(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

jtho - i also think so... jus now hb managed to suck out some of the mucus using the pigeon thingy... nw seems a bit better... he says wait for 1 more day see how... hmmm

eh for me is becos not pump.. becos need to feed her.. haii... i pump during day and last pump ard 11plus 12... haiii my boobs still soft... doesnt get hard.. so sian...

jtho - hw ur MS? better or not? jy jy!

jtho>I cnt pump breasts milk for baby becos my whole body got rashes v v er xin so hv to wait until recover then can pump. I am doing night shift becos my hubby start to wrk tml le and he is on night shift so don wanna him to be so xin ku~

missycandy
MS improving... yesterday, over 6 pumps, i get 400ml. not like previous days, over 8 pumps, also 360 - 400ml. hopefully it's increasing steadily.
i'm getting Mdm Rokiah from Jamu Massage to come to my place tmr morning to see whether I am having blocked ducts. recommended by Asura. hopefully, i really am having this problem and Mdm Rokiah will help me to clear it...

missycandy
i heard from Asura that u found out that first few years selling freestyle's battery at more than $100, is it?

missycandy
oic, cos last week when i went to their shop in KKH to buy my freestyle, the gal told me the battery costs around $87. probably will call to check again tomorrow. Asura getting for me extra spare parts. dunno whether to get an extra battery or not.

ok, finish pumping le... got to go zzz le then wake up again at 5am for my next pump. good nite ladies!

jtho>My milk v v little~Need to stimulate but hor v v pain lehz my nipple damn loh~Sooner or later i will hv sore nipple and rotten nipple.LOL

missycandy, your bb got hard or soft pi sai in the nose? my mom told me to wait for the sai to come out by itself, esp when bb sneezes, cos if the sai is hard, it might hurt their small inner nose...

after 2 nights of taking care of my bb, my hubby is falling sick already.. cos i was so tired of taking care and feeding the bb every night and complained to my hubby that postnatal depression is coming to look for me soon, then he worried and took over the night shifts. My MIL only helped to wash the clothes, bathe the bb and prepare my hubby's meals while i m taking care daytime and night time. Told my hubby that next bb die die must get a confinement lady and he asked what's the diff between getting a CL and his mom, i told him night time i can rest!!

Realised all our bbs do not sleep at night, that's y i took a nap at 9pm to 11pm while hubby looking after the bb, now is my turn to take over the shift. Super tired!!!!

Heat rashes on face:
my MIL told me that it was due to us taking bean stuffs (eg. black beans, peanuts) that resulted bb having the red spots on face. Btw, i have been having bean soup stuffs for confinement prepared by my mom, so dunno how true it is..

Butt ache:
i only have the aching feel, no numbness. heard from my massage lady that pple like me taking epidural confirmed got butt aching one, cos the med affects our spine. Btw, my epidural went haywire during my delivery. i moved when the epi injection was done on my spine, in the end after delivery, i was having severe headache and giddiness, worse was i cant lower my head to see my bb when breastfeeding, if not the pain at my head and neck will come back. It persisted for 2 days then my gynae ordered the hospital to do a patch test (withdraw blood from my arm and insert into my spine) and within 1 hour, i was normal again!! So now i felt that my spine was not as good as pre-pregnancy times...

haha all so late mai koon ah...

christina
can drink black bean soup.. eat the beans can help to deal with water retention.

missycandy
she er ni or really vomit?? do u burp her everytime after each feed?

lasie
welcome

yes tml is 1mth liao... so happy...tml muz bring tristan back to hb grandparents hse.. they wan pray ancestors.. zz
donno shd i use moms in mind sling or pram...

Heat Rash on face
What I heard was becos I din drink enough coconut b4 I gave birth...sigh...
What to do, no chance bcos gave birth 1 mth earlier..heee~~~

Removal of stitiches from C-Sect
No worries, for me, it was like done within 1 sec.... =P

Jtho,
Well done on the increase of MS...Jia You!!

jtho - night mummy =) ooo kkh cheaper ah... lemme knw when u confirm... im also thimking wana get spare batt or not.. =)

kris - hey mummy!! tk care wor!!! mus tk gd care of ourselves if not hw to look after bb??? the pi sai is soft de.. but i see her so xin ku when breathing leh... then drink milk fighting to drink n breathe at same time... im also considering CL next time round!!! but hb say save the money lor... kns... see how.. if have no2 im also thinking to get maid le... if not bth...

queenie - what is er ni??? really vomit lor... whatever is fed will vomit out... yes... burp her... or try to burp her.. its in the midst of burping her that she wil vomit de...

does any of your bb smile while sleeping? heard from my MIL and mom that the "Chuan Mu" (bed goddess) is playing wif them, so this sunday during the bb shower, my MIL is gng to pray offering to Chuan Mu. Sometimes i see my bb smile for no reason and when she is looking elsewhere for a long time really scares me...

also bb is cranky at night, my mom told me to get the pamelo leaves to put into the bath tub when bb showers, purpose is to let the bb be guai guai.. i m not the superstitious kind, but the cranky nights really turns me off, so anything that can calm my bb and makes her sleep longer i dun mind liao as long as it does not require her to consume..

kris - lemme knw if the pomelo leaves work for ur bb... hmmm one of my frns says its jus reflex frm the bb.. my bb also smiles n looks elsewhere for some time.. i think they r jus tryin to look ard ba... kirsten likes to look all ovr the plc.. sometimes stare long time also... they r curious i guess.. dont scare urself...

missycandy
er ni.. means throw up abit of milk after feeding.. wha..u wanconsider bring her to pd mah.. tristan sometimes throw up abit.. will wet his shoulder a patch..
could it be room dusty??

keron
haha ya my boy everyday smile even in his slp.. he can even make sound like hur hur hur likett.. but it oso scares me.. but frets not ..

u look out for symptons.. bb cranky at night could be growth spurt, colic, or wan hug hugs? or temp in room too hot or cold..

tdy my boy finally better.. not like two nights back.. super colicky. i fed him two feedings of ridwind juz nw.. then he keep on fart.. hehe.. tink it really helps.. if not, his cries can really drive me mad..

missycandy, maybe you should consider wrapping her? my bb doesnt want us to wrap her, likes to kick and will cry if we try to cover her up with the cloth nappy or receiving blanket... in the end i only wrap her lower body cos scared she kenna colic again..

bb also sneezes quite often but normally during her bathing time or when i m changing her diaper. dont let your bb catch a cold cos they are too small to handle flu. Got a friend whose bb got runny nose in the 2nd month since birth and till now (1 year old), the runny nose not recovered fully and got a lot of phelgm in the throat as well, my friend also spend a lot on the PD consultations and medications, so must really take care k?

woke up for pumping then can't sleep. read thru some of the older posts and realised not just myself having periods of sadness and ms problems..can be so challenging.

<font color="ff0000">asura</font>
could you pm me mdm rokiah contact? i hv had block ducts twice and can still feel the lumps on one side of my breasts. making it very tender and painful. want to check with her if she can come help me clear...hopefully can oso increase ms after tat

<font color="ff0000">promeganate</font>
yup, my stitches for c-sect was not the self-dissolved type, gynae actually had to snip and remove one of the thread. haha i oso tot nowadays is use self-dissolved type, never realised got to remove. but is ok lah, not painful. now only left the scar, a very thin line, wun be very obvious in future once hair grows over the area..

<font color="ff0000">ms</font>
never realise bf is so challenging. i tot it's natural but it's so hard even with pumping. went to get the ameda dual pump yest at bmsg, can't stand pumping for 1 hr every sessions. i spend almost 6 hrs pumping every day and some of the sessions, i'm so sad tat i will cry silently. sad coz not latching on bb and hv to pump out and oso coz the pump is so painful, causing abrasions on my nipple and aerola area and from the blocked ducts too. decided that dis can't continue else tink i'm going to get depressed so managed to convince hb to let me go out during confinement to try the pumps at bmsg and buy one dual one. am happier with the dual pump, cut my timing and it's so much less painful. hopefully things will get better.

good news is my ms has increased gradually from total 300+ml a day to about 500ml a day. thanks to mothers who share the info, i'm doing the power pump every session 3x10mins each breast and can see the improvement though it's very very gradual. hope my ms goes to beyond 700ml coz bb is already feeding 700-800ml a day and i can only provide for his morn feeds currently. oso for mothers hopeful abt increasing ms, dun give up! the counsellor at bmsg told me that ms only stabilise at ard 2 - 2.5 mths for most mothers so we can still jia you and work hard!

bad news is bb is showing signs of rejection of my nipples. i tried to latch on at least once a day coz simply loves and miss the feeling of bb latching on but he push out my nipples today after a while and cry while keep opening his mouth. tink he finds sucking from breast too slow compared to bottle feeding. kind of sad even though i was prep that this would happen...wonder if i would still hv chance to latch on bb next time, if he would still accept...

<font color="ff0000">SG</font> dun give up k, jia you and hopefully our ms will increase!

<font color="ff0000">sleeping position</font>
any mothers having probs sleeping on their side? i can't sleep on my side now as my breasts will feel so compressed and painful. wonder if it's from my blocked ducts. happens to both sides no matter i turn left or right. wonder what's going on

Christina
i asked about ur milk supply cos i just want to share with u not to be like me. i lost out the first 2 weeks, not pumping enough and not latching on enough, in the end my milk supply suffers. if u r in the first 2 weeks now, dun worry abt sore nipples, latch ur bb on and/or pump frequently. at least 8x a day. if not, u will be like me, trying to fight back the dwindling supply now. do take my advice if u want to bf ur bb, if u r not like me, die die must bf one, then u can relax

grace
thanks! i will still JY to increase MS more

missycandy
ya, will let u and Asura know if i remember to check the price of the rechargeable battery today.

sung
i PMed u Mdm Rokiah's number le. i'm seeing her today morning for blocked ducts too.
i think we have the same problem - i can only manage 400ml a day now and my bb is taking 700-800ml a day.
regarding bb rejecting ur nipple, maybe u try to see Mdm Rokiah. may be due to slow letdown, that's why bb is frustrated and refuse to latch on. Asura had the same problem, but after having 2 sessions with Mdm Rokiah, she finally managed to latch her bb on for 1 full feed yesterday. so happy for her
for me, my bb will want to latch on, cos he prefers breast milk and he wants my smell.. keke.. but problem is that he has no patience and i think he is a super lazy cow, so after latching on a while, abt 10-15 mins, he will fall asleep. then he will wake up again and cry for more milk, and this time round he will want his milk fast, so i have to give him EBM or FM in bottle.
yes, we shall continue to jia you and work hard!

jtho>You pump 8x a day ar?I guess I only pump 2x a day becos not really much milk~at the most i can achieve each time only 60ml~Sadded~

all>Got any problem getting along with in-laws?

hi mummies, im a jan 09 mummy and i have a brand new tube of Medela Purelan nipple cream-- big tube. expiry 2011. im selling for $14 with normal post. retail price is $19.50.

interested ps mail me at [email protected] thanks!

sung,

Think jtho has responsed with Mdm Rokiah's contact. I think if ur problem is the same as mine, ur bb would latch on to u in no time! Cos after lunch yesterday, bb was happily latching on for every feed. But i never let her latch on for nite feeds cos latching is slower than bottle feed and mdm rokiah advise that i need to express for another 10 mins after each latch.. i think like that no need to sleep liao..
Anyway, bb seems to show signs that she prefer latch than bottle.. cos she would push the bottle away with her tongue and look for my breast before she willing to go back to bottle again. Wish me good luck on latching today!

jtho,

I also just discover that when i pump using the handsfree function, i get lesser milk then when i pump holding on to the pumps. Not sure if it is cos of the lesser suction power if we use handsfree. But to hold on to the pump very tiring.. so i still use handsfree but on and off, i would go and hold on to the pump as well.

Christina
even if not much milk now, u still got to pump to stimulate. pumped even if u can only get 10 or 20ml. if not, ur supply will slowly dwindle to nothing. the first two weeks are the most crucial time. u got to mimick ur baby's feeding frequency, i.e. 8 to 12 times a day, to tell ur body that ur baby needs so much milk.

Asura
thanks for telling me that. then now i will on n off hold the pumps

good luck to u on latching today.

grace, my bb is taking 90-100ml nw..lasts ard 2-3hrs..din increase his intake coz doc says he's overweight.

moomooland, dunno wanna get the manual pump ornt but scared waste of $ again...shall just con't to see hw ba..very demoralise with low ss.

Hi Sung

I also have problems sleeping on my side cos my breasts hurt which is weird cos I already pump out the milk. Is this engorgement or blocked ducts or what? sigh...

miss83
after he removed the waterproof plaster..u wound not feel painful when bathing. you can still use the binder after he remove the plaster to support.the wound is quite dry already

dont worry cutting the sitches no pain at all. dr adrian is gentle.

As i read the posts, i cant help but to envy all yr milk supply! If u gals think ur milk supply is little, mine is non-existent den! Mine is only 160 ml max per day.. Sobz.. Oredi pumping and latching on as frequently as possible. Eating fernugeek, drinking a lot of soup, all dun seem to help much..

Hi ladies, sorry I can't find the post on what you ladies do for power pumping. Can explain to me again? I'm also having problems with MS - only 60ml each time and baby takes 60ml minimum, which means when she latches on, she doesn't always do a full feed (she is already on my breasts for 15 mins each side of the breast).

Sung: 3x10mins pump for how many times in a day? Do you still latch?

Can I still do power pump when I have her latch in the day time?

would like to check... if can feel breast has hard lump but no matter how you squeeze, no milk comes out, does this mean that ducts are blocked?
my right breast feels soft but my left breast can still feel abit hard after pumping, but no matter how much i massage or squeeze, nothing comes out =(
can i just engage Mdm Rokiah to check and to clear my blocked ducts or it will be a whole body massage session (with clearing of ducts)?

Asura, thanks for the contact of Mdm Rokiah.
Btw, the 1st time when I use the handsfree, I thought I have 10ml less. But this morning when I used it again, my ms volume about the same as usual. So it's probably due to our adjustment of the shield, perhaps you can try it again.

seems like most of us here are experiencing blockage...
i just finished 1 session with Mdm Rokiah. very encouraging session cos during the session, i see my breasts like fountain like that. never seen this for the past 3 weeks plus. now very motivated.
i strongly recommend those who experiencing low MS to give Mdm Rokiah a try. let her come and assess what is your problem and most likely she can help u.

oxgal:
24-25 degree aircon I still cover blanket la, but will sweat when sleeping lor. Can't imagine anything higher

miss83:
Congrats..my BB birth date 2 days apart. Nope, Dr Adrian didn't tell me my chance of natural is low le...if I had known things will end up this way (natural fail, c-sec w epi fail, then finally c-cec with GA), I wld have right away juz do GA..too bad. I really having a bit of phobia now when I think next time I have my 2nd one. My hubby still dare joke and ask BB "want to be kor kor"...I juz roll my eyes at him, haha. So u ended up c-sec wtih epi? I going to see Dr Adrian tml, suppose to be today, but evning time better for hubby. I also very scared will be painful. Cos when nurse removed the huge sticky tape in hospital, it was very painful cos its the stick on to the skin type

BB rashes:
My BB has bad heat rash on neck and back and PD prescribed cream. But was told can't apply too many times a day and at most use for 1 wk cos she said contains steroid. Now those areas are better, but the folds bet the arms very bad rash. Any mummies using any other cream that is more natural?

hi jtho,
what is included during the 1 session?
Asura mentioned that it's $58 per session rite?
may I have her contact as well?
thank you =)

sorry I hv MIA for quite sometime coz having a hard time to adjust myself to my bb's erratic feeding time..tired man..no time to read the previous threads too.

Well,just an update, I hv delivered to my gal on 26 Mar thru emergency c sect epi at 1032am. My gal weigh 3.325kg..

My birth story:
2.30am water bag burst so quickly wake hubby up. Got a quick shower and grab my bag and rush to TMC. Forgot to wash my hair and chicken essence.

3.10am admitted to TMC and only dilated 1.5cm. Contractions came and hubby and nurse advised me to get epi if I cant bear the pain.

6.10am told nurse that I wan epi

9.30am only dilated 0.5 cm hence told Dr Chua that I want c sect coz I m afraid bb is too big for me to push as my last visit show 3.8kg during ultrasound.

10.32am My bb gal is out finally. I m very happy to witness the whole process as I m epi..its so amazed when I first hold my bb in my arms

Btw, congrats to those mummies who hv popped. I need to read the previous threads to know who are they. Most of my time is latching and pumping milk..

got to go, bb crying for milk again

mooniiie
sent u Mdm Rokiah's contact already.
the session is about 1 hour. she will massage the breasts and look for lumps. then she will press. dunno how she press, but she will manage to create "fountain" out of our breasts
then she will use hot stone to do compress, and carry on massaging and pressing. during the session, u have to be ready that ur whole face, body, mattress, floor and all surrounding to be stained with milk.

mooniiie
Mdm Rokiah doesn't do whole body massage. whole body massage will be done by her staff if u want to engage them. she only concentrates on block ducts and engorgement session, and she does trainings for masseuses.

teddybaby
hope to hear more of ur birth story..how come natural n c-sect spinal also fail? what happened?
do u mean u already tried both and failed so ended up with GA?

me too abit shocked coz never thought I'd go for c-sect. the next one i think better opt for c-sect directly..dont want to risk and end up the same thing..

miss83
no, i dun really feel too painful. i dun have engorgement, only some lumps around the breasts. the session is very comfortable.

teddybaby
what time you're going tomorrow to see dr adrian?
hubby said better go tomorrow too...so today no need to take leave..
so I might be seeing u