(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Me still at home waiting to download...
Sigh...

Waititng waiting and waiting....

Cindy - ya lor... we spend so much time with them and then suddenly another one appear they dun wan us... I will feel sad lor...

I am going to anticipate that as well with my gal I think... Sigh...

cindy, congrats... finally can go home and rest liao. my tummy also loose loose.. got to exercise more when my confinement ends..

starflower, Dr Chan is gd.. i had him and he was really gentle on me.. my epidural process was done within like 2 mins.

sassygal, ur time will come. enjoy ur remaining few hrs.. hahaha

those who delivered at TMC, if you bring your pump or use the hospital one, do they give u the disposable bottle (chargeable) or u bring your own? if bring own, then how to sterilise ah?

Me still waiting....and I hope bb is on EDD or near there, don't want surprises.

Getting ready and looks like many things to bring leh, including the pump. I remembered when I had #1, TMC said must rent the pump and for those parts in contact with breast, got to buy new ones for hygiene purpose so I didn't rent instead but endure the engorgement on the 3rd day.

fairymoss
me same as u.. still waiting. hahas.
2 more days and im gg to be in 39th wk le...
when is the day coming..

is it expensive to buy the parts in contact with breast at TMC?

i didnt get a pump.. donno shd or shd not get..

P3, i only can place one finger between my breast and tummy leh..sigh..think not engaged yet.. So far dr tseng never did VE for me leh, the nurse told me he seldom recommend his patients do CTG test(VE), think he's pro-natural and will only usu said when baby's ready, baby will come out on his own. Can ask him when you see him, i scared will receive his another 'i got this question many times' look again..hee..

tsp, i thot sex will help to make cervix dilate too, so have been attempting my best to seduce hubby, also flashed red card like janbebe's hubby so far...sigh....

yiyi, ya, can try asking Dr tseng whether he knows anything about Dr Simon. But you have to make up your mind about your PD soon, cos the PD will visit your baby soon aft you deliver..

Queenie,

I think so lor. I remembered it was expensive that's why I didn't find it worth to buy. I haven't bought my pump then, so don't want to anyhow buy the parts just for hospital usage, end up go back if buy another pump cannot fit. I think if you are keen on tbf, you can invest in a pump. I believe most mummies got milk just that you want to put in the hard work to try or not. I got the PISA only towards end of confinement, which i regretted, cuz should have it with me right from the start to reduce engorgement.

hi for those who have given birth at Mt A already, what do they give u ah? also can anyone share their rough bill size... thanks =P

i jus hope i dont pop too soon... my mum & mil still have nt gone to buy my confinement herbs -_-" my mum jus came back frm her mini holiday... wanted to enjoy b4 she looks after me & my baby.. haaa... waiting for her to move in with me also... also tryin to count when i shld start taking my ML... wld like at least 1wk break b4 actually having the baby...

it's already MARCH!!! its been a rather long "ride" since the beginning(finding out abt the pregnancy) to now... roller coaster for some, blissful for others... we've all been thru it together... hee... it's been great being in this forum... hope we can continue to motivate one another and see each other's babies grow up =P its nice to read other mummies experience which will help us learn as well.. thanks to all who have shared!!! =)

okie i need to rush out! will continue tonight =P hee

Pinksorbert
Thanks haha I have been waiting for so long since cny like gt sign wan to come out till nw haiz.Making me more and more anxious lor haha the more I am waiting the more ganjiong and scare.

Cindy
Haha I think all the nurses there very nice de if u like get to know them.So I reali hope can go back to SR ward will feel more comfortable seeing those I have been toking to and seeing.

Good noon Queenie
Haha SR and OL is the ward name short form for MT A la haha.So u 2 more days 39week lor.I gt like 5more days to 39week had just told hubby 1week plus more than over baby overdue le haha said that in chinese (gou chie) lke abit funny haha.Hubby ask what u say haha I say overdue la haha.

Caca, yea, Haha there the nurses all very nice de Heee. So nice to see familiar faces. Hope u get your wish Heee.

Thank u winter and queenie, I hope faster confinement over and I can exercise and bf more stable too. Haha.

Missycandy and Caca, I had to pay abt 2.1k cash after 4day3night stay. 1 night in double bedder and the rest, single bedder. But they will only send the final bill after 3wks wo.

janbebe
at least ur mil tell u to pump out milk so u can rest, she is thinking for ur wellfare.. mine ar.. she told me not to do bf!!! think coz she wans me to go back to work asap.. coz during my pregnancy she so scare i dun wanna go back work n kept nagging to me about going back work.. coz she's a workoholic herself lor.. but i just heck care anyway i will be staying with my mom for quite a while before moving back liao.. so sick of her nagging, wanna catch some breathe before going back..

cindy
welcome back home.. jia you on ur bf!!since u got experience liao, think will be fast to get on hand in no time..

queenie
dun worry, it will be ur turn soon.. just wait patiently for his arrival.. at the meanwhile try to get more rest, arbo when bb out u got no time to rest liao.. =)

vivien
hahhaa.. oic.. no wonder i was thinking how come he din do VE, so itz not his usual practise la.. anyway with one finger i think itz good to say bb is on the journey down liao.. in no time u can fit in more fingers.. i can fit in like 3 fingers liao.. tatz scary, seem like anytime sia.. hopefully next week he can come out coz in my week 38 then.. will ask him tis coming tuesday on my appointment coz i so scare my discharge might be unusual than normal.. anyway will be doing the strep b test so might as well ask him to check at the same time lor.. hehehhee..

missycandy
ya.. march liao!! so fast!! now we can countdown officially on the MARCH babies liao.. will see who is the first march bb.. =) so excited for mommies who r going for induce the coming week wo..

starflower,
Ya able to see u but i opt for 2 bedder. I dunno if my gynae assign anesthetist for me. but i know he assign PD liao. I just trust on him ba.

Asura,
I survived till 37 +4 weeks before gal popped. Can imagine how you feel. So awkward walking and climbing stairs with a watermelon clasped between the thighs. Some carpark lots are so small that I could not get out from car. That means I have to park farther away from lift and exit access areas.

Wintertime,
Haha…. Looks like we both have very hungry babies.

Caca,
Stitches from tears or episo should not be painful. The piles are more painful instead. Air your nipples when no one is around, it helps. The sore nipples will recover on its own when milk supply comes. Don’t worry, just enjoy your baby la. You will feel very satisfied after seeing your baby well fed after nursing.

Cindy,
Was told that cabbage will reduce milk supply though it helps relieve pain from engorgement. Might want to try hot compress instead.

Viven,
Hee… many hubbies are afraid intercourse will harm baby so don’t dare to do it. Enjoy your baby inside you first, you will miss that after delivery.

tsp,

What a relief to read that u can tahan more than 3 weeks after bb engaged. Means my gynae prediction not wrong.. as long as i dont walk or climb too much stairs...Actually i dont feel awkward walking or climbing stairs... that's why i tend to walk and climb very fast... got to learn to slow down now.. but hor..every morning i rushing to beat the ERP.. means i can only slow down in the evenings!... hahaha

tsp:: yea i tried hot compress useless le. SO bo bian i just used cabbage for just ONE hour.. then no more liao!! hehe..

dear moms, can i ask if your bb sleep in aircon room all day long? or non air? but won't be very hot with the swaddling cloth, mittens, booties and the clothing? haha!

Sharing more in hindsight

(1) maternity pads
in hindsight I shouldn't have nothered to buy the looped maternity pads nor belt, because the hospital (mine is Mt Al) will have one packet for you, along with the belt. I only needed to use that on the first two days when I had to go without panties. It is the adhesive type of maternity pads that we need to buy, because once you start wearing disposable panties you don't use the loop type anymore.
(2) nursing pillow - my brest friend
This is my life saviour! I heard that it might not be this useful when bb becomes bigger but as far as I am concerned, this has been my life saviour thus far! Once BB wakes up she wants milk straightaway, there is really not much time for prop up pillows, position myself nicely and I also don’t have the luxury of having someone else pick up the bb to hand over to me while I am "position". I do everything by myself cos I didn't hire a CL. Mom is my de facto CL but I usually do it myself. So with "my brest friend", I can immediately strap it around my waist, then with my hands free I can pick up bb and position her for latching while sitting down at the same time, no need to find one more hand to position and adjust pillows around me. My arms get the necessary support too. Once I’m done BFing, I just unsnap the "clip" at the side with one hand, and I can simply stand up with my hands free to hold bb. Maybe because I really have very little strength (never exercise mah heeee, no muscle one), I find this nursing pillow extra useful for me.

(3) BB plus
saw some mommies who have popped discussing about how bb plus seemed to make a difference in their NB's behaviour. Hubby and I think so too! BB grace is very alert for a NB. She is also relatively calm and easily settled compared to my friends' bbs. Don't know if this is the norm, but she is able to smile (v obvious smiles) and have pockets of time when she seems very very alert. I know all parents think that their angels are the best (heee) but well .. to put it simply, my bb does demonstrate the traits given in the testimonials of bb plus parents, as seen on their website. Yesterday this couple friend of ours who delivered 3mths earlier also commented the same. Said my girl is very advanced for a newborn. 

(4) Medela PIS
Super duper useful. Esp because I'm blessed with alot of milk supply, which also means my breasts swell up too quickly for my NB to consume. Mine is the original version cos it is a hand me down. I tried pumping both sides simultaneously to save time but just couldn't do it. Find it very awkward to maintain a good grip with both at the same time. So I tend to just pump one side at a time, which works great too. I read on a website that we are supposed to do a few mins on one breast, then same at the other, and then back again for a few more mins etc etc ... switching back and fro during the single pumping session. Apparently that helps to stimulate milk supply. One major sore point (get it? Get it? Heheee) – would have much preferred a handsfree version! Damn sian to be stuck there, can’t even surf net. :p

(5) My Tracking System
I now wear my hubby's Adidas digital watch all the time, except when bathing of course. I wear it even during my rare sleep time. It's great because I keep a record of exactly what time I start and stop BF in each session. I also note down whether there was a diaper change during that feed. As such I know how many BFs I do in a day, at what time, the duration, which breast and no of poos. I do the same for my bb's sessions on the UV machine (the one for jaundice treatment). This is very handy because when you are rushing to do so many things at the same time (sooth bb, change diapers, BF etc etc) and esp when you are sleep deprived, you will find that you sometimes cannot rem which breast did your BB last latch on and for how long. I use this info (and also which breast needs urgent relief) to decide which breast for the new feed, usually the other side.

Pumpkin,
WOW you best, 20min already can have 80ml. P/s Pumpkin, sorry just saw your PM. Too late. So happy that little pumpkin pie is now safe and sound in your arms.

Re: Milk supply
Mine takes much longer lah. I pump one breast at a time. On the 4th day (not 3rd lah) I pumped 140ml on two different sessions. 1st session … not familiar with the pump I think, 40min thereabouts only 40ml. Then the same night I managed 100ml in about 50min to an hour. I put quite low suction power + speed of 2-3 only (max 5) because I don't want to overwhelm my nipples and end up getting sore. Next day pumped in two sessions, total of 80ml, total time taken about 50min.
Didn't take a lot of fluids leh. Cos of my mom lor. She keeps insisting that I cannot touch water. Makes me drink red dates tea and soup .. in the end I am taking lesser fluid than usual. Can feel my throat getting sore. Have decided to "steal" water more often now. Don't care man.
Can't rem who asked about this but yah, I took neurogain, the DHA thingy during the last trimester. Just started taking again today.
I don't think I ate alot of fish. I got very turned off by fish during preggie in fact because everyone keeps bugging me to eat fish.
I have however, been taking my own pre-natal vitamins (and not from my gynae, but he checked and gave the all clear) since preggie. This pre-natal vitamin is also meant for lactating women. My SIL got it for me from Vitamin World in the States.

Oh yah,

Re: weight

I gained 14kg as per my pre op weight. Weighed myself today (one week after delivery) and I have lost 6kg. 8 more kilos to go.

tsp, ya manz.. i think he's going through growth spurt now... keep demanding for more milk when my breast are already so exhausted already. hope this will settle down quickly.

cindy, yes, my bb sleeps in aircon room at night.. day time, usually not unless the weather is very hot.

alfafa, i totally agree with you on the nursing pillow.. i had seen this nursing piloow before and I thought nothing abt it, until i tried out on the 3rd day at parentcraft at TMC. my shoulder blade was aching so much after latching bb. After i tried the nursing pillow, after i position bb correctly, both my hands will be free.. so this nursing pillow is really very useful.
so envious that u r blessed with lots of supply. i am still trying hard, working doble hard to pump and latch on bb.. not easy wor..

just managed to read the above posts on this thread. sorry ah ... abit blur blur one cos very sleep deprived

Hope this info is useful

Re; cold cabbage.

My gynae stressed again and again, that cold cabbage leaves are great for relieving engorged breasts BUT he said not more than two applications per breast a day. Anymore and your milk supply might be permanently affected. Like tsp, I rather use hot compress than use cold cabbage. Get your hubby to help. I was very touched when my hubby offered. He filled a bowl with pretty hot water (you need it hot, not lukewarm) and used one of bb's small face towel to press and massage my breast for me. Very very good bonding time with hubby amidst all this chaos at home. Also I am too tired to do it myself, plus don't dare to press hard. Hubby can do a better job.

Re: Mt Alvernia

Gave my girl an Ox Year "gold plated" coin.
Also gave a nice pink diaper bag with lots of goodies inside (all sponsored comes with product branding)
- waterproof changing pad
- blanket/swaddle cloth with head insert. (bigger than normal and very soft)
- mitten / bib etc
- small plastic carrier e.g. waterproof bag
- 2 sample pieces of drypers
- one set newborn airtight container with spoon
- sample J&J top to toe wash + baby lotion
- sample dettol instant hand sanitizer + antiseptic germicide
- sample pack Anmum reduced fat milk powder for BF moms
- sample kodomo baby wipes, bb shampoo, bottle/accessories cleanser, laundry softener, laundry detergent. All for bb's stuff
- big pack of NB pampers, which they will open to use during your hospital stay (rem to bring back!)
- likewise, pack of opened kotex maternity looped pads
- baby bath tub

can't rem what else liao

alfafa77
wow.. mt alvernia gave so much ar.. wondering does tmc gave as much or not.. but i doubt so ba..

Wintertime,
yah man. Damn useful. Didn't know about it actually, was just fortunate that it was one of those items my SIL from the states passed down to me. Whew!

Yah lor, very blessed with milk supply. Have been saying my prayers and thanking God every day. Now I just hope that my bb recovers from her jaundice fast. Aiiiiiiii saw the PD yesterday and though PD is very pleased that our hard work with the UV theraphy at home is working (her jaundice went from Day 3 13points to Day 6 15.5 pts. He is pleased that the Rate of Acceleration has greatly reduced), I would much rather she be rid of jaundice altogether. As it is we have slowed down the rate of acceleration only. We are continuing with the treatment (today is 4th day already), seeing PD again tomorrow. Hopefully we have further reduced the rate of acceleration. Then should be able to stop after Tue.

just FYI,

bb's healthy jaundice rate is below 10. Mine was 13 at day 3. PD said Mt Al will take action once BB reaches 15 pt, but he goes one step earlier to take action at 13pt. Lucky he did because even after two days of home UV light theraphy, she is still 15.5 pt, 2.5pt higher. If we haven't taken action at 13 points he expects her to be probably reaching 20 points soon.

ADANGEROUS level is 20 pt and onwards. FULL BODY BLOOD TRANFUSION required once it reaches 25 pts.

Oh yah, my PD is Doctor Terrence Tan at Mt Al, Kinder Clinic

so far happy with him

serene

double bedded. 4d 3 nights cos c-sec (epi). Saved alot of money. Also got a pleasant surprise cos they give 5% off hospital package if paying by DBS/POSB card.

Having said that ... suffered a bit cos my neighbour seriously have a major snore issue lor. How can such thunderous snores come out from a woman?>????!!!!!! wah liao eh. Could hardly catch a wink already with TBF-ing. But ok lah, lucky I try to catch a nap here and there during the day times. Wowwwww she really damn jiat lard I tell you

I don't regret choosing 2 bedded though. Really saved a lot. Besides BB was with me most of the time even though I was not in a single bed.

Besides hubby was too tired after spending the whole day, not much point for him to stay the night.

hospital bill ...

ok wait hor. No time to scan and load here but I'll try to pick up a summary. The bill is many pages long ... broken into many parts. a bit complicated

winter,

I'm wondering maybe the prenatal vits I took really help, because it says for lactating woman also. I just started taking it again yesterday. Maybe you want to try something similar?

Jia You, don't give up. But be careful not to get over zealous and end up with cracked nipples etc. Then lagi worse.

My bill at Mt Al (c-sec with epi) so it's one extra day from natural

PART A - BB's BILL

HOSPITAL CHARGES = SGD686.41
bb package (maternity) + nursery bed charges + diagonistic imaging svc + lab svc + pharmacy + GST

DOCTOR (referring to PD) CHARGES = SGD278.20
Attendence fee

PAGE ONE GRAND TOTAL = 686.41 + 278.2 = 964.61
MINUS est. medisave claim for hopistal = 686.41
MINUS est medisave claim for doctor (PD) charges = 150

SO TOTAL OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE TO ME FOR PART A = SGD128.2

PART B is MOMMY's BILL ... hang on

Hi all mummies!! V bz with my bb so didnt have time to log in.

Re: BF
My flow also come in but still not sufficient for the bb intake so need to top up FM. Hopefully the flow will catch up soon, now already 6 days liao.

Re: Weight
I gained 10kg, jus weight myself this morn already lose 5 kgs so still hav 5 more to go but the tummy still there. hope that the massage will help.

now i got CL but really afraid cant cope when she went back.

Blurjen
Great to see u
Me still waiting haha.Dunno when can join u all.I did ask Ching xia that day u deliver in the afternoon rite she was kind of shock saying ah how u know her haha.I say we alwasy chat in forum de.hehe.Anyway jiayou on BFing dun wori u will be able to cope de when time comes.

Back. sorry, had my late lunch just now. hee becos Hubby and I sneaked out (while MIL came to visit bb) for a late breakfast at yakun toast earlier.

PART B - MOMMY's BILL

HOSPITAL CHARGES = SGD2274.55
c-sec Delivery with epi + bed charges + clinical consumable & supply + equipment usage + operating theatre + pharmacy

DOCTOR (referring to gynae + anesthetist) CHARGES = SGD2380
Gynae attendence fee + Gynae operation fee + Anesthetist operation fee

PART B GRAND TOTAL = SGD4654.55
MINUS est. medisave claim for hospital = SGD2106.59
MINUS est. medisave claim for Gynae = SGD1093.41

SO TOTAL OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE FOR ME FOR PART B = SGD1454.55

TOTAL OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE FOR ME FOR BOTH PART A & B (i.e. this whole delivery) = SGD128.2 + 1454.55 = SGD1582.75

Mine is a double-bedded ward.

Serene,
yah yah have wireless. Damn shiok.

Oh cool, I thought he handled our visits well so far but he seems very very busy and short for time to discuss much. That said, he was very re-assuring and made me feel much better after listening to him.

He is the current PD for your existing little ones? If so, how do you find him? Am wondering if I should stay with him or try scouting around. He was appointed to me by my gynae. Am not familiar with PDs at all.

Are you with Mt Al as well? My Anesthetist was Mr C.C. Loo. First class. My c-sec with epi went very smoothly. No pain at all be it for drips or the epi jab (regional epi, so much finer needle than usual. Position is to sit holding a pillow on the operating theatre while he administers on my back).

Congrats in advance!

pepper,
these are sponsored stuff lah, so some of those bags lah, blanket etc you might not want to use outside of your house. hahaha

That said, it was a nice surprise.

Serene rem to get the abdominal binder from your gynae or buy from outside. Ask your gynae which size to buy if you are getting your own from the pharmacy. Hospital will charge an arm and a leg for one. My gynae strapped it on me immediately at the end of surgery. Makes a world of difference. I was already off the urine cathether and drip on day 2 after lunch. In fact, could manage to get off the bed and walk to the toilet for a pee.

Oh yah, one thing to share in hindsight

(1) BB lotion/cream

Worth bringing one tube to hospital with you. Apparently, it is quite common for bbs to develop a mild rash (red spots on cheeks, neck etc) due to exposure to a new ambience. I was pretty upset initially upon seeing the ugly red spots clustered around her cheeks, neck areas ... she didn't seem perturbed by them, just that I find them unsightly on an otherwise unblemished bb face. Turned out that my neighbour's bb also has the rash. She thinks it's because of the aircon but nurses told me it's because bb's skin is exposed for the first time to outside air.

Anyway, the advice is to bring along a tube. Neighbour brought her california bb cream, and the rash almost disappeared overnight. I didn't bring any, in fact haven't even though of buying it so everyone who visited saw my bb with rashes on her face. MIL was so upset. :p

It so happened that one of the hampers came with the Sebamed bb extra soft cream. Realised that when we reached home. I applied it on the rashes and they disappeared within two days

to all mommies who haven't popped,
stay cool and calm! Savour the last few moments of your little one kicking inside your belly

To those who have popped,
Don't give up on BF-ing. Whether you are struggling with under or over supply (engorgment issues), don't give up! We can do it!

wintertime
ya lor... now daily i must talk to him to guai guai wait for my gynae to be back b4 he comes out to meet me n hb...

caca
why not ask hb to accompany u for a stroll everyday when he's back fr work?? tink walking still will help a lot in labour ba...

siohchong
Congras!!! another brave mummy deliver w/o epi!!!
take care n rest more!!! update us yr birth story when u r available

SG
but i'm in w36... tot of letting my bb to stay longer till w38 or aft then come out... keke

moomooland
my gynae oso didn't perform VE for me lei...

sassybb
wonderful!!! u r waiting for the moment these few days n yr bb realli grant yr wish by due in march...

queenie
wat abt u? oso engage liao??

yiyi
my gynae oso didn't commented much... he juz said tat my boi considered engaged but still not deep in so realli depend on my boi when he's ready to come out...

starflower
excited right? try to walk more to dilate faster!!!

Wintertime,

Can check with you arh.. hospital got provide toothpaste/toothbrush for mother and father or not? Me wondering whether i need to put that into my hospital bag.. heh.. packing now..

sun,

Actually my gynae din want to do VE for me... but she did the ultrasound and bb seems to be fully engaged, given that my hubby is not ard in Sg, she did VE to check. After VE, she say cervix soft liao and bb's head is at the "door" already, just that "door" not open yet... eh... not sure whether she meant that my bb is fully engaged or not.
Actually VE is not painful, just uncomfortable. But hor, i find that after VE, i had more BH for the rest of the nite. She say going to do another VE for next fri... not looking forward to it lor.. Then she say during labor, the midwife would do VE every 4 hrs... cant imagine, uncomfortable but got to pay sian.. think i saw my friend's bill before.. $27 per VE performed... i hope by the time i get in, midwife only got enough time to do 1 VE for me.. heh.. wishful thinking hor.. lol

alfafa... thanks for the detailed info.. v informative.. glad tt ur bb's condition has improved... can understand how relieve u r now cos me also went thru several sleepless nights for my #1 when she had to sleep under the uv lights.. seems like u r not having the usual confinement food ya
.. take care n rest well..

oh ya just to share for mummies who is going to stay at tmc.. u can order mac delivery when staying there if u r hungry or sick of the hosp food... they will bring up to the ward..thats what i did when i had #1..

sun
he is those kind very lazy once he get home he dun like go out de very hard to explain.So now maybe tom he go work i go downstairs myself dun care.He will say if i go la anything happen la this and that he just simply cant understand walking to help delivery haiz no choice.

asura
VE performed during labour still hv to pay... i tot is free... hahaha

tat's mean u'll be in labour anytime issit?

sun,

Yah lor.. i din know still got to pay until i went through my friend's detailed billing.. heh.. Think cervix is suppose to soften then enfface (thinning) before dilation. But different woman got different speed for each stage so dont know leh.. My gynae predicts that i would give birth in 2 - 3 weeks time, definitely not going to be overdue. Heh.. ask me to walk and climb lesser... so that bb can tahan until daddy come back.

Have been monitoring my tummy... it has been dropping quite a bit every day cos i actually can see a difference every morning... friday was almost 2 fingers apart, this morning is more than 2 fingers apart liao..