(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

asura - sometimes i leave the pump there for like 3mins...if no flow i take the pumps out then rest for a while, while massaging my breasts then pump again...sometimes got milk come out but sometimes still gotta wait then milk will come out...wonder how long i should actually pump....hmm

reverie - my pumps always got the vapour inside after sterilisation....i wish i could get rid of the vapour cos i dun like them to be so wet but like u i tink if air dry wats the point of sterilisation..haiz...wish got a method to get rid of the vapour...MS stands for "milk supply"

devil - i try massaging my breasts but sometimes dun realli work liao...and sometimes i see "eyes" on the nipples..like got milk but the pump doesn't seem able to suck it out....sighz...dunno whether its a case of blocked ducts...

fairynmoss - yr MS quite good....2 hr can get 120ml....i pump like 4 hrs get abt 120 to at most 170ml...onli in the middle of the night i can yield more milk, like at least 200ml...dunno why my MS like a bit unbalanced...dunno when it will actually stable...as for pumps, i'm using dual pump...but i did try compressing the breast with my freehand during the pump while pumping the other but doesn't seem able to yield any much difference....

wanna pour out some complaints abt my confinement lady. thought no one is perfect... but i just feel like grumbling. and i hope the confinement period to be over soon cos i am sick of the food and the cl habit and on the other hand hope she is ard to take care of bb...

I have a maid so basically she does not have to do any washing at all from cooking to laundry. that is half the job gone.

She eats alot of esp rice and must have soup.

She boiled the longang drink the second time (diluted) and keep in two hot termo flasks at nite and if i drink only one in the middle of the night and still left one, she will drink it, alone! she does not even share with our maid...

She dirty our Interior designed coloured wall.

She slam our fridge.

Hygiene wise, malaysian what do u expect...

I dont really nap in the aftn and this makes her zzz more than anyone else moreover our maid is the one doing most of the job except cooking for me and taking care of our bb.

Of cos she is good at coaxing my bb. Good thing abt her is she has initiative. She will offer me drinks, ask me to nap and rest etc.

pinksorbet - must really compress really hard leh...

i also bought the freestyle but like what some have mentioned, using 1 pump and compressing/massaging/pressing the boob with other free hand does really work for me... if i leave it to the pump to suck out, i doubt i cn even hit 20mls... when i compress the boob, can see the squirt more powerful and more milk coming out... ive tried using the 2pumps at the same time and it made me more clumsy... i find the handsfree not very fitting for me... maybe pratice makes perfect ba... once i also spilt my precious BM.. so heartpain since my output is so so little... SiGh... well the good thing abt freestyle is that its light weight... when i go back to work, i dont have to worry abt lugging ard heavy pump... maybe i will be able to utilize the dual pump when i go back to work... never knw.. hee hee =)

fairymoss - ive pmed u her contact le... i thnk someone did mention that Mdm Rokiah herself doesnt do the post natal massage thingy... she does the breasts only... help those with blocked ducts... if u wan whole body massage must get her employees if im nt wrong... u cn check with her ba... =)

re: pumping
I only bought avent manual..i find it quite good...now can pump ard 80ml for both sides in 30 mins (now on my 11th day)...hopefully it's considered good supply..bb is still taking 60ml/feed.

kris
he will remove the waterproof tape and cut off the end sitches.

miss83
dr lilian lim ask me to take 6 in 1.rotavirus is not jab but medicine if i dont remember wrongly.i think for 6 in 1 is $440.

i didint ask him and since he gave me the antibiotics, i just eat. maybe i did not take any antibiotics at the hospital... cant remember already.

the nurse at TMC gave me antibiotics to bring home. take 1 tablet twice a day (white color).
so when i come back to dr lilian lim next mth, i've to pay $440? hmm ya rotavirus is oral one..do u plan to take that as well? she advised me to take together with the 6 in 1

have u introduced any toys to your bb?
I've a play mat and rattles..but not sure whether allowed to give it to baby for play...dont u think we need to wait til bb is 1 mth old?

miss83
dont remember i got antibiotics from hospital.
i think so cos if you take up the package for jab. i will take up rotavirus but i may take up separately

any mummies seeing dr lilian lim? can advice about the 6 in 1 jab? and how much is it? do we pay once for the whole package or per jab/visit?

miss83
we hv to pay whole package 440. rotavirus is non standard hv to pay individually. when is ur appt? mine is 22 apr. will let you more detail

reverie, i oso wan to complain abt my CL...u know she has some personal matters to attend to and as nice ppl, my PILs, my hb and i allowed her to go out for a few hours to deal with her personal matters....so she ask for "time off" for two hours again this tues....
i'm scared i cannot manage bb alone as no one else is home...then u know wat this stupid CL says? She says..."already two weeks plus as a mother still cannot handle bb for two hours? so easy oso dunno how to..." like saying i'm such a lousy mother issit!

I'm so angry i feel like slapping her....really...but i bear it all cos of my bb...jus wanna complain....argh!!

my appt is 6th may..
so one time payment only..? next one when bb 3 mth old no need to pay anymore?
pls do update me..
thanks alot ivy!

pinksorbet
did u pay her the full amount already? if not, then just pay her 2 weeks job..it's really unprofessional to do that..she should know if she behaves that way, ppl wont recommend her service anymore and she will end up having less and less customers..

i haven't buy my pump yet. which one should i buy? it seems like dual pump not so friendly if need to massage. Should i get the swing or mini electric then? pls advise.

ivy,
u also big bust? :p
n the binder so big how to cover wound ah? i didn't bring to the hospital n the nurse can't show me how to bind

miss83 - haven't pay her full amount but can't ask her to leave cos if not no one to take care of bb for me...in laws at work, hubby at work....i have to consider the consequences if she leaves...

her last day is on 13apr...i don't plan to extend her service anymore...cos previously intending to since my mil's last day of work is 16apr and CL is leaving on 13apr...if not i'll be all alone with bb....

i use this combi on my bb...

bm + fm + water...

so far he is responding well...im thankful tat e fm can make him sleep 3-3+ hrs @ a stretch w/o waking up...helps me to relax a bit...

i plan to learn all e bb care stuff b4 i go home to my place...My mom has been really wonderful 2 me n bb...

babe i not sure abt tbf but on e safe side...bb @ this age wont reject ur milk...i think...they suckle almost anything as itz their instinct...i used to attest 2 tbf but while doing confinement 4 e 1st wk, i scared he not gaining wt even though my galfrienz assured me tbf is sufficient for e bb, so i thot e best of both worlds is to give him both...i used enfalac; noe itz ex n most fm heaty so we supplement w water rather often so tat he wont get constipated...itz a horrible feeling...mayb will change another brand when he gets older.

Oh ya which fm brand is better for bb?

My sleep is oso improving...feel more alert n ready to feed him...i onli left full scale bathing him...looking @ how my mom takes care of him, i realize itz a privilege to b a mom...itz tough but e mths will fly by really fast...we mus oso make time to let ourselves recover frm e labour...

As 4 hb, he likes to do the following:
a. stare @ bb intently
b. try to wake him up while asleep
c. talk to him
d. carry him

I joked w him n said "When I am back from confinement, you will take up stuff to make urself feel like a dad..."

Hopefully by end of full mth, i hav established a routine for my bb; this means easier to take care of him...

Meanwhile, i oso tried to update my hb on bb's likes n dislikes...itz indeed a special moment for us...

For slimming n massage, i realize bfing does reduce my uterus significantly. Hopefully waz left will b fats to lose w/o injuring my internal organs...getting back to e pre preg shape is impt but we shld not b too anxious over this...i give myself till end of maternity leave to set things rite...

Take care moms n try to sleep whenever u can!

re:giving water
do you give water to ur bb?
my PD said I can give water to bb some time..esp if he got hiccups or urine is pink color due to FM

re: tounge
I notice that my bb tounge become white color after drinking FM. how do we clean this? give him water enough?

re:bathing
anyone of u still struggling with bathing time?
these 3 days my baby already enjoys bath time. doesnt cry at all..
the key is..water has to be warm enough..and sweep baby buttocks to the water first before put his whole body in..

anyway..want to ask you mummies..anyone using top to toe J&J? do u soap and rinse or mix the soap in the water and no need to rinse?

vernice
the binder is to support the wound, place it at the centre of your belly button. do u know what i meant?

chris
can bath baby..the nurse at TMC already bathed my baby every morning. so I continue at home..once a day every morning...but next week will do twice a day..since the weather is so hot and my baby enjoys bath time already..
I think must clean bb skin and face coz sometimes his face got milk stain when BF..and also kena our sweat..

vernice
yes put it at the center and wrap around ur tummy tightly. I find it helpful to support the wound..I can walk and get up from bed easier.

miss83
for those who feed FM, it a must to give water else baby will get heaty.
it is good to give water also else they will reject water after sometime.

you can wash the baby tougue using a handkerchief during shower time. remember the water for washing tougue should be drinking water

miss83>My hubby said baby got protective layer don bath so often cos he heard from his fren. .Then said bathe will spoil his skin. . .

All>Try not to use binder because will ended up like me got rashes. . .>.<TMC charge me and baby overall with real cash $2800 because my baby went for ICU so you will knw agar agar how much?Bdw I went for caeserian stayed ard 4D3N

Feed bb w water is impt to avoid constipation...oso they wont reject water.

J&amp;J top to toe... i use this. I saw my mom rinse a bit n wipe it off w e towel... depending on e hrs u bathe, u can bath then ma shen b4 sleeping. normal weather...If hot day @ nite, doing e reverse is ok but try to bathe earlier so tat bb don catch a chill...

Miss 83, i agree w u esp during bf...his face so close 2 my breast n i jus cant stop perspiring near e area so i try to use a small towel 2 minimize skin contact...then wipe him w a warm towel for comfort...

HI MIss83

Am using J&amp;J. I dun rinse. Use only one to 2 drops tho.

My PD says hiccup cannot give water in case choke. But I still give :p

Re milk residue on the tongue, have heard from elders better to wipe the tongue else bb may not want to drink milk. Dunno how true :p

Re PD, I went to Kid's clinic before. There are 2 docs right. The doc I saw was nice and friendly but I am not so keen to go back cos I find the PD a bit slow in the injection causing my firstborn a lot of pain as compared to another PD who was so fast my boy practically din cry at all. But this doc only had 4in1. Thanks anyway.

Hi Misscandy

Can I have mdm Rokiah's contact too? My breast still hurts despite my regular massage so I'm thinking to get her to do a massage if the pain doesn't get better. Thanks!

ivy
ya..I gave birth at TMC - E c-sect..total bill (incl gynae,PD and everything) is ard 5.5k (excl medisave-$3.2). stay 2 nights at TMC.

bathing bb - yes there was an article my dad passed to me frm msian papers.. apparently the 1st 6weeks we shldnt bathe bb too often.. maybe 2 times a week only... becos bb skin has own protective layer... we cn sponge bb or jus wipe up... but try not to bathe so often... but ive been bathing bb daily!! esp when she does the merlion... if nt cnt stand the smell leh... dunno if i shld cut dwn on bathing or jus continue.... hmmm...

tuskywoolie - u cn try Friso brand. Recommended by my PD... and coincidentally is one of the cheaper brands in the market!!! i actually bought a tin to try since my tin of enfalac is finishing... left 1 more feed... =D shall try and see if bb is okie with Friso then i can do the switch...

Vernice - yes it does somehow seem that single pump is better at the moment.. not sure if we go back to work if dual pump wld be better or nt..

big boobs &amp; MS - maybe its true... i have big boobs and look at my MS... i hope Mdm Rokiah will be able to help me... if nt then no choice.. jus feed what i have...

outing - oh yes.. hope there will be one in the near future... will be nice to meet up again with our lil ones in tow... Hee...

reverie island,
I also same as u, checked in around 11.30pm on a fri, only gave birth on Sat 5.30pm, abt 18 hrs or labour, also emer c-sec

Pumping time,
I take abt 40 min to pump both sides. MS range from 300ml to 450ml each pump.

Binder
I stopped putting on already. Weather too hot and it is making that area very itchy

BB PD
I also using Dr Lilian Lim

Ivy,
I given antibiotics at hospital, 5 day course. When I went for check up y'day, Dr adrain only gave me cream and ask if I still taking painkiller. Told him I din take any after I discharged.

Miss83,
Are u on TBF? Got feed EBM or total latching?

oh ya,
Re diapers, think on avg change abt 8-12 pc a day. I've finished using Pampers from hospital and also some samples. Now using Pet Pet. Its much cheaper and so far my CL says its ok. Recommended by my cousin. Cost $9.95 for pack for 46pc (S size). Works out less than $0.2 per pc

reverie
If you mean those Medela pump parts, it is ok with vapour. U try sitting on a "smaller" kind of chair, put your pillow on your lap and then you can place the 2 bottles with holder on the pillow. No need to keep on holding the bottles.

Pinksorbet
I agree with Misscandy. You got to press real hard for the milk to flow out. I will consult my massage lady on my last session and ask her to check to see if that is blocked ducts. Hope she can help me with it. I have no problem with my right breast, but need strength to work on the milk with my left breast.

Your CL is very unprofessional and how can she said that? 9 more days to go... If no choice, then got to close one eye.

pinksorbet - i wld like to slap ur CL too.. LOL... if im u i sure wld feel like it... chut pattern.. kns..

devil - must share contact of ur CL leh.. next time if ever i need CL, will engage her.. hahaha..

caca - to calculate approx amt of milk bb shd be taking: 150ml/kg/24 hrs. Bear in mind this is only a rough guide.

any mums having problems with putting bb to sleep or getting bb to settle to sleep? Due to colic and reflux my 4 week old now refuses to sleep on his back after discovering that lying tummy down solves his discomfort. Just thinking how to bring him out in pram like that...

bluebell - ive pmed u the contact =)

feeding water - ive tried to feed water leh.. but she rejects... hmmm

Fireangel - what milk is ur bb drinking?

hmmm u might have to use the sling? if nt u cn always let him lie on his tummy in the pram... quite a lot of pple do it.. my parents did it. so did my frn...

teddybb, i am soooooooo jealous with ur MS.. donate some "powers" to me leh..

fireangel, it's advisable not to put bb on tummy. but if u want to, do it during the day at least u can monitor. I tried on my bb before, but my boy can lift up his head but still not tt steady.. there was once i saw his head facing down the bed and scare me out manz.. so that was the last time i put him on his tummy..

pinksortbet, aiyo, how come ur CL like tt one? by right, she should not go out and leave u alone at home with bb. mothers should rest well during the confinement period mah. plus if we are first time mummy, it's inevitable that we are worried abt staying alone with bb
putting bb to sleep
It takes me abt an hour to put that little rascal to sleep.. grrhhh.. after that, i still have to wake up and pump milk.. so seriously lack of sleep. i will be happy if he can sleep for an hr or 2 after i put him down to sleep.. sometimes, he can wake up within 5 mins after i lie him down his bed... grrhhh can I turn the clock faster so that my boy can grow faster??

feeding water.
I feed water too.. my boy rejects it and frown when i try to feed him.. so wat i did was I gave him water jus before his feed. when he's hungry, he will drink watever I give lah.

missycandy, e Friso brand is in 1 of my consideration...i blur blur, taking fm was my last resort as i scared not enuf ss for bb but now, my breasts r giving good ss of milk, jus a bit scared of e sucking part as they suck really hard...nipples sore n milky...one main thing on FM is tat e mum has more rest...we jus hav 2 feed bbs w more water...

Jus curious, will bb resist other brands after completing one brand of fm? Ani1 care 2 share?

Hi Reverie Island, we hav e same PD! Dr Low KT! How do u find him? Qite a bilingual chap...he not so chatty as compared to my gyni...but hey mayb he warms up slowly...I had his referral frm my gyni @ Mount E. U?

My heart goes out w moms who hav collicky bbs...it usually lasts abt 3 mths...my hb used to b 1 himself...now he likes to sleep w his tummy downwards...dun dong this ordeal all by urself...b sure 2 hav someone take shift 4 u so tat u hav ample rest...itz no joke being sleep deprived for 3 mths n we cant guarantee tat duration too. I had a galfrien who had phobia over her collicky daughter tat she is determined to stop @ 1...

I was reading frm Mums n Babes mag n e experts tell us tat we should establish a routine for a newborn so tat he will not associate feeding = sleep...If this is so, he will keep crying until hez fed...they suggest e following:

a. warm bath
b. massage
c. tell a story
d. soothing tunes...

Of course any other thing tat brings comfort to bb besides milk...we can only do so probably in e subsequent mths...no harm trying otherwise we will end up doubly exhausted n depressed during e maternity leave...

Realise Mums n Babes mag is a great read for clueless moms like me...

pinksorbet, dun tink we shld allow cl to have their off time to ayyend their personal stuff...if go down 30mins is fine..coz we paid them n we need rest..see if u can ask her to stay n attend her stuff later...dun make it a habit. me also had bad experience with cl...so sian, but ren yi ren...very soon will be over k... =)

pinksorbet,
My CL also request for time off abt twice so far in 2 wks to buy her own food/ stuff. But she will ensure that my hubby or someone else with me also before she goes. USually abt an hr. I don't have problem with that cos she has been quite a gd CL so far. Think your CL too much to make such comments. If we can cope, then no need CL already.

mooniie,
I usually try not to leave in fridge for more than 24 hrs b4 putting it in freezer

wintertime,
Hehe, me passing my power to u now
I have already also passed on some milk to my nephew cos half my freezer is packed with milk now. CL "complain" that she got no space to put meat stuff cos usually buy 1wk worth of food

teddy, *absorbing your power* wah... so jealous.. u can even pass on some milk to ur nephew!!! liew..lucky chap.. nvm, me working hard on my bf and at the same time with your "power" i sure can do much better

missycandy: I'm combi feeding bb - daytime latch on on his demand, nightime formula according to his bodyweight. Find this the best compromise due to relentless problems until the second week.

btw regarding the calculations, just to add to the confusion, the other way of calculating via the imperial units is 2.5 oz per pound body weight per 24 hrs. To add to even more confusion, the oz in US is diff to the oz in UK. Going by US oz, it works out to approx 162ml/kg/24hr, which is the calculation that is used in the UK only if bb is low weight/not thriving as it shd.

Ultimately the calculations don't matter as much as knowing that bb is growing at healthy rate and peeing/pooing normally

Wintertime: I know about the risks of lying bb prone. Just that with the bowel problems the moment as a last resort we tried him in belly down position (by colic hold and by lying him prone) the amount of gas he releases from both ends and the relief he gets is absolutely unbelievable. Unfortunately he made the association that tum down = comfy. At the moment just have to watch him regularly, and have already got an angelcare monitor cos not possible to jaga him round the clock when he sleeps. Was ur bb awake when u found him facing down? Healthy bbs if awake know to turn their heads sideways when they realise they cannot breathe if they look into the mattress. I know for a fact that one of the tertiary neonatal ICU's in London keep their babies belly down cos nurses cannot possibly tend to them round the clock for colic alone, but of course they are monitored lah. If lay ppl have the same monitoring units at home and can see to them and be in short distance of bb ppl wld lie bb prone all the time liao cos it's the position all bb's naturally prefer!

Re: Bb sleeping on tummy
I have been doing this since week 2. It's been okay so far and bb really prefers to sleep this way now.

It's important to let bb exercise the head turning a few mins a day when bb's awake. Can do this by laying a clean sheet on the floor and gently put the bb (when they are awake) on their front with arms and knees bent. Watch the bb try to turn their heads. They will get stronger at doing it.