(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Wintertime, u take care oki? Dun overtired urself, for me I am losing my voice these few days also due to lack of zzz.....
Ya lying down to feed my gal is a relief of hand aching hehe :p

Lying down to feed baby:
Gals, think u all tip the nipple 1st to ur bb's mouth and tease them, I will drip some milk and wet my gal's lip and she will open her mouth, once they open mouth, then slowly let them suckle the whole nipple and push aerola till the mouth position same as when u carry them...hope u all knows wat I mean :p

Irene u take good care also

I am still taking my gynae vitamins like calcium, vit c and fishoil to maintain the immunity.

Scrumpee..oh ur bb gt referral for hearing test? One side or both sides...u observe while u and other ppl talking to ur bb and see if the eyes or head will follow and respond, if ur bb is...then dun need to worry lo

Re: Breastfeeding

Breastfeeding on my right breast is so hard cos my right nipple is bigger than my left one....then my bb doesn't like my right nipple....even i tried latching him on he will wail and cry loudly...its so sad...

then hb oso not that supportive...he said since i can't feed on my right, wat for force it upon bb...he said i can feed on my left already v good liao....

then i cried lor....like so demoralising...

pinksorbet, don't be discouraged. continue to try your best, I'm sure you and bb will overcome this prob. don't cry. Press on!

I am gg to go out today! Robinsons, here I come! With both #1 and #2. Hope I can manage, shall be a test for me Haha...

missycandy, tilt her head upwards a bit so that she can breathe.. when my bb latch on me, her face is not "perpendicular" to my breast, a bit tilted upwards.

Queenie, thanks for concern.

mangogal, yes, lying down position allows us to catch up with some sleep.. but it wil be best if he can sleep throughout the whole night without waking up for his feed.. hahaha..

pinksortbet, aiyo.. my left breast is bigger than my right.. now i try to keep latching bb on my right one instead.. so unsightly leh.. don't be demoralise.. keep on training your bb.. perhaps you can try alternating.. latch on ur right nipple, when bb fust, switch him over. once he's calm down, switch him back again..

I am sooo glad today is sat.. cos hb is at night.. he's helping me to take care of the little rascal so that I can get some rest.. At least i can find some time to express my milk.. else at the rate bb is drinking, he's going to deplete my freezer reserves in no time...

Feed interval
Can I check with u all. when we say 2-3 hrs of interval betwn feeds.. do your start counting when u first started feed the bb or when bb finish his feed? hope i don't confuse u all.. say for eg, if bb start drinking at 10am and finish at 11am, do you anticipate his next feed to be at 1pm or 2pm??
for my case, my bb will wake up at 1pm for feed. so which means that I am left with 2 hrs interval to do my stuff. if i pump my milk, wash adn sterlise, that will take an hr already.. not to mention if bb decides to wake up earlier for his next feed. that leaves me not much time for my own activities!!!

Wintertime, so fast getting bb to sleep througH? Cannot one la Haha. My #1 only zzz through at 10months. so for this one, I also hope the same, or sooner, don't get my hopes high so quickly. You can get a book by gina ford, the complete sleeping guide for contented little babies. If u follow the schedule to pump, play, sleep, latch, bath, u may be able to train him. I tried but I can't really follow strictly.. Haha. My friends, they did and they swore by it. Haha. And their kids can zzz through as soon as 1 month old.

Idarshad, congrats!

Pinksorbet, dont be sad..maybe can give your baby your right breast first so that he more hungry and will feed on your right breast..

At least you can bf, now I totally EBM and top up with FM if not enough. I now expressing around 100ml and each time baby feeds on 50-60ml..

Sorry I want to rant about my CL: I caught her always giving him 30ml EBM and 30FM at night cos she wants to sleep longer when I have expressed enuff EBM.. So angry..that she always try to wake baby up nearer to night time to let him drink FM so that he can wake up less, I was so pissed that I paste a big message on the milk powder tin: 'pls let my baby consume all my EBM b/f u touch this tin'.. Somemore she so pretentious, always say 'you sure u enuff ebm, give fm lah' or gloatingly said 'now u still got energy to express milk, but u will drop hair by 3rd mth'.. In front of my MIL, she will keep saying that I so hardworking, always wake up at nite to express milk... Urghhh, 1 week only & I cannot buay tahan her, cant wait for her to leave..

Wintertime, feed interval, I count it as the time bb start her feed. 10am start drinking, the next time should be ard 12 to 1pm! If 2 to 3 hrly.

Cindy, ya.. my friend can get her kid to sleep throughout at 2 months old. so i was wondering if I can try out too.

cindy - ya each time i see my little one i tell myself to press on....haiz....enjoy yr shopping trip gal...

winter - i try alternate but each time bb is on my right breast he will wail and cry loudly...his hands become so stiff that when i tried to move its tough...cos his hands are blocking his way to my nipple....yesterday he kept crying that i jus told my hb to take him out to feed EBM through bottle instead...cos i hear him cry for milk i so heartpain....then i myself burst into tears....

vivien - i tink sooner or later i may jus feed total EBM instead of latching....yr EBM is not enough for full feeds? i oso pump around a 100ml range each time and my bb oso feeds at around 60ml...same as u...but can last him throughout the whole day...my CL onli feeds him FM at night...

sorbet, maybe don't wait till he is so hungry perhaps he be more willing to latch? Jia you! Don't stress up. Still continue to latch if u can to increase ss lo..

for the immunisation, checked with KKH, their 6-in-1 package is priced at $400 (before gst) with 3 jabs (from 2nd month onwards) and PD consultation after each jab.

they do not have 5-in-1 package. for 5-in-1, they suggest going to polyclinic.

anybody went with KKH for their 6-in-1 package?

Hi I've yet to update my details..leh..
can i update?

NIck-Strawberrys79
EDD-22 march 09
ADD-08 march 09
Baby's Name- Tan Hong Yi
Gender of baby - Male
WEight-3.22KG Length 52cm
Born at Eastshore
Natural w/o Epidural

pinksorbet, i try to let baby have ebm everytime it's ready, so it is not sufficient at the moment as i just started expressing milk 3 days ago.. over time, hopefully i hv sufficient ebm to meet his increasing demand.. yes, i'm aiming for total ebm and maybe latch on occasionally if my baby allows me...

pinksorbet,

Me have same problem as u leh.. my bb dont want to latch on.. i get very depressed some times when i got to feed, then pump and sterilise and end up with no time to nap. Oh yah... i find that if i am tired and never take nap, my MS would drop. So now trying to schedule sleep for myself at least once a day.. but until now still unsuccessful leh..haiz..

Vivien,

I really pei fu u for tolerating ur CL. I almost fired my CL after 3 days.. but think she got news of my intention and quit on her own accord.
Though it is very tough for me now trying to cope with confinement and looking after bb, i am actually happier. Heh..

pinksortbet, but at least u don't have to worry abt ur milk supply.. tt's very gd liao.. compare to me, i am still working real hard to keep up to my boy's demand.. stress.
try to get "immune" to bb's cry. beginning i am also like you.. but soon, i m now used to it. sometimes when i get so fed up, i just left him cry in his bed for 5 mins before i pick him up again.

pinksorbet
don be sad. hugs!! explain to ur hb need to use both side.. if not one might big one might be smaller..
i tink im opp u.. i got diffculty latching him on my left breast.. so he will scream ... but i juz pray for patience for both me n baby.. den try again..

cindy
gd life leh.. go gai gai so soon?? kekes.. hope u can manage both travis and trishelle..:p
wow got such book one ah? can get from library mah? don wan spend $ onbooks.. haha..

wintertime
i start couunting when bb finish his feed.. not sure is it accurate or not..
u mean u pump out the excess everytime after latching on? like tt u muz be very busy everytime after feeding..

vivien
wow. why ur CL relate hair loss tgt with EBM?got link meh.. she is so duh.. why nt u keep the tin of FM with u? keke..

strawberry
congrats 2 u!!
are u june 07 bride to be frm sgbrides?

re: bb patterns
wow.really, baby will chu pattern after 3rd wk onwards..

queenie, i used to pump out excess after latch on. but i realise that bb sometimes fell asleep without drinking his full feed.. so now, i bottle feed him, then i will pump out. i can only pump after he's asleep.

That day saw someone posting about getting voucherss from bangawan solo full month cake voucher. Who is the wan organising can let me know I am interested. Pm me if possible thanks ya.

mummies, long time din come in n chat liao..still follow the thread though..coz me super busy. i realised i have lesser chance to pump milk liao ever since i'm alone with bb...coz sometimes pump halfway, bb wakes up...hiaz..rarely gt time to take a nap coz still gt to bath him, wash, sterilse, handwash his clothings..nt to mention hsehold chores...gdness, super bor eng lor!!
Asura, same thinking here...if this goes on, tink my ms will drop too...aldy low liao nw worse. latch bb, he also scream n cry...so sad..he super impatience n sometimes i tink the milk gush out if i have engorgement then choke him. =( jus nw latch him after awhile, he spit out so poor thing...

Congrats to all those who have popped recently. Me no time & energy to check forum & archives at all. I popped last Sat evening. Sigh, long labour and so much pain that I wish no one has to go thru what I had gone thru. Anyway, here's an update on my boy:

EDD: 19/3/09
DOB: 21/3/09
wt: 3.26kg

Here's my birth story:
-check into TMC to induce on 20/3 @ 11.30pm. Nurse insert tablet for induction
-next morning had breakfast. Gynae came in around 9+, check dilation still around 1-2cm. Put on drip and also antibiotics for Strep B. Broke waterbag & was told its slightly greenish in colour. Gyane said baby has passed meconium inside. Monitor CTG closely. If by 3-4pm still can't give birth naturally, may have to do c-sec. Was worried when I heard that, hope BB is ok.
-Whole morning, contraction was irregular, pain still bearable
-Think around noon time, pain starting to get more intense and unbearable, requested quickly for epi. Ask nurse to do a VE again to see my dilation progress. Still no gd. By then already hungry
-Nurse told me to me mentally prepared for emer c-sec. I was very stressed up and cried.
-Gynae came around 3+, dilation still no progress. Says to give another hr, if still can't, will be c-sec liao
-Had to go c-sec as dilation only 3-4cm by 4+pm
-Pushed to OT and choose epi. Shivering while waiting for gynae who was delivering for another BB
-Gynae came ard 5pm. He tested on me and I still feel pain, so no choice have to c-sec via GA
-Our boy born @ 5.28pm

Stay at TMC was terrible cos they having reno @ 5th flr. Was initially on 6th flr, but reno so loud that the drilling noise sounds like juz next door. Can't rest for most of Sunday until we finally got to transfer to 3rd flr. Noise was better, but still quite bad. Also feel that their food is not served hot.

Back at home, was also very stressed becos due to c-sec via GA, feel like an invalid, alot of things can't do on my own. I am lucky to have plentiful of milk supply. In fact by day 3 in hospital, I was so engorged, I needed to pump. Now I can easily pump over 100ml, sometimes almost 200ml, even after latching. But problem is engorgement and very sore & cracked nipples. My boy is also super cranky at nite. Keep crying and when I hear him cry, even though CL is tending to him, I can't sleep as well.

teddybaby, IDARSHAAD, and those who had popped
CONGRATS!

teddybaby
dun be too stressed abt your c-sect wound, i went thru c-sect too. u'll be able to walk and do things as normal very soon.
lucky for u that u have such abundance of MS. so envious of u. i am still trying all methods to up my MS. i am in my 4th cycle of 8x 24-hr cycle and also trying out power pumping, 4 - 5 times a day today. hopefully will see an increase soon.

misscandy/ qunnie

thanks ah..juz feel so down..dun wanna tell hubby also, dun wan him to worry.I juz cant control myself la, when my close frens or mum call me and ask about how i m, I also talk like wan to cry like tat..dunno why.Think myself like very miserable..Crazy me!

Pinksorbet
dun be sad also, hope all these passes by quickly and by the time we recall it, we ll juz laugh away...

teddyBB
Hugz..i also C sect with GA, didnt get to witness and go thru e real labour..i started walking only @ day 3 and now so much better le, juz tat the food and weather really pissed me off..and almost same dishes for the pass 9days...cos c sect alot of restriction.

My hubby is e only son and i know he also wanted a boy.i was wondering if my 2nd one turns out to be a gal i got to go thru a 3rd time labour, the tot of it really saden me! anyway my max is 3.

PigPig
i went thru the same as u, everytime when i talked to someone about my problem, especially during the first 2 weeks after giving birth, i also cried. even when i say prayer to my mum at night to ask her to give her blessings to her little grandson and me, i also cried. guess it's all because of our hormonal change after giving birth ba... like u said, we'll probably laugh it away when we recall it next time...

Re: Confinement Lady
my confinement will end next week and my CL suppose to leave on 8 april. i am thinking of asking her to stay for another 2 weeks while i fight the war of increasing BM supply. at the same time, i will need to start packing my place cos i am moving to my new flat end of next month. do mummies here think it is advisable for me to extend my CL's service? so far my CL is good in terms of cooking, cleaning and coaxing my baby. the things that i dun like is that she uses a lot of water to bathe baby and initially she kept commenting that i belong to those who dun have a lot of milk
that really pissed me off initially. but as time passes, and as i persevere with BF, and she sees some improvement in my supply, she changes her verdict to say that i am those whose milk supply comes later one.... duh!

jtho

haha i reall hope time files so i can laugh myself away when i think of it..but i think not so soon ba cos still gt 2nd or even 3rd one..really hope to give my hubby a boy..cos of c sect mayb 2yrs later..old already sob sob

If u need mayb u can extend ur CL for a wk or 2..till u are ready to take over if not ll be quite stressful ah

Congrats to all mummies whom have given birth these few days... Me no time to log in...
Baby having very high jaundice.. At 16.9... Rented the PEP bed from TMC to sunbath her... Tmr is the last day for sun bathing her... Hope her jaundice will go down...

BFing
Me now joining the moomoo club liaoz... Baby is now on full BM... and is drinking 80ml about every 3 hourly...

CL
My CL very good so far... She really makes the house and kitchen very clean... Sweeps and wipe the floor... Even change the bebsheets and cook for the whole family.. When my MIL and FIL are here, she also cooks for them, change their bedsheets, wash their laundry.. Does practically everything... She also takes good care of baby and cooks very well... Luckily got a CL this time, I can have a good rest and have ample of milk this time round...

Only got to discharge yesterday. my stay at Mt E has become 6D5N because of baby's jaundice.

Here is my baby boy, Darius Oh, and some updates:

DOB: 22 March 2009
Weight: 3.705kg
Delivery: C-Sec with Epidural

2295091.jpg

2295092.jpg

queenie, wah, just back not too long ago. Tired tired Haha. Got, the book very good le.... Tell u when to do all the tasks, and u just follow the timings haa. Lib don't know have or not.. I bought from kino, 29.60 I think Heee.

Just had a chat with vernice (saw someone asking abt her) Well well... let us all wish her all the best for tomorrow induce.

Hopefully she will feel contraction tonight and dun need to go thru the induce. But if yes...

Vernice - ALL THE BEST!!! U can make it for sure...

pigpig - *hugs* i believe its the hormones.. try to be happy okie? dont fall into depression.. very easy for us to go into depression becos of the changes in our life and hormones... talk to ur hubby if you can... sometimes i stil do feel like crying... but not as often as b4... b4 when i see my hubby using comp when i walk past the study room to our bedroom, i will jus auto cry and feel very upset... but now not so jialat... heh heh... at times do feel upset... wan to be more loved by him but my hb quite wooden one.. so i jus go to him n pout... then he will kiss me lor =P haaa

caca - its Asura

teddybaby - cheer up mummy! indeed lucky to have so much MS.. im stil struggling... i dont think will be able to sleep well for awhile... im lucky if i can knock out for a full hr to 2 hrs! at times i also cant sleep... toss n turn in bed.. look at baby... haii...

jtho - if u feel u need ur CL do let her knw ba... jus in case she has her own plans olredi... =)

devil - u so lucky!!! cn share hw much u paying her? maybe next time il get CL .. =P hee hee dun worrie bb will be fine as long as u leave her under the light all the time... only remove her to bathe n feed her... =) JY!

congrats blis! =)

oxgal
don worry.. is juz a passing stage.. if u gt the urge to cry den juz cry it out lor. u will feel better de.. i rem when my aunt came visit i oso cry lol.. eat dnr oso sit dwn there n cry.. as long as my family members say anithing oso can triggers my tears glands.. haha.. nw think back really feel: eh how come nw i nvr cry liao.. LOLs. HUGS HUGS u.. but of coz don cry too much, ltr eyes pain, or not enuff fluid for bb's milk.. :p

sassybaby
oh vernice overdue ah? hehe tot she deliver liao... pray for her. hope she will have a smooth delivery.. and oso her contractions to come real asap..kekes..

cindy
wow.. so late den come home ah.. hahaha.. my hb plot to bring me n baby back to wdls tml for a short while as my parents are away.. tink i btr don sneak out.. sikali my parents back and see me n bb nt ard sure nag me until donno wad .. kekes.. btr snap it out..

bliss
wow ur boy darius got chubby cheeks.. solovely..

devil
welcome hme.. so nice to be on tbf... jia u..

Hi Hi everyone,

congrats to mommies who has jus pop..

Pls update for me..=]

Jayden Toh
DOB: 26 March 2009
Weight: 3.21kg
Delivery: Natural with Epidural (double shot somemore!!!)

Birth story:

Contraction over a few days (21-25th) but not strong enough so decide to check in on 25th and induce by bursting water bag..

12.30am: Burst water bag (only 1.5cm dilation)
3.30am : Ask for epi.. (only 3cm dilation)
4-7.15am: epi finishes (only 4cm- faintz liao..)
7.15-9.30am: 2nd shot of epi (finally 9cm...Phew)
10.40am: 10 cm but have to wait for my gynae.. too busy that morning a lot of deliveries...
11.20am: Came and can see baby's crown liao...
11.20-11.46am: 3 pushes at each contraction.. and by 3rd contraction baby Jayden is out...

Sorry if a bit long winded... but advice for those who are going to TMC ... bring ear plugs, eye shade and panadol... Sigh level 5 having renovation... my head nearly split from the reno noise then the stitch pain.. Sigh

and if u asking for epi.. if ur legs and butt cramp up.. means ur epi flow too high.. can reduce abit.. more comfy and can last longer.. the nurse put mine 1st dose too high and didn'tinform me so very pain and i tot is like that... only when the dose finishes in 4hrs then i realise the reason..

congratz to all mummies dat had popped.

wintertime, misscandy, Queenie,
tx for the welcome. cant wait for tue.

bliss and mummies who had c-sect,
can chk if im gg for c-sect wif epi, am i suppose to stop eating 8hrs before opt?

Can I also ask for advice on breastfeeding..

Sigh.. can't seem to understand.. my boy latches on immediately after birth .. seems a bit pain but ok... then on day 2 the latching seems to be off..(or the frequency on day 2 is higher.. cos my mil and mom keep telling me that boy is still hungry =[ ) now 3rd day both nipples are so sore and painful when he latch.. sob sob now scare when he cries .. have given him some FM after he suckle my BM...

How do i noe if he is latching correctly??
In TMC the nurse says correct.. but yet i still feel pain and my nipples get out of shape...
my boy have milk ducts in his mouth and i have let down on the other side of breast when he suckle...

How can anyone help and advice.. feeling so so depress.. dunno if i shd jus pump out instead la.. but yet i dun wanna give up...

my mil doing my confinement so sometimes very upsetting when she keep asking.. how got milk or not.. boy suckle can feel milk or not... so so angry... sigh how i noe?? my breast not transparent...

janbebe,
make sure bb's whole mouth cover ur aerola (the black area) when he suckle. thr shldnt b any pain if his position is correct. mayb placin some a pillow below to support ur bb might help. if ur nipple is sore, apply nipple cream, its safe for bb to consume. juz ignore wat others say, do ur best n if reli too painful to BF, use FM till ur nipple gets better.

janbebe,
When you say nipple becomes out of shape after suckling, do you mean it becomes like long and pointed or long and pointed but the pointed part at one side is more than the other (on the same nipple)? If this is what you observe, it is normal and shows that baby is latching correctly.

Let down happens on both sides at the same time, just that you cannot see the let down in your boy's mouth

If this is your first baby, it is quite normal that your nipple feels sore. Reason being your nipple hasn't been "seasoned" yet. It will toughen up with time. Meanwhile, just apply nipple cream after every feed/pump to aid in faster healing.

The fact that you can see let down of milk means your milk has kicked in and you can confidently tell your mil "yes, got milk!" If your boy is making swallowing action or sound, you can tell mil that he can feel milk definite feel the milk. Don't feel too upset, ya?

congrats to mummies have popped!

teddybaby
give yourself more time, for c-section the more you walk the faster you recovered! this round i managed to sleep on left/right at the first week.

queenie, Heee, your 'jail term' ending soon eh? Don't worry, if I can handle both #1 n 2, u surely can handle tristan yourself. Today me gg back to mom place Haha..

saw sunshine last evening at amk hub.. she will be going for induction tonight at 9pm... wish her all the best and gd luck.

thanks for e hugzz. i can feel it! i know alot of us are going thru e same thing. still counting down, 20 more days to go!! cant wait to go out with hubby, even downstair for a walk..feel so smelly, dare not hug him also..lol

anyone exp this? bb shld be taking ard 90ml now, sonetimes she fall asleep after taking 30ml or so, isit ok to put in aside in a warmer bag and warm it again when she wants?cos sometimes she ll zz awhile then cry for milk again cos didnt drink enough..

pigpig - il usually put aside if she doesnt finish.. but only for 1hr.. if within 1 hr doesnt drink again then hve to throw liao... hmmm it wld be good if you can try to wake her to finish the feed and not let her fall asleep... use a cloth to wipe her face or massage her hands/feet/legs... if not, you will be feeding every hr.. very xin ku one...

Kris - u need to ask ur gynae abt fasting leh... i think need to fast but hw many hrs i duno.. hee hee... if u morning op then probably after 12midnight ba.. meanwhile eat what you can while you can!!!

queenie - envy envy!!! nvm... mine is 1wk after urs.. hahahaha =P

janbebe - dun be discouraged... my mum also kept asking if enough milk... bb hungry is it.. i jus diao her... make me so pissed only... if you can perservere, do so, if not then supp with FM... my nipples also became sore & bled... =( sore nvm... bleed liao then cnt feed the milk.. so sian... must religiously apply the nipple cream... it will get better... now i feed quite a lot of FM... becos my MS still not gd enough... i seldom latch on becos technique jus not right... sometimes il latch on jus to let her suckle... hee hee.. if not usually il pump and store in fridge... then day time will feed her... have enough for ard 2 feeds nia... the rest is all FM...

Sun - Gd luck & Jia YU!!!

misscandy

ya lo, sometimes she dun drink enough and doze off then we want to zzz liao she cry again..walau can drag for 1-2 hrs one then we ll be confused as in how much to feed later..if she can finish abt 100 ml then she can zzz for 3hrs or so.. so 1 hr is a standard time frame? i know BM cant keep, FM dunno how long ..thanks for e info ah

kris: Thanks Kris.. I did the pillow thingy but still pain... =[

pups: can u describe again which is correct?? I'm abit confuse?!?! tot the shape shd not change... but my nipple crack and have those red hard patch sigh... think it is blisters.. I try express and together only get 15ml after 15min each side!!! wah super depressing la... where got effort?? sigh with his jaundice and my mil nagging i wanna go crazy... tok to my sis also tears welling.. sigh...

Missycandy: Like you me give FM liao.. can't take anymore of the (tell u baby not enough milk) nagging... but i dun dare to use the cream cos my sis says that the cream clots her nipple and i also find it a bit thick then now sometimes i see the white milk clots...

now i really scare to think of the next pump... sigh... must i noe i have to try...

pigpig - if the milk is warmed up then 1hr. for FM also states 1hr on the tin. hmmm... ure welcome! =D

janbebe - dun apply too much cream? most of us using the purelan.. i find its okie leh... i dun see white milk clots...

FM - i actually didnt research on this which i shld have during pregnancy to prepare myself... haii.. end up after give birth no time to rekke... then chose one of the expensive ones... i didnt knw other brands of milk for NB only enfalac... gahhh... nw dunno can change or not.. worried she not used to it... haii... so no choice stuck with enfalac... friso now like very cheap lor... having promo... then s26 also cheaper... didnt knw have so many brands... wasted...