(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Apparentl to increase MS, after no more milk flow, still leave the pump there for an extra 2-3mins. This will stimulate the breast.

Baby acne
I think it's due to heat. I'm turning on aircon for baby and not swaddling him. I think this will help.
Hehee i also notice with aircon, he sleeps longer, hehe found my weapon #2. My friend receommends weapon #3: drive around in car, but that one only applicable when he is bigger, 6-8 months, now no effect to newborns.

Pump
I find my MS comes outin spurts, the first 5 mins very constant flow. Then later i gotto squeeze while the pump is going. Then at 18th minute and 23 minute, there will be gushes of the milk. Right after the 1 min rests, i start the pump in stimulation mode (2mins) before it automatically kicks into normal pump mode. I find this helps.
i'm not sure why 18 and 23 minute, there are gushes...maybe hind milk needs to "come down" to the front in batches?

missycandy, Happy birthday!

queenie,
ya true, girl cannot celebrate on actual day. so my gal will be celebrating one week early.

anyone try to wear bk ur clothes already? most of my top become shorter and with button top all cannot button liao. Breast become bigger...i think. all my buttom cannot wear still... hai~~

prosper - eh i duno leh.. for me when i see no milk flow i wil squeeze n squeeze my boobs... then after few mins i will off the pump le.. prolonged pumping does make my nips painful...

SG , starflower - thanks =)

grace - nt bad olredi la.. hee hee..

kome - same as u lo.. im going into my 3rd week... and my supply is ard 30-60mls... depends...

queenie - ur parents opposite of mine... LOL... my dad understands more than my mum... sometimes she also keep repeating herself... and she likes to ask when bb cries is it she hungry... then i always give her -_-" face... i can be quite pantang la.. hahaha... dont like pple anyhow pass comments in front of my bb... bleah...

starflower - agree with aircon leh... bb tends to sleep better in the air con room.. but hb cnt take the air con... -_-" that day i on air con for 2 nights in a row and hubby fell sick le... so he slept on sofa while bb n i slp in air con room.. kekeke... dunno why hb cnt get used to the cold... he embraces the heat.. i detest the heat! i embrace the cold... hee hee.. can u imagine on the fan at night hb cn cover himself with the comforter but il be sweating -_-" nt sure if becos of pregnancy n nw with the heaty food... hehhe... but i knw i wil sweat with only the fan.. luckily now rainy weather...

hmmm i cn wear my pre preg tops... jus that boobs look bigger and heavier... bottoms i havent tried... haa... i wear the maternity bottoms =P

Hi misscandy

Thanks, just that my first op wasn't as bad and was so long ago so I am a bit concerned.

Btw, any mummies here asked for FM sample from PD before? Was told that they are not allowed to give cos bf is encouraged for first 6 months. However, my nipples are really sore so I gave bb some FM just now but she rejected. If I have to try out dif brands until she accept that will be a bg hole in my pocket

bluebell - i actually got FM frm the nursery when my bb discharged wor... i didnt knw there were so many brands available... toopid me... the nurse also nvr tell me.. so i opted for enfalac.. which i heard abt... and so happens is one of the pricey ones in the market now... sian lor.... but no choice...

Queenie
Mine is on 16. Luckily bb came out early than EDD, if not i will be doing confinement during my confinement already.

Missycandy
See my ms also disheartened, but will still try to pump as long as i can lor.

Prosper
I am wearing back my normal clothes already. The only thing i felt so relieve was to gain back my pre-pregnancy weight + lost abit more.

i was also advised by a professional lactation consultant to try out the 24 hour cycle.
coincidentally Asura and a friend also told me to do the same thing.
only difference is Asura told me to try just 1 cycle in order not to injure the nipples, but my friend told me to continue for 2 weeks!
so now dunno to continue or not

Jtho
Haha.....we are different by 2 days. I doing bb's full month on the 4 apr. We are not doing any buffet but just to cut bb's hair and to distribute out some cakes only.

Prosper
I understand. After giving birth to my elder son, i had to change almost all my clothes as i had put on 10kg from S size to M size. So now i am so happy that i had lose some weight. Hope to lost another 2kg can already.

jtho, I've read that article too. It works. All I do is to make sure that no matter how many pump attempts I do, I must make sure that I hit at least 750ml of milk within 24 hours. Keep doing this everyday, and I notice that my milk supply really increases.

pink
congras!!! hv a gd rest hor!!!
me still waiting to pop lei... tink my boi too comfy inside my tum tum... dun wan to come out...
keep telling him to come out fast...kekeke

jtho
not yet lei... few more days to my EDD liao...

hi Eliz, does that mean no need to latch the bb? my bb has been crying every 1-2 hour for milk and i m doing latching on, so where got so much milk to pump?

i only do pumping 1-2 times a day, the rest of the day shall be latching on. wanted to start the storage in fridge, but at the rate i m going, dunno when can really have more storage...

Eliz
good for you! how long did you do to hit 750ml in 24 hours?
i just started yesterday 6pm, till now just 24 hours and only yield about 320ml, means each time only about 40ml. dunno how long it will take me to reach 750ml in 24 hours

sunshinebaby
baby prefers to stay in... maybe he doesn't want to stress you too soon... kekeke... not like us, we are all stressing about taking care of bb, bfing, etc, etc... like now, i can only come in when i am pumping

misscandy ...

u will appreciate the convi of latching on once you start bringing him out ... cos i can feed anywhere anytime ... no need to bring milk out or rush home to pump

for my #1 its q good ...

this round at Day 7 - managed to get out abt 60ml to 80ml per pump every 3 hr ... he was drinking abt that amt when i visited him in the hospital last night

Keron&Jeris ...

For a start just latch on or pump to meet bb's dd is good enough ... i only started storing 2 weeks before i went back to work ... its takes abt 6-8 weeks to establish the supply

SeaBreeze
so lucky for u that u are able to meet bb's demand... for me, my bb is like a water buffalo, even after drinking 100ml of my EBM, he will still cry for more milk 1 hr later. so will have to give him about 40ml of FM. and then another 1 - 1.5 hrs later, he cries for milk again. i think he need about 110 - 140ml each feed which will last him about 3 - 3.5 hrs. and i can only pump 40ml every 3 hrs

sunshinebaby, i know how u feel coz my boy almost week 40 still not out yet ... u're almost there, can see baby soon
so excited for you

Oh, didn't know bb boys need to do on actual day but actual day is thursday, ayah, nvm liao, this sunday is "earlier" so can liao la...hehee....

didnt know pumping too much will hurt nips. no wonder my right nip feeling a bit sore. To prevent sore nips, i read we put some BM on it. So wheneve its the 1 min break, i put some on the entire nip to prevent friction w the flange...Eliz thanks for the tip, then i wouldn't keep track of the time so tight. I still try to do every 3 hours but find it really tiring, i prefer 4 hours interval & constantly worry that i will miss 1 pump session at that rate. So i'll just keep track of that 50ml mark will do *phew,less stress w this news* To be honest, i find this whole breastfeeding experience very complicated. If we total breastfeed exclusively, every 1-2 hour or so, baby needs to feed. Then we mummies suffer & dont get to sleep, esp middle of the night. Not to mention eventually still have to pump out the excess in the breast w baby did not finish so that breast can be empty and produce MS faster. But if we pump out exclusively, we can measure how much baby is exactly drinking per 3 hourly interval and this gives us some "rest time and freedom" but this means we may have difficulty increasing/maintaining our MS unless we keep up the 3 hourly interval. This is also tiring coz after 30mins of feeding + changing nappy (coz BM causes lotsa pee/poo), 30mins put to sleep, 45mins pump, wash/sterlise, we're still left w 1 hour to sleep. And that's 1 hour every 3 hour cycle. So my personal conclusion is, take a "middle road", mix latching w pumping sessions.Both exclusive options got their own pros and cons.

Nigrea line on stomach
Gynae says this line will disappear after breastfeeding stops...dunno whether i heard wrongly...

Bluebell, how do u know bb rejects formula? Did she push away the bottle?

Pinkdemoness, congrats!

re:breastfeeding
the 3x 5min on the right side, then 3x on the left side routine works...usually my ms will be around 70-80ml at this time of the day, but this routine gave around 100-110ml...i urge all bf mummies to try..thanks for suggesting this routine mummy!!

Hi ladies...itz my turn tomoro 2 deliver my prince...had a bit of red discharge on 25 Mar but gyni said my cervix not dilated yet...sighz...somehow i get e feeling my bb noez he coming out e next day...

Somemore can feel his head giving my bottom more pressure than b4 today...pain pain...dunno can tahan e pain...my hb said i don look like can endure...wish me luck k...

Those w bbs in ur arms, persist in ur bf n nurturing ya...jia you!

Congrats to all mummies who have delivered these few days... Me finally got time to log in...

Sun
Can help update my details
Princess delivered on 22/3/09
Baby's Name: Tee Li Xin Charlotte
Baby's Weight: 3.02kg
Delivered in TMC, Natural, 5.02am

Here's my birth story:

6pm - Called Gynae coz got some blood show in the morning, but no contractions yet. Gynae asked me to go to TMC at 11pm to check and see if Baby is fine as I am worried coz no much movements from baby...

11pm - Reached TMC, went to labour ward to do a CTG to check on baby and contractions if any

11.30pm - Gynae reached. Did a VE check and said I am 2-3cm dilated. But said will not deliver so fast... Ask me to go home and rest then go back to TMC at 9.30am.

12.30am - Suddenly became 5 mins interval contractions. But still can tahan...

2.30am - Contractions became 1-2 mins interval.. Blood show non stop.. Called hubby as he is on night shift... He asked me to go back to TMC and he will rush to TMC now.

3.30am - Reached TMC, Labour Ward. Nurse asked me to change to gown. But I was groaning in the toliet.. So she changed for me and push me directly into labour ward, no chance to clear poo poo... She did a VE check and I was already 6-7cm dilated.

4.30am - Already 8-9cm dilated. Feel like pushing. Asked Nurse. Nurse said not yet coz baby's head still high. Need to wait for water bag to burst...

4.50am - Water bag finally burst. Waited for gynae to come into the labout ward.

5.00am - Gynae reached labour ward. With 3 pushes, baby is out.

5.02am - Baby Charlotte is out. Finally...

Sorry for my long story....

My baby now on FBM...

Supposedly 30 Mar but gyni tinks my bb can come out liao...really dunno wat 2 expect when u r induced...i guess whether natural or induced e pain is there.

Mayb e only difference is tat i don hav 2 fear any unexpected surprises like wetting or staining e bed/ sofa...

Now jus counting down e hrs...hope can sleep well n b ready 4 tomoro...down 2 bottles of chicken essence 2...

Hi keronjeris, yes, I don't do latch on, just exclusive pumping. Coz everytime let my girl latch on, she sleeps after she suckles for a while. I have to wake her up every now and then to make her continue to suckle. I notice she doesn't drink much when latch on so I decided to pump out the milk to let her drink. This way not only it's easier for her to drink, I can also know how much she has drunk.

Hi jtho, I think a few days bah.. The first few days was very stressful as it was difficult for me to hit the target. I didn't have a proper record system until recently (record the time and how much milk you've pumped out everytime you express your milk). That's how I notice the sign of my milk flow increases.

re:breastfeeding

i'm having very sore nipple n its already 'pua pei' so did not latch baby liao...tdy then can finally express though the pain still there...both sides about 40-50ml...3hrly...however i m giving bb fm now cos worried my bm may cause his jaundice to go high...he was discharged with reading 8.5...but i saw his eye white ystdy n saw yellowish so i decide to temporary stop bm till his jaundice is cleared then i give hiim ebm...meantime i just pump n keep first so i can also keep up with his intake...

re:aircon
my baby hates being cold...i have to swaddle him with 2 pcs of cloth nappies or swaddling towel n still cover him with a towel else he will keep crying...if off aircon, he will be happier n sleep longer...

re:pacifier
after reading starflower's post, i tried givinghim last night whilse i change him n it worked...cos he quite cranky whenever i remove his clothes...

tks everyone for the well wishes...

jtho,

I think u got to monitor the state of ur nipples if u want to continue more cycles. Just remember that if u got sore or bleeding nipples, it owuld be impossible for u to even pump later on. So dont be too zealous about it. I recommend that u rest a few days after each cycle. I only did 1 cycle on last thurs... Milk supply has increased from average 90 ml for 2 breasts (20 min) to currently 140ml for 2 breasts (20 min). Now i just pump based on bb's demands cos i got problem for her to latch on.

When she cry, i would latch (usually unsuccessful and only for abt 5 mins at most) and then pump.

Got to share with all my terrible experience with my 2nd CL. Basically, the first CL got to leave after 14 days and another CL took over for 3 days (including today).

The first CL was perfect, maybe set the standards a bit too high lah. But the 2nd CL was terrible. First, she served me cold veg. I told her off after every meal and until today lunch, still cold. Hb also cannot take it and tell her off.. 2nd, She sterilise my breast pump parts for me and there are still milk stains on it! Tell me is cos she dont know where the milk bottle brush is.. but hor.. the milk stains were on the breastshield, can easily rinse off one lor..3rd, she woke at like 9+ this morning and sleeps at 8+ at nite plus afternoon naps.. Not say i mind lah.. but hor, i think she should at least wake up to make my longan red date tea and bath my bb before continuing her sleep lor.. There are many other nitty gritty that we dont like abt her lah.. shall not elaborate but what i hate most is teh cold veg!!

Anyway, we were planning to "fire" her if dinner is still cold.. So when hb brought her out to buy veg, i called the previous CL and told her that paiseh i got to "fire" ur friend but i cant imagine another 11 days with her... and gave her all the reasons especially the cold food.. of course on top of cold food, the food she cook sucks.. makes me lose my appetite somemore. But i told previous CL that i would monitor for another day lah.. and see how..

5:30, the CL came to me and asked whether she should leave since we dont seem to like her.. dont want end up everyone not happy. We said "ok" and paid her for half week work, dont want to torture myself for the next 11 days. Then i told her i am sorry but i really dont like cold food. Guess what, she told me i should have told her.. then she would make sure is hot.. then i told her that eh.. told u like 3 times already and the food still cold lor..

So now i suddenly got no CL. Called Caterer for confinement food to deliver food to me from tomorrow lunch onwards... heh.. probably taste better than CL's food.. hahaha
the only thing is now got to take care of bb at nite on our own.. dont know whether can manage or not.. MIL coming over to stay temporarily after hb goes back to US. I think not a problem for me once i manage to get my gal to latch on for every meal..

Hi all, today day 5 and my engorgement hurts..so gt to pump out once every 2 hrs and store my BM, nw can pump 50ml per session for both breasts for 30min...is it enough?
My gal sleep most of time so will bottle feed her when she wake up instead of latch on..cos my breast cant wait for her to be latch on, so I am worried she will forget how to latch on..how ah?

Wah didnt know gt such technique for power pumping, will try later

Lenny, congrats!

Candy, happy birthday.

My gal also hv slight jaundice and need to sunbath her, tomr seeing PD, hope jaundice will drop..

Finally got time to log on. But no time to read all the achive.
BF:
Mummies must continue don't give up, if you thinking to give up, just look at your liitle angel in your arms... Till today I break my own record of when I have #1, I never got the amount of 200ml or more each time I pump, the most I have is 140ml even when I started work. Pumping is the main thing I do to get supply in. Latching I do when I have energy and time as #1 is occupying most of my time now. Now day time I ask maid to took over looking after Ethan once I got up to pump milk in the morning. So now when evening come is like a battle to go through looking after Ethan at night as he will wake up for milk and to change diaper every 2 hourly.
Congrate managogal...
Use hot water bottle to message your breast before each pump. It will be smooth flow after latching and pumping frequently.

Jaundice,
My bb also having Jaundice, on the 5th day(reading at 295) when she saw the doctor at policlinic. End up she had admitted to hospital for 2 days.
I brought her for checking again last few days & her reading is 174 (not sure how it related to the reading at hospital, eg: 10++)
This saturday has to go for blood test again. The doctor said must at least see the down trend for the reading before she stop the blood test.
So heart pain to see her kena poke at her little feet for the blood taking ...

Bfing,
Noticed most of the mummies is expressing the BM every 2-3 hourly. i had been pumping the BM every 5-6 hourly, coz i can only feel the engorgement/breast hardening after 4-5 hrs.
I am quite lucky that i am able to pump ~200ml for each pump(30mins) from both breast. I tried to pump more frequent, 4 hourly but the output is much lesser (~150ml) & it took me much longer time to pump as both breast seems too soft/empty le.
But still, my EBM is barely meet the bb's demand, coz she's drinking 100ml every 2.5 hr. Sometime the CL will gave her 1-2 FM at night.

Fish soup with papaya,
May I know wat fish usually u used for the soup ?
I wish to increase the BM ss and ask my CL to make for me the fish soup. Then she ask me wat fish i wan ...

Jaundice,
My gal has prolonged jaunduce. Last checkup we saw a going down trend so by right this Monday we want to let her take the HepB 2nd jap. But when we check again this Monday before the jap, it went up again so we have to postpone it. We were advise to go for another blood test tomorrow to ensure her liver is ok before we proceed..

Expressing BreastMilk,
Some suggestion to help boost the milk flow:
1) Drink Papaya with Fish soup. My mil uses fish bone, I gotta check with her what fish she uses.

2) Must make sure that breastmilk is cleared from both breasts in every pumping session.

3) Must massage the breasts before you start pumping. Sometime I ask my husband to help, especially those lumpy areas. He's got more strength. So once in a while I get him be the Dutch Lady while I'll be the cow.. :p

Hope these help.

RE: Storage of Expressed Milk

Some books say 2 months, some say 3 months, some say 6 months.. so how many months exactly? Any idea?

Grace, is your little one condition very bad.. mine was really bad as in, even the ears are spotted and very flaky and hardens.. as if kana ear infection... if your is jus on the face, then should be okay..

missycandy, happy birthday to you.

thanks all for the birthday wishes... =)

hmm dun feel anything special leh.. jus feel older... and with a baby now... LOL... =( time flies la... plus the emotions i keep having on n off kinda dampen the spirit... plus im stil doing confinement... oh well... what to do... at least i can eat cake tmr... nt sure if i will cry though... haaa...

im tryin to perservere with expressing but really nt enough... hai... if i pump too often, my nipples very painful leh.. like being cut like that... so i have to stop... i tried the power pumping thing but i think my nipples cant take it...

mango - wa nt bad ur MS.. is high for 1st few days nia.. lucky u! jy =)

i tried the power pumping using avent manual pump
so is right 15 mins, left 15 mins
then right 7 mins, left 7 mins
repeat 7 mins' set
repeat 7 mins' set .. am i right??

during the process, i only managed to get 70ml.. and i tink is still not enuff for baby tristan..

when shd i do the power pumping again??

HI there March Mummies,

Congrats on ur little babies... wondering if anyone deliver at Gleneagles an can share your experience there?

How is the service, what is the cost, any hidden costs, what's chargeable and foc?

Thanks in advance

asura - as i was pumping exclusively... here is how i kept to keeping the ebm:

48 hours in normal fridge - dun put at the door of fridge...

3 months is your freezer and up to 1 yr in deep freezer - hope this helps

Asura,
I am also another one with no CL now. My CL was really good but she had a family emergency and had to terminate her service early. The agency whom I booked her from can give me a replacement but I was afraid of the standard of the second CL and decided to just DIY from yesterday onwards. I cooked my own meals yesterday and today, my mum came over half day to help me with lunch preparations and I cooked my own dinner. Also prepare my own herbal soup as I bought a "herbal package" from the confinement agency and they had a chinese physician to put together 32 packets of herbs for the entire 28 days of confinement. Just have to throw the herbs into a slow cooker and add in meat/whatever ingredient that is required in the afternoon and drink it at night. Luckily this is my second baby cos CL left so suddenly that there was no time to learn about bathing baby etc, but I bathed my first baby from day one last time (no CL that time) so still quite steady. Haha.

For breastmilk storage, I actually give it up to 3 days in normal fridge and 3 months in freezer.

I've been missing in action cos I hardly have time to rest and have some "me" time, so I've been giving this thread a miss.

Re: first month party
Just did it last Sat, one day earlier than actual day. As we didn't start planning until one week before the celebration we were unable to book the perfect location in time - super duper cheap, centralised, super duper interesting place .. - THE HORT PARK. Cost so little and most of all all your guests will have plenty of things to do on their own. No one will be bored esp if you have friends with kids coming. You can find the rates online. Anyway we ended up hosting it at home. Saved alot of money like that but oh boy it was chaos man. Including our neighbours about 60+ 70 people turned up. Knowing that most people do not really eat much during such parties, we catered for 45pax. Turned out to be just nice with some leftover. Food was the usual first month party fare. We ordered from JOY CUISINE - cheap and good. We chose the silver package and paid $10.80/pax inclusive of 8 dishes and a drink. Though it was never our intention to make money we ended up with several hundred excess of ang bao money after paying the caterer. PM me if anyone wants their contact details.

RE: milk supply + stupid me with (very) unbalanced breast size
I was on total BF (direct latch) before as I was worried about nipple confusion. Eversince her one month, I have switched to EBM, occasionally still let her latch on for comfort. At least now I have more time in between feeds. Very sad. My left breast is at least one cup size bigger than my right. Look so silly. :p Left Breast yields about 140 to 180ml per pump, right breast 50 to 70 per pump. Aiiiii all my fault. I noticed earlier on that my left side has more, so during my super sleep deprived days when I was direct latching, I tended to let her latch mre on the left. Now I am paying for my laziness. So so so regret doing that. Mommies, do be mindful of giving equal time to eeach breast so you don;t end up like me hor.

Re: C-sec wound.
Had a quick scan down the last 2 threads and noticed someone asking about recovery time for c-sec? I recovered really quickly. So kudos to my gynae lah. MOst would rem that I totally cannot stand my gynae throughout my preggie days. But who knew, he turned out to be really good with his stitching skills. Managed to direct latch since delivery day.

Re: jamu massage and weight loss
It's a shame that I couldn't do my jamu massage earlier due to my wound. Started after 3week plus. Been 6 sessions now and didn;t see much weight loss result, but my belly did go down by alot In any case I have lost 10+kg since delivery. 3+ to 4kg more to go. Gambatte!
Oh yah, my massage lady is really good. Considering that I started this late I consider this achievement pretty spectacular liao. In case anyone wants to seek additional help for waist binding, PM me for contacts.

Re: post one month + taking care of BB alone

I didn;'t hire a CL, only had mom come past to cook and do housework for me on weekdays for one month. So it wasn't too bad a transition into managing on my own now. Basically I try to have everything I need within reach. E.g. all diaper changing / bathing / pumping and sterilising stuff are all on my dining table. In fact, I eat as I pump to save time. I go for food that allows me to use only one hand. Then where I BF her I have the warmer / nasal suction / BB earbud (for removing her nose mucus) v useful / a small tupperware of clean water / BB nail clipper / tissue / My brest friend nursing pillow (godsend!)/ a glass of water ,,, all within my reach. I even made sure that where I BF, the lamp switch and bottle warmer switch are positioned on the floor such that I can use my foot to switch on and off. Kekekek

Basically I created two main workstations for myself. Worked pretty well so far. Mommies taking care of bb on their own, if you are having trouble adjusting, do consider setting up "work stations" too.

Re: baby acne
so sad, my baby really has a lot. And new ones keep popping out. She has white heads, blackhead and even angry red acne. *sob sob* Read that there is nothing much we can do cos it's not due to dirt. I could only try to wipe her cheeks every now and then to keep her face clean at least.

Re: breast milk jaundice (not the other more common one)
Read that someone (sorry did a quick scan and forgot who liao) stopped giving BM to bb? Don't. BM jaundice will go away on its own one, but it does take much much longer than the other type of jaundice. I read that we should continue to BF and just wait it out. My PD told me the same. He said BM jaundice is harmless ... more harm if I were to stop BF-ing.

Re: nipple cream
Medela nipple cream is good! I bought one tube for $20+ at The First Few years ... applied it on my sore nipples and I get instant relief.

... got to go

Oh yes,
Miss Candy, Happy Belatd Birthday! And to all other mommies who have recently popped, Congrats and congrats again. So happy for you!

Wintertime,
Yup, my bb's acne oni on the face..no sign of anything flaky or harden. Every day will have some new ones at a new spot while some will disappear. Will continue to monitor. If it gets bad then will probably bring him to see the PD. =)