(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Me too have my blockducts sessions with Mdm Rokiah today. Yes I agree compare to the lactation I went to see ( very painful till I cry on my way back home feeling so depress) But Mdm Rokiah sessions is not painful and my breast feel much lighter after the sessions, my letdown is better too. Very happy and she give me advise on my bb as she has got bad colic. Ask me to massage my bb and even teach me the squence of bb massage. Really find that she is a great help to a new mum like me. Hopefull tmr my supply will be much better.She even teach my hubby how to help me to compress my breast when it block. Maybe you all can try her sessions once and see if she could help.

hees.. i feel so gd now.. i had a round of full body massage with my gf last evening.. my hb told me to go relax as he will take care of bb alone at home.. so i went off at 8.15pm, appt at 9pm and back home by 11pm.. as i entered the house, i heard my boy crying.. my hb later told me tt bb has been crying for 45 mins liao.. hahhaa.. see, he can't handle the bb alone.. he asked how come i can handle bb all alone at home during the wkdays.. ahaha.. i think he start to appreciate me liao.
I think massage really helps on my ms.. I felt so relax and when i pump at 12am, i got 210ml!!! soooo happy.. but don't think will last every session. my average is abt 120ml and my boy is taking 100ml each time. barely enough, but i will perservere

wa... so good... i cnt wait to get out of the hse.. i think bb also dun like being cooped up at home... very stifling... maybe thats why having the excess mucus... haii...

and here i am becos she is nt slping... since 1 til nw.. wide awake... put her dwn cry... dun wan to disturb hb so no choice carry her... hai... didnt realise the time flew by so fast today that her feed was due and blur me thought was only 2plus... becos last fed her at 130am... she give her pacifier... yes i have given in to it... haha... but she smart la.. spit out... looked at my hp realised 4plus le... ooo lala.. so i fed her... and becos of her mucus, causes her to cough.. and with the cough came regurgitation... arghhhhhh... vomitted all ovr herself so had to bathe her... so nw she is lying on my bed next to hubby... still awake while im here... hahaha...

btw did u all see the video on the maid abuse thing on the little girl? she kick n kick n step on the child? wahlao!!! very heartbreaking!!! the maid is insane!!! even step on the back n dunno do wad to the face/head... she needs to be SHOT!!! really buay tahannnn!!!

<font color="aa00aa">anne,
when parent craft helped me massaged my breasts, my tears came rolling down, it was sooooo painful. so tis mdm rokiah reli not painful huh? can i have her contact?</font>

Wintertime, Heee, good for you! Yesterday night me also went out with hubby and #1 for some window shopping, shiok Haha. though for just a short 2.5hrs, but good enough Haha. Happy for you that you got that amt! Yay! Jia you!

Missycandy, Haha when is your confinement ending? I bet u can't wait to go out.. Haha! Me gg out shop again today! Hope your little girl get well soon le.... but yay for sat today!

kris,

i went parentcraft before mdm rokiah... mdm rokiah is really like body massage except only on boobs and very relaxing too

jtho, asura, think mdm rokiah should be really busy these few days.. got so much referrals.

Cindy, gd right?? can go out and do some shopping.. i miss my shopping trips too.. but think of the bb, so ley chey.. haizz.. ya.. i was happy, but guess that was only once.. i wake up at 4pm to pump, back to normal.. 120ml

Sung,
You have gone thru alot and really kudos to u for preservering. Give it another try, if it works, great, if not, don stress yourself too much. U have done the best u can for ur BB. My hubby also consoles me whenever I cry or get stressed up. He says our lives have to go on

miss83,
Yes, that was me, haha. Look so run down right? I tell my hubby now I got no image already! U were the one wearing black tank top with black 3/4 pants with hubby isit? Dr adrian also juz give me cream. AS for lochia, he says to monitor. Sometimes for TBF mum, lochia may get alot at times as uterus expels them when BF. Did he talk alot to your hubby while u were getting ready for unstitching? He never talk so much b4, haha. How much wt u put on and u managed to lose how much now? I was ard 70kg b4 delivery, now down to almost 60kg. Another 10kg more to go...hope to lose more b4 full mth

Squeeze/massage while pumping:
I totally agree with Alfafa. If u have to pump more or drain better, use one hand to squeeze/massage boob while another hand to pump.

Heat rash:
My cousin suggested using calamine lotion for bB. Says its relieves itch, not cure. Cure needs time to heal. Will consider that...

Mummies with C-sec doing Massage:
How long do u wait to do massage? at least 2 wks? my gynae advise 1 mth...but that's abit too long and I won't have the time to do it when CL is gone. Checked with 2 other frends with c-sec,they all say around 2 wks can do liao. What abt mummies here?

yiyi
PMed u already

Wintertime
ya, Mdm Rokiah will be so busy... now i'm worried i won't get a slot next week

afcai
My MS was quite miserable to start with. My MS slowly increase only from day 5 from <10ml to 130ml. Was quite worried &amp; sad initially. Hubby bought 1 tin of FM to standby. We fed bb FM on day 4,5,6,7 just 1 feed a day to tie over the lack of MS. Behind the scenes, I'll massage, drink fluids, take my fenugreek and blessed thistle supplements, pump to boost MS.

In the back of my mind, I can feel bb is getting enough on BM as she slept well, increase soiled and wet diapers, skin tone is good, looks happy. So that helped me to relax and not think too much. So after that, I store away the FM and no matter how sore or tired, I just stick to latch/ pump. I'm ok with giving FM, just scared that bb will like it more than my BM!

missycandy
Yea, terrifying images of that maid abusing the poor little gal, still running thru my head last night after watching the video footage. Unbelievable and very sad for the little gal to experience such unnecessary torture.

Baby Sitter,
Any mummy sending bb to baby sitter ?
Any recommendation of good nanny around Sembawang area ?
What is the market rate now as I ask one from woodland and she told me $600 (7am-7pm), add $50 once bb start eating porridge.

i believe some of your bbs are not sleeping very well especially when they sleep on their back. one suggestion (which i will try) is to let them practise to sleep on their stomach with their heads tilted to the side (so they can breathe). Some ppl have commented that this way, they can sleep better without startling themselves. Try it during day time as we can check on them all the time, before pracitising at night...

Dear Mummies, if anyone looking for a home base professional infant care center@ AMK just drop me a mail for more information
just wanna to share some information

oh btw their service is quite flexible hours

moomooland
I've been putting my bb to sleep on her tummy and she does sleep through soundly. I know this is against the modern rules and stds of putting a bb to sleep. Just have to make sure to check on her every now and then, as there are worries of SIDS.

teddybaby
my turn was just right after u. I think u were the 1st patient..next was me. I was wearing white shirt and 3/4 pants (jeans).yes I was with my hubby sitting next to the exit door.
well, you looked okay...but seemed abit uneasy to walk is it? due to the stitch?
dr.adrian didnt talk alot to hubby..
Oh I asked dr adrian if i can apply any body shaping cream to my tummy..he said ok..but he said uterus wont be that fast to get back to normal..
my pregnancy weight was 60kg..now is 53kg..still have 8 more kg to lose

I also scared doing massage...friends said can do at 2 weeks but better listen to dr adrian..
alternatively, you may try clarins body shaping cream..after applying wrap ur tummy with the binder tightly..

jtho,

tot u already booked a session with her next week? me monitoring my boobs.. now bb latching, i got no time to use the hot stone compress. but i intend to get her come down one session before i go US. Just in case.

cindy - yes soon.. less than 1 week away!! i cant waittt!!! but then go out with bb also a bit troublesome... =x

i tink bb likes to sleep on my space... she didnt want to sleep in the wee hrs of the morning.. eyes wide open... dn after feedin her etc... merlion act... i put her to sleep on my space.. and she fell asleep... actually she kept quiet and didnt whimper or whine... i came to use the comp.. then when i went to check on her, she open her eyes to peep at me.. but after that slept well... -_-" anyway i went to bed ard 6plus... slept on the edge of the bed... -_-" she actually slept thru her feed leh... i woke up 10 she was still sleeping... so i woke her up to feed her.. but she took only 50mls and refuse to take more.. then back to sleep again... -_-" i dun wan force her also.. scared merlion again...

anyway i asked my mum to buy Friso comfort &amp; stage 1 for me... PD recommended... If bb is okie with it, i will switch to friso le... enfalac does cause some degree of constipation and bb like gek sai til whole face red... then sometimes she sai come out 1 lump or a bit a bit nia... dn she wil cry... haiii...

<font color="aa00aa">asura,
i bet ur tears muz b rolling oso when they massage for u.

jtho,
can i have mdm rokiah's number too? tx.</font>

Grace/Cindy,

My #1 is also seeking much attention and he tries to poke bb's eyes and mess up bb's bed when I'm not looking. now with the cl still ard, I can rest a bit while she handles bb while my maid looks after my elder, when cl gone, I don't think my maid can handle 2 children, somemore my elder boy is v notti.

Mummies, how do you gauge how much ebm u need to give to bb? at 7 days old, I'm giving 60ml ebm, now at 12 days old, still the same vol, do i need to increase? if increase, afraid didn't finish and waste the precious milk. I remembered that there's a formula to calculate the vol of milk per feed according to feeding freq and bb's wt. does anyone has the formula?

can i know how long do u all pump per session? i pump for abt 30 to 45mins and have a range of milk from 100ml to 160ml...the milk comes in breaks....first 5 mins mayb got flow, then stopped for some time come on again....then sometimes got stop quite a long time in between before the flow comes in again, is this normal?....also, do u all leave the pump at the nipples pumping even when there is no milk flow?

pinksorbet,

I normally pump maximum 25 mins in total for both sides, usually 20 mins only. When there is no milk flow, i continue pumping for 2 mins, if still no flow, i stop, if got flow, i continue until max 25 mins.

Asura
ya, i already told her that i want 1 more session with her. she said she will let me know which day. monday i cannot cos i want to bring bb to collect his passport

Day 12

MIne me asking what is MS?

i had 13 hours of induced natural birth but ended with E C-section. Admitted at 6am and 12pm doc came, 1cm dilation. 4pm 2cm dilation. 9pm last chance, still 2cm dilation. Proceed to E C-section. I cried at 4pm. i felt so upset that there was no progress and i was really feeling uncomfortable lying on the bed. my end spine has been like sore/ numb since i admitted.

BB bf an average of 2-5 hours interval. I EBM once a day. I try to find a good time. first time each side only less than 10ml. second time, total abt 40ml only. 3rd time, total only 20ml. I pump partly due to engorgement and partly to have reserve as i have to go back to work on and off immed aft confinement.

i massage my breasts awhile before and during bf.

I drink longang/red dates, papaya/fish, fish maw/gingseng and eat alot of lean meat and fish. but milk only supply = demand

We do not know how to carry bb. maid and cl carry her, she will somehow soothe and calm down and i carry her she is better leave in the cot... hubby is picking up the carrying her skill. I feel like a mother cow... i only latch her on. cl or hubby do the burping.

The weather is terribly hot. i am practically walking in a sauna. i sweat even more when bf and having meals. Due to C-section, i wipe my body dry twice a day. Just went to see the doc on my wound, i can start bathing but cl said have to using hot da fong cao water to bathe. Everytime after wipe and come out from bathe room, there does not seems to be any difference...

I zzz in air con at nite. turn to the hotter temp, 26 or 27degree. I felt comfortable the first feel days but these few days i feel cold. so i cover the blanket till my neck. During the nite, my body covered with blanket is perspiring like hell again. I just asked maid to change the bedsheet etc. Confused whether to on air con and to cover blanket or not...

Sigh... 2+ more weeks to go... i am a bit sick of the confinement food too...

Usually i pump abt 10-15min or when i see no flow of milk. I set the PIS to between speed 2 and 3. usually during stimulation the milk started flowing out...

i have a question too. there is still water vapour in the medela eqpt aft sterilisation. Is it ok to have the vapour? the water cant be shaken off and we cant wipe either.

Pinksorbet
I will pump 20 mins to 25 mins every 5 to 6 hourly for both side using PIS. Sometimes, if you see no more milk, try to massage your breasts. Sometimes, the milk is "stucked" there... After you massage, the milk will flow out again.

reverie_island, the vapour is ok. Can try to shake away the vapour... Wont be able to remove all.. Then I will hang up to dry...

reverie - dun worrie wil be very fast... haha initially i also complain n whine abt the confinement food... but LL lor jus eat no choice.. when u hungry, anything goes...

for bathing, even after bathing, i stil feel unclean... the herbs tend to leave me feeling like never really wash away the dirt lor.. esp my hair... wah thats why i cnt wait, after confinement i wan to go hair saloon for a very gd hair wash! let them really massage my scalp and hopefully get rid of the icky build up ...

aircon - i put on 26... sumtimes i still feel super hot.. then il adjust the fan to higher mode... but sumtimes feel a bit cold.. then cover with blankie but only my legs... then after awhile hot again.. then kick away the blankie... wahhh... anyway i hardly sleep also... i realize that sweat more when pumping... dunno why...

Jtho
Thanks for recommend Mdm Rokiah to me. I hv a seeison with her just now, she is good but too bad. I am the 1:50 that have no milk supply…. She managed to press out a few droplet of milk no doubt they are stick. I accepted the fate liao.

vernice
You can use the binder over your wound, the purpose is to support the wound.
haha I think your mum maybe right, big bust one usually less milk

miss83
Dr Adrian gave me antibiotics, how come you don’t have?
No worry after waterproofing is removed when you shower no pain at all.

Your baby seeing Dr Lilian. me too.

Hi ladies I just had my session with Mdm Rokiah. Also saw fountains and alot of my engorgement and "rocks" gone. she says my problem not really that serious, I just have to be dutiful in using hot towel to massage my breasts before BF and also to pump out after BF. She advised not spending more than 10 or 15 mins on each breast with our babies, and if baby doesn't have enough, then to supplement with our EBM. I feel so much better after talking to her. And now wait in anticipation for the next feed, to see if baby is more satisfied and if I have more milk!

Devil / Misscandy
after sterilised then air dry then what is the point of sterilising the eqpt? Usually i get my maid to sterilise and assemble asap to minimise with air contact and contamination. I also find it helpless when i have to hold the two bottles and no one to off or adj the machine for me Unless i am sitting on a swivel adjustable chair and set the chair high to fit the table on the table...

Misscandy
I use neutrogena shampoo after not washing for two weeks... and i also use bathing foam and rinse with the hot da fong cao water. should be fine and i feel and smell good...
i feel the same too. with air con, sometimes too hot sometimes too cold. and worse, i have stitches so i zzz lying flat position only... and i have to wear binder for 1 month. from the day i admitted to end of confinement, my end spine / backside is numb/sore due to the long lying on the bed and with the binder...

Ivy
Not true on the big bust. I have a frd who bef preg already has bigger breast than my current bf breasts, is having almost 200ml per pump in total.

Miss83
I got my bandage removed. and i just took my bathe.

Moomooland
We will be taking the 6 in 1 at our paedetrician clinic at paragon. Dr Low Kaz Tzay.

pinksorbet,

I pump for 15-20min in total for both breasts to yield abt 120ml per 2hr session. I agree with asura that when u pump, use the other hand to compress the breast to yield more and literally squeeze dry the breast. I'm using PISA but each pump session, I only use single pump as I don't really find dual pump effective cuz that leaves no free hand to compress or massage and the suction not v gd.

Wah..this mdm rokiah is like a God-send to the mummies here. I have a problem with my right nipple which is cleft, and when I pump can only see milk coming out of 2-3 holes. The holes are not well distributed on the nipple surface and 1 area of the nipple practically has nothing coming out. Is that blocked ducts? As such, my right breast is only less than half the milk production capacity as compared to the left. It happened during my 1st child too and I did nothing to it. Wonder if mdm rokiah able to help. BTW, when she massage the breast, does she apply any oil? cuz can't really bathe, afraid that cannot wash off the oil to latch bb on.

Is someone still updating the birth chart?

My details:
Delivery date: 23 Mar 09
Method: Natural with epi
Wt of bb: 3.1kg
Name: Caton

As for the birth story, would post when more free. My labour is 6hr, with the final hr v v v painful! my epi was administered too late!

<font color="aa00aa">tx for the mdm rokiah's contact, i got it le.

ivy,
so at the appt, dr. adrian will remove the waterproof bandage issit n wun replace le huh? i a bit scare coz i seeing him on 13/4.</font>

reverie island,

I had the same prob with dual pump too, and i got to prop my knee up to hold the bottle in place, so that the hand can reach for the dial to adjust speed or turn on/off. once i dropped the bottle and it went to the floor, so sayang! now i give up using dual pump, just use 1 pump to avoid accidents.

ivy
yes..my bb seeing dr lilian lim. she said I need to bring my bb back for rotavirus jab when bb is 1.5 months..but i forgot if the jab will be combined with the 6 in 1 too..do u know how much it will cost for the first jabs of 6 in 1?

dr adrian didnt give me any antibiotics, only the cream. he did ask me if i'm still taking the pain killer and I said no.
did u ask him why you need to take antibiotics?
i took antibiotics from the hospital but finish already.

teddybaby
yesterday did dr adrian gv u any antibiotics?

hmm ya..just took shower this morning..no pain

fairymoss
i find it silly that having to spend $700 on the pump and using one pump, then might as well get a swing right... smaller too... i agreed that it is troublesome. that's y they come out with freestyle i thou of tying my own string to the two pumps ard my neck.. haha... and aft pumping for abt 10min i saw no milk but my sides of the breast still a bit hard leh... i guess i will try your suggestion. use only 1 pump and the other hand to massage. i dont wanna hold both pump for 20-30min cos i find it waste of time if really no milk and wanna reserve some in case bb starts to cranky...