Back!
Queenie, Babe, Pink
yah my gynae is super low EQ one. At week 11 when he asked me to start on package he didn't even want to go through with me AT ALL. I wanted to ask a few questions but he stopped me and say the package details are all outside I can see for myself. Said he has people waiting outside so we were literally shoo-ed away My hubby diam diam, cos angry already. As I have never seen any other gynae before even though I was starting to get a bit irritated with him then, I thought aiyah, just stay with him lor. Who knew it got from bad to worse.
The one thing that I think he is good at, according to my ex colleague who recommended him is his stitching lor. She said he does a very clean and neat c-sec stitch. I hope that's true! Actually she also said her hb didn't like this gynae from day 1. hahaha I should have smelt a rat then. yah never again for my next pregnancy!
Wowww so sweet your HB bought you an agnes B diaper bag. So maybe he purposely lament about the financial stress so that you would be even more touched when you receive the present. Can see he really dotes on you. So sweet
Mine are machine sewn, but actually if you don't mind hand sewing it might be faster, just more tedious. Hahaha because unless you are very competent with machine, it can be very tricky with the curvy parts and once you make mistake you need to unpick and etc etc .. very ma-fan. I sew and unpick sew and unpick manay times already, but am getting better with my machine sewing skills now lah. I recommend that you start with a simpler design first, that's what I did. Then from there slowly start to work my way around more complicated ones. I started with free patterns from here
http://stardustshoes.blogspot.com/2006/10/cloth-shoe-pattern.html
I think May got hers from here?
http://heatherbailey.typepad.com/heather_bailey/2006/06/bitty_booties.html
Then for the more complicated designs e.g. reversible mary janes, sneakers etc I bought the patterns online through etsy. Let me know if you want them.
But those are quite tricky to start with though.
huh what do you mean what kind of clothes should you get? If you mean scraps, basically I took out clothes that I don't wear anymore and which is cotton or fleece (a brand new Ikea fleece throw which we will never use) and use the materials as scrap for my baby sewing projects. Yah very fun. I treat each one as a new challenge for me to accomplish. The feeling is damn shiok when I manage to make one. Somemore I can show off to friends and family ... bahahah I buay paiseh one. Hahhaha
Oh yah diaper pouch, I saw that too. But not so crazy about it. Also have patterns for bb bibs but I already have too many bibs so don;t think I will sew. Am thinking of DIY-ing hair accessories next for my bb girl. Bought a stack of wool felt (not acrylic felt which is very rough) in various colours online via ebay. so excited lah. The possibilities are endless1
the thread on studioloft can be found in the Business listing section of this forum. Very looooooong thread. Should be her ba, I think she is the boss. So nice your hubby likes to take photos. My hb dreads taking photo. Also too lazy to take for me.
May,
actually he didn;t tell me anything about facing nose front or back. It was my friend who gave birth recently who told me. Her head down but nose facing front, even at 37.5 weeks so gynae told her the implications and she opted for elective c-sec on her 38.5 week. That's why I went to ask my gynae. I rem when I tried asking him this question at 36.5 week my gynae replied ... don't ask me this kind of question now, I won't know. Unless you want me to "poke" you everytime. Wah liao I almost fell off my chair. So I ask again at my 37.5 week visit then he tell me. Oh dear you had a really tough 1st delivery. 23 hours of labour??!!! OMG! You are really brave man. Somemore got to suffer twice due to the c-sec.
Hey I have other design patterns, you want them? I bought from Etsy, the baby sneakers and maryjane, plus baby boots etc etc. All reversible ones. Quite complicated but fun also. Or you might want to try the stardust one I put above. The one is a simple design but actually it is one of the most comfy for bb's early wear. The rest if better for bigger infants. No no dont go spotlight. I realised that spotlight is at least double the price of what they sell at People's Park, the low rise building with a big hawker centre beloiw. I saw on some forum that lasalle students like to go there so I went to try. Went to the wrong building at first, the People's park complex. Could't find anything and was about to leave chinatown but heng my hb noticed that the hawkwer centre building is also known as people park something. 2nd floor is where they have tons of fabric and accessories stores. 100% cotton fabrics are on the average $7-$10 dollar per yard, for the thick material type, which is what I like. I tend to buy half yards cos I don;t need so much fabric for each print.
Caca,
actually I wished she wasn't this big! hey thanks for posting about Mt Al having free wireless. Am so happy cos that means i have something to do when I am there. heeee
Prosper,
oh dear. Hope your enzcema (sp?) is getting better. I suffer from that too since teenage years. Comes and go once in a blue moon. I had to resort to wearing gloves and covering up my affected area to keep myself from scratching until it bleeds.
I also apply calamine lotion to mini the itchiness. Hope this helps for you. But never never bath in hot or warm water cos the heat will aggravate the itchiness.
Queenie, prosper,
thanks for the info on your gynae. My copying and pasting their info for future use already. Sounds excellent!
Lenny,
yah think medical most important. If I am not wrong healthshield for bb can strat from 2 weeks old and then other medical plans like H&S can only strat from 1 month old. Somethin like that. I haven't decided which company to go to but most likely AIA cos majority of my plans are with them. Oh yah, previously when I went for a Mt Al talk there was a Great Eastern prmotion going on. Gave me free 6 months coverage at zero obligation (I checked and double checked). If after 6 months I want to continue then I opt in. Covers the usual bb stuff for 1st 6 mths. Free one. heee
SG,
no lah. not that shengsiong sells the same brand as cinema. I mean sheng and NTUC/CS sells the same brands but shengxiong (at least the one at commonwealth) much cheaper. I checked twice at cold storage & NTUC the exact same brand, same size package selling at $7+ a box but at sheng siong only $4.50.
pink,
aiyo why like that? Mine experience with SCBB was very nice leh. they sent a nice lady down on a sat morning to meet me at my gynae's place, around 9.45am. Yah think they should be more flexible. Afterall they are the ones who say they can meet at gynae's place one what.
Waaa just read your 2nd post. She's very rude.
Did you get her name? Maybe can call and ask for another person.
Oh just saw your 3rd message. Yah yah ... write in to complain. How can that girl be so rude.

Not professional at all, the way she communicated the message to you. Well done!
Daphne,
cool I tell my hubby. I hate snakes and lizards, even the household type. Can't stand them!