(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

I noticed that my armpit and groin area seems to have darkened after pregnancy... I wonder if you've the same problem too? And wonder how long it'll take for the dark line on our tummy to go away cos so ugly with the flabby tum tum

koala
hehe my armpits darkens during the very last stage of pregnancy.. tink nw nt so dark liao..

tdy i first time half bath my boy..pretty ok.. luckily he didnt cry if not i sure garang gabok.
wipe his body with the washcloth and wash his buttocks with clear water.. didnt use soap at all..

do u all use soap on babies already?

Wonder how long it'll take to lighten? I like to wear sleeveless, if armpit too dark its so eeeeks right... groin area also like that. I'm afraid it wont go away.

Queenie,
My CL use a bit of soap when bathing my bb. I bought Pureen Top to Toe wash.

Full month
Me decided to use Neo Gardens for bb's full month celebration next week! Anyone knows where can get the best or nice nice ang ku kueh cos we decided to make our own red eggs and buy some ang ku kueh from store directly.

koala
icic.. my mom use the yellow herbs water to bath my boy and oni use the avent soap for his hair..
me tdy handle him alone don dare use soap. LOL..

i haven decide to have baby shower or not..

I had delivered on 20 March.
My birth story is quite simple as I had already planned to c-sect on 25 March but my gal decided to come out earlier.

0950 - Realised that when I walk something is dripping, go toilet just in case she is pressing against my bladder
1000 - Start to walk and dripping again
1005 - Call hb and he ask me to call gynae. Gynae ask me to admit. He will arrange everything and wait for me at delivery ward @ TMC
1015 - Call my mum to come over, call hb to rush home
1030 - Bath and pack my house. Bath my elder gal as well.
1115 - Send my gal to my mum hse. Head to TMC.
1150 - Reach Delivery Ward, answewr qns, change and shave
1210 - Push into Operating Theatre.
1232 - LITTLE JAZMYN is out !! Weight 3.080 kg Length 49cm @ 37wks

She is so small size compared to her big sis. So heartpain to see her so skinny. Will try to pump her up.

RE: TMC classes
Any mummies was there to attend the FOC class held by TMC on Sun 11am? Cos I saw two mummies quite familiar but dun dare to say hi. hehe.

RE: Milk Supply
Today is Day 5, only managed to pump miserable 40ml for both side in 20min. I got to top up with FM to meet her demand. Had problem latching on. So I pump as much as I can and get CL to feed her, then top up with FM if she scream for more.

Hey gals../wave how are all of you? Hope everyone is doing well and jia you for bf-ing
For mummies, who havent pop yet.. u'll have your dear little one in your arms soon..
Love her smile at me or when she sleep.. heart will melt..
i guess that's the joy of being a mother.. forgot the sore nipples and breastpain for a while..

Here's my monster pic..

2280698.jpg

starflower,

Parentcraft ask me to wear nursing bra leh... say that would help to prevent blk ducts and easier for milk flow leh.. but i find it uncomfortable so i wear nursing bra when i sleeping at nite.

good day mummies! great day to sleep in!!! wet & cooling day.. hee hee

went for PD appt today. jaundice level is down to 6plus... still there but much better... PD says will go away soon. =) asked PD abt pimples on the face, said will come and go.. dont worry unless becomes really red n pimple like then bring to see her if not jus leave it. also asked abt feeding. her advise is to let bb cry. dont let bb cry every hr for milk then only take 20-30mls. if feeding FM, to feed 3hrly 60-80mls. she says must train her. but if feeding BM then probably 2hrly becos BM faster to digest... she says 1st time mummies of cos wont bear to let the babies cry... but she says to train the baby... let her cry... and be hungry so she will finish her feeds... becos my bb will always not finish her feeds and doze off or spit the milk out -_-" then after that become cranky etc... she checked and said not colic... so bb is bullying me... diao... so im going to try and be tough... but very heart pain lor... but no choice.. she says if i dont train her... it will be very difficult in future...

darkening of armpits - mine happened during pregnancy... can see it slowly lightening again.. hopefully it goes away for good!!!

congrats to mango & may!!

wintertime
thanks i am trying ur power pump nw hope will increase ss.

serene
at least sometime u still get 20-30ml and also get before 50ml.I till nw still 10ml both side and is like pump till boobs brusting than gt.haha me will get the freugneek to take see if supply goes up.

Cindy, hope bb's rashes will get better for next few days.. his face looks really terrible.. imagine little red spots all over the face.. worse still, he like to eat his hands and then brush his mittens all over the face.. yet i can't swaddle his hands cos he will cry and cry.. headache.. on his right cheeks, the rashes looks very terrible leh.. wonder if I shold bring him to see PD tomorrow or not..

starflower, ya.. me starting my own "adventure" alone at hm with bb now.. today is my first day cos hb has return to work. i am happy that i can still manage to bath and wash my face.. not easy. so now, i basically latch on.. no time for me to pump, wash and sterilise.

Queenie, i wash my bb with pigeon soap for hair and body.. but a little bit bit..

Wintertime
Who will help you to look after baby when you start to work? My son also got pimples on his face, my hb told it is milk rash as we breastfeeding sometimes the milk will leak and rub against their face which cause the rashes on bb's face. Should be fine, try to use handkercheif to wipe their face after breastfeeding.

Caca
With the help of fernugreek, i had manage to pump out 60 to 70ml. This week is already 3rd week still so miserable.

wintertime
u wan try use california baby - calendula cream for ur boy?

hehe thank u abt the soap.. tml if my dad overslp again like tdy, i will try to use soap on him..

meebb, ur bb cheeks so chubby and rosy.. nice!!!

misscandy, my bb's face quite jia lat leh.. whole face like "mo bing".. so ugly.. i kept teasing him that his buttocks looks nicer than his face.. really will go away? his ears and neck also has it..

queenie - hw old is ur bb? hw much is his usual feed? hmmm u have to see what shld be his intake.. cld be underfeeding him... or he jus wans to be carried... have to learn to differentiate btwn the 2... i was telling her also... past 2days every 1hr. esp at night.. cry cry but only drink 20-30mls then sleep... horrible!!! then yesterday vomitted... she says to train lo... then she says no need to keep burping baby during the feeding... if baby doesnt squirm or show any discomfort during feeding, just continue to feed til finish... if try to burp and doesnt work, let bb lie dwn for awhile... then u see bb like wan to burp... like squirming then lift bb up... the burp wil be faster... thats wad she says la... i will try to see if this works for my bb... becos sometimes try to burp her takes very long... she says make sure bb finished the milk... tickle or wipe the face.. dont let them sleep...

quennie, i tried that, but doesn't help also.. so now, i am trying ot the avene spray. let's see if it helpa..

Kome, aiyo.. now i m changing my mind abt putting bb in infantcare leh.. i am considering to hire a maid.. had tolang my mum to help me out.. my mum's place has already a maid. my sis place her maid there during day time.. my mum had big concern that 2 maids under one roof.. plus mum working in the morning. will be back home at 12pm.. with this new arrival hor, so much things to do.. so if i hire a maid, at least my hb and me can concentrate to bond with bb once we knock off from work. also, we can sneak out for some private moments leaving maid at home with bb once maid has settle down.. so as for now, it reallly depend on luck if i can get a gd maid.. i heard many horror stories. .

soap - i squirt the bubble wash into the bath tub.. i use the water to dip my cotton balls to wipe the face... then i wil wash the hair... then lastly wash the body... =)

winter - did u ask the PD abt this? mine is face only... neck & ears dont have... i think mine is more of heat rash...

calendula cream - i tried it but doesnt seem to be working leh... plus she doesnt like it being applied to her face.. i also scared she use her hands to wipe then put in her mouth... so i stopped putting for now...

Wintertime
Ohhh.....ya really heard alot of stories about maid, but if got adults at home should be ok. Furthermore the maid can help to do housework also. You better get the maid fast as you can train her during your maternity leave.

winter - ya many horror stories.. im also considering hiring but scared la... plus my mum quite blur at times... and once my kid cn start running i doubt my parents can keep up.. heh heh... i think for ur boi maybe its milk rash becos sumtimes i feed my bb the milk wil drool dwn her chin to her neck area... hmmm...

Wintertime, sure will get better Lah. Or maybe u can change his mittens more often?

Queenie me use johnson top to toe wash.

Miyomee, so much hair! Loves.

missycandy
my boy today 3weeks old already.. i nv pump out to feed him so i donno the exact amt .. but so far he ever drank 60ml, 20ml, 30ml b4..
normally he oni nurse on one side of my breast each time ard for 15 mins.. everytime he doze off, i will put him dwn and the next minute he will wake up and ask for more milk..
ya my mom , sis and dad always ask me burp him after each feeding.. coz from last wk, can see his tummy got wind.. bloated like DRum.. ahahhaha.. i tickle him everywhere lor. but sometimes he full he die die wont open his mouth de..

missycandy, i think mine is bb's acne which is qite common also.. but he always lie on one side of his face and this side was quite bad with red rashes...

Kome, ya.. if really decided, i will go to agency by this wk.. hope can get the maid fast and then train her before i go back to work.

Cindy, yup, i tried changing his mittens once i see tt it's wet..

wintertime
oic.. i still tot of buying the calendula cream seeing my boy's face flaking.. like snake like tt .. lols. ur boy doesnt like to be swaddled? like tt have to change hismittens often or clean his face often liaos..

cindy
thank u ! kekes..

queenie - bloated is a sign of colic wor... try feed him some of the gripe water.. let him fart out...

winter - maybe heaty ba... =) dont worry.. unless it becomes like our human pus like... !!!

forgot to reply to smile - heee... eh its including dr fees.... all in all, i paid ard 1.5cash for myself & bb... =) i was in single bedder... and natural vacuum w/o epi.

queenie - hw much did dr ang's fees cost u?

just had my first bathe and wash hair since delivery yesterday! phew, new appreciation for showering man! feel so comfy yest but today all sweaty and sticky again...sigh...got to bear it for another period before my next bathe :p

re. after confinement lady leaves
actually i'm looking forward to it leh, still hv another 2wks+ to go but so hoping that she leaves. haha she's not too bad lah but there are certain things i can't stand like how she didn't like to use steriliser or understand that once you open it, must re-sterilise the next round. she will just wash bottles and reuse straight away without sterislising. so upset initially but hb kept saying dun said her too much coz worried later she "ill-treat" bb at night we dun know...sigh.. somemore she's not pro-bf and was the first to kept asking me to supplement with fm so i really hates it. and she will tell bb weird weird things when he crys like "it's not as if nobody wants you, why cry so pathetically?" duh?!?!?! even though bb is newborn, i hates ppl saying such weird things to him
aiyah, if i hv next birth, i tink i dun want to engage confinement lady liao, would rather ordered confinement food and ask hb take leave help me out at least first 2 weeks, stressful man, face a stranger everyday and cannot tell her when upset... so overall is i can't wait for her to leave even though i'm not sure if i can handle bb by myself but i tink i'll be happier haha!

re. itchy feet
hopes all our itchy feet goes away soon! so annoying and frustrating. now i got so many pockmarks on the areas i scratch, sad sad.

wintertime,
my bb has pimples on both cheeks, forehead, chin and neck. pd said is normal, cl said is due to milk stains on his face after his feeding. asked pd, he said just clean with water more often will do. so leaving it as it is, dun seems to hurt bb but hurts me lor when i see coz looks painful, so many...

idlecat,
i change my breastpads 2-3 times a day, sometimes dun wear bra at all, depends on mood. dun dare wear too long, scared not hygenic coz the bm is for bb. for flabby tummy, i find it help to wear a tummy binder, my tummy got reduce in size gradually. i can't do massage coz is c-sect, luckily bot dis dale 3-panel tummy binder before delivery so comes in useful. it helps to tone but i tink is gradual kind. maybe you want to try out?

queenie,
so far bathing bb, cl never use any soap/shampoo. she said <1 mth bb cannot use. after she leaves, will try bathe first without soap/shampoo, once i get the hang will prob use a bit (1-2 drops as advised by the parentcraft advisor from gleneagles). i bot mine all from J&amp;J.

oxgal,
btw, i removed my c-sect stitches last sat, not painful at all, just a weird feeling but it's very fast. takes less than 2 mins, gynae had a scissors, heard him snip something, pull and out came a blue thread abt 10-12 cm long. it's like unzipping i tink hee. so dun worry abt yours later yeah.

RE: Tingkat Service

Seems like lots of us are converting to tingkat service after CL leaves. Me also getting tingkat service. So far i looking for no MSG and 1 pax ones. Getting these 2 for my meals, 1 for lunch and 1 for dinner...
www.momscooking.com.sg
www.houseofcatering.com

Really cant imagine how to cope with bb and cook at the same time.. heh..

Wintertime
Thanks for telling me about the power pump thing just nw after pump latch my girl than nw pump again both side I manage to get 1oz and abit more first time le so happy. Think I gt to work harder on the pump thing .Than dun waste my hubby $469 haha.Jia you ba mummies

I'm now at TMC ward..scheduled for induction at 9PM..they already inserted a tablet by 5pm..now waiting..just finished my dinner..really hope I will dilate fast..

Hi mummies, Thanks all for your wishes!!
Here's my birth story:

2330 - My waterbag broke at home
0100 - Admitted to TMC, 2cm dilated
0315 - request for epidural and then rest(sleep)
0800 - still 3cm dilated, Dr Chua put me on drip to hasten the labour
1400 - 10cm dilated, started practice pushing
1500 - Tired and sleep again
1600 - Started pushing again
1629 - Isaac is delivered!!

Vivien, Mangogal:
We deliver the same day by the same gynae!!
Dr Chua mentioned she had 5 deliveries that day.
I am 1st at 4.29pm.
Mangogal 2nd at 5pm.
Vivien 3rd at 5.59pm.
Who's 4th and 5th mummy here? Keke..

wintertime...dunno why my bb's temp on n off higher than 37.3 leh..bor bian scared high fever so gave him paracetamol prescribed by doc.
eh..act..i'm nt stressed with my MS leh..haha, just tat my mil prefers me to bf bb at least for 4mths...me latch him on and off to make him sleep..pump when i feel engorged so i also dunno 1 day feed him hw many mls of BM. mummies, any other ways to make bb sleep apart from BF?? worried nx time wan to stop BF him hw wor...

idlecat...u change yr pump to manual one ah? i'm also using medela mini electri..realised i squeeze my breast gt more milk than using the pump wor..hiaz...
Re: bathing...so far so gd...but also depends on my bb's mood. hee sometimes i bath him b4 his feeding time..will get impatience n cry for milk. =p

I'm glad that my MS did increase today....manage to pump up to 140ml and it was really encouraging as i couldn't satisfy my bb's appetite the past few days, but yes its definitely getting better already...my CL told me that we gotta sleep, rest and lie down so that our MS can be more...usually the peak will be in the mornings...

Wintertime/SG/Asura - thanks for the encouragement. Yap i guess MS will jus increase as time passes...i eat more fish to stimulate the supply and massage my breasts before i pump.

Asura - yap the hospital did give us milk samples and i jus supplement these with my BM initially...now my CL feeds my bb FM at night and BM in the day...

I try latching on my bb but he's rejecting my nipples already...he's also having difficulty latching on...will cry and then bite on my nipples...v painful so no choice i have to pump them out now...

startflower...
i totally agree with yu regarding the Pacifier...i grew up with it too...and i am also pretty..hahaha ( jut to cheer you gals up).. i have introduced to ugin..as he's an impatient biy...so during his change...i'll pop it in and after his feed before bedtime..but dun have to owrry about weaning it off...coz i believe by 18th mths or 2ish he's sttending playschool..he'll not need it anymore...and when ugin sleeps...he'll pop it off his mouth..so it's only to soothe him when he's awake..

FULL MONTH cakes...
look for shannon from le precious..tell her daphne introduce you...she'll give you a good price and her service is good. cakes is yummy and box looks good..

www.leprecious.com.sg
mobile: 94773380

BF...
mummies...my share...wat works for me..
1. relax my mind...go to my room and look at baby or imagine the face..which will make ypu smile.
2. massage with hands or pump(i swear by the pump coz my wrist is painful from the overgrown hormone thingie)
3. fenugreek (2 tablets in the am) and lots of soup..papaya and fresh fruits.
4. look at the pump whrn pumping...when the milk flow increase i get excited and happy and more will flow out..
5. if the supply is low...supplement with FM..coz as long as baby gets alittle of brteast milk is better then NONE..
HOPE IT WORKS...