(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

missycandy

1. BP for medela freestyle US import at half the price of Singapore medela freestyle set (already 3 mummies interested, pls PM me for info if interested)

2. Babymall online BP first batch ordered, still have mummies interested for second batch order, some USD more to hit 180usd, pls PM for info

3. Drugstore BP - Pls PM for info and also ready stock for california calendular cream at bulk purchase price, desitin creamy 4oz and first teeth enzyme toothpaste avail

4. Capella Strollers

missycandy,
i just collected the milkbags from the website order. have u?

re: diapers
went ntuc today to buy mamy poko size S 72 pc at $21.45 and saw nepia 54pc @ $16.45. so slightly more exp.

vernice - no? LOLOL!!!!!!!! i havent been free past few days... argHx... hw is it ? looks Ok or nt? i actually have a lot of avent ones at home leh... its like the playtex ones... its not used but it looks old... my boss passed to me... jus wondering safe to use or not... hahahaha

SG,

I am using about 4 pads a day, even now when my flow is so minimal..sometimes the pad is clear but I still change it.
The reason is we need to stay clean and dry most of the time especially if you delivering naturally. I has stitches that
gets abit infected and itchy, thus I used alot of the pads to make sure after i wash myself and I'm putting on new and clean pad.
I don;t know how many pack of 4s my hubby bought though.

moomooland,

I don't know what cotton balls usage for babies as my baby not back with me yet...

But, I am using Cotton Balls with Procaine Spirit to dab on my stitches wound to get rid of the itchiness and infection.
Cotton balls has to be those medical/sterilised type if we are cleaning our below.

miss83,

I don't wipe off the BM from my breast after I pump. I used the remaining to apply on my nipples. It heals cracked and sore
nipples very well. I will clean my nipples with a warm towel before i Start to express again.

vernice/missycandy,

what milkbags? is it milk storage bags??? Can share any good buys?
I need to use alot milk storage bags to bring milk to my girl in hospital...now I am using both the First Years and Medela ones.
They are quite costly at about close to $1 each. imagine I have at last 6 pumps a day, then it's like $6 a day, more expensive than FM.

missycandy,
i just found out that her current batch of milkbags are slightly different from those in BPs. Thats why cheaper. Her milkbags come with single zip whereas the newer version comes with double zip. She was sayin her next batch will be the improved version and the px will be abt $7-8.

u shld have told me then i can help me u mah..my hb drove there anyway.

my bb's wardrobe just came today. Finally i can plonk everything inside. looks neat and tidy now..so happy. i guess most of bb stuffs are ok liaoz maybe small things like cotton wool or what my mum can help me settle since easily available. i left with pump, panties & pads i think.

gingal,
we bought the Blue Egg milkbags. 1 box 25 pc for $6. i only bought 4 boxes only. from what u describe, seems like we need to use a lot eh. U interested?

missycandy,
milkbags got expiration one leh. think thats what the lady mention.so u better check if ur avent one have or nt. if ok, think use lor, save $$ mah. from what gingal said, maybe 100 also not enough right?

st
i stopped taking any vitamin C since preggie. but last month when i had flu, i took 1/4 tablet of vitamin C. heard that too much Vit C is not good, since we already take multivitamin given by gynae.

vernice/missycandy,

Thanks, $6 for 25 is a real good deal despite it to be single zip...As my milk will exhaust quite fast and no need store for more than 3 days thus I think single zip is good enough. whereas if you girls wanna store for like one month etc. then the double zip will be good.

hi miss83,

Procaine Spirit is like a disinfectant to clean Mummies' after birth wounds below. All these can be purchase at any pharmacy counters. But you need to get it from the Pharmacist.

re: episiotomy - local hospitals i think will give u a bottle of procaine spirit upon discharge to clean the wound after peeing... but i read online, in US they suggest using cottons soaked in witch hazel... if im nt wrong, some ntuc unity pharmacies and big guardians will carry it.. if not can always get from your hospital pharmacy... =) sitz bath is also recommended in US to aid in healing the wound faster.... you soak ur wound/perineal region 2-3inches into warm water... im not sure if its practised in SG.. i know they practice this for post haemorrhoidectomy(excision of piles) cases but they add salt... i must remember to ask my gynae abt this my next visit ba...

miss83
ya i read somewhere that too much vit C not good but my gynae told me to take when i having cough...so i took it everyday with the mulitvit
think i am over dose

Calling all Fashionista MTBs

I have a Kate Spade/Maclaren Biarritz Infant Carrier to sell. Got it as a gift, and i already have one so am giving up the branded/new one.

2066655.gif

It was selling in the Kate Spade Boutique at $299 but am willing to let go at $280 seeing that I've already ripped open the plastic.

SMS me at 98466548 if interested. Or, email [email protected] but i dun check emails so often. Pickup at Tanjong Pagar MRT or Clementi

Accessories included as stated, in the original box.
Appropriate From:
8–12 lb / 3.5-6 kg with pod insert
12–25 lb / 6-11.3 kg without pod insert

# Special, padded pod insert for the smallest of infants, can be easily removed for larger child
# Unique one-hand, quick release buckles
# Height adjustable shoulder harness
# Secondary, colour-coded restraint for added security
# Centred shoulder and back harness distributes weight evenly, relieving your back
# Removable bottle holder and shade blanket/bib

st...i'm taking redoxon once in awhile..esp. when i feel my throat very dry or going to have sore throat. tink no nid to take everyday ba..probably once in a week..or bi-weekly. =)

gingal..one day 4pads..hmmm...sorry ah..any idea when will our menses end after birth ah? 1mth? hmmm...if so, tink i got to buy more liao..oh yah, got something to ask u..after u express your BM...do u store them in the freezer compartment? then when bb wans milk, we just soak them in warm water har? i worried my CL only noes hw to make FM milk..hahaha..and i wld like to try feeding bb with BM.. =)

SG
For me, menses stop after 2 weeks after giving birth. However, becos i was still actively BF-ing, menses didn't come back after more than 15 mths..... =P So that is 1 motivation to keep bf-ing!!!

thks grace...hmmm looks like i have to stock up more pads liao..haha..wah so nice..more than 1 yr no menses..i'll definitely try my best to bf. =)

But then again...it varies person to person!
So no matter wat......just try your best at bf-ing! Becos when menses come back & u're still bf-ing, supply will drop (during that period) it could be abit demoralising but just do your best....!!!

There are too many advantages to breastfeeding:
1. Bonding with our little one;
2. Save $$ on pads;
3. Save $$ on FM;
4. Lose weight etc etc
And the list goes on............

SG,

I only have very heavy days for about the 1st 4 days...Then it becomes really light and now only few drops when I pass urine, and my pads are almost always clear. But I still make it a point to change every 6-8 hourly for hygiene purposes and to make sure my wound won't get infected.

I haven't had the chance to feed my baby yet. All I do now is, express my milk, store in freezer and transport it to the hospital for the nurses to do the rest.

My menses almost stopped, but my MIL keeps cooking Black Fungus, said to aid flushing of the "dirty blood", so don't know will conflict anot and I will end up with few drops of blood for the whole month...

About losing weight, i just posted something in another Thread:

Despite BreastFeeding, - "I never put on weight, the last time I weigh myself about a day before I deliver, I was still at my Pre-Preg weight. But I have also not lose any weight at all after giving birth..imagine my baby, placenta and lots of water and blood all out liao, but I have not lost any weight...Funny right? Must be the confinement Food...haizzzz"

grace and sg:: I must be one of the sway ones, sigh, gave birth to #1 early nov, lochia only finally STOPPED at mid dec, and early jan, menses BACK!!!! so it depends on individual hahahahaha...

hee..grace i will try my best to BF!..heard really can slim down...but hor..my sis & my fren told me after they stop BF..her breasts become even smaller than b4 pregnant leh..like sad only haha..

gingal..i heard during confinement..we will gain some weight de..coz of the nice confinement we are eating..hee..hopefully my CL can cook nice food wor...else will be boring n sad. haha

cindy..maybe depends on individual health n body ba. haha..

yiyi123...wah yr bb's chest drawer very colourful..haha..can attract his attention. =)

Yiyi
Your boy's chest drawer vey nice. I have got the 5 tier plastic drawer instead. Have not done any washing yet. Should be doing that in next 2 weeks.

SG, Kome, I like the colors cos it really brighten BB's room. I believe is good for BB's eyes as it contain red color, my fav color. Haha..

wa... kome tummy growing hor... last time saw u didnt look that obvious... maybe hidden beneath the top u had.. hee hee..

new week ahead! time flies!!! =) blessed week to everyone!!!

im getting more and more tired.. this is bad!!! jus nw i went to causeway point to walk... had my lunch and walked for awhile before i told hubby cannot liao... very tired... want to go home liao... haha! jialat... managed to buy my laundry powder for baby finally!!! i bought tollyjoy from kiddy palace... cheapest la... =P $4.90 hee... the rest above $5 ... wanted to wash bb clothes... but reached home, had cold shower and slept from 4 til 7... haha... and i still have at least 2mths + to go til i pop! zzzzzzzzzzzzz

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">RE: Studio Photo Shoot</font></font>
I had received the funds from the following mummies. Will the rest proceed the transfer soon? Kindly refrain from withdrawing from the photo shoot. I had gotten the quotation for 10 mummies. It might affect the rest of the mummies as well. Thank you.

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Status</TD><TD>Particulars </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Maywong</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Vernice80</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Crosailo</TD><TD>Pending</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Keron&amp;jeris</TD><TD>Pending</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Ilvena</TD><TD>Pending</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>fatfish</TD><TD>Pending</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>SG</TD><TD>Pending</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Sinmey</TD><TD>Pending</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Qin Yi</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

morning ladies... it's a start of another new week and 2 more weeks to CNY.

Have you all finished the preparation of CNY? Everywhere seems so crowded.

Went OG Chinatown on Saturday. Wanted to get a pair of shoes for my #2, ended up, scared by the crowds and I told hubby let's go to united square better. Finally bought a pair of Osh Kosh's shoes for her.

Yesterday went shopping for new year goodies at NTUC. also very crowded. managed to buy some stuffs. this weekend going to get my fav pineapple tarts.

Morning

Missycandy
ok lar, my tumtum really look small as compared last time, but as long as gynae said that bb is growing i am happy already.

Same as you after about 2 hrs of walking will feel tired too, so most of the time i will rather stay at home to rest.

miss83,
Doesn't mean breastfeeding sure will not get menses. Some people breastfeed and still get menses. Either abstinence, or take precaution!

Irene
I had just went to Hougang Mall with my mum yesterday to change new notes. Might not have change enough, think need to go and change again.

Hehee......i stay with my mum so i don't need to buy new year goodies. Had already got both my son and my new year clothes.

Missycandy and Kome,
It is not so much I feel tired after shopping but more like my tummy will start getting tight more frequently than usual and that will scare me! I certainly hope to carry baby to full term. But resting is really hard with an active toddler around. Even if don't bring him out, I need to bend up and down a lot with him at home. Was telling hubby that when I was expecting #1, at most I need to sit on the floor twice cos of packing things. I avoided squatting altogether. With this #2, sitting on the floor and squatting are daily activities!

Kome,
Don't you need to buy for in-laws? I am now thinking what to get for my parents and what to get for my in-laws for "new year gifts".

Pups
Me too, need to bend up and down as my son sometimes want me to carry him. Siting on the floor is my daily activities too. Furthermore my son till now still need to take his milk in the middle of the night which makes me more tiring and sleepy in the morning.

Wahaha......we don't have the practice to buy things for them, but every year we will give them some money as an Hong Bao.

Kome,
You tried weaning off the night feed? If he is eating well during the day, at this age can wean off night feed already right?

Wah... that's easier! :p We buy things and still give ang bao leh. *sweat*

Pups
Did tried. There was a time where he do not need to drink till morning around 6am, but not sure why he started again. He will cried abit abit at night to asked for milk which was quite disturbing, so no choice my hubby or me have to get up to make milk for him. If not he can continue don't know for how long.

Hahaha.......both my hubby and me are bo chap type, my PILs also never mentioned about it so just leave it. If never start at first they will not request us to do it later also. =P Anyway very diffcult to buy things for them coz they are abit rich, so the things they eat and use are quite abit high end also. We cannot affiord them.

Morning everyone

SG - Mrs Wong doesn't advise mummies to use cotton buds to clean bb's nostrils cos they are dangerous...they may just get stuck all the way in and its realli scary...she suggested rolling a piece of something into a strip (can other mummies who attended the course confirmed wat it is?) and insert it into the nostril...that way its safer...

Re: Cleaning of umbilical cord
I understand we use a solution to clean bb's umbilical cord...will hospitals provide it or mus we get our own? after the umbilical cord dries up and drops off do we still clean the cord?

Re: CNY
Wanted to go with hb to Chinatown this weekend to get goodies but hb dun suggest that place cos its gg to be extremely crowded....i tink if i see the crowd i oso will get headache la...best to avoid in case ppl bump into my tummy that will be v bad...

Re: Sleeping at night
I wake up with back pains everyday now....seriously i find resting on my back is more comfy than lying on my side (cos bb doesn't like it and will kick, either that i feel my weight is pressed upon one side) and that makes me feel uncomfortable...but i heard if sleep on my back its not good for the spine rite?

Pinksorbet
Re: Cleaning of umbilical cord
Hospital will provide a small cloth with the solution in a small pkt form. they will give serveral pkts. After umbilical cord drop off, just need to wipe for a few more days than can stop.

Re: Sleeping at night
Ya, me too felt more comfortable to slrest on my back too. But the tummy weight press down which had make me abit uncomfortable also, so i have to lay side ways to sleep.