(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

prosper
ya, i cannot tahan without air-con. everyday perspiring like a pig... hehehe
i am not a very discipline person in confinement, cos i already went shopping last Sunday to buy clothes for bb for his full month celebration. all the clothes we bought previously either too big or too small or too casual, only suitable for home use. then i also went to my new flat to check out the renovation and went marketing with my CL while hubby looks after bb.

moomooland
at least u know how it feels being engorged. i dun even got a chance to know. the most i feel is breasts a bit heavy and that's all. and u still can yield 170ml. the most i see so far is 110ml, and that's only if i pump once a day... hahah

Prosper,
So far, I saw that feedback for newbaby is quite good. They charge min $340 or $380 for 7days pkg. I'm still considering to use them or not.. works out to about $55 a day for 2 meals. Alternatively, I'll just ask hb to buy the wu yu (threadfin fish) and I'll just cook that as soup and eat simple with rice + 1 veg. Just lun another 10 days cos my mum is so naggy lah!

http://www.newbaby.com.sg/

how ladies
do bb get active day by day??
my bb used to drink milk liao then sleep but recently close to 3rd week..he is active and doesn't want to sleep after each feed.

Prosper
You very good... Can tahan... I also perspiring every day...

But good thing is with a CL, I can rest and relax for a month...

jtho,
U try to pump every 2 hourly? For a month... It will help to increase your milk supply.. But most importantly, must eat alot and drink alot...

haha, i also think i am super tahan queen... always sweat after meal, after hot drink and bathe. bet u gals the same rite?

moomooland, how come ur menses now then end? i end on my 2-3wk. lochia also finish during 3wk. now only slight discharge.. Is this normal?

do bb get active day by day??
my bb used to drink milk liao then sleep but recently close to 3rd week..he is active and doesn't want to sleep after each feed.

Devil, teddybabe: thanks for your suggestion! Will massage my breasts and give hubby milkshake tonite, hee..

Jtho, prosper: mmm...in that case, I'll stick to 4hrs for the time being, find 3-hr schedules very tiring as well, as I try to practise the power pumping each time I pump..

Anyone has good caterer to recommend & full-mth cakes to recommend? I really need to work on this soon..

Prosper
Yes... Of coz.. And I will stay in front of the fan after the meal..

RE: Lochia
I still have a lot... Waiting for my turn to be pad free... Wonder when it will be...

moomooland
donno how much he drinkin wor. coz me many days nv pump out liao.. fully latch on.. but nw he can 2.5 hrs wk up for feeding.. but not everytime.. sometimes oso get up in an hour time for feeding..
i ytd read one mommie state here tt her gynae/pd say newborn - 1 mth only drink 60ml enuff? 110ml isit too much?

prosper
wha.. u li hai leh... even my hb complain of the heat over at my mom place... he is the one want to on a/c. so i very happy.. haha.. but my bro die die nv on a/c durin my sil confinment. say scare the baby will get used to a/c then no gd.. but even his effort, his girl is so scare of heat one..

re:heatrash
try the Avene thermal water tt cindy recommends.. it works for tristan..

re: lochia
is it those big chunks one? if yes, i don have leh.. juz bleeding.. haha.. but getting lesser.. my mom ask me drink more black vinegar to dispel the blood inside..
1 whole mth of bleeding..how come i still can survive.. haha..

re: colic
by the way, i feed tristan with RidWind tis morning... available at pharmacies.. heard it wrks better than gripewater..
later will feed him one more time and see how his colic tonite will turn out to be..

Devil
i pumped 3 hrly for a week and finally yesterday felt totally exhausted. i dun want to burn myself out, if not i may not be able to continue to persevere with bfing. so dun think will try 2 hrly, as it will be more taxing than 3 hrly. in fact, today doing 4 hrly, it's more manageable and i feel more relaxed and more time to do other things. on top of that, my nipples do not feel so sore.

jtho
True loh... U dun u try latching baby on? Whenever he feels like drinking milk? It will help to simulate your breasts more than using pump...

prosper - think you're referring to SG. my lochia finishing liao...

queenie - no leh, my pd said my gal from first day must drink 60ml...and commented that shes a very hungry baby, have to give more if required...think case by case ba, some bb can drink more, some less..mine is those type who dowan to sleep,want to drink...

Devil
i do latch him on as and when he wants. my bb does crave for my breasts... but one day only about 3 times latching on, but more like for comfort than for milk.

st
my CL says that every bb is very different. some just drink and sleep, but some may not like to sleep, then will be more active lor...

jtho
mine actually sleep well only recently like pple to talk to him so he doesn't want to sleep after each feed sigh

maybe becos my inlaws got alot of pple bah

teddybaby
everyone need pap smear after delivery.

i also hv this problem of numbness for seating or waking up from sleep. i thought because i am fat!

for 6 in 1 jab, you can try GP. their package is cheaper but dont expect them to be detail in checking baby. this is my experience when i sign up for my elder son. this round i am going for PD.

Colic
its normally start in the evening or mid night. the baby will be crying badly no matter how you pat them.

i think the numbness is caused by water retention.. i experience the numbness also and my massage lady say its water retention

jtho,

I think u are getting there. Remember i first told u abt me trying the 24 hr cycle. Well.. just before the 24 hr cycle, i was only pumping 40 to 50 ml per pump. During the 24 hr cycle was 50-60ml. Then after 1 24 hr cycle, i resume my usual pumping patterns, which is 3 hrly during the day and 4 hrly at nite and i got 70 to 80 ml per pump the very next day... then stagnant for 3 days and then every 2 days, i find that my pumping sessions yield additional 10ml incrementally. So maybe u also same as me.. do monitor ok? I never need to do another 24 hr cycle after that and my MS is still increasing now. Currently my 4 hr interval would yield average 180ml and my 3 hr interval would yield average 140ml. Only achieved this amt this week. Jia You!

Also, dont be too stressed over missing a pumping. What i do is that if i miss, i just restart the intervals.

Asura
thanks for your assuring words... i just did 1 pump, this time only 50ml... hope the next session will yield more...

Asura
ur 3 hrly in the day and 4 hrly at night is quite similar to the 24 hr cycle... means if u start ur day at 7am, ur sessions will be 7am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm, 7pm, 10pm, then 2am, 6 or 7am. am i right?

jtoh
do you on the air-con all day? at what degree celcius?

during confinement
my colleagues told me that during confinement, cannot on fan, windows and cannot let any wind blow at me at all. Is it true?

A bit headache for me cos I cant stand the heat (like now i am in office with aircon, all my colleagues feel very cold cept me!).

Very depressed!

Confinement lady left on Sun, so I'm home alone with maid.

Yesterday night baby didn't want me to carry, screamed and wail, but once maid/hubby carries her she will stop.

Today happened again, after I latch baby on and she finishes her feeding, she starts to wail and scream again, pushing me away. I didn't wanna let maid carry, but baby was crying and yelling away for like so long I had no choice. And same case, baby stops crying immediately once I handed her over to maid.

Maid didn't carry my baby at all during confinement because I was not comfortable with it, but when confinement lady left I had to let her help me when I shower/eat etc.

So sad leh. I'm a lousy mummy.

Reira
no, i didn't on the air-con all day. on only when needed. my CL also on fan. as i said, i didn't follow all the rules for confinement.

Hoon
probably u're too stressed and baby can sense it. so relax, and i'm sure she will want you only...

for myself, I on aircon day & nite...ard 24-25 degree, fan mode, not blowing directly. As it is, I'm am still waking up in sweat and wet top with air-con...grr...BB sleeping with fan oscillating...but I feel bad for him cos he is wrapped up in such weather...damn hot!

Thanks for the consolation and enouragement Ivy, jtho..

Tried all ways to coax her, talk, sing, swing, walk, hug.. she don't means don't want. Went to the room to have a good cry, feeling better now.

to help baby differentiate between day & night, when the day is gloomy & dark, do you switch on the lights to let them know it's day and dim the lights only at night?

These few days have been rainining & the room is kinda dark in the day.

Vivien,

If u want to hire massage lady for block ducts, get Mdm Rokiah. She charges $58 for a session and she dont really go by time... really make sure that she helps clear most of the block ducts before she leaves. I only had 2 sessions and the results are great! BB now willing to latch on after my 2nd session.

jtho,

mine was something like 9 am, 12 pm, 3 pm, 6 pm, 9 pm, 1 am, 5 am. sometimes i very sleepy and end up with 6 pumps only. think as long as not permanently reduce the intervals, the milk supply would not reduce, and make sure u drink lots of water, doesnt matter flavoured or not. i always drink a cup of warm water before my sessions,

jasmin,

in the day, my bb is sleeping in the living rom. at nite, she sleeps in my room. when she wakes up for feeds and diaper changing, i do it in dim lighting.

jtho
=) Thanks!

teddybaby
sounds so bad that you on aircon at 24-25 degree and still wakes up in sweat. I am one of those who gets warm easily, hopefully i can cope with it when i give birth! does your baby sleep with you?

Reira
u r very cute? how can hubby help u to pump while u sleep? kekeke... furthermore, it is better to be upright when we pump as gravity will help with the milk flow.

teddybb

u so good ah 24-25..mu hubby only on 27 e most..amd he ll cover me in blanket somemore!!

wintertime
i miss couplehood also but didnt tell hubby, i scare i cry infront of him..but i sms him say he still owe me one japan trip then i cry like dunno wat liao..juz too emtional @ times

thanks devil for e info..

jtho
haha thought he can just use the pump to pump while i... maybe sit upright and sleep at the same time. then he just help me to watch out once the milk bottle from the pump is full. lol i am pig can easily fall asleep haha

we also didn't had our honeymoon. was married in 2007 september, then got pregnant immediately but miscarriage in november 2007. after that let my body recuperate and try to conceive again. finally pregnant again in july 2008. anyway, i'll be flying back to Europe for 1 month next month. just take it as a holiday first. honeymoon will wait till baby bigger, maybe go japan...

reira
oic... then maybe u try lor... kekeke... but if ur hubby also fall asleep, then u will be pumped dry... hahaha

moomooland
it's my CL who keep telling me to cut down the pumping session, especially at night. say i should rest. sometimes in the day when i pump 3 hrly, she would advice me to do 4 hrly or 5 hrly instead, claiming like that more milk...

i was just telling my auntie, that i am inclined to do middle of the nite pumps, coz it seems to yield better MS, but she says it will be very tiring for the mother, and that its a vicious cycle for the body to produce that amt of milk. wonder how true that is...

when do babies sleep through the night? cant wait for that...my baby is awake during 12-3am..he's always hungry..feed him then he pee/poo and hungry again..keeps doing that til 3 am then he can finally fall asleep..
so tiring...

oh..can i ask u all how many diapers you use per day? I use alot!!! coz bb poo/pee alot too..sometimes poo and pee not at the same time..just changed his diaper coz he poo and another couple mins he pee..wasting alot of diapers..i thought will only need 6-8 diapers/day!!