the beco material...soft and comfy...suitable for the weather here in sin..
like myself, i have the combi carrier for cradle postion..it's alittle bit too wide for a newborn..intend to use it when ugin gets alittle bigger....
bb bjourn, so far i use it to allow ugin to face front..but i find it alittle bit too hot and also the bottom part where the crutch is hard and maybe tough.
Beco, to be comment..hehee ( but so far i have read quite good reviews for this carrier)

EXPO...
still contemplating on going to the fair...coz tomolo is a HOLIDAY...will be jam pack...there's one more i read in the mag from motherhood in june..expo too..
maybe shall go then...

vaccination..

yesterday ugin had his 6 in 1 vaccination and rotavirus...ugin did well in the clinic he was quiet when he got the jab hahaha...
anyway he had a mild fever last night...refusd the bottle including my ebm...but rather the breast..so i had to latch him the whole of yetsreday's feed...but i felt like cuddling him whole day to comfort him..although i did sleep with him in my arms towards the morning.
he finally settled down and fever was gone by late afternoon...now he's drinking back to 110ml then 60-70ml last night..

idaarshad...

yes bought the carrier from yan...wan to try out how it's being used..well it's the cheapest so far..
and also bought the beco coz seen pumpkinseed used it and was looking very comfy on baby...
hahaha...ugin not fortunate...more like suffer coz he is used for test runs..haha like the sling..and pupsik..he cried so badly when i tried putting him in...maybe and must be the way i handled him....all so WRONGly..hehee

this stubborn snails lady is really creative and resourceful too! She ever bought one of my baby Gap items via ebay before, probably for one of her diaper hamper sets.

Isn't it inspiring to hear of SAHM who eventually went on to become entreprenuers (sp?), running a business that they are actually passionate about?
The studioloft lady too, forgot her name now. Heard from my friend that the whole thing started with her taking pictures of her little one, and presumably of her preggie friends. It was soon apparent that she has a natural flair for photography and a great eye for details. One thing led to another and now she is a proud owner of a studio. WHen I went for my maternity shots she even had her youngest, a 8 mth old, with her at the studio. What a dream it would be to be able to do something you like, and have your baby by your side too.

Wonder if I will be as bold as them when the time comes too i.e. when bb is older. To begin with though, I cannot even pin point a passion. I have a thousand and one of them and they keep changing!

Oh but I do love shopping. With THAT, I am at least consistent.

Lols

Pumpkinseed,
did you enjoy your lunch? Tried the wild rocket burger? will surely look for you on one of these wednesdays. I have been eating too much sweets lately - had equinox buffet last weekend, then had a mixture of 3 desserts at Relish yesterday (cos there were 3 ladies) and today I wolfed down a big slice of the cedele choco slice (Chocolate mousse + banana .. heavenly.

How to lose my belly like that? The last 2.5 stubborn kilos. :p

Daphne,

glad to know that Ugin is fine. Hopefully Grace will be too when her turn comes. The last time she took the hep b she was not pleased at all. She made sure we know that for the rest of the day. :p

Btw, tried Fitti for the first time today. Thought it's pretty small, smaller than huggies even. Quite soft, unlike drypers. Absorbency seems ok too.

But for obvious reasons I will stick to huggies ultra. I like its super absorbency anyway. Have also got use to their bikini cut, which is meant to allow more leg movement. There a trick to wearing huggies, you really need to "open" up the diaper (the sides) beforehand. And after taping it, check the elastic bands around the thigh one more time to make sure that there are no loose gaps. If there is, pull the front higher (back lower) and re-tape. Sounds complicated but it can be done in a flash. Experimented with my bb yesterday and her diaper held up well for 6 hours (no poo lah just lotsa pee cos it was very heavy!). Don't know if it could go longer, I dind't want ot take that chance. :p

speaking of Youtube, did you guys know they have DIY ribbons tutorial too? Pretty much everything can be found there these days. Since I no longer have time to make baby shoes I might just go into making bb hair accessories. oooh what an idea. Now I just need Grace to have some hair!

Sassybaby,
You definitely have a point but black ... arrrgghh cannot lah. Spend $190 and get a boring black. I can't bring myself to do it. Anyway will check the thomson plaza shop first.

hello...!!! okie few things...

ergo carrier - i also bought it... i havent actually used it becos have to agree that the shoulder part is really bulky! not like the beco... and of cos the designs are not as pretty as the beco but it does look more sturdy... i bought it after strong recommendation from one of my frns.. saw her using it and the kid is 1yr plus.. he looked so comfy la... i tried to use it today for my girl instead of the balboa sling but she slid quite in la.. dn im afraid she will fall thru the bottom.. HAHAHA... plus shes not comfy opening her legs yet.. her legs always together... =P so i used balboa today again... im actually very very very tempted to buy the BECO becos of the pretty designs!!! but i shall refrain la... need to save.. if not will kena black face frm hubby.. =P

oh ya check out this really cool video.. its all vocals apparently! no music! ultra cool to me!!!

http://www.jokeroo.com/video/funny/the-voca-people.html

expo fair - yeaps i went today! they r having metro fair as well!!! okie... i bought quite a lot of things la.. haiii i need to control my spending man.. grrr... i bought

1.puku wipes (its basically wet wipes for babies, comes in packs of 8, each pack has 30pieces... its 50% discount! i bought from BP previously for $8+. At the fair they are selling $13.90 but 50% off so its $6.95. Its quite good. not drying. I bought 6 packs. heavy lo... )

2. huggies ultra selling $14 for 1 pack, $25 for 2.. i dont knw whats the cheapest out there for this... but i jus bought la... =P hahaha i bought to keep actually... kiasu mummy! i bought 1 pack of M and 3 L... hahahaha! i have a lot of M at home la... =P

3. mother goose books/vcd/cd set... it has 4 different sets... for 0-6mths, 6-12mths, 12-18mths & 18-24mths. Each set is usually selling at $39.90, they are selling $20/set. I bought all 4. =P each set contains 4 hard cover books, 1 guide book, 1 cd and 1 vcd. hee hee.

I think thats abt it... the rest are small stuff like formula dispenser, bowl/fork/spoon for weaning ( yes me super kiasi! lol!! )

okie booths there, dont expect a lot la... They have
1. Pneumococcal Booth
2. Chinese/English books
3. Mammabebe - sells nursing/maternity clothes, nursing tanks/bras, etc etc...
4. Babyplus booth
5. Scholastic Books Booth ( some education thing )
6. Photography Booth ( $38 for kid makeover )
7. Drypers
8. Pureen
9. Huggies
10. Puku Booth ( a lot of discounts for this.. they sell cot, walker, wipes, bowls, bottles, shoes, etc etc... Taiwan brand =P )
11. AIA
12. One booth selling Munchkin stuff and strollers and baby cot...
13. One booth selling soymilk or something... hahaha...
14. Mary Chia Booth -_-"
15. Pigeon Booth
16. Few clothes booths.... the usuall la.. rompers.. tops.. bottoms... i didnt buy la... have alot.... hee hee...
17. Breastfeeding Organisation Booth

have few more booths but i cnt recall what le... hee hee... =P

hi mommies.. need help...

tristan got pus on the back of his ears and the neck folds. it has been for quite sometime i tot is normal.. then juz now i see his neck fold is so reddish. shd go to PD??

any1 been to Baby and Child @ Tampines?

PIGPIG u been to kidslink @ bedok 136 right? any feedback on ur baby condition after the visit?

i think i might as well let him take his 6 in 1 with pds .. rather than gg to another GP..
hehe, sorry to say but i haven bring him for jabs. he turned 2mths tdy already. wanted to bring him when he was 1.5 weeks but due to some advice given by my family.. sigh.. nw see his neck red red i so heartache..

btw, we shd swaddle baby until how many months? haven been swaddling him for quite sometime.. donno shd go get the Swaddle me for him or not...

alfafa
gd idea to get pupsik .. looks nice .. i visited the website, i was told to get L.. but worry it be loose.. diao ...

idaarshad - its story books of nursery rhymes, stories, common ones ba... have stories like little miss muffet, jingle bells, rock a bye baby... in the book form... then have cd of songs and vcd of videos... and each set has a goose finger puppet for u to play with ur bb lo.. heh...

ya.. for the huggies is any 2 packs $25... per pc is ard 31cents?

queenie - i think L is too big for u!!! whats ur hgt??? from ur pics.. i think u maybe hoover btwn size 1(s) or size 2(m)... maybe see if u free go to thomson plaza to check it out? if not, see if cn wait til next outing ba.. alfafa is using size 1... Ann has size 2... cn try and see.. hee hee...

missy.. oicc...glad lah ur babies are all so fortnate with mummies buying so many things for them...

queenie.. get it checked out.... better

missycandy
me ah.. 160-162cm.. thomson out of the way for me leh.. hehe see how mayb get my bro drive me there if hes willing to..
ya.. tink mux bring him to PD liso. but the down thing is tml PH, PDs shd be closed... sad

Slings & Carriers
Can I check if you all bought online (local or overseas) or do they have shops in S'pore? Other than the shop @ Thomson Plaza, where can I buy Beco or Pupsik? Thanks =)

New Baby Fair
Any other mummies planning to go this weekend? Still thinking if should go tmr bcos I think we & the babies should be avoiding crowded places....

Hi alfafa sassybb agnes,
waz...why on earth e lactation consultants never remind us on this fore/hind milk issue???!!! Thks agnes for e article on overSS...so cheem until i blur...it seems tat we r very ill informed on feeding during our stay in hospi...

i do feed on 1 breast @ a time if bb is satisfied...e balance of fats bet fore/hind milk does affect bb in some ways. When i express milk, my left breast usually around 1/2 less ms than e rite side...even if we miss feeding @ e stipulated time, din noe our bodies will release some stuff tat affects MS...so complicated! But more enlightened liao...

Hey, so if bf does not hav freq stools, wat is e longest period? Rite now cos of taking ridwind *only e 3rd day...my bb went w/o bang sia for 2 nites...a lot of gas frm his stomach but jus no sia...he super uncomfy...cry n cry...any advice? We stop ridwind for a while...So gripe water don cause constipation...true?

So sad to see ridwind helping him pass wind but yet he not passing stool...not sure if itz constipation or bf...oh, i give him diluted fm 1-2 a day...+ water...but then water only helps him to pass out more urine...not really helping...

Pray tat he passes stool on lbr day...so ironic, he really 'labours'...

tuskywoollie,
the longest my first born went without poo was 1 week! it happens quite suddenly. like one day she was pooing 2-3 times a day, then the next day she just doesn;t do it for a week.

Queenie,
The way you describe Tristan's neck condition, it sounds like heat rash that has gone on to be a little infected with fungus. Please bring him to the PD for a check. This happened to my nephew when he was slightly over a month old. It will clear up with proper handling, treatment and medicine. Don't worry.

Idaarshad,
Just scrolled back to read... Congrats to your hubby
And I hope the work hours will improve with time.

queenie:: mai tu liao. PD!!!

alfafa:: hmm i am okay but a little paiseh to hold it for so long ley. howhow. okies meanwhile u try to continue to search for the slip ok !! haha! if not i can definitely pass you cash the next time we meet. I have tried transferring to a DBS account holder just yesterday, i will let u know if it is successful. then i can transfer to your DBS.

hello mummies...

Gathering II- Brunch and Shopping @ vivo city on monday 4th may 1130am @ White Dog...hehee...
1. Lorraine
2. Daphne

Hi gals, there's John little sale 15% off baby stuff starting may5-7 and this weekend there's sale 20% at OG. I'm thinking of getting another steriliser, misc stuff like avent cream, extra pacifier etc and a new mattress from mothercare...but shopping over weekend w the crowds ...eeks...hope no flu bugs flying around... (oh yeah, i managed to find my medela steam bags from another mummy yippee) and oh yes, there's a BP on for milk bags (lansinoh and blue egg)

hi need a bit of advise... hubby and i are considering getting a yaolan... every night is almost a horror! she refuses to sleep... wants to be carried, rocked, look ard the house... usually if gets out of hand, hubby will bring her out of the room and end up sleeping on the sofa with her... hubby says she usually looks around the whole house... i dont want it to become a habit where everytime hubby ends up on the sofa... -_-" am thinking of tryin to let her cry til she sleeps but not sure if can endure the heartache or not... ive tried the DUDU but didnt work last night.. we both also dont knw what she wants... fed her, changed her diapers, cuddle cuddle... burped her... rub ru yi oil... haiii... HOW?

Missycandy,
do you feed her in a dark room with no interaction? thats what i do with my boy and he usually just goes off to sleep immediately after his feed.

idaarshad/cindy/pup
thanks mommies.. i will bring him to PD tml morning...
so red. so raw so scary man. don even dare to touch his neck fold scare he might be in pain..

gathering
oh dear.. maybe have to miss the 2nd post delivery gathering again. coz im starting my night classes on that day. rush to n fro..i scare i cant tahan.. and also thinkin of pumping out milk to store for the hours im nt available..

QUeenie,
re pupsik: from the description of your height, i don't think you're a L cos i am 1.65m and i kinda think M might be a tad too big for me. well, if you come for the next gathering, i can let you try my M

elina - she is 7wks +... ya lo.. day time sleep... i try to wake her up to play... but she will throw tantrum and cry... -_-"

ann - i only on small lamp at night to feed.. after feeding and burping, i will off all the lights... she needs to be burped... i cnt let her go to sleep without burping.. she will regurgitate... then after feed cnt put her down straight away.. must remain sitting or up for ard 20-30mins... she will fall asleep on my shoulder.. then put her down... start crying liao....

missycandy,
my bb coming to 7wks, day time sleep quite abit also, but we dun purposely wake him up, but try to make the background sound noisy, and make his room bright.

come to evening, around 7plus, i will try to put him in the room in dim light, not in the hall with lights and TV on, so as not to stimulate him. so far, quite alright, he does sleep well at night, only waking up for feeds every 3-4hours.

ann
thankz..really wish to be there but mon i scare too rush for me n tristan.
tamp - vivo - tamp - tiong bahru - tamp ..
haha i c how again . if heng heng i can be there will let u noe =)

missycandy
could it be kirsten colicky? ytd tristan oso. after 1am + feeding he refused to slp, coocoo away smiling away then the next hour he changed, keep crying. so i have to keep burp him no use i use ru yee oil helps a lil..he finally willing to slp ard 5am.
i even quarrel with hb over it. coz after 1am plus feeding i juz feel dizzy wanna KO liao ask him to tk over juz to pat him n carry him he kpkb me. sigh. i machaim 1 woman show like tt. he even say things like he have to work im sahm so i shdnt ask him to help.

paiseh for my rantings..

elina - daytime quite noisy de... tv on... computer also... i will play music for her also... plus put her on bouncer or combi high chair in living rm or study rm...

at night, no music... no bright lights... only orangey light n lamp in bedroom... i have voice activated winnie the pooh thingy... sometimes we switch it on, sometimes no...

she's on 2-3hrly feeding leh... im tryin to prolong but very difficult... she will screaaammmmm... try to increase amt she wont finish... haiii

queenie - im nt sure if she is.. but i did put gripe water in her milk.. hee... usually at night i will put gripe water or colic drops... so that she doesnt have problem with burping as well... *sayang* usually im also 1 woman show... especially at night... i dont wan to disturb hubby becos he has to work the next day... but if i buay tahan, i will ask him to help... but i try my best not to.. only weekends then i will ask him... sometimes he will hear baby crying non stop with me rocking and carrying her.. then he will put his hand on my thigh and stroke lo... becos he saw me crying previously when i didnt knw what to do with her la.... so he will sayang me.. =P but when im really at a lost on weekends, i will ask him to help and he will bring her out of the room.. and end up on sofa... haii.... sometimes i also get headache becos lack of sleep... but i jus tahan... i dunno go back to work how.... haiii....

seems like all our babies quite the same...my bb kyan has been fussing the past few nights from 12am till 5am/6am...i didn't sleep a wink...kyan kept crying and crying too....thought he hungry so i latched him on...he suckled and then up till a point he was like sleeping so i put him back in cot...wake up and cry...so thought he didn't drink his fill so decided to supplement with EBM bottle feed...then he fussed dun wan to drink....thought he wanted to be cuddled and pat pat...we did so and he cried even when we carried him and pat him....so he closed his eyes and we thought he fell asleep, put him back into his cot and then wailed out loud again flinging his hands and arms wildly....i was on the verge of breaking down in tears when he kept crying the whole night...hb saw me and started to pat me on the back...i know he has to work the next day so i try to do it myself but its realli v difficult cos kyan's cries won't stop...sometimes have to pass hands then he stopped for a while b4 wailing out again..sighx...

i wonder whether he's colicky...i suspect he is...yesterday we buey tahan left him crying in his cot for abt a min or so...his cries got louder and more pathetic...wonder how come like that when we had try to please all his needs already....doin wat we can to stop his cries...

i need sleep badly too....my ex-colleagues visited me yesterday and commented my panda eyes v bad....i was supposed to go lunch with a group of frens this afternoon but end up i couldn't....cos i badly need sleep since didn't sleep for whole night past few days...i am thinking...no time to sleep even where got time to go out...

sometimes i jus miss the "no child" times...sighz...

elina - at least yr bb will zzz after night feeds...the problem with my bb is...he will stay awake after that and refused to sleep, fussing for hours....i don't mind waking up to feed him and he sleeps well after that...but he don't...like to throw tantrums and scream the whole house down...

queenie - *sayang* yr hb shouldn't say that...u need sleep oso ma...not easy to entertain bb one leh...haiz...last time my mum told me i'm a fussy bb...then i told my mum now kyan taking revenge for her lor....

missycandy - kyan oso has a lot of wind in his stomach cos sometimes when he drinks milk i can feel the stomach churning...jus bought the gripe water yesterday...dunno whether will help anot la...aiya anything which can rid his wind problem and gives me more peaceful nights i'll be happy liao...