(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Re: Bathing baby
We were adviced by midwives here to just bathe the baby every 2 or 3 days with just water. Especially with bb with heat rashes, best is just use water and avoid rubbing oil, cream or lotions which will aggravate the rashes. The rashes will go on their own and it doesn't bother the bb.

Can I check with u... Can i mix the milk i pumped at 0900hrs that i have placed in the fridge with the one i pumped @ 1200hrs the same day?

our paedetrician, dr low kaz tzay offers S$420 for the 6-in-1. 2 visits if i m not wrong.

Vernice
the binder should be wrap just below the belly button. the box should have instruction. Pls dont bind too high otherwise it will be binding your tummy not your wound... keke... you should have the V shape at the centre of your spine, get ur hubby to pull the binder hard from left to right and u hold and he pull the right to the left side and hook it. it must be tight.

Miss83
toys i bought are mainly education toys from lamaze and leapfrog. the catepillar from leapfrog and the wrists and feet rattle from lamaze. So far only two.

pinksorbet
bear with it. i cant stand it too but no choice. we still needed them. take it as a challenge lor my dear...

Christina
i went to the paedetrician aft a week of delivery. bb jaundice not so bad. but skin dry so we stop using the J&J top to toe and bath her only in clear water. CL suggested bb lotion but we dont want. thought of bathing her in guinness stout but gave up the idea. Bought jing ying hua from hockhua for her to bathe. 100g is enuf for several bathe. You can check with the medical hall.

teddy bear
wah u so gao lun. me cant take it, the lying on the bed feeling...i was very upset.
So envy you having so much milk. i think i have 10x lesser than u!!!
i think the binder is good to use for slimming purpose... i am coming 2 weeks but my figure is half day there already except the creases / orange peels at the tummy and the brown line from chest to belly button...

Devil
but i feel that i need to push the cups to my breasts really tight otherwise there is no suction and the milk will leak out too...so irriating...

Tuskywollie
my team of docs are, gyn dr s c chew, pd dr low kaz kzay, anaesthetist is Dr

My cl, her daughter came n visit her. i know abt this kind of visitation as my sis has "warned" me. My silly mum gave her our house no. we only give to immed family and we cant give the maid especially. We have told her to get her daughter to call my hp the nxt time but she called again the second time at 9pm+...

<font color="aa00aa">dianajs,
can mixed the BM. BM can last 48hrs in fridge.

christina,
i find j&amp;j too dry, u might wan to try avent.</font>

I haven;t been able to log in for a long time since i deliver.. we are still trying to settle down with Brianne.

She was admitted for 3 days last week for Jaundice as her level went up till 16.5. We couldn;t get to sun her at home as it has been raining and she will scream her head off once we we tried to remove her swaddle.. no choice.. heartache also have to admit her..

been thru an emotional roller coaster with her for the past 2 weeks. i will try to catch up soon..

I haven't been able to downsize her picture for the forum but i posted in facebook

finally managed to download pics frm camera

2319881.jpg

afcai (afcai)
<font color="0000ff">he is4.14kg and by far the most is the easiest delivery i had...

for the 1st time waterbag leaked at 0340hrs - got a cab @ 0405hrs after washing up and getting dressed and gave birth at 0449hrs - no stiches at all which is amazing for me - it was panicky for all the nurses till the midwive was ready to deliver me liao - so she said next time - must come earlier - which i doubt have another time coz this is my 4th bb liao.. the nurses was great and praised me for being well controlled - i m really glad that i was lucky</font>

IDAAR>Your kid so chubby~Cute=)

All>Where got sell AVENT disposable 50pieces breasts pads huh?Cos i go tom and stef don hv lehz~I am staying in west area, so anywhere can buy~

CHRISTINA--did not expect that he will be this big - tot he would be smaller than my last one at 3.845kg and the easiest so far.. that's why i m shocked too...

avent disposable pads - try calling metro or something to chck out before u go? kiddy palace dun have meh>?

Christina,

I used J&amp;J on my elder last time and also find it dry. Now using Sebamed bubble bath for bb, u might want to try, also non-rinse. Other brands not tried before.
Teddybaby,

Any secrets to share? Wow, your MS is amazingly a lot!!!! What is the interval between the pump sessions?

Reverie Island,

Yeah, I find it wasteful too not to utilise both pumps at the same time to save time, but after i learnt my lesson of milk spillage, I dare not use both. Hmmm..I think PISA still better than the single pump which I think dun have the function which mimics the bb suckling which is gd at stimulating for letdown. My colleague using swing says it's not effective and she stops bf after 2mths. I feel tempted to sell away PISA and buy freestyle instead but thinking if I'm not gg to use the bra attachment and go back to using single pump, then no point for me lor.

Missycandy, did you check and see if the breastshield is the right size for your nipple? As far I know PISA comes with std size, but if you got big boobs, then maybe u need to get a bigger size to fit the nipple better so that can pump out milk, else the effectiveness of the pump would be compromised. Check out the medela website to check what is the right size for yourself.

Pinksorbet, I dun have v gd MS, just that this is my 2nd bb, and I heard from ppl that subsequent births MS would be better and comes in earlier. When I was in TMC, I brought pump along and start using the pump on 2nd day (i stayed 4days) and initiated tbf 4hrs after delivery. So i guess all these helps. but I dun see any increase so far, looks like MS has become stagnant.

Re: Big boobs = low MS???
Huh? is that true? I have friends with big boobs got no milk but they also didn't try to latch on at night which is the most productive time of the day so dunno issit the boobs or didn't put in enuf effort. I have friends with small boobs who can bf for more than a year, but also have a few flat-chested friends dun have milk so dun think there's really a correlation between MS &amp; boob size.

Re: whitish tongue
I recalled Mrs Wong's class that can use sterile gauze to clean bb's tongue. But recent class which was done by another parentcraft nurse which I attended after this delivery, said leave the tongue alone and no need cleaning. So I didn't clean my bb's tongue, but for my elder we still practise cleaning it with gauze until now.

teddybaby
I latch on baby from 11AM-11PM. midnite give baby formula once or twice (depends what time he wakes up). and also pump BM at 3 AM and 7 AM and use EBM to feed bb from the the time he wakes up til 10 AM.
so I use all..from latching, EBM, and FM

christina, huh u mean not easily available? how abt calling philips to check where the stocks are being distributed to?

idaarshad, your bb looks like a full-mth bb to me, must be easier to carry and handle than a small bb. i admire u can handle 4 children, me 2 already driving me up the wall already, given that i got a maid and cl to help out.

miss83, you mummies really v diligent, can wake up like a clockwork to express milk. since u need to wake up anyway, y dun just latch bb on?

Thanks mummies for all the encouragements *hugz to all*...we all will motivate one another...i realise motherhood isn't that easy afterall....its v emotional to me...i cried my heart out yesterday and this morning was crying too, my hb doesn't understand why i have to be so affected by a stranger (aka CL)'s words...i told her its not jus cos of that, i got other issues which i'm concerned abt (worried abt my bb not having his first jab yet, and he has been coughing and having phlegm in his throat)....called my mum up to complain abt the CL...she asked me to close one eye ...i still need to extend four days of the CL's service cos my MIL's last day of work is on 16Apr....and CL's supposedly last day is 13Apr...so this leaves me alone for four days without anyone around...i was telling my mum if have to i will have to take care of bb myself...but my mum worries abt who is gg to cook for me...she wants me to "bu" for at least a full month...ask me mayb can order confinement food...but may not be worth it compared to extending four more days of the CL's service...

My mil oso asked me to ren...she said the CL is straightforward but mean no harm...i understand but jus can't stand it why we treat her so nice she is like adopting such an attitude to me...v demoralising since i'm a FTM...of cos alot of things i am still quite worried...like being alone with bb....

I know sooner or later i still have to deal with bb alone...i'm feeling pretty stressed and i'm sure i'm having post natal blues for sure cos i can't seem to control my emotions.....keep crying and worrying...this morning tears can't stop coming down when i was carrying my boy....i guess its just the blues ba

fairymoss - yup - nurses also said he look like 1 month liao - easier.. not quite sure - havent had tthe chance to hve a 2kg plus bb leh - my 1st was 3.05.. so abv 3 also lah - quite tough and i do have my emotional days as my mum is now super sick and hubby is retrenched but helping me out - but well men have to tell them every single thing before it can be done - not a chance to really realy rest and i do cry and was emotionally unstable qute a few moments leh

fairymoss
coz me n hubby want to rest more at night..BM doesnt last long..bb gets hungry easily..usually, at night hb will feed my bb and I will do pumping job. but during the day, mostly I latch on..

even when my boy is like this now - hubby still said he is small - very fragile -then i told him - imgaine if our child is 2kg plus... heheheeh

fairymoss - ya.. ive gotten bigger shields becos freestyle comes with the softfit shield and its the smallest size if im nt wrong! thats why when i pump cn feel pain and cn only use low levels... thanks to Asura, i got the bigger sized one but im still not sure if is big enough... i will ask Mdm Rokiah tmr when she comes to see me.

Lenny - jy jy *hugs*

idaarshad - u bb chubby! cute!! hee hee

pinksorbet - *sayang*

j&amp;j no good ah? i havent started to use yet... we bought 3 bottles frm the j&amp;j fair some time ago at creative... but bought the white colour one... hmmm... im currently using bodywash from california baby... i got starter kit to test... finish le then i will use j&amp;j ba... hope its okie... also decided not to bathe bb everyday... probably in 2-3days ba...

milk powder - im actually coverting to Friso now.. she jus finished her last scoops of Enfalac last night... so the feeds in the early morning i gave her Friso... so far okie... but i gave Friso comfort for colic bcos suggested by my PD.. since she keeps getting relux probs, constipation and difficulty burping... im goin to try and mix it with Friso Stage 1 later... I guess if bbs are hungry, they will probably drink whatever milk u give them ba...

idaar>my son only 2.5kg alr a bit weighty cnt imagine 4kg plus~lol~But cute~

all>I do not hv any CL and realised it is nt easy to handle myself but if hire CL will rely on her, what shld i do?

Bdw i jst helped my son bathe and realised his umbricial cord alr dropped off and he is born last wk only, is it normal?

chris
my bb cord also dropped on his 10th day..it's normal i think..PD gave me some powder to apply if cord has dropped...coz will have a bit of blood stain..

miss83>Ok~I alr apply the powder on his qi dai le~HEHE~So cute~I am keeping his cord manz~Thankz~I wanna buy breasts pad cos i hv 5 days nv pump milk due to rashes on my breasts and other part of the body got apply medicine then nw my breasts pad supply gonna gone low~Damn~

christinae - the cord will become hard after awhile.. then long term it will "rot" because its jus "tissue" so you wun be able to keep it for long long time... =)

missycandy>but my mama kept mine and my elder bro de. . .LOL~she asked me to keep it~maybe i shld frame or laminate it~LOL~

Thanks MissCandy...

I don't have a confinement lady, so its pretty much a lot of hands on for me and hubby..

Not really able to log in... will try to catch up..

Re pumping
Becos my MS supply is too much to handle, I pump at longer interval now, like 6-8hrly...but realised its the same. Last time I pump abt 4hrly, get 2 full avent bottles (abt 250ml), now if I never latch on him and juz pump, I get 4 full bottles. Even after latching him on and pump, I can at least 2 full bottles. But I think my boy is a big eater too, he is taking 3-4oz of EBM each time abt 3-4 hr interval. And he latches on abt 40mins for both sides

How long does your BB latch on and how much does your BB drink? Last 2 days have been feeling extremely tired and been asking CL to feed him thru bottle more cos can't wake up from naps to latch him on. And whenever I wake up, my right hand and fingers are aching, think its from the pumping and squeezing action as I'm using Avent manual. Buay tahan, so hubby decided to buy a medela PIS for me thru amazon...but gotta wait a few days for arrival...can't wait man!

Dianajs:
As long as pumped within 24 hrs, can mix them and place in freezer

Fairymoss
i told hubby abt u using single pump and i thou of trying too he said then wont it be a waste of money? I think u better dont waste money to buy freestyle. too exp. y dont u trying tying string to the two pumps and sling across ur neck and try first. I think still to ur current one suggestion better.

Pinksorbet
hubby also complain that my temper v bad. i already has bad temper not sure is he referring to getting worse or highlightening to me again. I feel emotional at times too... like i feel like a only milk cow to our bb as when i carry her, she will cry. hubby is better at it and of cos my cl is even better at coaxing the bb. Maid is good too cos she has 4 kids. i feel lousy. Maybe i din try hard enuf, i feel discourage n just like a milk cow... sigh...
Anw, keep telling urself to think positively. u can do it. No matter how vexed i am on the bb, like she "make use" of my nipple to suck herself to zzz...i try to ren thou it is so irritating. she gets cranky n wants nipple to relieve herself... I tell myself to ren for the bb lor. u can do it.

Regarding mixing of milk,i have EBM in volume of 5-10ml and 30ml. Personally, i do not suggest mixing just in case the milk is contaminated / spoilt due to whatever reason, then dont have to waste so much. I was thinking, when i start to gradually use EBM, i will heat up the oldest batch for her to drink. eg i have 3 oldest bottles of 10ml EBM and she needs the amt then i will heat up those 3 bottles rather than pour them together during pumping or after thawing and bef feeding.

Regarding FM, i bought similac recommended by my sis.

Regarding the Umbilical cord, our bb is 13 days old but the cord is still there.

teddybaby
ur MS is really amazing!!! i get 10% of urs only...

teddybaby
woww..you really make all of us envy u

I'm using Avent manual too..right hand and fingers aching too every morning when i wake up..but i will continue using it..my ms quite ok..not so little but not too much also..can pump 90ml in 30 mins..if i continue for a few more mins..i think i can get more than 100ml..bb is still drinking 60-70ml..

reverie
i oso considering.. u noe melrose catering? they don charge GST. im so tempted.. but on the other hand, am worried abt how is the food..

RE:WHen to stop wear Mitten?
when har? want to try let my boy stop wearing.. but i scare he scratch his face leh..

aiyo.. my boy is getting on my nerves.. he seems to be quite cranky today. past 2 days was goody leh.. haizz.. plus now i need to bring him out with my hb's family for dinner.. gosh, scared they will have lots of comments when my boy gets cranky.. haizz..wish me luck lah.

queenie, me too. wanted to take out his mitten too, but scared he scratch his face too.. bb is 6 wks plus now.

queenie - im using melrose!!! heheheh but i wil only knw gd or not on the 10th... =P ya.. they dont charge GST hee hee.. i ordered their promo package.. $10/pax for 9dishes.1dessert.1drink. quite worth it to me. but tatse wise i dunno yet. plus its not halal. =)

mittens - i will remove after 1mth ba.. after i cut her nails!

Hi Mar Mummies,

I am a July Mum-to be. I would like to ask if anyone has engaged PEM Confinement Nanny Agency and used any of their CLs whom you would like to recommend?

Like to get some names of the recommended ones so that I can provide to the agency.

Thanks a lot!

i just checked neo garden. they have S$10+ set too for 9 dishes. My sis used neo garden so she recommended. i cant rem the food but she said good.

misscandy
we have not signed up and we intend to look into insurance for bb too...

just done up a rough budget.

ordering bengawan solo bb full month package for families and vouchers for friends, catering, etc it cost at least S$1k... money out again...

Dear mothers or mothers-to-be, if you are looking for an experienced nanny, feel free to contact my mom by sending me a personal message.

My mom has a lot of experience taking care of children as well as newborn. willing to take care for day and night.

hi huili, u dun accept pm. wld like to chk where ur mum is located. my sis is looking for one. she stays in jurng west ave 5. pls pm me. thx. her bb juz turned one mth yest.

Misscycandy, thanks, received your PM.

Initially my gal rejected water but after trying on several occasions, she does take some now. I only give a little bit just to clear the milk stains.

REverie, my sis used Neo Garden for my nephew's first month. Her feedback was positive - portion enuf and food tasty.

Teddy Baby, wow, your MS is really good...envy

Christina, my bb's cord was hanging loose by 6th day and dropped off 2-3 days later.

just done my bb's full month celebration today.
ordered from Neo Garden, feedbacks from my guests are good. portion is enuff.
ordered birthday cupcakes from Sweetest Moments. very beautiful but my sister said a little bit sweet. but friends who like sweet stuffs said very nice.
also ordered ang ku kueh from Gin Thye. no feedback

extremely exhausted now. but to my surprise, just now after my shower, i did 1 pump session and managed to get 120ml, which is quite a breakthrough considering my previous pump session abt 3.5hrs ago only yield 70ml

wa feedback nt tt gd bt olredi cfmed no choice shall c hw on friday =)

bluebell - welcome!

jtho - did u try the ang ku kueh? im getting frm them as well as cakes

feel so tired now.
just done Zac's full month celebration today also.
We ordered from Mum's Kitchen. Food Ok, portion enough (actually too much for us).
Now pumping while surfing, going to zzzz soon.. and hopefully Zac dun wake up so fast for milk... I need more sleep...

irene - did u get mee siam ? *slurps* i like their mee siam

jtho - oh okie... hmmm u have to go collect or they deliver to u ah?