(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

brb .. im gg tk nap suddenly tired..
wdls raining too.

lemontree..i see..true lor...during confinement surely very xin ku de. cannot go out...trap inside the house till grow mould ah. hee this fri?..must be excited to see yr bb..i tink the listing will be longer by end of this week... =)

SG - i guess ESH doesn't provide admission list of items then...thanks...haiz...tot they can help us by listing out which items they need us to bring...like wat TMC does...

Fatfish - yalor wat to do since we not paying...but my fren jus told me the scbb ppl oso got earn $$$ from our donations....

Yeah! Just checked with my HR. If my gynae issue hospitalisation leave prior to EDD, will be considered as HL, that means I don't have to waste my ML or MC or AL...

Sg
U consider good liao lor I have been confine since week 30 till now u see my total confinement its like more than 3 months ah

Sunshine..

I'm not too sure abt pao shen.. wah u took pao shen during preggy? Is it heaty for u? So far i heard is cordyceps during preggy and pao shen is confinement..pao shen maybe also the re-energise and blood circulation? What i know is have to be pao shen, not gao li shen or other "shen" leh etc..
But just nw i also bought one pack of ginseng, the ginseng is put into the oven, grounded and pounded with some other herbs and packed into bag...
Oh yes, abt red dates.. got black and red.. black is "ni zao"? Got both..

Cheerios

Meebaby
I brought ginseng alone already cost me $176. I brought gou qi zi, pao sheng, du zhong and ginseng from Hock Hua already cost me $360.

sun,

Yah... felt better after lunch. Hope i dont feel so terrible again tomorrow. Was contemplating taking MC but really cant finish my work. Heh... Let's hope that all is well for me tomorrow..

caca...hee...true also...but i din really go gai gai during my 3rd tri..coz get tired easily..

queenie...sweet dreams!! =)

Devil..

Hmmm i think depends on different individuals bah.. for mee, i still can sleep after taking chicken essence.. haha..
I guess still have some weeks going to pop..chicken essence have iron mah.. so hopefully by the time gonna pop i will become an "iron-woman"..haha..
The taste still stinky to mee, i need to suck a chocolate or a sweet when drink so not too bad...hehe..

Kome..

Wah very exp leh the grade must be very gd.. The ginseng u bought looks like a "body with roots" type..?? that one very good grade..

My one all smashed with dunno what herbs into a bag..haha..

Cheerios

Miss 83, they will ask you whether you wanna Total Breastfeed or Partial or Formula Milk.
Just let them know what you want.

Talking about breasts, I notice the discharge from the nipples getting more these days till it stain my bras.

Which PD you all choosing, for those giving birth in TMC?

meebb
i didn't take at all... my MIL bought but i juz keep it... LOLx

asura
take care...

queenie
so late then take nap... sweet dreamz...

Meebaby
Yup, body with the roots one. No choice been forced by my mum to buy it. She said even if no money also must sell the gold to 'bu' back ourself during confinement.

Kome..

I see.. Haha your mum said kua zhang sell gold to "bu" yourself, but she said that with your interest at heart too..

I'm totally greenhorn in such herbie stuffs just nw the confinement shopping.. I just pay money haha..

Cheerios

st
I not sure if enough or not leh. For ginseng and pao sheng i don't think will be buying anymore, for the rest like red dates, gou qi zi etc (those cheap items) if not enough than will get my MIL or CL to go and nuy again.

Meebaby
Me too, is a greenhorn to all these. Whatever my mum buy i paid for it lor. I told my mum that i had only budget certain amount for all this herbs only.

Back!

Queenie, Babe, Pink
yah my gynae is super low EQ one. At week 11 when he asked me to start on package he didn't even want to go through with me AT ALL. I wanted to ask a few questions but he stopped me and say the package details are all outside I can see for myself. Said he has people waiting outside so we were literally shoo-ed away My hubby diam diam, cos angry already. As I have never seen any other gynae before even though I was starting to get a bit irritated with him then, I thought aiyah, just stay with him lor. Who knew it got from bad to worse.
The one thing that I think he is good at, according to my ex colleague who recommended him is his stitching lor. She said he does a very clean and neat c-sec stitch. I hope that's true! Actually she also said her hb didn't like this gynae from day 1. hahaha I should have smelt a rat then. yah never again for my next pregnancy!

Wowww so sweet your HB bought you an agnes B diaper bag. So maybe he purposely lament about the financial stress so that you would be even more touched when you receive the present. Can see he really dotes on you. So sweet

Mine are machine sewn, but actually if you don't mind hand sewing it might be faster, just more tedious. Hahaha because unless you are very competent with machine, it can be very tricky with the curvy parts and once you make mistake you need to unpick and etc etc .. very ma-fan. I sew and unpick sew and unpick manay times already, but am getting better with my machine sewing skills now lah. I recommend that you start with a simpler design first, that's what I did. Then from there slowly start to work my way around more complicated ones. I started with free patterns from here
http://stardustshoes.blogspot.com/2006/10/cloth-shoe-pattern.html
I think May got hers from here?
http://heatherbailey.typepad.com/heather_bailey/2006/06/bitty_booties.html
Then for the more complicated designs e.g. reversible mary janes, sneakers etc I bought the patterns online through etsy. Let me know if you want them.
But those are quite tricky to start with though.

huh what do you mean what kind of clothes should you get? If you mean scraps, basically I took out clothes that I don't wear anymore and which is cotton or fleece (a brand new Ikea fleece throw which we will never use) and use the materials as scrap for my baby sewing projects. Yah very fun. I treat each one as a new challenge for me to accomplish. The feeling is damn shiok when I manage to make one. Somemore I can show off to friends and family ... bahahah I buay paiseh one. Hahhaha

Oh yah diaper pouch, I saw that too. But not so crazy about it. Also have patterns for bb bibs but I already have too many bibs so don;t think I will sew. Am thinking of DIY-ing hair accessories next for my bb girl. Bought a stack of wool felt (not acrylic felt which is very rough) in various colours online via ebay. so excited lah. The possibilities are endless1

the thread on studioloft can be found in the Business listing section of this forum. Very looooooong thread. Should be her ba, I think she is the boss. So nice your hubby likes to take photos. My hb dreads taking photo. Also too lazy to take for me.

May,
actually he didn;t tell me anything about facing nose front or back. It was my friend who gave birth recently who told me. Her head down but nose facing front, even at 37.5 weeks so gynae told her the implications and she opted for elective c-sec on her 38.5 week. That's why I went to ask my gynae. I rem when I tried asking him this question at 36.5 week my gynae replied ... don't ask me this kind of question now, I won't know. Unless you want me to "poke" you everytime. Wah liao I almost fell off my chair. So I ask again at my 37.5 week visit then he tell me. Oh dear you had a really tough 1st delivery. 23 hours of labour??!!! OMG! You are really brave man. Somemore got to suffer twice due to the c-sec.

Hey I have other design patterns, you want them? I bought from Etsy, the baby sneakers and maryjane, plus baby boots etc etc. All reversible ones. Quite complicated but fun also. Or you might want to try the stardust one I put above. The one is a simple design but actually it is one of the most comfy for bb's early wear. The rest if better for bigger infants. No no dont go spotlight. I realised that spotlight is at least double the price of what they sell at People's Park, the low rise building with a big hawker centre beloiw. I saw on some forum that lasalle students like to go there so I went to try. Went to the wrong building at first, the People's park complex. Could't find anything and was about to leave chinatown but heng my hb noticed that the hawkwer centre building is also known as people park something. 2nd floor is where they have tons of fabric and accessories stores. 100% cotton fabrics are on the average $7-$10 dollar per yard, for the thick material type, which is what I like. I tend to buy half yards cos I don;t need so much fabric for each print.

Caca,
actually I wished she wasn't this big! hey thanks for posting about Mt Al having free wireless. Am so happy cos that means i have something to do when I am there. heeee

Prosper,
oh dear. Hope your enzcema (sp?) is getting better. I suffer from that too since teenage years. Comes and go once in a blue moon. I had to resort to wearing gloves and covering up my affected area to keep myself from scratching until it bleeds.
I also apply calamine lotion to mini the itchiness. Hope this helps for you. But never never bath in hot or warm water cos the heat will aggravate the itchiness.

Queenie, prosper,
thanks for the info on your gynae. My copying and pasting their info for future use already. Sounds excellent!

Lenny,
yah think medical most important. If I am not wrong healthshield for bb can strat from 2 weeks old and then other medical plans like H&S can only strat from 1 month old. Somethin like that. I haven't decided which company to go to but most likely AIA cos majority of my plans are with them. Oh yah, previously when I went for a Mt Al talk there was a Great Eastern prmotion going on. Gave me free 6 months coverage at zero obligation (I checked and double checked). If after 6 months I want to continue then I opt in. Covers the usual bb stuff for 1st 6 mths. Free one. heee

SG,
no lah. not that shengsiong sells the same brand as cinema. I mean sheng and NTUC/CS sells the same brands but shengxiong (at least the one at commonwealth) much cheaper. I checked twice at cold storage & NTUC the exact same brand, same size package selling at $7+ a box but at sheng siong only $4.50.

pink,
aiyo why like that? Mine experience with SCBB was very nice leh. they sent a nice lady down on a sat morning to meet me at my gynae's place, around 9.45am. Yah think they should be more flexible. Afterall they are the ones who say they can meet at gynae's place one what.
Waaa just read your 2nd post. She's very rude.

Did you get her name? Maybe can call and ask for another person.
Oh just saw your 3rd message. Yah yah ... write in to complain. How can that girl be so rude. :p Not professional at all, the way she communicated the message to you. Well done!

Daphne,
cool I tell my hubby. I hate snakes and lizards, even the household type. Can't stand them!

sun, ya... i m on mc these 2 days. if bb not pop by then, i will induce by wed.. it feels so gd not to work.. kekeke

pinksortbet, aiyo.. me sure on aircon during confinement lor. i think i will die with such weather.

kome, yaa.. must enjoy myself. i jus woke up from my nap.. shoik shoik

SG, you monitor leh.. i keep having cramps lately too.. past 2 nights also thought have contraction with short interval, but still manage to sleep throughout the night.. so guess it's jus false alarm. I told myself, i will admit to hospital if and only if i cannot tahan the pain. I jus read from feb thread, there's this gal, thought she was having contraction, went down to hospital,but was asked to go home in the end cos no real contraction.. i hope tt will not happen to me.

moomooland, so we are both now waiting for the time to come.. i still have light brown discharge leh.. anyway, wed is coming near liao...

pinksorbet, i agree, tt's very inconsiderate of the representative. can search for others to service u instead?

pinkdemoness, then u better rest well and not over exert.

hahhaa.. me still driving around. later will go pick hb up from work. last 1.5 days before i become officially a mummy.. so scary.. don't know how life will be like.

Devil,
I'm still undecided on the power saver thing. You confirm already?? Alamak ... actually this thing is from malaysia. And if you buy from malaysia it's lagi cheaper cos over there they sell roughyl the same price but in RM. In fact there is a supplier selling on ebay SG, says he will courier foc into SG. Selling at SGD89 only. So if hubby also thinks we should try I will probably get it online. I don;t want to say this on the BP thread of course. But I am still a bit skeptical about this so thought I better ask around. You know anyone who have personaly used the power saver and worked for them??

wintertime

dont think so much just enjoy life now before baby is out. it going to be another chapter of life. very soon will get use with baby crying!

Mango..

Wah so which week for what stuffs to eat? i see if my CL got follow your list to prepare the things for mee to eat or not..haha..

Cheerios

Ivy, ya.... got to enjoy as much as possible now.. hope my bb not that cranky type.. kekeke

mangogal, hmm.. confinement food har, i thnk my mum will tkae care for me.. but i hope not to spend too much. I don't need those expensive herbs leh..

Re:chicken essence
hmmm.. now can start drinking? i thought i will jus take one bottle before I admit myself on wed morning.

irene, SG, caca
heee me also packed my eyeliner, lip gloss, eyebrown pencil etc etc into my hospital bag. :D super vain hor? heee In fact, if only I had the guts to go for eyebrow embroidery before hand. Was thinking that I don;t want to look like a ghost when my hubby take pics in the delivery room.

Re: haircut
waaa so happy. Just now went to harbourfront to meet my ex-colleagues for lunch. Then on a whim decided to go fgor a haircut. Finally trimmed 3 inches off my super heavy, shapeless and looooooooooong thick hair which is causing me to perspire like a horse. Still long lah but at least there is a bit of shape now. I intend to perm 2 months post delivery for long curly locks.

Meebaby, I nt sure cos I bought a confinement receipe book and it state diff week bu for diff purpose, will ask my CL to buy accoording to the recipe book

WAHHH ahha just got up from my nap and so many postsss..

SG, irene:: haha eyebrow pencil, haha you 2 really win liao!!

Hmm .. wonder if sportger delivered already.

nancy, I use playtex liners bought from the spree here. very cheap. Think someone organised a bulk buy for baby diapers on this thread a while ago. Idaarshad issit?

wish a boy ...
oh dear. That is so sad.

mangogal
so yr CL will follow the confinement receipe book n cook accordingly huh?

alfafa
i'm oso tinking of gg for a final haircut b4 labour... mayb trim but not too short la...

alfafa77, paiseh paiseh...i tot u say shengsiong selling same brand as cinema. haha..blur me. =)

wintertime..yah will monitor..but getting tired liao..exhausted...yah like u say, i won't head to hospital unless i'm having bad cramps de. hee...

alfafa, u r not alone lah.. i prepare to bring powder and light blusher so that I can discharge from hospital mei mei.. kekekeke

talking abt sportyger.. hmm.. wonder how she is now.. hope everything alright..

winter,
wow you still driving around??! Amazing. I just got my license on 11 Dec, drove my hb's car for a bit and then stopped completely already. Got terrible backaches plus ... am still not confident of driving on the roads. Not to mention the fcat that I cannot park without poles. kekeke

*munching on Cafe Provence's famous mini chocolate croissants*

yummy. The one at Holland V. Bought 2 bags, total 20 croissants and guessed what ... HB ate 2 but I just finished the last one. Ate 18 from yesterday to now. Like a pig. :p

Re hair cut, I basically give up on my hair liao.. been a long time since my last haircut. I din even cut during CNY. anyway, I will pull back my hair and tie in bun during confinement..

SG, yup yup.. close monitoring lor..

okay gals, i go prepare,fetch my hb and go for nice dinner.. tata..

sunshine,
actually I kept procrastinating. In fcat, never stepped into my usual Kimage salon for 7mths! then just now happened to walk past one random salon and decided ahh heck lah. Just cut. He cut 3 inches plus thinned my hair by a lot cos mine was really way too thick and shapeless liao. Feels sooooooooooooo much lighter and cooler now. Damn shiok. Quick quick, better go now before it gets too late.

Winter,
same here! blusher also. :D

Wintertime
Do remember to tell us your birth story. So excited for you.

Alfafa & Sun
Me too intend to go for final hair cut next week. Want to have a shorter hair during confinement after that will continue to keep my hair long. I don't want to cut so early if not later during confinement will be not long not short like that.

alfafa
haha u so power still wan bring lip gloss le.How to u make up in the delivery power man.Cant imagine after delivery than make u to take photo haha nurses and Gynae will laugh le I think haha.

alfafa77, u are making me hungry...grrr..hahaha me had boring chicken rice for lunch earlier..hee..

Re: Make up..hee...its natural for woman to be vain leh...i intend to wear my specs so no point bring so many make up..haha..just eyebrow pencil will do the job. haha..

Wintertime, gd lor ask ur mum to prepare the herbs for u, u dun need to headache...

Sportygal..hm...i wan to sms her but dun want to disturb her...I be visiting her tomr afternoon as I hv gynae appt tomr
THen I update u all