Sharing more in hindsight
(1) maternity pads
in hindsight I shouldn't have nothered to buy the looped maternity pads nor belt, because the hospital (mine is Mt Al) will have one packet for you, along with the belt. I only needed to use that on the first two days when I had to go without panties. It is the adhesive type of maternity pads that we need to buy, because once you start wearing disposable panties you don't use the loop type anymore.
(2) nursing pillow - my brest friend
This is my life saviour! I heard that it might not be this useful when bb becomes bigger but as far as I am concerned, this has been my life saviour thus far! Once BB wakes up she wants milk straightaway, there is really not much time for prop up pillows, position myself nicely and I also don’t have the luxury of having someone else pick up the bb to hand over to me while I am "position". I do everything by myself cos I didn't hire a CL. Mom is my de facto CL but I usually do it myself. So with "my brest friend", I can immediately strap it around my waist, then with my hands free I can pick up bb and position her for latching while sitting down at the same time, no need to find one more hand to position and adjust pillows around me. My arms get the necessary support too. Once I’m done BFing, I just unsnap the "clip" at the side with one hand, and I can simply stand up with my hands free to hold bb. Maybe because I really have very little strength (never exercise mah heeee, no muscle one), I find this nursing pillow extra useful for me.
(3) BB plus
saw some mommies who have popped discussing about how bb plus seemed to make a difference in their NB's behaviour. Hubby and I think so too! BB grace is very alert for a NB. She is also relatively calm and easily settled compared to my friends' bbs. Don't know if this is the norm, but she is able to smile (v obvious smiles) and have pockets of time when she seems very very alert. I know all parents think that their angels are the best (heee) but well .. to put it simply, my bb does demonstrate the traits given in the testimonials of bb plus parents, as seen on their website. Yesterday this couple friend of ours who delivered 3mths earlier also commented the same. Said my girl is very advanced for a newborn.
(4) Medela PIS
Super duper useful. Esp because I'm blessed with alot of milk supply, which also means my breasts swell up too quickly for my NB to consume. Mine is the original version cos it is a hand me down. I tried pumping both sides simultaneously to save time but just couldn't do it. Find it very awkward to maintain a good grip with both at the same time. So I tend to just pump one side at a time, which works great too. I read on a website that we are supposed to do a few mins on one breast, then same at the other, and then back again for a few more mins etc etc ... switching back and fro during the single pumping session. Apparently that helps to stimulate milk supply. One major sore point (get it? Get it? Heheee) – would have much preferred a handsfree version! Damn sian to be stuck there, can’t even surf net.
(5) My Tracking System
I now wear my hubby's Adidas digital watch all the time, except when bathing of course. I wear it even during my rare sleep time. It's great because I keep a record of exactly what time I start and stop BF in each session. I also note down whether there was a diaper change during that feed. As such I know how many BFs I do in a day, at what time, the duration, which breast and no of poos. I do the same for my bb's sessions on the UV machine (the one for jaundice treatment). This is very handy because when you are rushing to do so many things at the same time (sooth bb, change diapers, BF etc etc) and esp when you are sleep deprived, you will find that you sometimes cannot rem which breast did your BB last latch on and for how long. I use this info (and also which breast needs urgent relief) to decide which breast for the new feed, usually the other side.
Pumpkin,
WOW you best, 20min already can have 80ml. P/s Pumpkin, sorry just saw your PM. Too late. So happy that little pumpkin pie is now safe and sound in your arms.
Re: Milk supply
Mine takes much longer lah. I pump one breast at a time. On the 4th day (not 3rd lah) I pumped 140ml on two different sessions. 1st session … not familiar with the pump I think, 40min thereabouts only 40ml. Then the same night I managed 100ml in about 50min to an hour. I put quite low suction power + speed of 2-3 only (max 5) because I don't want to overwhelm my nipples and end up getting sore. Next day pumped in two sessions, total of 80ml, total time taken about 50min.
Didn't take a lot of fluids leh. Cos of my mom lor. She keeps insisting that I cannot touch water. Makes me drink red dates tea and soup .. in the end I am taking lesser fluid than usual. Can feel my throat getting sore. Have decided to "steal" water more often now. Don't care man.
Can't rem who asked about this but yah, I took neurogain, the DHA thingy during the last trimester. Just started taking again today.
I don't think I ate alot of fish. I got very turned off by fish during preggie in fact because everyone keeps bugging me to eat fish.
I have however, been taking my own pre-natal vitamins (and not from my gynae, but he checked and gave the all clear) since preggie. This pre-natal vitamin is also meant for lactating women. My SIL got it for me from Vitamin World in the States.