(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

morning mommies!!

Wow Starflower is very fast. Thanks starflower! I received her brochure on the clubsnap photography already. Have responded to the coordinators for more information on the maternity package at $48. Not sure if hubby can be included in the photos. Heee told my hubby about it and he says he was actually planning to give me a surprise on Valentine's Day cos he heard me talking about the mommies here going for studio shots. Idea only lah, he has no clue and hasn't done any checks or bookings yet. But I am quite touched already by the intention.

Hope this works out cos by this Sat 14 Feb I would be 37.5 week and might be due anytime! My SIL and MIL said especially since I had such bad contraction pains last Fri, I am very likely due anytime. Wowwwwww so exciting and scared at the same time!

Tsp,
yah must tell baby not to rush. Come out when she/he is ready. For mine, at 34.5 week she was 2341grams, then at 36,5 (last sat) she was 2775grm.

Wintertime,
yah lor. I bought the original Medela PIS AC Adapter. Initially I just want to buy a normal one from the hardwarde stores too. But then I think someone, I think Jasmine, mentioned that she did that for another breastpump brought in from the USA and her motor burned after a while. Since I intend to BF for at least 6 months I figured better buy original. Found some interesting deals online but then I am very confused about exactly which is the correct ones, so in the end hubby thinks it's safer to just buy original

Asura,
I recall reading somewhere that medela freestyle don't need transformer? How about calling Medela to check? Don't know if there is a medela office here but I bought my converter from the first few years at Paragon. Maybe they know.

Queenie and another mommy, forgot who she is paiseh,
wow your GBS test $30 and $60 respectively only?>?? Mine charged at $130 of yours! Got suspicious because my gynae went one big round to tell me how much it cost. Said taht my $1000 package actually should only include 2 ultrasound scans but he does it for me every time. Somemore he gives me pics most of the time, whereas other clinics charge $20 each time so if he were to ask me to pay for the photos would cost more than $130 already blah blah blah. Bloody hell lah he. Full of shit. Got me so confused cos he talked and talked and talked so much and got me so confused ... then finally realised he is trying to tell me he will charge $130 for the test. Seriously, I won't advise anyone to go to Dr Lui at Orchard Plaza. My personal opinion. :p

Nana,
oh dear. Really must be careful from now on, esp if you are prone to fainting spells. Hope the lightheadedness go away soon.

Re:

vernice
my bb oso weights ard 2kg ard wk31+ but doc didn't poked my fingers lei...

kome
jtho seldom take sweet stuffs... last fri buffet, she didn't touch the fried durian lei...

vernice
my bb was 2.7kg at week 33 last tuesday. i took the glucose tolerance test last wednesday. after result out, my gynae arranged for me to see the diabetes doc tomorrow.

maple
even if urine showed nothing (like mine), there's still a possibility of gestational diabetes. detailed test like the glucose tolerance test, which they take your blood to test, is more accurate.

kome
the problem is i dun even take sweet stuffs, no desserts, no snacks

<font color="ff0000">jtho</font> - i realise those tao sa bao got lots of sugar. if u have been eating that, think can cut lor.

Jtho
Oh.....thats good not to take too sweet stuff esp in our last trimester. Don't worry you will be fine, just follow gynae instruction.

For me i like to take salty food, so worried about my high blood pressure coming back.

Kome,
wow so nice of you to go shopping for hubby's valentine's day prezzie. I used to go to great length at such occasions too ... but ever since I got pregnant, I didn't do squat for birthdays, christmas etc. Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee so bad hor. Shucks maybe need to quickly start doing something

alfafa
My hb paid for me 1 handphone from the BP as a present for me, no choice i have to go get one for him too. If not i will be too lazy to look around for it lor. =P

re: hospital bed at Mt A

booked mine already. Double bed room. Figured for 2 nights I should be able to tahan an inconsiderate neighbour (hope not!). About $600 $700 difference, and I'm not working now, so prefer to be prudent. Aiiiiii Oh yah, I'll be bringing my breast pump to the hospital too. Not sure if I will need to use but saw a discussion a few days back about some mommies needing to rent from hospital in the end.

alfafa - initially hb and i will celebrate all these special days lor...somemore with special budgetary plans..now like heck care liao...hb's fren selling roses, asked him whether wanna buy anot, hb said gotta save $$$ to buy milk powder :p i told hb b4 i prefer practical things lor...not so much a flower person..hehe

tink now with bb coming along, tink we oso won't bother celebrating these occasions with special plans ba...first year most enthu, then second year slightly enthu and worse for subsequent years...haha

Kome,
still nice of you to make the extra effort when you are so heavily pregnant. Chiam liao .... don;t know wat to get for him. arrrrgggghhhh his interests are all very exp or "exotic" ones which I know nuts about. Like rearing particular type of fish, or new fancies for the car like a set of rim :p aiyooooo

Hi Nana

I ordered Nepia. The reasons are below:

1. Material: good, soft and cottony. So far, no leaks, unless your baby outgrows the size of the diaper, then it is time to upgrade the size.

2. Can keep 10 seals to exchange for 1 NTUC $10 voucher.

3. Cheaper than GooN. Price of Nepia is $15 for 60 NB pcs. I think GooN is $18 plus, but I dunno for how many pcs.

Hope you find the advice useful.

Hi Miss83

You can keep the breastmilk in the same container so long as they are within 24 hours.

Can store in freezer after keeping in chill section of fridge.

Re: stretchmarks cream

I just bought the Clarins Body Treatment Oil Tonic and Clarins Total Body Lift to combat my stretchmarks. Anyone also using these? Any reviews?

Re: Anxiety bouts

Been feeling very anxious about the delivery, so many qns, dunno how fast I will heal (I took 3 weeks for my #1 cos of bad tear), dunno whether I can cope with #1 and the newborn, dunno whether I will succeed with breastfeeding....

Been also cracking my brains hard to clear space to put the cot and playpen for my newborn, and space to put sterilizer, his bottles, clothes, etc etc. Yesterday clear space till 11.30am. sigh... just feel very unsettled.

Pinksorbet
Yup, actually i am quite tired to celebrate all the occasions and get th present.

Alfafa
Haha....guys like those IT or car stuffs which is expensive lor. I get hubby an electric shaver which cost me $300+. Heartpain sia.......told him that for the next 10 yrs i won't be getting him any present liao.

<font color="ff0000">sun</font> - mine was because i also got family history of diabetics.

<font color="ff0000">jtho</font>- W33 @ 2.7kg ah? hmm..i will be seeing bb tonight then i will knw how heavy he is then. Glucose tolerance test - is it the one whereby u need to fast the night before then they take ur blood test and u drink a glucose drink?

pinksorbet,
yah I'm like this too. Hahaha very drastic change in attitude. No more specials ... told him the bb is a valentine's day prezzie. hee but feel a bit bad leh esp upon hearing that he was planning to give me a surprise photoshoot. I'll try to put something together I think ;p

Actually I love flowers and he also always make it a point to send one giant bouquet to my office last time. I love love love them. But now ... aiiiii cannot tahan the idea of him spending $100 to $200 on flowers now. Rather he gives me the cash. Bahahah

Kome

We r so heavily pregnant now, will be hard to search for a nice valentine's day present for him. Was thinking of buying him a LCD photo frame, so that he can flash our family photos (esp with the newborn) on his office desk.

Vernice

I also come from a family of diabetics. My gynae made me take the glucose test (yucks) cos of that and also cos my bb is quite big. Luckily am cleared of gestational diabetics.

I just took my GBS swab test last week. Will know the results this Thursday. Hopefully will be fine too.

Lemontree
GooN NB had 58pcs per pack. LCD photo frame is one good idea too. I should have got that for him instead of that expensive electric shaver.

<font color="ff0000">kome</font> - u still so nice ah? get present? since i pa tok till now, think we nvr really get each other present for v-day. not even flowers/ restaurants. Sooo exp during that day! rather he buy me flowers n bring me to resturants on my bday n anniversary. So think this yr shld be the same for us loh..anyway big present in tummy liaoz...so much sacrifices!

<font color="ff0000">lemon</font> - i am using the oil n stretch mark control cream. not the same cream as u bought. But the cream is really good n i like it a lot. Going to buy 1 more tube later as the new brand i got not so useful.

kome,
my goodness. didn't know shavers are so exp! we were at the harvey norman millenium store on sun and I asked him if he wantd a shaver too ... but he says not interested. heng ah. :-D

I might just treat him to an equinox buffet lunch on fri. cheapo alternative and i get to eat foie gras too. He loves that buffet very much anyway.

Lemon,
I am using Clarins oil too ... so far so good ... no SM. Hope I don't ever see them!

Vernice

I was thinking of buying the stretchmark control cream, but was thinking, I am already 36 weeks, watever stretchmark that has appeared has appeared. Do u know if the cream is good at reducing the stretchmarks?

<font color="ff0000">lemon</font> - good for u lor. cleared the results. i will only know today if doc will pass my glucose level :p

the SM control cream can help to reduce the redness. i have a lot of SM so i feel it does help to reduce appearance. anyway i tot of continuing to apply even after birth to finish up the whole bottle

Alfafa77

Aiyah....I shd have bought the Clarins oil earlier!!!!! Now my tummy is so ugly....really regret... But now I just hope to reduce the stretchmarks.

lemontree - i didn't know there's a LCD photo frame...sounds v cool! do u know how much does it cost? i tink i would love to buy one to put our bb's photos next time too...

kome - i guess it happens....the mood will slowly fade as time passes...sad but true...

alfafa- ya lor flowers once in a while will be nice...not frequent and cost a bomb...cash is much more practical...hahaha...
tink if i get him a v expensive gift now will kanna "scolding" from him lor...say i waste $$$ should save up more now...he always think of saving $$$ one la...sometimes quite pek chek oso..hahaha

vernice
got family history so yr gynae must chk.. icic...
my clarins cream oso finishing soon... i oso love it... both the cream n oil...
which new brand u bought?

lemontree
i'm using the clarins oil, so far so gd... no SM so far... hope it oso dun hv till aft birth... keke

Lemon,
I started using since the start of my 16th week. Atually if you already have stretchmarks, as long as they haven't turned silverish yet (e.g. still raw red), the advise by Clarins is to use the stretchmark cream cos it can lighten the marks. That's what they wrote on the back of the SM cream tube. Think some of the mommies are doing that too and heard some good feedback. You might wan t to try??

Vernice
Ya, after pregnant we have to sacrifice and suffer, but is all worth while after you see the little one.

Alfafa
Heehee....there are some other cheaper one lar.....just that the sales girl recommend this one which is quite exp and told me is very good.

Pink,
your case diff from mine. I'm the more practical one, hubby spends without thinking most of the time! Alamak.

lemontree,

I bought my clarins oil on this website beautynscent or something like this. I received personal delivery the next day, super fast! They have a BP thread here too. Check them out. Price is reasonable at $56 for a 100ml bottle. They have the SM cream as well. That's really the one you need I think.

men! so hard to buy presents for.

Kome, I downgrade a;ready. Last time I buy him St Julien Dinner, I will never forget it cos it burnt a hole in my pocket. Now equinox buffet, somemore pay using my feed at raffles card (50% discount) hehehehehe. From $550 to now $60 nia. And the former wasn't even as pleasing. My hubby loves dining and good food/wine, so that time wanted to let him try French fine dinning, that's why St Julien. Bo hua one. Equinox buffet is nice actually, they have foie gras and very gooooooooooooooooooooooood desserts. Yummy

speaking of which, I better call now to book :p

brb

vernice:: u can clear the test. fingers crossssed!! and yea will keep you all updated! i'm getting really jin zhang cause just found out another of us has popped!! hehe will leave it to her to let her tell u all... hehe so don't ask me who ha!!

jtho:: HUGSSS.

<font color="ff0000">lemon</font> - the LCD photo frame is nice but hor consumes electricity leh..

<font color="ff0000">pink</font> - ur hb save $$ type ah? at least better than mine cos he neither save $$ nor likes to buy things too. contradicting hor. so i always get him things that i like only.

<font color="ff0000">sun</font> - the new brand that i bought not so known in SG but i bought it from the amk shop n its displayed next to clarins only. the sales gal was sayin that it was as good too, so i try lor but effect not as good as clarins. smells good tho. heehee

<font color="ff0000">kome</font> - ya i also hope so. see ppl's boy so cute haha..

<font color="ff0000">cindy</font> - wow another one pops?! wintertime? she is the only one supposed to pop now.. unless some other mummies premature?

Cindy
So misterious? So curious to know who has given birth. Mmm.....same as vernice guess might be wintertime?

vernice:: hehe yes not really premature but yes earlier than expected.. i still haven't buy breastpad and maternity pad!! and haven't packed my hosp bag too! i shall get down to doing it this wk.. ahaha!! procastinator man!

cindy
another mummy pop... wow!!!
hmmm... or issit caca??? she's oso on standby as she's off her medication for her contraction...

Last sat went for my check up and gynae said my BB now weighs abt 2.8kg at 33 weeks. Am I going to have a very big BB huh?? Mine is a boy. The last time my girl weighed 2.7kg at birth only..

Today will be the last week of working days. starting my ML next week. so happy. can't really walk much.

<font color="ff0000">cindy</font> - i got no facebook access!! sobsob
so this mummy already more than 36wks?
u getting maternity pad? i don think i want to use leh..

Hi mummies, didnt manage to log in during the weekend and already so much to read. Enjoyed the gathering on friday, thanks to sunshine and asura for organizing.

Was sharing with the mummies on friday about my gynae checkup. I was 36weeks and I was really shocked when I found out that my baby is already 3.2kg. Gosh was a bit worried as not sure if can still go natural birth. Anyway baby is already engaged and gynae says that she may come out anytime. So now is really the waiting game.

Alfafa77, I did my strep test and it cost me $51. How come yours is so ex.

Nana, do take care and hope you are feeling ok now.

cindy - i cannot access fb in the office...hehe

so its steph? wow....nice nice...i haven't seen her post for a v long time liao

sun - steph is the mummy whose boy v photogenic de...v smiley n cute...she always posts her boy's photos here for us to see...

<font color="ff0000">kome</font> - Steph?? eh...cannot remember..paiseh

<font color="ff0000">prosper</font> - good for u too! when ur bb arriving? how come so many mar mummies become feb mummies heehee

<font color="ff0000">kristen</font> - seems big..jtho's bb also ard the same