(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

not enough milk is one problem. engorgement is a killer problem. yest was my bb full mth celebration, so I was busy entertaining guests. did not pump for a good 8 hours. was so engorged, I developed a fever
so mummies, do rem to pump frequently, at least every 4 to 5 hours. I rather low ms than being engorged. really quite painful.

i came in here to see if anyone got recommendations for malay massage ladies and/or companies...
Please PM with details if you were/are happy with yours...
thanx for your help.
april thread mummie

Queenie - thanks for the infor on the jabs....me keep worrying now bb hasn't had the first jab yet...so i guess now he's relying on my antibodies thru BM...as for bf-ing i did explain to my hb...to him he thinks the milk comes from the same source doesn't matter :p one side can feed v lucky liao...aiya anyway yesterday i tried feeding on my right and it did work, but after bb screamed and wailed the whole house down for quite a while...hear him wail so heartpain scared he will have wind in his tummy...

Vivien - CL will feed my boy FM at least once at night, but mostly relied on EBM...i scared next time i stop bf-ing it won't be easy for the transition to FM, so i chose not to TBF...scared next time he cannot drink FM when i go back to work =P

Asura - drink more papaya with milk soup...it helps...eat more fish to up yr supply....tink the problem is cos u dun have CL now am i right? so things get tougher...try and get yr hb to help out....hugz...jia you ok...!

Wintertime - I guess its wat all mothers go thru...having to bear their babies cries...then feel so heartpain and wanna carry them...for me i jus scared he cry too much until kanna colic or wind in his stomach...haiz...tink sometimes babies bully us lor...know they cry they can get our attention :p

Mangogal - thanks gal...both my breasts sorta unbalanced in MS now...my right one yields more supply than my left :p now lazy to pump every two hourly or after latch on...will jus pump four hourly or sometimes later....v tired to keep pumping...i oso onli wake up once in the middle of the night to pump

Oxgal - now i oso cry for no apparent reason...i sing to my boy i oso cry cos i recall how i used to sing to him when he was in my womb...i guess i'm jus being silly...dunno leh, cannot stop the tears...hormones i guess....

moomooland - ya engorgement realli hurts....my left breast was pain this morning...so i go pump out the milk and felt much better

haiz my tooth is hurting again..i developed this tooth problem during my pregnancy, after having the root canal and crowning treatment done, the pain was gone and i could drink and eat happily, then now after i deliver the pain is back now during my confinement...i have scheduled to go for a dental appointment tomoro...hope its nothing serious since it hurts again....dunno its my unlucky stars or wat...thought my tooth already healed liao and no problem but i was wrong...sighz!!!

Hi ladies, I hav finally popped on 26 March...@ 857am.
Details will share another time. Confinement period no joke...hot like anything...

NIck-Tusky woollie
EDD-31 march 09
ADD-26 march 09
Name- Abel
Weight-3.265 Kg

Mode of delivery ~ Natural with epi
The entire delivery process was around 1/2 hr. On 25 Mar 2am...i was admitted to e hospital due to bloody show...by the time the nurse checked on my V, I oredi 5-6cm dilated!!!!!! Horrors...still thot itz BH contractions...

Anyway bb a very cooperative one but oh man, his appetite is enormous...had my 1st bout of post natal depression last nite...hope things get better each day...

Take care for those going to pop...take time to rest too. Confinement is supposed to b rest for us...

Catch up next time!

think i'm also having very low supply of bm..n bb wont latch on me liao...cos i came back fm tmc with sore n cracked bleeding nipples..couldnt pump too n resorted to fm... then can only pump abt twice per day totalling abt 140ml nia...1st pump abt 100ml then 5hrs ltr another 40 nia...any tipos fm mummies who has plenty of supply? i only feed bb at once during his feeding time if i have sufficient ebm, else its fm...so disappointing...tried e power pump but usually after 2 switch, ms no more but breast still feels nt fully emptied...how how how?? stressed...

teddybb:
me same delivery exp as u..bb poop when waterbag burst but my csect was decided within 10mins...

Any mummies out there giving FM to your bb? I've been giving my bb 90ml FM and it seems that it can only last him for 2 hrs & he will wake up again for his feed. Had tried increasing to 105ml but he still won't go to sleep after his feed.

My boy is beginning to be terror now. He wakes up every 1.5 - 2 hrs for his feed in the nite, sleep for 30mins and wail again. He has been up for his feed at 8am, wail again at 9+, bathe him & feed him at 10am & he's still wide awake & demand attention by wanting to carry. Even after carry, he's still unsettled.

jasmin - seems like many bb demands to be carried until they sleep, they cannot sleep on their own. we're havin the same problems too..

pinkdemoness - how many days have you been bfing? for me, ms seems to increase slowly, depending on how fast you empty the milk from the breasts. i had relatively good ms 500ml for 1 day, currently 4th week. i am not on total bfing, coz i dont want to stress myself too much. sticking to 4 EBM feeds a day..that's my quota. If 5, then very good.

moomooland:
bb is nw 10 days old n i started bf only on the 24 mar...cos first 2 days latch bb too long n nipples bled, sore, cant even pump...plus mine manual pump so more tough...my best pump was ystdy where i got only 110ml for both sides for 30mins...then like no more milk liao though i know still have cos when i press can c milk flowing...just cant express it out...

jasmin:
my boy also takinh abt 90ml fm/bm for each feed...lasted him abt 3hrs...night feeds only when he cries...but he quite punctual...initially gave 30ml only then within these few days increased to 90ml liao...

btw mummies: when does growth spurt start?

pinkdemon - have u tried massaging ur boobs really really hard? squeeze like no tomorrow? it does help... i squeeze til my boobs blue black... but when i do that, cn see the milk squirt out... so i jus tahan... but ur MS not bad. my highest is ard 60-70mls both breasts okie! haa... anyway im not giving up hope... now i pump after my baths... day & night... =) no matter how little the supply, il store in the fridge.. usually will combine 2 EBM for 1 feed... its better than nothing... =)

Jasmin - im giving FM 2hrly... depends on my bb's mood on the amt.. sometimes i make 90mls... she finishes.. sometimes she doesnt... so nw i make ard 70-80mls... so i dont waste so much formula.. i also realise that cant make it too thick.. like for enfalac they say 30mls 1 scoop... but bb doesnt like it.. .so i will make ard 80mls 2scps plus a bit more... dn she will drink... probably she prefers thinner fluid.. but too thin she also doesnt like it.. -_-" trial & error ba... initially wasted a lot of FM.. becos she doesnt finish must throw within the hr... slowly get her pattern then okie... have u tried Ru yu oil? ive tried it and nt sure if it works but she does sleep a bit better... i think bb is either going thru growth spurt or jus being a baby lor... my kirsten also lidat for a few days... every hr wake up n cry... wah i wanted to go crazy!!! and it always happens wee morning... from 3plus 4plus.. all the way til 7plus or 9plus... very frustrating... slowly they will grow out of it...

i also realise that baby likes to sleep on the bed with us.. she doesnt like to sleep in her own playpen -_-" she sleeps better on our bed... plus she likes to sleep close to me... so im usually squashed to one corner.. @#@$##@#@$ like this morning.. i turned my back to face the outside... then dunno how she managed to move herself to snuggle behind my back... i wanted to turn... lucky hubby also woke up and moved her away... hahahahahah... and boy does she kick! she likes to kick so much... her kicks damn powerful la... sometimes i put her on my lap.. she kick my boobs damn painful -_-"

me so tired of BF and wanted to give up..but only at week 2..

felt guilty as my MS is enough for bb and i wanted to end this..sigh.

anyone of u have enough MS and still give up and give FM instead.

mummies:
can i check with u smth? if i pumped only 40ml for this round, must i keep it away or can i put them together if i pump agn 3 hours later? can we mixed the ebm if pumped at different timings?

Pinkdemoness,
Dun be too anxious. Have you tried hand expressing? Becos this will help to clear/empty the breasts. As wat Missycandy say, having little EBM is better than not giving any at all...! Most importantly, dun feel guilty to give FM. You can make use of this time to build up your supply. =) *Jia you*

ST,
Why do you want to give up? It's fortunate that you hv sufficient BM for your baby....just take things easy and try to rest if you're too tired. You'll realised later that there is definitely a lot of benefits of bf-ing when your baby grows up!!! *Jia You...dun give up*

As some of you may remember, I havent really latch bb since he's discharged from NICU becos he has coordination problem between sucking & swallowing. So PD recommended bottle feeding so as not to confuse him. Have started latching him the past few days (1 to 2 times a day) and I'm glad to share that he's doing a great job @ emptying the breasts. SO mummies, if little Ryan can do it, your babies are able to do it to! *Jia You*

misscandy
haha ur gal so cute. mine also always kick kick when she wants to wake up.

jasmin
maybe he dun get enough? sometimes my gal dun get enough after awhile ll wake up and cry then drink bit bit then wake up again..can last few hrs..so i try to really feed her full full, sometimes u make more they dun finish,really wasted but no choice

st
I always pump abt 2-3 times a day and feed BB EBM cos i wanna track how much she drinks, only latch on when she had 'finish' her normal feed and still cry. why are u giving up? mayb u can give EBM so not so siong lo.
At nite i ll give FM

we seldom carry BB till sleep, scare it become a habbit. TOUCHWOOD ah...

grace, pigpig
cos it's really really tired with the pumping and latching on. plus if i want to sleep longer also cannot cos have tp pump out the milk..having really little sleep.
trying hard to tahan as long as i can.

my bb's unbilical cord dropped off ystdy but still have tinges of blood stains..have been diligently dapping with cord spirit to dry it faster...

missycandy:
i didnt squeeze it very hard but during pumping, i will just surpress with other hand n can see the squirts but only a while then its gone agn...can still feel the stinging sensation after pumping, so i guess breast nt emptied fully yet...though soften alittle but still painful...my ms not gd leh...its only one pump that yields that 80-1900ml leh...

i just pump after 3 hours n got only 40ml...wana make it to 80ml so can feed bb during his next feed but guess not enough le...his next feed is ard 5 plus...n my milk like not flowing liao...

EBM:
btw do u gals warm the ebm before feeding baby? i mean those that are just pumped out or maybe 1-2 hours at room temperature? i got so much queries cos really hope to be on total ebm cos bb dun wana latch after i bottle feed him due to my bleeding n cracked nipples on the 1st 3-4 days...i thought i will only depend on fm a little but now already half a tin gone n its only like 4 days cos i purchased on thurs...haiz...

i also cried for no apparent reason when hb left for work...not bcos bb was hard to handle or wat but just felt so empty n cried so much...

grace:
i tried hand express but wont squirt leh, just droplets lor...or maybe i dunno the technique...really tks for yr pump, cos without it, i think i would have given up bf le...

pinkdemonese - yes you can combine different timing EBM within the day together.

st - why do you want to give up? what kind of stress are you facing? its a god given that you have enough ms...some of us struggle to make EBM hehe...

did you read the titles of formula milk tin? the first line writes Breast Milk is the best for bb.

moomooland
maybe becos lack of sleep..and mentally very tired. Ya i know BM is good for bb. that is why i am still trying my best for either give EBM or latching bb on.

mummies- if you are hardworkign enough, try to do night pumps, i did it several times after night feed, around 3am, the ms is pretty good, ard 120ml...normally i can only get like 80-100 on a normal 4-5 hour interval

pinkD

i guess its ok to give after u pump ba, but mine usually after pump ll store in fridge so ll warm up before feeding. i dun leave it at room temp also.

ya after hubby goes to work, left me and MIL plus BB..feels so empty. Good thing is she ll look after BB for the whole day only at nite then zz with us.but she dun allow alot of things like after 5plus cannot bath only wipe body if i want..muz eat e same old food..haiz..muz wear pants/socks cannot get wind.muz eat hot hot food and SWEAT like pig...arghhhhh counting down man

st
mayb u juz pump and give EBM if too tired to latch? ay least something.
if not mayb more FM and less BM lo, at least give some shld be better than not at all

st - i have kinda given up on latching on, but i will try again, coz hubby just bought the breast fren haiz...anyway, yes i agree that pumpings takes away alot of our time. i also feel very sad that i have spent most of my confinement time with my mini electric instead of bb. and because of the need to increase ms, i try to pump more frequently, resulting in fatigue, and end up taking naps with the hope that it helps in ms. also, pump until finger joint pain...to the extend, cant even carry bb. this vicious cycle has to change somehow.

but i think its worth it...so persevere on! support from family helps too...i know alot of our parents era do not practise breast feeding, so they dont understand why go through all the trouble, just give formula...

if all else fails, just take it as a weight losing exercise? hehe..afterall, most of us wants to lose the extra pounds gained from pregnancy...;)

gambatte!!

st

haha i think so.FM seems to last longer but read somewhere here tat its not really true? but for my case i think juz slightly longer only la..mayb depends on BB ba

dun stress too much ah, i know u feel tired but juz do wat u can lo..

moomooland, jasmin, my boy also.. very pampered, kept wanting us to carry him...i did something bad jus now. i jus let him cry til he was tired and he slept soundly in his cot now..

teddybaby, so good u have so much ms, me still struggling towards my dream of total ebm for whole day.

pinksorbet, my baby latched on a few times these 2 days.. Am happy but still perserving in expressing bm cos I still trying my best to avoid giving fm to baby, even at night..

Read a lot of mummies more emotional..I think it's true..For me, I got even more angry easier, lost my temper when my CL in my absence (cos I was pumping milk), secretly gave my baby all my EBM (100ml) in the middle of the night so that she can give him FM. my baby only drank 60ml at that time and he vomitted halfway thru the feed. Even my mild-tempered hubby blew up when he discovered earlier the CL was using the same pail to wash my baby's diapers and used it to wash the foot cloth when we stepped on it outside the toilet. THinking of monitoring her for another week before deciding to terminate her already...

st - i understand wat u mean...now i'm lucky enough that i do not have to worry about milk supply as i do initially (now able to be able to pump at least a 100ml each round thanks to the food that my CL cooks for me to increase MS)...my CL feeds my bb EBM in the day, and i do latch on at least once every day and she will feed bb FM at night...i feel v tired to wake up in the middle of the night to pump...and will always need to force myself to wake up...the feeling is v terrible with the engorged breasts and all like every 2-3 hourly..but come to think of it even if u are on FM u will oso need to wake up in the middle of the night to feed bb, so its aka to waking up in the night to pump...this is wat i tell myself lor...

haiz...breastfeeding is not easy but at least we all try didn't we
i'm now onli in my 2nd week that bb is home that i oso think of wanting to give up bf-ing...but i tell myself its all for bb's sake...as i look at the little angel in my arms, i just cannot stop bf-ing...

Jia you to us all =)

pinkdemoness- it'll be good to massage yr breasts in between the pumping....it helps for me and i hope it helps for u too....

jia you....

same feeling with the ladies here..
sometimes feel very tired of pumping.. seems like i just pump finish, next moment needs to pump again. same with waking up to pump at night..
was telling hubby how tiring it is to keep pumping. He says i can choose not to pump but feed FM, but me feel that for the sake of bb, try to tahan... also invested on the pump le, if stop, kinda waste the money.
maybe when going back to work that time then try to train my body to stop pumping at night.

Irene - i feel like a pumping milk machine aka a milk cow...sometimes realli wanna sleep through the night and not wan to wake up and pump, but then the breasts will keep leaking, so heavy, so engorged and so uncomfortable...

haiz....dun tink i can take this when i go back to work...but since i told myself that i have invested in the dual pump i dun wan to stop oso...dunno how to pump at work...i dun tink i can bring my dual pump to work...

sighz...

St ...

Why dun you just choose 1 method and stick to it ... either latch or pump cos i find doing BOTH v stressful ... now that my bb is home with me ... i just latch him on ... and with that you can plan your schedule accordingly

pink:
i also massage my breast during pump but mine is a manual one so sometimes hand very achy to look after one breast...i squeeze until my hands cramp, boobs sore, nipple sore but only can get 80-100ml for first pump n next pump only 40ml...some more its two breast combine...very demoralising...

bathing baby:
anyone of yr baby wails during bath time? my boy screams n gets very angry whenever i put him in the water...really stress me up...

Re: bathing baby
mine is a little terror wo.. he wails during bath time, changing cloth n even changing diaper... anything to change his comfortable situation he wails..

thinks my boy is undergoing growth spurt, he's now 3 weeks old, started since yesterday, refusing to sleep.. keep waking up after 5-10 mins putting him in his playpen.. aiyo.. i knew he is very tired coz kept yawning away while crying.. aiyo.. i oso very tired wo.. i hardly sleep for the past few days liao with the best at most 6hrs of sleep in 24hrs timing.. wa if tis were to carry on for another week i think i might faint sia.. -.-"

wa.. think alot of mommies here very hardworking le.. i m a super lazy mom, most of my feeding is latched on one.. wanna find time to keep ebm as well but seem like the timing doesnt allow man.. the worst problem i m facing now with is Forceful Let-down(milk ejection reflex).. my boy always ganna choke half way while latching.. sianz.. if this were to carry on he might not be interested to latch on in future as he is already showing sign of rejection on my nipples liao..

pepper:: me also le... me also latch more, infact i am only doing exclusive latching.. when gg to work, then train body to make milk only at night so in case she needs night feed. And also, me also got forceful let down, gosh, she always choke too and gek till face red red. then when she caught her breath, she CRY loud loud till nipple is stuffed in her mouth again.. aiyo... heng thing is i haven't intro btl yet.. so hope she will get used and manage the letdown better as she grows older..

Does ur babies throw out milk even after burping?? Are they too full? Or amount of milk given is too much???

anyone of u got water rentention/swollen feet and ankles after giving birth? mine is even worse than before labour..but only my feet not my hands/fingers.

anyway..this is my 5th day..just now latched bb for 1 hour..he kept on suckling...but i didnt know how much ml he got..wonder if my ms is finally established or bb just trying to seek comfort from my breasts..but he fell asleep after that..seems satisfied enough..

grace
my bb sometimes vomit the milk after burping.
that's quite normal. i asked the PD already..and my friend's bb also like that..

grace
mine throw out milk even after burping.. i oso not sure is he full or just becoz unable to digest some of the milk tatz y threw out.. hmmm..

grace

my bb ll somtimes throw out some ,ard 1-2 mouthful. i tot its norm?

oh so alot are waking up at nite to pump?no wonder poor st says so tired! so far i only pump thrice, morning, noon and nite b4 10pm

pinksorbet, why cannot bring the pump to work? i intend to pump 2-3x in office when i go back.
actually if can latch on, its the easiest way.. dun need to waste time pump milk, sterilise, wash, etc.. too bad, Zac don't have the patience to latch on.

Bathing Baby:
Zac cry when we put him to bath also.. but these few days he didn't. Think he got used to bathing already.

oxgal, yup. my last pump of the day is 10pm. then i will wake up at 2am to pump then drag till 6+ to pump again. during daytime, i pump every 3 hours. now one day can get around 750ml total for both breasts.

irene

wow tats really committed of u..i quite lazy la so only 3 times and total maybe 200ml++ or more at times..today seems to drop and breast not engore also..dunno why

oxgal, that's why i feel so tired... lack of sleep... the feeling of giving up... keep telling myself to hang on there...

Oxgal,
Hee~ today ss seem to drop oso...oso wondering what happened? Will be getting up later to pump again then see how...Maybe din drink my milo + oats today..heee~~~

Irene,
Must hang in there...

Throwing out of milk
Hmm..so my bb is not alone. I've been giving him 120ml every 3-4hrly. SOmetimes will throw up...sometimes wont!!! Dunno why.....mayb next time after burping must sit still and let bb stay upright for some time...wonder if it'll help...

Miss83,
Did the PD say how come bb will vomit even after burping?

miss83
r u able to express milk? how much each time? I can only pump out 30 ml (both breast), very little. I had to give my son FM most of the time. Very miserable...

I need to ask some questions abt breast feeding.. It's my 5th day after birth and I really got very very little milk.. only 15 ml after pumping and my boy is always refusing to latch on.. Is this normal? How much milk should I be expecting by now?

Another thing, I will suddenly be seized with the desire to cry or become overwhelmed with sadness.. Any mothers like me?