(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Morning pinksorbet

I remember Mrs Wong rolling a piece of cotton into a really thin strip and she say can use that to remove muscus if there is any in bb's nostrils.

Re: Chinatown
Can be quite scary to walk through the crowds. I was there 2 weeks ago and it was only the beginning & I had to walk with my hands on my tummy or HB in front of me.

Re: Sleeping at night
I can't sleep on my back cause I begin to feel the weight on my spine after a while and when I sleep on my side, BB also kick but I try to adjust such that he stop kicking.

daphne
i'm already start eating pineapple tarts lor... tink eat moderate shouldn't hv any prob one la...

Those of u who have bot the front button PJ, can share pics here how it looks like? I saw some y'day, but don't quie fancy them...

sorbet/jasmin
i oso find sleeping on my back more confortable comapre to sides... but i'll try to shift to sides in btw... mayb will chk w my gynae next wk whether if continue sleep on my back will cause any damage to my spine anot...

Pinksorbet
Re: Cleaning of umbilical cord
The solution that hospital provide should be enough to clean till the cord drop. If it is not enough, u can get off the shelves from pharmacy. It is call CORD SPIRIT if I am not wrong. Use cotton pad to clean. I do it till the belly button is nicely "heal".

RE: Sleeping at night
I also go problem sleeping at night. And this BB, only like right side. If I sleep on the left, it will start kicking.

pinksorbet,
Depending on the hospital I guess? Cos in TMC when I delivered #1, they gave me a bottle of cord spirit and I just have to pour some onto cotton wool and just swipe in the naval area to dry it. I think it is twice a day or something like that.

For sleeping position, for me, I think the most comfy is to sleep at an angle, not side nor back. Try to imagine.... I put a pillow behind me when lying on my left side. Then I allow myself to roll to my back, but the pillow will be in the way and I cannot lie totally on my back but at an angle. can get what I mean? That way, I will still be "on my left" but not as uncomfortable... and not totally on my back which can cause backache cos all the weight on the spine.

pups
u hv a pillow behind yr back which means u'll be at yr left side thru'out yr sleep right?
will yr hand numb when u wake up since u on yr left side for few hrs??
mayb i can try it out...

Teddybaby
I intend to go and take at look at a shop known as Young Hearts (if i remember correctly), their PJs are very sweet and soft to wear. But it is expensive so i not sure if really want to buy or not. I saw som PJs at Pasar Malam in Chong Pang but i do not like the materials, look like they will make me feel warmer instead of cooling.

kome - thats wat i thought...perhaps i should check with my gynae whether ESH provides unbilical solution anot
When u mention wipe after umbilical cord drops off, do we wipe the sides of the belly button or the inside as well?

Jasmin - Thanks, i was wondering wat Mrs Wong used to roll as a strip...as walking in crowds, either my hb or me will oso place hand in front of my tum tum

sun - thanks for checking...

May - thanks for the infor...i guess if the hospital i deliver at does provide it should be sufficient cos the cord drops off after a week? not sure tho...

pups - i am doin wat u suggested, lying on my left side with a bolster behind my back such that i'm tilted at an angle...i tink its good but my back or arm may oso ache...i guess can't help it with the pains since our tum tum getting bigger liao...

May,
my bb is always kicking on my left side. If i sleep on my left, i will feel it strongly. but if i turn to right, she stopped. Dunno y i dun really feel bb kicking or moving on my right. Sometimes, i feel worried.

Gd morng gals xD

After attending Mrs Wong's class of Taking Care of Baby.. realised many things need to be STERILE. So I think later I need to go pharmacy to buy sterile stuffs.. faintz.

Re: Squatting
Nwadays the pelvic area felt swollen and numb.. especially after walking or standing too long.. cant imagine baby is coming out from there if its natural.. the feeling will be O,O Sitting on the floor, so hard to get up nw..

I go use mirror see the swollen labia (the flaps of the V-skin), shocked to see that they grew big no wonder I felt there swollen, then I thought dunno got infection anot.. haha. So I called my nurse, as long as its not itchy then it's fine..
But gals note that if it is itchy, then it could be yeast infection.. at first I thought it could be.. But I bought myself yoghurt in case first..

I also talked to my nurse about stretch marks.. Stretch marks are hereditary according to her, so in a way, no need to spend too much money on creams..

Cheerios

Re: Sleeping on sides
Until now, I still cant sleep on either of the sides, mini^me will kick me.. So I gotta lie face up the ceiling like corpse..

Cheerios

Sun,
If I happen to sleep on my left hand then it will be numb... but I think I do shift my hands about so it is still ok. But even with this pillow behind, I can still easily adjust to shift around a bit. I don't have to be at one position the whole night. Else my hips will ache! Very problematic now.

Pinksorbet..

Mrs Wong used cotton wool to roll to clean the nose.. Like if I run out of cotton buds, I also do something like that to clean the earhole inside..
Cleaning of cord stump is to clean the area where the stump is swipe outwards..Then the stump will drop off and will leave 3 blood marks (cos of the 3 blood vessels/veins of cord).. then use cotton to press the marks to stop them from bleeding.. I guess once dried and bleeding stopped, can just clean belly button and bathe baby as usual liao..

Cheerios

morn MTBS

Vit C:
Try not to take redoxon as it contains artifical aspartame, upload increase taking natural fruits that hv high vit C will be the best

Chinatown CNY:
I did not go to this area too as every yr sure go there buy ba kwa and , but this yr will just go to mei zhen xiang dun need to queue one in shopping centre
skip this yr will be good for our baby mah...

Sleeping
I also sleep on my left side but always wake up to pee in middle of night so left side wont be numb, if sleep flat feel very heavy leh...
Anyway I hv a wedge pillow so when I lie my tummy on left side it is comfy and bb also wont kick,hehe

Lately felt very tiring to go shopping liao.. Last week I went shopping for the stuffs, weekends I slept almost the whole day aldy..

Cant imagine if its next mth I still have to go shopping.. I guess by next month I will stay at home to hibernate aldy..don't wanna walk too much aldy..

Cheerios

Re : Chinatown

Wah kudos to mummies who went to Chinatown..I see the crowd and the hot weather aldy puts me off to go there.. I guess just buy the goodies stuffs from neighbouring shops and shopping centre liao..

Cheerios

meebb
best dun sit on flr now... coz out tum tum is getting bigger so will be quite difficult to get up fr flr...

re:shopping
last sat i oso shop the whole day... nearly midnight then reach hm coz go for supper aft shopping... realli dead tired... sun got class so drag myself to attend... tink stamina realli cannot make it liao...

mangogal
can i chg the collection timing for the kueh right? might wanna collect early...

bb kicking on the left side: I also feel this. This makes me feel very uncomfortable when I lie on my left side. Right side still ok.
Also I feel that when I try to shift position, I had a hard time doing so. Eg: from right side to left side. I will feel that whole tummy like too heavy to be shifted or get stretch when I try to move.

Sitting on the floor is also a torture to me now. But my lil missy always wants me to play with her on the floor. I got problem getting up after that. Need someone to pull me up. Felt like an old lady.

Hi mummies, Just to update bb weight at week 32 last sat. Her weight is 1.3kg. Doc says is in healthy range, position is good as well.

here's my big tum tum to share

2069167.jpg

2069168.jpg

Prosper
Your tumtum quite big already. Glad to hear that your bb is healthy. another 6 more weeks you will be deliver soon. Time flies very fast.

kome,
ya my tummy very big leh. ppl always say. but bb like very small. think i absorb more than bb.dunno able to regain my body shape after birth???

meebaby - ya i oso realise almost all the bb stuffs need to be sterile, since their skin is like so sensitive...mrs wong advised dun use cotton bud to clean the earhole inside cos like sweeping dirt in, then use wat huh? will cotton wool act like cotton bud and trap dirt inside the ear as well? scared those wolly like stuffs go inside the ear...

kome - ic...i'm v scared to clean bb's umbilical cord/belly button...will make my hair stand...dunno y but thats me cos i feel belly button part like v sensitive even to adults...

prosper - yr tum tum v big and round...is yours a gal? hehe...

pinksorbet..

sleeping position...i finally found a comfy position to sleep better.....1st buy a long body bolster/ pillow (useful for post natal too)and put between legs with the tummy ontop of the pillow and a pillow to place on your back...
tried it last night and i managed to sleep better....only woke up once to pee...hehehe

Prosper
Haha.....weight after birth is what every mummy worry about. Me too, althought my tumtum not that big but also worry i cannot regain my pre-prenancy weight.

Pinksorbet
Just clean gently will do. Don't worry you the nurse will teach you how to clean before discharge also.

me 32wk my baby already 2kgs. Scare after 2 more months she get heavy then i will faint, dont know i can normal deliver. And somemore CNY is coming sure will eat more. OMG.

prosper
tatto yr name? can't figure out... hee hee

kome
norm will deliver at 38 wks? tis wk i'll be at w30 so i'll hv another 8 more wks to go lor...

Prosper
Had old people mentioned that if a baby gal will be very big and round at first, but before delivery tumtum will shrink abit. For baby boys, tumtum will lokk small at first but before delivery tumtum will become very big. Hope mine will not be growing too big.

serene
juz eat moderate la... tink u wouldn't wan to miss out those CNY goodies right??? tink best to avoid soft drinks... drink more water to prevent body heaty aft taking all the gd stuffs...

Prosper,

Ur tum tum really big! Nice and round. Pre-pregnancy weight i think very difficult, my tum tum not very big but i gained more than 10Kg liao.

sunshinebaby...

sleeping on the back will not hurt the back..but jut that baby will press your uterus and will coz quite umcomfort only...
i also try to sleep on my left alot but will roll from side to side an inbetween for a few mins....feel good right..hahaha

Thanks Kome. Where is Young Hearts?

Re sleeping on left side:
Ya my BB also wriggle and kick me when I sleep on the left, so I usually give up doing that. Find myself sleeping better lying on back and putting leg up on bloster or pillow. If not sleep on the right.

On average, how many hrs do u all sleep a day? I sleep abt 6-8hrs daily, but lately like still feeling very lethargic and tired. Not sure if its due to 3rd trim or becos still recovering from flu. Very tired...

prosper - mayb yours will shrink back again after birth dun worry...

kome - yup the nurse will teach ba...if not FTM like me dunno wad to do...even tho Mrs Wong showed but realli cannot absorb everything so fast...
re: shape of tummy
mine is v sharp as commented by others...i oso tink so....

serene - me being underweight dunno whether can carry weight of bb for the next two months+...tink i might not have strength to push during labour oso...tink abt it i shake head...

Sun
Anytime after 38weeks might be deliver. I expecting myself to deliver early, maybe end of Feb. Of course hope not lar, want to carry till full term.

Must really take care and be careful since we are already in 3rd trimester.

daphne
feel comfortable too when sleep on my side... but i'll try to sleep more on my left... btw, i dun need my qulit when sleeping now, kick to a side coz body feel warm...

sunshinebaby,
tatto is my name.. haha. must take a while to figure out..

Kome,
really hope it will shirk a bit b4 birth. hehe. very heavy now.

daphne - i oso wake up once or twice to pee, mayb the most its three times....but sometimes wake up liao difficult to fall back to sleep...

when i wake up from the bed, my back and arm will be v pain...i can never count the days when it doesn't hurt anymore...

Teddybaby
I saw 1 branch at North Point another at Hougang Mall. I might be going to Northpoint branch this weekend. Not sure if they have any front button PJs or not.

Asura
Don't think will shrink that much. Maybe a big and we will not be able to notice.

serene,

Dont worry. The weight is just estimation. Most likely ur bb is not as heavy. Anyway, if come out abt 3.2 kg should be quite a good weight.

re: baby weight

I just hope mine hit at least 2.5kg during delivery can liao...don't want bb to be too big cos hard to deliver...

sorbet
i oso hope my bb weight will be ard 2.8-3.0kg... not too big oso...

any mummies go robinson last wkend? any gd offer there?? i was at metro n taka on sat, didn't hv enough time to go over robinson...