(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

alfafa
milo oso consider heaty lei... try to drink more water ok!!!

devil
saw fr the brochure, there's bb cot promo during the BB fair right? u can hv a look... my bb cot will be deliver to my hse tis sat... but i cannot be at hm... so will be staying at my mum's place tis wkend...

sunshine,
no leh but I've seen it around. really ah? Maybe I'll try it next time but it looked really potent sia.

Then again what I did was not much better. kekeke
stopped already. Managed to put the lid back and shoved the tin of milo back into the cupboard.

Wah Rajah Inn buffet next week?
Asura/Sunshine, I sms u gals by tues if I am gng ok? Very tempted by the fried durian and the lean beef :p
keke...smaller grp and can chat more

Winter n SG, a BIG congrats to both of you! :D

Rest well...

Jasmine, jia you on breastfeeding...hee hope u can post ur boy pics soon

Sportger, wah glad u can discharge today, rest well at hm as much as u can!
Thks for ur sharing of the hospital bill, God blessing for letting u claim more in medisave,hehe

So how many glass bottle did u ask frm the nurses?:p

re:pD
when do we need to assign PD? is it in the hospital nurse will ask us? or during our last gynae check up? or we need to make appointment with the PD herself?

alfafa - u can go buy milo dinosaur or chocos lor...actually i ate milo powder with bread before and its quite nice =P

eliz - wish u all the best in yr delivery today...

i'm oso envious of mummies popping...wonder when my turn will be...

teddy,
thank goodness my craving for durians stopped in my 2nd trimester. If not milo plus durian sure die one.

Devil,
actually ... eating milo powder like that is very nice. heeeee sometimes I put milo powder into cold milk also. The powder will "clamp" together and float on the surface of the milk then you use a spoon to scoop up bits of milk and powder at the same time. Shiok!

Sunshine,
yah lor. I drink hot milo everyday. At least once. must drink more water. Recently start to have hard stools again. aiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Irene,

Zachary Ow
Matthias Ow
Ryan Ow
Gabriel Ow
Matthew Ow

You have the meanings of the names?

Hi Morning mummies

For Breast feeding mummies :
My gynae actually told me to take note if BF if total BFing pls tell nurses in hospital nt to use bottle to feed baby if there is a need for baby to feed on formula use spoon or striygne.Else when baby come back to u for BF u will have problem. Also Babies can survive with onli colostrum for 3-4 days before the milk comes in. GYnae advise me to stay in hospital if I in total BF Stay till baby is good in BF and milk comes in.Cos he say if go home le we might not be able to know how to deal with the first time engroment than we may easily give up BF.

sorbet
soon will be our turn... yr EDD is same as mine right? or earlier?

caca
so yr gynae advises best to stay in hospital for more than 3 days till BM kicks in?

Irene,
I like Matthias, but it seems that a lot of people mis pronounce it. I like zachary too.

Pinksorbet,
yah yah yah my childhood snack! milk powder with milk. When I was a kid I love that. And I would use my palm to flatten the milo sandwich (the keyhole shaped traditional white bread). That was before nutella came into town

I rem occasionally another one of my snacks was bread with a thin spread of condensed milk.

a walk down the memory lane.

alfafa,
as long as u enjoy it.
I'm drinking milo now too..

Sun
I dun have the brocedure. But no matter what, still have to get the baby cot... Else, baby no place to sleep...

Irene, I like Matthew

I also drink milo once everyday eversince preggie, it gives me energy

Wah eat milo powder think abit heaty leh...Alfafa maybe try nutella better...
I feel like buying nutella to apply with bread,yum yum..

oh sportger discharging today? how nice. Baby going home

caca,
oh cool. Didn't know that bb can survive on colostrum alone for the first 3 days. Then i don't think I will bring my breast pump along already. Thanks for the tips again.

alfafa77,

Zachary means remembered by god
Gabriel means God is my Strength
Matthew means gift of god
Matthias means gift of god
Ryan means little king

I personally preferred Zachary or Matthias too, but hubby prefer Ryan. He say Zachary and Matthias hard to pronouce.

mango,
you know ... I eat nutella by itself also. And peanut butter too! kekekekeke

Bad habits since young. Don;t know what kind of example I am setting for my young. :D

Irene,
yah lor, it's true esp for matthias. My hubby didn't know how to pronounce it initially. He thought it was Mat-tiers. hehehe

Zachary should be less of a problem. Ryan? Actually I knew two ryans, one insisted that it should be pronounced as Rye-yearn as most do, another insisted it should be Ray-yearn. Funny.

Don't really like gabriel leh, cos of the gabriels I used to know. hehheee

I still like Zachary and Matthias most. Short name is Zac and Matt. Both are nice.

irene
i voted Ryan too... i oso find a bit hard to pronouce for Zachary or Matthias esp for old folks... but old folks can call him by his chinese name instead...

Sun
Ya he say if we want total BF better let baby confirm know the technique le than go home else if go home le nobody help than very easily stress than give up BF le so best to stay in hospital till baby can latch well and BM kicks in cos when go home le no pro ppl to help us le.

actually ryan also not bad, just that I prefer the other two more.

yah old folks will usually stick to chinese or dialect name. Quite funny the way they pronoucne english names. hehehe

e.g. my MIL's dog is named Snowy (adopted dog so already named). She calls him Dob-by. The dog is smart also. Now responds to both snowy and Dob-by.

The other dog's name is Worcester (as in Worcestershire sauce, pronounciation is Wuss-ster), my MIL pronounces as Wu3 Si1 Ke4. Dog can recognise also.

My own dog is Alfafa, thus my nick. My MIL says Yao2 Fa1. She says very auspicious name because Yi4 Yao2 Jiu4 Fa1 (become prosperous the moment you shake him). LOL My hubby and I laughed until we almost teared the first time we heard it

My name is Hazel, my mom tried but always pronounce as Hei1 Se4 (the colour black). She said aiyo of all things why call yourself black in colour!!!??

So funny.

Irene, hehe i like Ryan or Zachary. hehe!!! Ryan is not so common la. i have no friends named ryan. or no friend's kids named ryan. But REYES is common.

Congrats winter and SG! Rest well

All the best to Eliz.
Sportygal, thanks for sharing and hv a gd confinement. Take care.

Alfafa,
I also like to eat milo powder with bread. yummy yummy!

fatfish,
nice huh? too bad I don't have bread now or I might just do that! then again I think overdose on milo today already. heee

Cindy,
Reyes ...never see before leh. how do you pronounce that?

alfafa
Ya that is what my gynae told me and he say we must keep look out for hw many time baby pee and ask nurses izzit normal lor if baby reali reali need to be feed on formula they will ask u than u tell them cannot bootle feed cos once ur baby bottle feed when baby come back to ur nipple baby will fight with u cos breast will be very slow the colostrum where by if they bottle feed the milk very fast babies are very clever so they will turn to bottle dun wan our breast le. So pls remember.Dr Douglas ong reali very nice he told me all this .

caca,
your doc is very good. It's amazing how smart babies are actually. That means they have some "memory" and knows how to "choose" as well. Instinctively plus some knowledge. Have been reading Glenn Doman's book on smart babies etc etc, wow damn impressed. And to think that we adults always assume that bbs are too young ot know anything. Actyally they learn at a speed that is far superior to us adults!

Queenie,

you made me laugh out loud literally. Yah yah you are probably right!

Or maybe, Ai Mei Li (loves to be pretty). BUt your version funnier. HAHAHAA

moomoo ...
waiting also. My edd is 3 march. But going to gynae this fri morning to see if she is finally facing rear (not just head down but nose must face our rear to be engaged) instead of belly. If she still hasn;t by then, which is my 38.5 weeks, we will schedule an elective c-sec. I haven't ask my doc yet but I hope to have it asap, maybe even Mon if they can.

alfafa:: heh reyes is pronounced RAY and YEARS. RAY YEARS. hehe it's a very nice name I must agree but a little too common. hhee!!

and caca, your gynae is really good.
My gynae has also been PESTERING me to do BF haha but i only said i'd try cause i can forsee it's gg to be VERY difficult with a DIfficult #1 around. But Definitely, for the sake of myself and bb, i told him i'd do my best. HAHAHA.

sunsun:: Caca's gynae is right. I made the mistake of giving FM by bottle when #1 came cause I was just too tired and irritated by his cries. SO i gave in and ALAS, HUGE problem when I came home, had to face with engorgement and he cannot latch well. End up, I called for lactation home visit and fixed the prob but cost me more money looo. hehe.

Caca, where you delivering eh?

alfafa
Ai Mei Li is common pple will think of ma.. ur mil/mom can come up with such special ways of calling so i tot of Yi Li Mi. hehehehe..

caca
ya ur gynae v good.. lol my gynae didnt mention anything abt after bb is born stuff. maybe he cares abt now when bb is in e womb more than anything..

moomooland
u are in 38th wk already?

Miss reading the forum for the past few days..Was on course then no time to read it at nite!!! Today back to office but am sick..having runny nose & sore throat! =(

Hope everyone is doing fine...& so happy for those mummies who hv popped!!! *Yeah*

Cindy,
I'll be calling my little boy "Ryan"

Grace
Take care wor. muz be very uncomfy for u. the weather has been v bad,hazy air.. drink more water, fruits and vit c?

MILO
see so this MILO popping up alot of times tdy. i got urge to go drink milo too.. kekes.

cindy,
oh quite nice huh. I learn something new everyday. Cool name.

Queenie,
Yi Li Mi is the best! Damn funny.

Re: milk bottle while still in hospital
so verdict is if we intend to total BF, must not ever give in to bottle feeding? Someone told me before that we can start to replace BF with BM in bottle bit by bit one month (or is it 2 weeks) after. Think there should be no nipple confusion by then?

Hope I can make it also. Intend to give only BM ti my bb. Saves alot plus read that BM lowers the risk of bb getting infections.

seabreeze,
wow you win. Toasted somemore. Kekekek

Grace,
oh dear. Terrible time to fall sick. Must be careful and drink more water. Don't know if you can take cold medication? If you are taking you might want to clear with your gynae first.

Sportyger,
So happy to see u so brave when everyone is asking whether u still in pain. Ans u still can be happily chatting here.

Re induce
i was thinking to induce. Anyone knw is it painful?

pinkdemoness,

Re: Rajah Inn,
I am still thinking about it. i would prefer this week instead of next fri. I promised to go to the same place on 6th March with hubby, so if i go with u gals next fri, i will be going back there again 1 week later.