(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

oh i see...
sorry missed your posting..
so gynae already inserted the tablet to u..good..good
have a smooth delivery!

missycandy - so total $2.5k lor for c-section or natural (sorry lost track liao :p) ??

I have current book for 2 bedder then thought when everything went smooth then upgrade to 1 bedder bah, scare incured high cost cos worried i might end up emergency c-section.

srumpee - ahhh u already induce!! u are so power still can online..u are delivering in Mt A? All the best, jie you..

moomooland, koala, it seems that our babies are in the 3rd week and they are taking about 80-100ml. I wonder if my bb taking a bit too little, he's taking 70ml per feed. I experimented one night and gave him 100ml, maybe it's from bottle so he could finish all, but still wake up 3 hours later to feed. (i've jus changed him from cup to bottle since this is his 3rd week already and cup feeding 70ml takes too long).I'm currently expressing 80-90ml every 3 hours. I only latch him a few times a day, esp when he wants to sleep, think he takes the breast as pacifier, suckle 15mins then sleep. So far no nipple confusion between bottle teat and breast.When he's hungry, he takes anything that gives him milk. (he's very impatient, he cries immediately for milk at very accurate 3 hrly intervals). Getting stressed, think if my MS not enough, i will also top up w FM at night...
I also haven't learn to bathe him yet. With all the 3 hrly pumping, i feel SO tired..now, middle of the night i only pump once...keep thinking wanna give up already too...

miss83
yes,after delivery he will see you in one time to check the sitches and next checkup is one mth later for pap smear

Srumpee,

I was at Dr chua's clinic around noon just now. Bb is getting bigger 3.8 kg but still no signs. Edd is this sat hopefully my turn soon. cant wait liao. I m afraid ended up emergency c sect. Will be seeing her again on sat.

Have a smooth delivery!

Reverie,
all the best. Jia you hv a smooth delivery.

smile - natural.. =) eh... total is more than 2.5k... plus bb's bill leh? bb's bill i cnt recall hw much but had to pay ard either is 70+ or 100+ cash.. the rest from medisave...

miss83 - when u admit and ur hubby help u to register, u better decide which one u wan.. i tink u might want to opt for 2 bedder 1st.. then if u dun like then upgrade to single bedder.. at least cost wise u wun be stuck... but if u dont book the single bedder, might not have any for you when u want it... like for me.. i asked for double bedder when i went in... then didnt like it so opted to upgrade to single bedder... but dont have any rooms available... so lodged in a double bedder but had the whole room to myself n hubby... =P after delivery then they shifted me to single bedder when the other mummies had discharged... =)

miss83
if you hv this concern than go for 4 bedded first since dr adrian will upgrade to you to 2 bedded. if you endup didnt go for c-section, you still can request to change to single bedded.

Hi smile n janbebe...

Speaking of inducing charges, will call up n see if we need to pay more...

Every bb has his/her reason for not coming after edd...Mine is scheduled on 30 Mar but gyni jus wan 2 take precautions in overstretching e due date...wait got complications...he more kan cheong than me...
On a happier note, we can see him this weekend...

I tink mine shld b enjoying all e rich food for e past few mths...too relax liao

miss83 - agree with misscandy, do a upgrade is better then downgrade cos i understand and infact it's stated there say if u downgrade they will still charge u the 1 bedder fee leh. I will do like missycandy, book for double bedder then upgrade to 1 bedder.

Missycandy - oh so ur bill will be close to $3k lor for cash. Guess 1 bedder is abt that price de. urs is with epidural? oh so u decided to change to 1 bedder after u deliver or before? (sorry too much qns for u)..

smile - no problem =) eh.... no .. total bill is 3kplus b4 deductin medisave.. for cash i paid ard 1.5k =) i opted for single bedder b4 delivery...

missycandy - thank you so much for ur infomation. oh 1.5k cash sound alright so tempted to opt for single bed. But this $1.5k doesn't include ur dr fee ya.

my hubby and i thinking of upgrade only after delivery not sure can or not, cos only till then we will know if we have got away with emergency c-section or any complication..

today is day 17, my ebm is also only ranging from 70-110ml. 110ml is only once a day. How to increase ebm ah? He is drinking 80ml now... A bit stress if later he drink more but i can't meet his demand.

HI mummies

My BM supp;y super low today already 8th day but milk supply onli 10ml 2side if I pump out reali very sad any way to increase.Anyone like me by when will ss go up feel like giving up le.

reverie_island, missycandy
Thanks for yr advice.

I'm considering AVENT breast shell to collect leaking BM while pumping. Any review feedback?

caca
me too.... I already 14days everytime i pump both side only 20-30ml. I can pump both side 50ml i feel so happy but only 1 time. I already eat Fenugreek but no increase yet. I tot of give up too. But my Mil keep on said BM is the best for baby must feed till 3 months. So stress..... I also want to feed till 6 months but no milk how huh???

moomooland
I got the avent breast shell but find the silicone keep "sticking" to my breasts and feel a bit painful when trying to remove. Do u experience that? Have resorted to using breast pad instead.

breastfeeding :
my mom tried to give me fish and papaya soup also, i tink the milk supply will increase a bit.
oh yah, my massage lady always massage my breasts and remove all the hard lumps, after which i can pump more milk. today my mom came to visit me and told me that actually we can add dried oysters to the food we ate as they promote milk supply too.
hahahaa... so tomorrow my MIL will prepare the lotus roots with dried oysters and red dates soup... yummy yummy!! maybe mummies who wanted more milk can try try too?

breast pad :
i m using 1 pair a day too, but if the weather is super hot, i might change to new ones. Btw, i tried Avent and Pigeon but still find Pigeon is a better choice.

caca, irene, perhaps you gals can try out power pump.. i remmember it was posted by some mummies somewhere in the thread or saw it from one of the website.
basically power pumping is to pump 10 mins then rest for 10mins, repeat this 3 times.. so basically this whole process will take an hour.. i tried this and it seems to work.. but super tiring..
other than tt, drinking lots of soup helps..

jazmin, the silicon cannot wear for more than 40min, read that from the instructions,think its due to hygience purpose. it helps to relieve engorgement. im also wearing pads now coz the shell abit hard. but I think the shell is not bad lo

will be doing my packing now..
dunno what to decide..bring a medium luggage size or a hand carry bag to hospital...
thinking to get a luggage..just in case, people who visit me will bring gifts..then I can just pack all together in one luggage..
but paiseh..later ppl think I'm KS bring big luggage..haha..

miss83, feeling nervous? get a luggage lor.. it's okay.. i brought my small luggage when i admit into hospital tt time..

Been reading that a number of mummies are considering to give up Bf-ing due to low in ss. Are your low in ss bcos u do latch ur babies prior to pumping? If tatz the case, I do not see an issue as babies are very capable of emptying the breasts.

However, if its solely pumping & no latching, then you should consider taking fenugreek, oats, milo & drink lots of soup.... =) It will more or less help!

Cindy,
Thanks for recommending the Avene Spray, will oso go get it bcos my bb's face oso got alot of those bb acne.... =) very ugly....

miss83, hmm..climb more stairs? squat more.. don't worry.. things will be fine for your..
Avene spray can be bought from guardian.

Cindy, got the avene thermal water already.. in small bottle one right? I just use it to wipe on bb face, hopeflly will be better tomorrow.

wintertime, hee at least u have to corage to go causeway pt the other day...i only dare to bring bb go downstair. aiyo dunno my bb's body temp easily high ornt, after hep b 2, on n off above 37.3 degree. aldy fed him with paracetamol 3 times liao..hope he will be fine..

caca/serene..me lagi jialat..1mth+ liao still mix with fm..tink i'm really born with low MS...hiaz..very tiring..

starflower: same problem...my mil kept asking me why dun wan to latch bb? but i still tink i pump out for him is the best..only let bb suckle for comfort/ to make him sleep...else both our sleep will be disrupted..coz he's super impatience..i also pump once at nite...with my mil ard..i doubt i can afford to do tat if she's nt here..unless i leave my bb with my hb while he sleeps then i pump..but scared disturb him..need to work...sigh..dilemma.

wintertime...hw mls is yr bb taking nw? 110ml every 3hrs? i'm tinking of whether to increase bb's intake coz sometimes he'll cry for more..but doc asked us to cut down due to his weight..hiaz...another dilemma..

SG, ur bb just took hepB 2nd injection right? not the 6in1 right? by right hepB injection shold not cause any fever.. only the 6in1 jab will.. so should be fine.. how come you fed him with paracetamol? ur PD prescribe to you??
my bb drinking abt 110ml every 2.5 to 3 hrs.. but it differs.. sometimes he drink a lot esp when he's alert, but when he's sleepy, he can be satisfied with jus 80ml.. I always prepare 100ml of ebm if my hb bottle feed him. so har, if he drink only 80ml, 20ml of my ebm will go into waste.. grrhhh..
dont discourage urself with the fact tt u have low MS.. the more negative thought u have, the lesser MS you will have too... i think u can slightly increase ur bb intake by 10ml and see how it goes.. cos a hungry bb is an angry bb..
ya, why don't you try pumping after latching bb..bb will help you to increase ur milk ss..
I find tt just by pumping and no latching will not really helpp much on increasing ms

Grace, wintertime, It's really Good! hope it's useful to your little bbs!!
Muacks. Winter, yes white can with pink wordings on it..

And miss83:: Avene spray is like hmm, spring water in a can.. haha it's good for cleaning bb face. Can get from Guardian Pharmacy.

CL
I don't have CL. My mum help me with confinement food cooking and looking after baby. I bath my baby since day 1. So, I've touch water everyday. Hee...

Milk Supply
My father-in-law bought a lot of 午鱼 (wu yu) and I eat it everyday which I think helps with my BM supply. Initially, I also have EBM supply worries as I can't seem to pump out much milk using Medela mini electric. So, I quickly chase my hubby to Taka babyfair to buy me AVENT manual pump which I found so much easy to extract milk except hand very tired.

Plain water
I've been drinking lots of plain water as I always feel very thirsty. Think is due to BF which drain water from body. I also have red dates tea but with seed ones is too heaty for me and I've been coughing

Glass bottle
I delievered at GlenE. Asked for glass bottles, but the nurse said those glass bottle are make of low quality glass which is not for long-term milk storage; and their supplier is going to change to plastic bottle soon which is also disposable type. Hmm... so I'm using Medela bottles to store BM which I think better since is BPA free

BTW: GlenE also don't give FM sample; the nurse said because they want to encourage BF.

Water retention
I have finger joint pain, toes joint pain and left wrist joint pain during late pregnancy period. The day I delievered, water retention disappeared but appeared again for a few days after delivery. Now left wrist become more painful. Went to see 跌打 who said is due to homo change during pregnancy which cause my wrist muscle weaken; the pain is due to inflammation.

TMC washcloth
I've been using it and throw into wash machine to wash together with baby clothing. Hee...

Birth Cert
Hubby insist must register at GlenE so that birth cert look nicer with the word GlenE rather than ICA.

Dear all, thks for well wishes...

My birthstory

8am admit and get myself prepare and change to 'blue gown'
8:30am: Dr Chua came and do VE, 2cm dialte and waterbag broke at sametmie, water start tickling out....
9am: Admit Induce drip and epidural
12pm noon :4cm dilate and increase more dosage of epi cos legs not numb yet and feel cramps but bearable
3pm: 7cm dilate so estimate by 4pm will be 9cm or 10cm fully dilate
4pm: True enough 10cm dilate and chart show contraction more intense and I can feel pressure on lower ab, the bladder area
4:30pm: Midwive say rehearse pushing and bb head start to show
5pm: Gynae came and actual pushing, was like the hardest pushing in my life, and panting away! :p
Finally Little Caroline is out after several pushing!

bb crying, come in later

Cindy,
Thanks. Will go Guardian to get it later.
Cant wait to get my hands on it & try it on bb?
Btw, how long must you use b4 u can see the effect? =)

dear mummies,

my ger is 20 days old. Even after she had her feed, she keeps rooting around and cries when she dun gets to the milk, so no choice give her more. but then again I think I'm overfeeding her cos sometimes she regurgitates out all the milk after that...

anybody has any ideas how to go about this?

Post-natal Massage
I've delievered >2wk and so far lost ~10kg but tummy still flabby. Flabby is it due to uterus still not fully contract?
Do I still need massage lady to "flatten" tummy? is it too late to engage one in order to be effective?

idlecat,

i dont have water retention during preggie but have it few days after birth, Kept propping my feet up when i sleep. My CL also cooked black bean pork ribs soup for me, so can get rid of water retention. So far, it works, my water reterntion disappeared after a week.

asura
my water retenton disppeared already but i still feel my finger sfiff when i wake up from my sleep.

have you cleared your lochia? i remember we gave birth on same day

ivy,

me still having a bit of spotting on and off. my locia is not a lot, since i discharge, i only use 2 slim pads each day. now hoping tt my sportting disappears so that i can air my bottom b4 wearing my undies... hee hee...

asura
your is natural birth right? so fast you almost clear. mine is c-section also not clear yet.
i remember last pregnancy i even not clear when my son full mth.

ivy,

Yup. Mine is natural birth. I think depends on individual. Got 1 mummy here say hers is only 6 days. Mine is very light but drag very long. Yesterday i tot dont have liao then today spotting came back again.. heh..

Hi there

i am a mar mummy too and my bb is now 7 days old.

i come in here just to give mommies here who have problems bf'g a little moral support.

this is my second bb and i so far have no problems with bm supply. however with my 1st bb, it was awful...not enough ss, bb underweight, under fed, so wanted to nurse every hour, sore nipples for 2 mths, saw lact consultant and still didn't help much...so i've been there too girls!

but with all those problems i still managed to bf for 11 mths!

so here are the tips on what really helped:

1. see a lactation consultant. Wong boi boi from TMC is good, but there are other good ones too. altho' in my case, the advice wong gave was good, it didn't help. what really helped was her reassurance and encourage.

2. see your gynae for "motilium" to stimulated breast milk. this is clinically proven to help increase breast milk production. or u can buy it from pharmacies. take 2 tablets 3 times daily, more than the usual recommended dose. tell the pharmacist what u need it for and she can advise.

3. take fenugreek raw. buy the seeds and boil in water for 20 min, then drink like a tea. this helps. i've not tried the supplement tablets so i am not sure if this works. U can buy the seeds from indian provision stores.

4. my ameda breast pump helps. after latching u can use a breast pump to remove whatever left over amt bb cannot finish. nvm if very little, just collect them bit by bit.

5. finally, you need some patience. my ss only met the demand in the 6th week or so. so before that, if u need to supplement, then pls do. supplementing with FM is better than giving up BF all together.

hope this helps. all the best girls!

SG/Irene, i am suffering fm sore nipples coz i tried to latch him yday hoping to increase my MS besides pumping.

I thought a good plan would be to latch him for 2 full feeds, then the rest of the time i will pump and bottle feed. So far his intake is 70ml (i tried 75ml but he doesn't finish the last 5ml sometimes). I read up on sore nipples and realise i shouldn't let him suckle for more than 15-20min. When he is sleepy, i should change to the other breast for efficient feeding and not just 'hanging there". Maybe that's causing the nipple skin to be thinner, not to mention i wipe w cotton wool before and after each feed apply nipple cream. This is my mistake #2. I should leave it moist with breastmilk. Mistake 3, i wear w nursing bra w breast pads, thus no airflow to the mipple, causing it to hurt more when rubbing agains the nipple pad. So anyway, now i'm pumping today, no latching w baby coz i really need to let my nipples heal. Am pumping w smaller suction power and also taking longer breaks, maybe 4-5hrs for today/tmr.

As for baby fussing, i've discovered a secret weapon-> the pacifier! i know it will be hard to get wean off later and some say baby will have crooked teeth etc. But i grew up w a pacifier and i turn out ok so i think should be alright. He is now sleeping easier, and faster (at least i cut down my "marching" time by 30mins to put him to sleep) and he sleeps longer (another 30mins). I will worry about the weaning off later when he's about 2-3 years old. For now, i need the rest...

Wintertime, talking about tired, i also dunno how to continue this on my own after confinement. I look at the timing, wondering how i can bath him, feed him and pump every 3hourly. The timing sure off, end up will be pumping less. Latching seems to be the only way to save time coz dont have to take the extra time to pump & wash/sterlise.

Moomooland, i am also going to be on my own once confinement is over. I also dunno how i'm going to handle since i haven't tried bathing him yet, in fact, i've only changed his diaper twice and i was fumbling w the pin and nappy. But I tell myself not to worry, everything will pass and wait for 6.30pm (hubby comes home) heheee.... as for lunch, i've decided to order tingkat service and not kill myself trying to cook somemore...neo garden is $190 per month. For the short term & sake of my sanity, i think this is $ well spent, hehee...

Full month cake for office colleagues: anyone has good recommendatinos?