(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Re: disposable panties

I saw the maternity ones at watson at vivo. I think sold at selected outlets only

Re: kotex maternity loop

Can any mummies enlighten me how to use it? I read u need a belt. Where to get the belt? Hospital provide? I went ntuc unity to ask. They dun sell. I dun feel safe wearing it. Seemed can fall off easily.

Re: Breastfeeding
omg.. mommies who do bf, can a child latch for so long till meah? i thought once their teeth r out gotta stop them from latching liao? by the way how old will their first tooth come out?

pinkdemoness
yr memory very gd lei... thks hor!!!

meebb
coz st was mentioning whether bb will bite nipple anot... so i'm telling her cannot said wait come true... my mum oso forbidden me saying all tis...

idlecat

Like prosper, i also opting for 2 bedder. Went for tour. Request for the newly renovated ward.

p3pp3r
When baby got teeth, they will bite the nipple. Even if no teeth yet, when they are older, they will pull and suck your nipple.. Very painful in the beginning. But used to it can liaoz..

prosper

Engaged means bb head is at birth canal & preparing for delivery already. U can feel difference if bb head low or engaged. For me, engaged .. Feel like a ball in between your legs. And tummy kinda drop & u can breathe easily too. The word is 'lightening' effect.

st, yes heard that she is good and the wait at her clinic can be quite long. One of my friend is using her as PD too. I am not sure about the arrangement of her going down to TMC, but I think shdnt be a problem bah.

prosper

Err.. Thanks. Dun think shd be hapi for me. Haha.
I am not prepared. I want bb put on weight till at least 2.5kg before can tell him 'now u can come out anytime'... So now no chance we share room already. Hehe. I want march bb now become feb bb.

p3pp3r

i have the same worries as u. They said to pump to stimulate milk production.. so that means we throw the ebm or what... since we are advised not to introduce bottles yet... i am so confused... and if u supplement with FM... when? after u tried latching then straight away FM... hmm.. any experienced mummies to advise?

Nana and pepper:: for the first 6 wks, actually no need to pump after latching, just solely latching will help build and stabilise your milk ss. However there are some mummies i know who still pump after latching to FULLY empty the breast, so as to tell the breast MAKE MORE MILK, if you leave milk inside, the body will adjust to bb's demand that he only needs this amt, thus i will just make this amt.

For the pumped milk, you can store it in the freezer. After 6 wks, if you would like, you can thaw the frozen milk and then introduce the bottle. And from then on, if you would like to pump instead of latch, instead of freezing, you can also store for 48hrs in the lower compartment of the fridge... but milk thawed once CANNOT BE FROZEN and RETHAWED. same for the milk that is kept for 48hrs and heated. I hope you understand what i mean.

So if you wish to store frozen milk, whether in bags or bottles, u need to count properly not to waste milk.

thks for the clarification.. so if i wanna allow baby to latch for as long as possible.. when is the best timing to stop baby from latching and introduce pumped milk? becoz i dun think i wanna latch till my bb grow teeth lor..

p3pp3r, nana - Pump to stimulate more milk ... yes its true.

Thats y buy the milk bag and store in freezer. Can keep the milk for 6 mth if store in freezer. Then when u need to go back to wrok, u dun need to worry ur baby no milk to drink.

My own personal experience. I am a SAHM, I latch on my ger till she is 3 mths old, meaning i pump when she is not drinking. then after that when i found out that she love to latch on to me for pacifier to fall asleep then i decided to kick her habit since she is still young. So i only latch her in the morning and noon. NIght feed all by bottle to kick her habit. night time i continue to pump although she is on bottle.

After months i find that my freezer run out of space and even got to lend the freezer from my neighbour. But 1 good thing i only latch till when she is 7 mth when i found out that i am preg again. But she still had a BM till she is 1yo. Imagine her supple of storage of BM can last for 4 mths...
NO FM thruout...

st

I am usind Dr Lilian Lim from The Kids's clinic too since she is my son PD too.

dont worry normal condition PD will not be there when we delivery. they will drop by after their clinic close or early in the morning every day unless the baby is premature she will be present during delivery time. I have checked with her

cindy/ sassybaby

thanks for the clarification.
i did not know that frozen milk can last for months. i thought max is one month.. so for those mummies who brought the pump to the hospital, it is actually to empty the breasts so kinda send a msg to the breasts to produce more milk... hah.. even when mrs wong was talking in the class.. me and hb still confused when we need the bottles... geez... so sassy u have a designated freezer just for EBM? i don't think my freezer is big enough. Some more with all the frozen meat. Do u put the frozen food and milk in the same place?

pepper, it actually depends on you to see when you wanna stop latching. For sassybaby, she latched till 3 months.

For me, i latched him on till 10months. But mine's not fully latch on, just for night, midnight and early morning feed. I didn't want to pump at work, So, i started to replace the day feeds with FM on the during the last 4 wks of my maternity leave such that I train body not to make milk during day but still have supply to feed him at night. until I realise that midnight feeds is just comfort feeding, so I just intro bottled FM until he doesn't wake up for milk and then i totally also all latchon feeds.

I didn't pump at all to store milk cause i really truly hate pumping. hehe!! and for first 6 wks, the lactation consultant told me not to pump so as not to over produce so i just stick to my own comfort zone, latch whenever he wants.

when we deliver... milk doesnt start immediately right??? so does this mean that hospital actually give FM to our bb? does the colostrum start flowing already after u deliver? i wonder if the amount is sufficient for bb. just afraid our poor bb would be very hungry... i read in jan thread that some mummies going into depression not having enough milk.

nana, u can just store together with ur meat. Just need to seal the milk bag properly, DUN let it be contaminate, that is very IMPT. For me i dun bring the pump to hospital cos 1st 3 days not much milk, i just keep latching every 2 hrs...

nana, if you wanan bring pump to hosp probably is just to see if you know how to use pump or something cause my milk only came in when i went home.. so even if bring pump also nothing.. HAHHA.. and yes, if you can, think better for u to get a different freezer.
if not the smell also weird le. but if not, store together also can.

if you want to be on TOTAL BF, u have to tell the nurses there. then they will just let u latch and not give any other liquid to the bb.

If you think u don't want to let bb starve, u can also tell the nurses to supplement with FM after You have finished latching. but then better also to request not to use bottle to supplement cause later hard to revert back to nipples. Can either ask them to use spoon to spoonfeed or use syringe.

sassybaby

if let's say we pump now.. we only get 20ml of milk... then 2 hours later we pump again.. can we use the same milk bag? i wonder if one bag of EBM.. what is the quantity? cos each time we pump we use different bag.. then the freezer will contain a lot of bags with very small qty of milk...sorry many qns.. i am lost...hehe

There is nothing to be stress abt. MOst impt is keep a clear mind to urself that u just wan ur baby to be fully BF. DUN let anyone stimulate say not enough milk feed FM. 1st few day just latch on demand. After 5th days, milk come in and baby will feed on desire amt and then follow by 2 to 3 hours feed again.

nana, you can combine the day's pumped milk in the lower compartment of the fridge first, then when sufficient amt, combine all and put in one milk bag and directly freeze.

nana, yes diff milk bag each time u pump. Thats y i get a lot of cheap milkbag on BP...
Hahaha... then in future when baby need 60 ml take out 3 bags lor...

sassybaby:: hehe so will you be asking hosp or telling them that you want bb to be on total BM? I am kind of confused too, don't know if i should cause the last time i also caved in and let them supplement with FM after i hear him crying.. so now don't know if i should tahan and just tell them NO To FM, water and glucose..

Nana, u can also follow what cindy's doing as well. Just that i am afraid that it might contaminate the milk. But eventually u can do it this way when baby is older. For NB, I too overly worried abt their functioning system so i just put in one milk bag each time...

2 cents worth of advise.

Hi Good noon mummies
I went for check up last night baby 34weeks plus will be 35week tom oh baby is 2.4-2.5kg.Gynae give me the go sign to off medication and I also ask him if I were to deliver now baby can go home with me he is very confident and say yes so I got no worris now just wait to pop le so scare today like keep having contraction dunno can tahan till wihich day. Haha at the same time also scare false alarm waste trip to hospital.Let jia yu together ba

sassybaby

3 bags for 60ml??? oh dear... cindy.. if i use your method and put the first pump eg in milk bag then combine 2nd pump later on.. then put in freezer.. bb won't get diarrhoea right? milk not contaminated ya?

sassybaby..before can ask.. u already answer... ya thinking what prosper said also.. i did not know can combine diff milk bag for bb to drink.. even if pump different days...

Cindy, The last time i just tell hospital i wan her to be total BF. SO everytime when she cry they will push her to me. But most of the time she is in the room with me unless need monitoring. And for the night, is very tedious lor... cos imagain u sleep half way, the nurse come pushing ur crying baby in... haha... but i endure lor... till i go home then enough milk liao she suckle happily and only need 3 hourly...

nana, hehe you must be very careful. For me, I don't wanna open the milkbag unneccessarily. So for first pump, i pump into bottle and put in fridge, same for second and third, until sufficient amt, then i open up the milk bag at one time to transfer.

caca, HAPPY to hear your good newssss!!

prosper and nana, can combine different milk bag if you want.

sassybaby:: hehe, okay. So this time i shall persevere on!! So will you eh? haha!!!

caca

that is good to hear.. your bb has passed the critical waiting period.. am sure that it is huge relief to u..
my bb only 2.1kg.. this sat 36 weeks... i don't know if i were to deliver at 38 weeks and if bb not 2.5kg yet.. i wonder if bb can be discharged .. forgot to ask doc...

prosper and nana, no prob to combine all diff milk bag to drink. As long as b4 baby drink, bring out to thawed properly, then put all together in milk bottle then warm it up not exceeding 40 degree then fee lor...
No prob...

Thats the thing, b4 when baby is just a NB i dare not try cindy style. But when baby reach abt 4 mths old i do anything lah. As long as she got milk dun bother me i happy liao
HAhahaha...

cindy

is the bottle the one u ask from hospital before u discharge? that is free right? the bottle comes with cover also?

Cindy, I know u fron Nov thread ya... hehe... Cos me always read the nov and dec thread as my ger is born dec.

To be honest, I kind of feel that I will let my ger down if i do too much for this baby now. I am feling very stress, cos this is going to be my first time to leave her for 3 days and go to hospital for deliver. I feel kind of sad each time i think abt this..
Do u have the same feeling as me?

nana, you can get those bottles from hosp. me.. i just use the normal avent bottles.. ahha so imagine how many i got.. walalla...

prosper and nana:: keep your spirits up! bb will gain wt exponentially now. hugs.

sassybb
do i need to get milk bag first or can buy later?

can i hv yr email addr? wanna send u fotos for 1st gathering...