(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Selling a pair of unused AVENT BREASTS SHELLS at $18. Useful if u are experiencing painful sore nipples when they brush against yr clothings or bra.

2312097.jpg

Benefits: Protect sore nipples, Help ease engorgement & Collect excess breast milk

Kindly sms me at 92374617 if interested.

jtho - thankss!!!

miss83 - *hugs* i think we really emotional rollercoaster ride man.. not sure when this ride will end but we shall ride together bah! =)

wintertime - i think its not wrong to sling n carry... i did it b4 when bb doesnt stop crying... after that she will sleep... then when deep sleep put dwn.. but sometimes put dwn still cry.. so jus sling and do ur things lo... i think bb still to young to be trained.. we have a lot of time to train bb... like my bb... doesnt like to sleep on her own bed... i asked the PD... she said still small.. wait til 2-3mths then try to train... nw she will sleep btwn hubby and me lo.. so jus have to let her be... rather than see her cry every night... =)

missycandy, sometimes i also think likewise also.. bb so small, need comfort, should carry a bit.. but again, the thought of him being too used to being carried turns me off.. I can't imagine seeing my maid carrying my bb all the time.. hopefully things will get better when he grows bigger.. can't wait for my boy to grow up fast

today I decided to latch on from morning til now..no pumping..but weird..bb only sucks 1 breast for 15-20mins and fall asleep..1.5-2hrs later wake up and feed him the other breast..
but although only 1 breast, he keeps suckling non stop till he falls asleep
before today he takes 60ml formula..or if breastfeed both breasts, he still wants to top up a few ml FM..
dunno what happened today...is it normal? on the other side I'm happy that he latch well...but quite worried too that he doesnt take enough milk..but he seems satisfied and falls sleep..
does it mean my MS getting better?

sorry to interrupt. am from the Sept 08 thread and i have 12 tins of Friso Comfort to let go at $10 each, exp 06/2010. pls PM me if interested.

tks

Scense Mini Washing Machine to let go at $90. Comes with box. Kindly sms me at 92374617

2312865.jpg

Scense Mini Washing Machine comes with an added ozone disinfecting ability to get rid of impurities effectively, it is also equipped to clean gently and thoroughly which provides as an alternative way to do hand wash for women's feminine wear and baby clothes.

hi all:
been sick for last 2 days..having fever, dunno if its due to engorgement or wat..better today...anyway my ms dropped tremendously fm a first pump of both sides which can fetch abt 125ml to only 40ml...these 2 days had been the same...but i did latch baby last 2 days n let him suckle for 1 hour, 30mins each..n top up with 50ml of fm...having trouble emptying the breast too n keep having the stinging sensation...

jtho:
do u feel any achy/pain feeling at the c-sect incision internally? cos i happen to feel slight aches n pain internally..externally the wound looks good...wonder if its anything to be concerned abt..

pinkdemoness,

Did u go to see a doctor? If fever is due to breastfeeding, u might have gotten mastisis. Do take note hor.. this is no joking matter. Please see a doctor when in doubt.. mummy's health is very important to for bb too!

Anyone has any idea how to reduce the photo size? Me wanna update my FB with more photos of my bb but dont know how to reduce size.. used to be done by my hb but he not ard.

asura:
me no see doctor but took panadol...nw ok liao...got hb to clear my engorgement.block ducts but think still got abit...me also wana post pics but dunno how to reduce size...

Pinkdemoness,
Pls take care! =)
Just continue to let bb suckle to stimulate the milk flow...*Jia You*

Mucus,
Sometimes i can hear it in my bb & sometimes cant. Maybe when I bring him to the PD for his 2nd Hep B jab then get the PD to check bcos currently, bb seem ok with it!

Bringing EBM out
How are you planning to bring it out? Put them in a cooler bag? Any idea where to get one?

Wintertime,
Dun worry, as they grow older, they'll definitely get better....

Handling #1
Anyone of you any problems? For the past few days, my girl is seeking much attention. She will try to hit bb's head, poke his cheek, pull his hands etc. Felt so sorry for my bb.

pinkdemoness, take care n get well soon! Drink more water and sleep more.

Grace, cooler bag can get from any dept store de. I bought the avent one during #1 time n useless. Cannot keep warm de. And mt #1 also same. He likes to beat her... How.... Sigh. When I play with him and have to walk away to attend to bb, he will scream. I already feel bad not spending enough time with bb, sigh.

btw, do all your bb sleep after latching, esp at night? Gosh, mine usually gets very awake after feeding n usually have to hold her and carry her for abt 10 to 15min to wait for her to doze off. So tiring..

feeling ultra depressed, seriously considering whether to stop my ms.

i hv very bad blocked ducts. the pain radiated up my arm yest and finally i decided to go see a lactation consultant at KKH for a diagnosis. tat's when i realised my blocked ducts is very bad, affecting half of my left breast and stopping the milk flow. the lactation consultant squeeze my nipples and breast to get the ducts opened and it was so so painful. unfortunately, it's not possible to clear all the ducts at one go and i'm supposed to do the squeezing on myself before each pump. tried it at home 4 times since came back and it's so painful. my arm still hurts, my breasts and nipples hurts like hell and my emotional state is way down... the left breast is still stuck and half of it felt so foreign to me, no wonder i can't sleep on my sides.

worst is that the lactation consultant said i hv some infection that could turn into mastitis if not cured so ask me go c gp to get antibiotic. gp gave one type and i was taking until hb decides to check on internet if is really safe for bf, turns out that could be bad side effects for bb. so decides to play safe and not feed bb with milk expressed. but the antibiotics is for 7 days course, means 7 days i can't even hv any single bm for my bb. i dun hv any excess bm expressed so he's really hv to go without bm. i feel so sad over it.

i oso hv pre-existing lumpy breasts and the lactation consultant said this will make the blocked ducts come back even if cleared this time. it's already the 3rd time i hv blocked ducts. am not sure if i can take the pain. so far in my 3 wks+ of confinement, i'm spending 80% of my time a day on bm issues, pumping, crying, massaging and trying to eat/drink more food for bm, trying to rest. it's so unbalanced and i'm not spending enough time with my bb! once cl goes back next fri, i'm not sure i want to spend time with bm issues and just leave bb with mil. i want to take care of my son myself! but if i cont to insist on bf, my time is likely to still be with bm issues. i dun tink my blocked ducts cases will truly goes away. even after all the squeezing and pain by the lactation consultant, my breasts still feel so hard and painful. and the pain up my arm is not gone too. hb is very very upset and want me to stop bf. he tinks my focus on bm is haywired, causing me to overlook the other impt issues of being physically and emotionally with our son. i broke down and cry so many times over bm issues and i hv to agree with him that this does not seems correct. yet, i'm so reluctant to give up bf. my heart aches to tink of my son without bm.

what shd i do, mummies? r my focus wrong? i worried that if i cont, i will really go into depression coz now tink of bf and bm, i will just cry. my tears just keep dropping and i feel so wretched. can't sleep, keep thinking abt this and still can't decides if i shd just cont and see what happens next or just stop bf. if cont, later cl goes off, what shd i do? how to persuade hb to support me still? he made it so clear that his limit is reached and i know it's coz he's so worried abt me. i'm worried and scared too. if i want to stop ms, can cold cabbage helps? can it solves my existing blocked ducts too? it's so painful i'm going crazy partially from the pain too. wat's the correct decision to make? does bb needs bm more or does he need a mummy who's able to be physically, mentally and emotionally with him? tink bb can sense my rollercoaster emotions, he kept wanting to cry when i touch or carry him. i feel so sad tat i'm affecting him too...i dun want to go into depression!

jtho, asura,
- can mdm rokiah helps? wld she be able to clear my blocked ducts once and for all? asked hb to let her come try, he refused. said we try so many things, he bot dual pump for me and spend past 3 wks counselling, patting me when i cried and going to hospital. wants me to accept no more bf. bb latched on for 10 mins yest then refused my nipples again. my heartache can't seem to stop. i dun know what else to do or to fight for. i feel so lost.

bluebell,
it cld be blocked ducts. get it seen quickly. i dragged for over a wk, tot it improves by itself then came back and now affects half my breast and hving infection. no fever cld still hv infection, i hv no fever or other signs except the pain on breast and arms.

padi,
i try to latch but bb dun want my nipples now. 3x10mins each side i do everytime i pump which is 6-7 times a day. now wondering if to stop bm, how do i stop it instead. feel so wasted all my past week efforts on power pumping and seeing ms increased gradually. like everything done is juz gone down the drain. so heart pain.

mooniie,
that's how my blocked ducts feel. no matter how i squeeze or massage, milk doesn't come out coz i tink we can't press hard enuff or on correct spot. the lactation consultant press until milk came out but back home, i can't hv the same effect again.

teddybaby,
my bb had rashes over his whole body. i tot was heat rash, saw PD and she said is coz bb allergic to something. will clear up on its own n quite common in bbs. she ok our using jin yin hua to bathe bb. just buy jin yin hua from medicinal hall, boil with water and dilute with bathing water to bath bb. my bb rashes are slowly improving and going away. she said no need use cream coz of not much use and such creams generally with steriod, not good for newborn bbs.

prosper,
why cannot combine bm of diff temp? i always add freshly expressed bm to fridge bm to make up 100ml per bottle. been doing tat for past 2 wks, will it harm bb?

pinksorbet,
my bb had BCG on 1st day. now seeing a very good PD at SK, rivervale mall. we saw her only once but found her very detailed, patient and nice. much better than our original PD at SBCC who is always so rushed. no harm just bringing the bb to the PD for a consultation and advise.

pinkdemoness,
better chk out your fever, no joke if is blocked ducts coz cld hv infection then will be worst...

sung, i understand wat u have been going through. me too, had the same ordeal even at one pt, my hb asked me to stop bfing.. say it's too taxing on me.. I cried many times trying to establish my ms, my life went haywire.. everyday, i am worried abt bfing, pumping, latching.. so tired that I can hardly rest.. my hb was so upset seeing me like that and persuaded me to give up bf. me too, wanted to give up, but so heartpain if i let go. in the end, i still pull through.. now 6 wks, but seriously, i wonder how long i can tahan bfing.. not as if I have abundance ms. mine was jus enough nia.
don't worry too much and don't stress urself. try to persist on first, if really it's getting u down and depress, tell urself, top up with FM.. little or partial bm is better than none.
whenever u r depressed, come online and talk to us.. i always feel better cos I know i aren't alone

sung,

pat pat.... give mdm rokiah a try.. $58 per session. She mentioned that bad cases need abt 3 sessions. I also went to lactation consultant and kena same thing as u.. got to massage on my own and stuff.. was very upset too.. i wished i got mdm rokiah earlier.. i feel so much better
of course, after she is done, we still need to follow up with massage on our own on and off. For me, i took 2 sessions... now still a bit lumpy but at least not so blocked already.

sung,

forgot to add that the session with her is not painful at all.. and i think she does a better job than the lactation consultant... do try her out

oh yah.. my bb was also rejecting my breasts due to the slow flow from blk ducts.

sung
poor thing... ya, like Asura mentioned, give Mdm Rokiah a try. i heard from my CL, cos she was watching how Mdm Rokiah massaged for me, that Mdm Rokiah is better than going for treatment in KKH, which one of her previous client went. at KKH, i understand from her that it will be very painful. but with Mdm Rokiah, it is really very comfortable and not painful at all. u can try out 1 session first, if u r ok with her, then call her for next session.
remember u r really not alone, i also spent 80% of my time addressing bfing and bm issues. during my first 2 weeks, i cried so many times also. hb cried with me also when i was in hospital until the nurse manager and lactation consultant got to come in to counsel both of us. i told my hb that i will not give up any little hope i have. due to this, i am extending my CL 2 weeks, her last day suppose to be next wednesday. i really need her to be around while i continue to fight this war.
discuss with ur hb, tell him how u feel and make him understand why u want to give bb bm. but at the same time, dun stress urself. tell urself, if u can make it, then good, if in the end cannot, at least u have tried everything u can and u r the best mother for ur child.

pinkdemoness
initially i do feel some pain at the c-sect incision internally. but now after more than 3 weeks, i dun really feel anything liao. however if u dun feel comfortable, u should go and see ur gynae.

sung...*hug*...if u r insisting on bf, naybe like other mummies say get the massage session...else just tell yrself u have tried yr best..me too cried earlier becoz of my ms...after tat i tell myself at least i tried my best n my hb is ok tat bb is taking fm...coz he says if i'm too stress, the milk tat i produced will nt be a quality milk, so wats the point?taking care of bb us really impt...true tat they can sene our sadness n reject us...tell yrself is nt as if we dun wan to bf our bb...just tat maybe we happen to belong to low ms mummies? a little is always better than nothing...my ms is also getting very low...n i'm trying to ltach or pump whenever i can nw...cheer up k! after cl leaves is another big challenge...take in deep breath, jiayou!!

sung,
don't be too stressed over this bf issue. i'm sure many mummies here have either struggled with the same thing or will come to it. my hb also commented the same thg... tt we shd be emotionally stable n to spend more time wif bb rather than freak over bf. in any case, maybe u can give mdm rokiah a try, esp since you have come so far. many of my frenz commented tt 1st mth of bf is the toughest... so just hang in there ya. if u do decide to give up totally, b sure not to tink back abt this, but to spend quality time with ur bb. all e best!

sung, hugs hugs, get more rest, and like what other mommies have suggested, I think if I were you, I would give Mdm rokiah a try. If still doesn't work to solve the problem fully, maybe can consider giving up. Otherwise u keep getting stressed over this, its not gg to do u and bb good. Feeding Fm, bathing, are also ways to bond with bb.

If u decide to stop ms, u can go back to gynae to get medication, but this medication also does not work immediately.. Also have to put up with engorgement for a few days then all be fine. Otherwise, cold cabbage can reduce ms, so perhaps u also can try that. Or, just pump as little as possible to relieve any uncomfortable feeling, the idea is not to remove milk completely anymore.

Hugs. U can go through this phase. Talk to hubby more. Get him to give u more support. Hugs.

thanks mummies. for sharing your own experiences and encouragement. i juz discussed with hb, he agreed to give me one final chance to bf, provided i go for my breast monitoring ultrasound earlier to make sure that all the lumps from the blocked ducts and massaging will not affect my pre-existing lumpy breast condition. we agreed that if no impact, i can cont bf unless i hit another bad period like dis one, then i will hv to give up. most of his leave is taken up too and he can't afford to go on such an emotional rollercoaster with me again. i can understand his viewpt so we hv reached an agreement. i just tried to call mdm rokiah too, no one pick up, will try again later. whatever chances, i'll grab first. hopefully can solve my blocked ducts, no impact on my pre-existing condition and i can cont to bf. else i will just hv to tell myself that i hv really tried my best and all options and resigned myself to giving fm. must also keep telling myself not to cry, i tink the crying makes it worst for hb to keep supporting me coz he see liao also heartpain. i'll be strong. thanks so much wintertime, asura, jtho, sg and mooniie!

thanks too cindy! hope i dun hv to stop ms, however little, i do wish to give bb some. i'll try out mdm rokiah and hope she can help me. if really cannot, and i do hv to give up bf, i'll try the cold cabbage. thanks!

pinkdemoness
i ever read that have blood still can give to baby. but some people prefer to throw away. so it's up to u ba...
during my first week, bb sucked until got blood, i also continue to let him suck with the blood... actually quite yucky but lactation consultant said no problem.

sung
don feel sad k. try mdm rokiah and see how it goes.. hugs hugs

re: hair colouring
im gg to color my hair tdy.. is it advisable to bf still or shd i pump out whole day milk to dump away or ??

sung,

*hugs*
Try sending Mdm Rokiah an sms. She might have gone to KL to do massage for her clients there. She would response to sms. Tell her it is urgent, she is most likely to give u the earliest slot possible.

I remember there were some posts on heat rash a while back. Anyone recall what to do with heat rash? My gal got heat rash ard her neck. I see her so poor thing even though she never complain.

pinkdemoness:
BM got blood can still give to BB on, no worries

Reira:
BB sleeping with CL. But if needs to latch for feeding, she will bring to me.

Thanks Ivy. Miss83,
I posted my birth story sometime, u prob missed it, its a looong story. To cut long story short, naural failed cos dilation very little and waterbag got abit of meconium already, else could have tried to induce longer. When they up the induction drip, BB heartbeat no gd. So either way I'm stuck. C-sec via epi failed cos when Dr Adrain tested on me b4 starting surgery, I could still feel pain despite them pumping lots of epi till i shiver. So end up GA lor. Bad experience! And also when I going to regain conscious, I was like suffocating cos i could feel that I'm forming at my mouth...then hear the docs say I'm foaming too.

Heat rash cream:
Think I ask b4 and not sure if i missed anyone's reply. Any mummies using off the shelf heat rash cream for BB that is more natural? the one PD gives contains steriod and she says can't use too long

Post natal blues:
Think I also ganna. First was the few days back home. Then last 2 days also feeling down. Don know whether can cope next time and how I have no time for any other thing except BB and milk producing..Then also pissed by my MIL cos she came to visit EVERYDAY around lunch time...so far ok, but last 2 days, BB pattern change and she came at the time BB juz finsh feed and abt to sleep...then she kept talking to him and laughing. Hinted to her, tot she got it, but then she didn't. After she left BB never sleep for the whole pm and I also can't rest cos hear BB cry
And when BB don sleep they get hungry very easily. Grrr, cried several times yday and told my hubby pls ask her mum not to come today, can't take it.

Latching:
ANy mummies so comfortable so latching that they very relax and can even go abt doing their own things while latching? Any tips to share?For me, Once BB latch on, I don even dare to move cos scared he will unlatch. So end up very tense and stiff. My nipple has recovered, but then yday, my boy damaged it badly again and its bleeding

Btw,
any mummies lochia getting less heavy, then suddenly for a few days it gets heavier? Today is day 13 for me. Started getting heavy yday again. CL says its due to eating tonics, but says its gd to clear

teddybaby
what tonics did you eat? you take black fungus? yah it is good to clear it.
for me at days 10 the flow is very heavy when i change from sleeping to seating position and i told dr adrian about it he give an injection.

today you going to see right? may check with him

teddybaby/ivy - my lochia did get heavier when i receive massages, also the black fungus will clear the blood, hence greater blood flow. its my 4th week, and i am wearing pantiliners...

sung - so sorry to hear of your experience, i just had developed fever due to engorgement and blocked ducts, i completely stopped latching on, as bb is too impatient and simply unable to get the milk out from the breasts. 2 days ago i did comtemplate getting either the massage lady to come back to relieve the engorgement or see a lactation consultant. but nevertheless, i tried to massage the breasts again, with a hot water bottle, squeeze(waste) every droplet out, coz the purpose is not to provide milk now, its to relieve mummy's pain. it took almost an hour, and every pumping session is so ever tiring for me. now i feel slightly better, but i will still monitor for a while. for me, i would say look for the massage lady first...they really know how to massage to relieve the engorgement...

wintertime/prosper - i have also started caring for my gal alone since yesterday, so far the experience has been pleasant...let her listen to music that i enjoy...hopefully she knows how to appreciate too.

mummies - last night was terrible, between 9-11pm, the bb cried non stop, unable to complete her feed, she was very very frustrated, hubby took almost 2 hrs to calm her down. we suspect its the pigeon peristaltic nipple too small for her to suck? anyone experience the same thing? ont thing i notice, its always that same timing that she acts this way....

Seems like alot of us all become owl le haha all log in at midnight de haha.

Later I will be having massage with mdm rokiah
Yoking about low MS I think I am the worst of u all every pump if I pump 3 hr onli gt 20ml lesser for both side if I were to wait till 6 hrs than pump at least will have 40ml better so reali envy u all. About food I have try to eat whatever I can but nothing seems to work today already day17 still the same.

caca
you are not the worst. is me, nothing at all.

your situation just like me when i am having my first baby

Ivy
How come will dun have le I think mine Is worst le y will dun have did u pump ?Or ask ur gynae.When u have #1 also like me now than did u BF in the end manage to increase milk flow

anyone hear have post natal blues or encounter post natal blues before...???..my sis oso has a mar 09 child...currently still on confinement ending tomorrow...i am quite worry about her...she keeps saying she regretted having this child...life is only she and bb after she give birth...and keep crying....i am really worried for her...dunno her post natal to what extend...but yest, went i visited her, she cried and told me she dun want her child already...etc etc...say she really not use to having a child....not use to nite feeding...not use to keep on latching her...etc...etc....any advices from new mummies here? can advise or any cousellor to recommend?....

caca
i came back from hospital nothing come out at first wk, so i get a malay massage to help thought that i hv block duct. after massage the breast is soft and she told me i hv short nipple and also very little hole at nipple. its going to be difficult.

i told gynae, he said its ok if i cant breastfeed......

i thinking i didnt pump at all since i see no flow.....

my first one only on/off pump out 20ml and stop after 1 mth

Long time haven't post! Really have little time to read and write these days, don't know how you gals manage your time so well! Pei fu!

Time flies, it's already April! Congrats Sun and all the mums who's popped!

Guess we are all on the same boat with regarding BFing. Not easy at all. But I just try and take everyday at a time.

Just wanna share my own BFing story.
From day 1, I've been latching bb on most of the time as I feel she's the best pumper and plus she knows how much is enough as I feed on demand. I only pump when bb sleeps longer than 3 hours or feel engorged. To date, I can pump around 130ml from both breasts each time in less than 10 mins. This way I don't stress myself out too much. I'll feed her EBM once or twice a day usually after she has a long sleep thinking she may be more hungry than usual. But I never EBM feed her the full required amount, ie, more than 45ml. So if she needs more BM, I'll latch on to top up. I work round the clock for her so I try to catch some ZZs or do other housework only when she sleeps. My dear mum just concentrates on the confinement cooking and shopping and my hubby can concentrate on his work.

I had sore nipples for the first 3 weeks. It's finally toughen up and doesn't hurt as much.

Hope you all don't stress too much. Especially those in BFing in the first 2 weeks. MS seems little but it is enough for bb. The support system in Melbourne is really good. The midwives here came to visit me 4 times at home after being discharged from hospital and gave a lot of advice and helped clear my doubts.

My take on increasing BM:
If you are BFing, try to feed on demand and don't set a schedule. Use EBM/ FM only when you feel baby is still crying for or needs more milk and your nipples are sore and tired and you need a break. But do note excessive use of FM will reduce MS.

Get plenty of rest to boost MS.

Drink plenty of fluids, like the Longan/ Red Date/ Fish maw soup/ Green Papaya and Fish soup/ Milo.

Try not to stress, I know it's hard, but that's not going to help increase flow. Be patient, BM will come when there is demand. Try not to be discouraged by what others say.

jtho/asura
Am also flying soon with bb. We're going back on SQ to Singapore for a week in May to visit. Am worried about the 7hr flight back and bb only less than 2 mths. Hope she'll be fine travelling on board. You both have a long flight. Must take care, ya?

moomoo, glad that you are having pleasent time with ur precious one.. my boy is still sleeping, once he wakes up later, going to b another long day for me.. but i am super happy cos it's friday!!! this means next 2 days, my hb will take over most of my chores!! yippee..

caca, Ivy, continue and keep on pumping or latchin on.. drink more fluid and hopefully your ms will increase.

happygal2

i hv a friend hv this problem also a few year back and now she still on medication. encourage your sis to see her gynae and they will refer a specialist to her.

i guess the route to sucessful BF is really not easy.. For me, intially I was v upset about my MS but now, i take a step at one time and try not to feel too guilty. I think as mothers, we hope to give the best to our darlings. But if it becomes too overwhelming, we may slip into post natal blues which is worse.

thx mummies for the advice....i really hope she will feel better soon...she got too many worries...worry this and worry that...supply little oso stress...getting up to feed oso stress....etc...etc...finding a bbsitter oso stress...haizzz...

Ivy
think I like ur #1 lor maybe after 1 month cant BF le.How freuent u pump how to see if little holde le dun understand. no milk

Wintertime
Thanks hope will increase after I do massage later.Hope ms rokiah can help

HappyGal
I don't know how to help your sis, but I can understand her stress. Me as a FTM was never quite prepared for the actual thing even though I've been waiting and reading up advice all this while. Do tell her it does get better with time. When I feel down, I always keep telling myself it's about giving bb the best that I can offer her and just say to myself, keep things simple, it's soon pass and all this feeding, changing diapers, bathing, will all be a blur... this keeps me pressing on everyday.