(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi all MTB,
I'm a believer of TBF as well.. TBF my elder ger for 1 yr before totally weaning her off by 15 mth old (cos i'm pregnant again then.. too tired)..

My advice is that not to be too stressed up over BF. If worst come to worst, really no supply initially, feed some FM it's ok. When supply stabilised then TBF again.. Some needs a few days to stabilise the supply but dun give up..

missycandy
haha yah.. nvm la.. i not so concern abt that..
i juz v concern abt getting the stuff ready..
fyi i lately den start buying baby stuffs. coz hb like to drag n drag. nw i hear minnie they all got contractions and even dilation i so afraid of shopping..
juz nw i went to metro to get some bb stuffs..
walk non stop almost more den 2 hours. almost fainted. haha

Re: BFing @ Hospital
actually i tink hor, if i really no BM for the first few days @ hospital i will probably give him glucose to drink first den follow by FM.
at least i know i try my best.
Especially if im not staying in a single bed ward. i don wan my bb cry den i pek chek and affect another mommy's rest..
coz there was once i went to visit my frd her neighbour is on TBF insisted on BFing. and make alot of noise with nurses and bb crying out the lungs.. end up causing my frd unable to rest well there.

Queenie!
U gt PM

asura - thanks...will be emailing them...scbb is an overseas organisation rite? u called them on the toll free number?

missycandy - i do hope its not too troublesome to donate...hopefully the hospital we deliver at can help us store the cord blood and ship it to the organisation something like that...

Re: Breastfeeding
I thought of giving a mixture of BM and FM to bb...scared next time he will not be used to FM if i keep feeding BM....

sorbet: don't have to worry Haha. Fm is way delicious for them not to want it. know fact, they might prefer Fm to bm even.
I introduced Fm after 2mths though, cause 3 mth maternity, that last month I replaced all day feeds with Fm but latched on at night.

will babies really reject any milk when they are very very hungry? i thot even if give them FM when we got no milk, then after our supply stabilise, we give them BM, when no choice, too hungry, they will still drink, right?

pinksorbet - i dont think it will be troublesome wor.. i think its more or less the same as the cordlife and stemcord... =) you can read up on the website.. more or less the same kinda collection and tests that need to be carried out... cept that we dont have to pay for anything ba... =)

mummies - dont worry too much abt BF... take things as they come ba... for me is i wan to be positive and firm abt it... plus lucky for me, my parents are pro-BF and my mum is doing my confinement so i hope all goes well.. =)

i keep getting an ache at my V area leh... esp jus now when i went to walk at the new Sembawang shopping centre... really felt very very uncomfortable... i walk a bit then keep making a noise of discomfort then hubby ask why i keep making such a noise... dunno wad bb is up to... maybe she is standing up inside... LOL i will only knw tomorrow! i cant wait! hee hee

items left to buy - i think for me will be the electric breast pump...
mattress for playpen...
pampers...
mattress protector...
baby detergent...
nail clipper...
gripe water???
nursing bras...
disposable undies...
sanitary napkins...
bedsheets...
bedroom slippers...

i think thats abt it ??? nt sure if i missed anything out though...

i have ...
clothes...
stroller...
sling...
changing mat...
baby wipes...
playpen...
husk pillow...
cupboard...
mittens/bootees...
hankerchiefs...
bath tub...
baby wash...
breast pads...
milk bags...
manual breast pump...
sterilizer...
bottles/teats...
pacifiers(though i will try not to start!)
pyjamas...

did i miss out anything???

missycandy
i still have to buy...
electric breast pump
mattress for playpen
bedsheet for playpen mattress
sanitary napkins
sling/carrier
handkerchiefs

i also hope i didn't miss anything out!

oh yeah, still got to buy some cloth diapers
i actually already bought some bumwear diapers but thinking of using the traditional cloth diapers for the first month.

hello mummies....

DR TALK :
i am also attending the talk on the 13th..

travel :
do check with the airlines if they are willing to take in 30th week mummies...coz i have asked SIA they said max travel will be on the 28th weeks...
better check with them too besides the doc

cramps:
aiyah recently i always ( total of 4 times now) cramp in the morning when i wake up..habit to do a little stretch..then ganna......and it leaves a sore cuff whole day....so i sprayed SALON PAS on the cramp..seemed to relax alittle.

coconut :
i have bought 01 white one and placed in the fridge...think will start to drnk it next week (32weeks)....forthnightly bah...

Gingal....

congrats for a safe although long process of the delivery....
leave it to GOD....he will look upon your family and baby girl will be in pink of health in no time...

jtho - oh ya.. im nt sure leh... still thinking abt whether i shld get it or not... hmmm .. i wont be using cloth diapers... il be goin disposable all the way... not sure if my parents wld buy though... =P u can buy the hankerchiefs from the BP section... quite alot of ppl sell em cheap... =) i have ard 50... hahaha!

Re: Baby Stuffs
i tink i still got alot havent get ready.
lol.. see all ur lists i abit scare nw.

missycandy
i lately oso got pain at V area. but is very short and acute 1..
hehe.. so fast u go SSC liao arh? nice or not?
they don have dept stores there right?

gripe water:
do we need to buy so soon???

BF:
yes..i also worry if i can produce milk or enough to feed baby too....but like many have said..NEVER GIVE UP...
so i'll and be determine to keep on trying..hehee

queenie - quite a no of shops not open yet... erhhh quite pathetic if u ask me =P its reli nth much... hai... have daiso lor... giant... other than that jus the usual clothes, eateries, jewellery, spa... kopitiam... a very pathetic banquet... nth much lor... do u knw what happened to the Sun Plaza cinema? it closed down wor... sian...!

queenie - actually i kiasu la... hahahah so certain things buy 1st... the other stuff that i havent bought is becos.. like pampers hubby say nearer to edd then buy... then warmer also nt sure if need or not... bra mus wait til boobies stop growing =P pump becos waiting for freestyle.. plus not cheap lor... =( nw thinking if shld gt ameda instead becos half the price lor...

wa now so sian dunno wad to do... guess when bb is out il be either busy with her or sleeping... hahaha!

there seems to be a lil party inside of me that im obviously not invited for ... lol... keep on moving and rolling inside...

arlow mummies..wasn't able to find our thread yest'd..haha..today then realised it was shifted to 2009 MTBs..

ST, my sis bought the sheet protector from John Little..

Caca...hope u are feeling better...do take gd care and rest well at home. relax and lets all pray hard that all our bbs will be guai guai and stay in mummies tummy till full term.

gingal..read your story on your delivery..was so touched and can really feel the pain that u've went thru' while reading....u are indeed a strong mummy!! =) glad that yr bb is nw able to breath on her own...take care ya..

queenie...my hb also like to drag...i've my cabinet n bb's cot into the room last weekend liao..n he still hasn't shift his PC, study table and his metal cabinet out of the room...really got so mad with him tat day that i told him if u are not going to shift be CNY..i will do the shifting myself. haha...sigh...i wonder why men are like tat...chop chop quickly finish everything and relax better mah..sorie to grumble..haha..
if can..maybe get your frens or mummy to go shopping with u on bb stuffs..at least they can help u carry if you feel tired..me went metro sale today also..to do last round of shopping on bb's stuffs.

missycandy..i also haven buy any nursing bras..dunnoe wat size to buy, bigger or just nice. intend to just use my sis who passed to me quite a few..i guess me n her shld be the same size lah..wahahha...

gd nite mummies...sweet dreams!! =)

SG - ya men r lidat... if i dun buy the stuff or insist on looking at the bb stuff, he wont buy and i doubt we will have anything now... HAHAHA! Good night =)

missycandy...yah lor..if we dun buy..see bb come out ware gt all the clothings etc to wear.
at times so pissed off leh...haha..but cannot angry later affect bb...so just take in deep breath lor..buy myself..haha..only those big items like stroller, car seat n bb cabinet & cot then made him involved. =) nite nite...rest early yah!!

ya i agree... only stroller... the playpen and cupboard then i ask him and he pays =P the rest i buy myself la... by the time i wait for him to buy, bb out liao LOL! sweet dreams =)

wow, thread running like a bullet train, can't catch up after few days. so tired and busy over my no#1 playgrp.....she so excited and energetic while I.......anyway, she adapting well.

<font color="aa00aa">if any mummies got guardian snoopy stamps and dun collecting it, pls donate to me. will pay for postage charge. thks!</font>

<font color="119911">misscandy</font>,
re:JnJ wipes. gd quantily wor cos it got moisturer loh and ex wor.

<font color="119911">sportger</font>,
so far drink coconut liao? go and buy young white small coconut fr NTUC cost $1.xx.

<font color="119911">Keron&amp;Jeris</font>,
re: paternity leave
yup, my hubby dun have loh. even child sick leave also dun have. only have child care leave. true, mummy will be more moody during CL period.

<font color="119911">gingal</font>,
congrats and thks for sharing yr delivery experience.guess most mummies read yr birth experience with emotion and worried. u must be 'suffering' a lot with so many jab to 'tong' u from deliver earlier.do take care and consume lot of 'pu'.

u so comical, wear diaper as mentioned sanitary pads dun hold water at all. hmm.,.but at least then nothing else right....

hmm..it must be tiring for u to travel to and fro fr hse to hospital during CL. if other ppls can help u to deliver ebm, it will be gd so that u can rest.

re: rice wine
hmm..what the purpose of bathing with rice wine? is it also get rid of wind...me never heard b4 bathing with rice wine. only bath with dao feng cao or old ginger with lemon grass.

re:weight gain.
but no weight gain during preggie seems not normal leh....what yr gynae say?

<font color="119911">May Wong</font>,
one of my forum kakis has delivered early morning. last night, she dunno if the liquid come out if it is leak urine or slow water from water bag. she also got brown stains the day before. for me, no symptons during my first preggies so no comment.

<font color="119911">wish a boy</font>,
re: delivery experience.
my first one dun even have symptons wor...I just happened to ask KPO qns when I was abt to leave doc 's rm during ym wk 38 checkup on will bb head when engaged liao will turn again. then MO said yeah hor,

forgotten to check yr cervix. then once the cervix checked by senior doc (MO no skills and dun dare to poke further), it is stated 4cm dilated. of cos, there's without saying hubby and I was so shocked and ask can we go hm and prepare etc...haa doc said prepare what, KKH team will be the one who prepared for

delivery...faintz....

re:weight gain.
hmm...yr weight gain so little? mine fr pre-preggie weight till 7mth is 7.6kg.

<font color="119911">vernice80</font>,
re:glucose test
not really a compulsory test,. dun do better. my first preggies I did bec almost every urine test detected a postive sign or double + sign that's why need to do. now, second preggies, dun need to do.

re:pad.
i use those cheap cheap bought fr half price shop one. laurier something like that per packet of 20 pieces cost $2.xx.

re:bb powder
my gar use it since infant. mum will powder all over her. told her not gd for the bb but she just too stubbon to listen. till now, still powder all over my gar.

<font color="119911">mangogal</font>,
think after our delivery, hubbies are the one who is the most tired than us.

re:backache.
only get it when I lie for long time. usually, like to lie flat when slp.

hmm I dun crave fr nasi lemak but only roti prata. hubby said cannot eat a ,ot, not gd.

re;urine test.
usually, I will flush out one time urine (hope sugar will flush out) and then go for another one during the urine test. that's y now, urine test is clear, no sugar detected. so no need to do any glucose test (hate it...).

re:jwee gueh
did u eat the tai po...dun eat when one consume 'pu' or else go wasted wor....I also never eat any carrot

cake liao....sian...trying to ta han loh...or else the 'pu' we consume go wasted.

<font color="119911">cindy</font>,
u also got blog for no 2. I also have. can pm me yr blog so that I can link up with mine.

<font color="119911">p3pp333r</font>,
one of the mummies even feedback to her gynae saying she vomit blood but her gynae said normal, dn worry,

bb still normal. ai-yo....

y'day, went for a growth scan, bb head is quite low located at my right side (last mth, he is at left side

pressing my bladder) no wonder I felt swollen, wriggling ard my groin areas..

<font color="119911">alfafa</font>,
doc said that bb head will engage after wk 36 - wk 38.

<font color="119911">moomooland</font>,
re:disposable panties
saw watsons selling disposable panties (pack of 7) for $1.95. ru yee oil cost the cheapest at Zheng zong

medical hall. small ru yi cost $1.70 as other supermarket cost $1.90.

<font color="119911">Kome</font>,
is yr boy ok at ccc?

y'day also went for my checkup and growth scan.
this mth, I gained 1.6kg compared to previous 2 mth at 2.4kg each. bb weight is 1.2kg as wk 28.4.

re:belly btn.
now, belly btn since 2nd trimster seal up and pop up liao. last time, when I was having gar, ot's opp.

belly btn dun seal up and pop up one.

<font color="119911">Jyjo</font>,
nasi lemak high choles...... wor...

hmm..can urine indicated that one was hungry one meh...hmm...

<font color="119911">caca</font>,
my tumtum very low fr sec trimster onwards. even col asked me when I was 6mth if I'm gg to deliver or not...ai-yo..I said still got 3 more mt wor...

<font color="119911">Asura79</font>,
tot glucose water can only start when bb 1 mth onwards. dun let bb latch on loh until milk flow came within 3 days.

<font color="119911">st</font>,
the fm issue,
it depends on the availabilty of fm in the hospital. like KKh only 1 type of fm and they will change depend on who 's their sponser.

<font color="119911">promegeganate</font>,
re: qns
1) When do we get the admission papers signed? e.g. booking of bed etc?
REPLY=> 1mth before due date.

2) Leave - anyone taking leave before EDD? Or see how we're coping then get MC? ML or MC? Not sure leh.
REPLY=> will take mc not leave. leave precious. need it after delivery to moo and rest.

<font color="119911">pinksorbet</font>,
bm will start coming on the third or fourth day. mine came fourth during my first preggie. of cos, durign first 3 days, tried to stimulate as much as one can, latch on or pump even no milk or miserable yellow liquid called colsum....(something like that).

me also same situation as what SeaBreeze shared.

re:cordblood
me will be donating as what I had done for my first preggie.

<font color="119911">Jtho</font>,
one of the forum mummies share that bb's tummy is like a small golf ball. for her, she dun give anything to bb, she just persist to latch her on for 3 days even no milk.

RE: Gripe Water
Although many doc will say baby no need water cos they drink milk. But I think can still give abit of warm water mix with gripe water after maybe 1hr of feed. It will ease tummy from having wind. I did that to my gal and she is free from colic. At first I dun believe and argue with my mum. But realised it helps.

missycandy
huh sun plaza no more cinema? aiyoh.. sian.
i got 2 eng wha cinema vouchers still tot wan go there watch!!!! qi si wo le.

SG &amp; Missycandy
haha.. i tink men are all like tt? even tho tt time i told him hurry get things ready during my 2nd trimester. so 3rd trimester i no nid shop like crazy. he oso don listen 1. wad to do.. he paying he carrying stuffs hme. so i leave it to him lor.. i also donwan say too much coz i scare i ended up quarrelling with him.
but tdy tested really i cant shop long le.. heng only shopping @ cwp.. if i were to shop in town i guess i would have collapse there. lols.

Re: Nursing Bra
i have got more den 4 pcs hand down by my cousin.
all her nursing bras is from mothercare. so i really save alot.. imagine 1pc is about $40.
today i saw the impression nursing bras at metro.
price ranging from $8.90-$12.90.. got wired one also.. but i tink it is not recommended..
heard will cause blocked ducts..

missycandy
diapers for newborn i have already. hand down by frd one.. my frd got it as gifts.. lol.
one pack of fitti and 2 small packs of huggies.

SG
haha i cant get frds or mom to accompany me go shopping.. i paiseh. lols. my mom have to tk care of my baby niece.. oso..

afcai:: hehe i don't think i setting up blog for no.2 will use the same as for no.1 haha. Afterall, next time if the 2 take photos together, i cannot be updating both sides eh? hehe will pm you my current #2 blog address.

BP still on for http://www.babymallonline.com/
Please PM me for details..

Will close at 180usd, currently at 100usd already, any last orders?

Also, desitin creamy for diaper rash, california calendular cream and first teeth A Natural enzyme toothpaste ready stock just arrived from the states, PM me for info.

Have also the Classic Pooh Anti Dust Mite 7 in 1 Bedding Set With Bag for baby cot if interested.

Daphne,

Is it? I thought SIA is week 32? Cos my friend did tell them that she is flying back to UK in her week 31, they never reject her leh... and the flight time is quite long.

missycandy - thanks! will check more infor on the website and email/call them later...

cindy - thanks...i guess FM is tastier than BM...hee...with that i can safely try to breastfeed during the day...at night i tot since the CL is taking over, she can feed FM to my bb...i decided not to get the breast pump so early as i dunno how much milk i will have....

Queenie - i guess that was wat i heard....afraid of babies rejecting FM...but now with wat cindy said i guess i dun have to worry...lol...

afcai - thanks for the info...it mus have been v tiring for u since have to manage #1 as well...for the cordblood donation, do u have to take a lot of tests and all?

afcai,

That's what the nurses would feed the bb if the bb shows sign that he/she is very hungry. So far, i heard only once or twice and fed with teaspoon. So i think glucose water is for any age bah.

pinksorbet,

If u give FM at nite during confinement and not express the milk out, you would lose your supply leh. Somemore if sleep throughout the nite, the interval is too long. BM depends on dd. If u really want the CL to take over, then maybe should pump out for her to feed.

afcai,
Our experience pretty similar for #1. I also asked gynae something during my wk38 check-up which resulted in him sending me for a CTG. They detected 4 contraction peaks within 1 hour, so gynae did a check and I was 3 cm dilated. We were quite shocked and said not ready to give birth that night. haha.. so he allowed me to go home and call him when I have more symptoms. That was a Friday night. I went home, get things done and Sat night admitted myself for delivery.

st,
Yes TMC do provide clothes for baby when they're discharge from hospital. When they delivered, if I still can remember they only wrap them in the clothes wrap in blue or pink with diapers. The last time I did bring along 2 set of clothes for baby but end up didnt get to use them.

afcai
yeah, i was surprised also that urine can detect hunger when the nurse told me that i was hungry...

miss83,
I think when she is 2mths old. I give according to the instruction. But dilute it with warm water. Quite dilute, feed after milk, cannot feed with empty stomach. I dilute it and use it for many times cos cannot expect them to finish all at one go.

Powder on bb's buttock... not advisible cos will cause UTI (urine tract infection). Will be very painful for newborn.
just use cream will do

pinksorbet:: asura is right eh. if you don't want to feed by latching at night, u should pump out. Otherwise, supply will be greatly reduced. not only that, you also cannot tahan SUPER HEAVY BOOBS it's very painful and might lead to engorgement le. For me, I just continue to latch day and night... got the pump but i hate to use it..

asura - thats wat i'm afraid...but then i'm not getting the breast pump until i deliver cos i realli won't know if i got BM to feed to the bb so dun wan to end up buying the pump and not using it :-/ haiz not sure how leh...cos i can't possibly step out of the house during my confinement to buy the pump...so if hb has to buy tink he won't know which one too...sigh...but i do heard from a colleague that she used hand to pump milk leh! superb rite...i'm not sure i will be able to adopt this method anot cos its sure gg to be super tiring!!

then those milk storage bags i'm thinking whether to get them now anot, since the issue above has been bothering me...

or else i tink i have to sacrifice my sleep to wake up and latch on bb...but i heard that mummies should rest as much as possible during confinement so if engage CL, should leave it to her instead...

cindy - i'm scared of engorgement too...but wat if i dun have BM to feed bb? sobz...all these questions kept ringing in my mind even tho i've been told by mummies here that onli 1% dun have milk...wat if i fall under this 1%??

pinksorbet,
Asura is right if you intend to let the CL take care and feed baby in the night do clear your breast milk for baby. For my #1 I do direct latch at night and after 20 mins I still pump milk to clear so the milk supply can built up. I pump 3-4 hourly at start.

Gd morng angels xD

Welcome Mui Hsui.. Yea this thread travels faster than bullet train, hard to catch up haha.

Re: misscandy's list
I think settle the bras and disposable panties, anyway they shld be in the hospital bag.. Breasts will still grow but shldnt be too much liao rite since we in the 3rd trim.. Or standby bra extensions in case.. I guess nx mth or February minimise the shopping/walking liao cos nw I feel heavy aldy get tired walking a short while..

Re: Aching in V
Yah, its like the V kenna slapped it happens in the morning..

Re: Talk on 13 Jan
Yea! I will be there!

Re: Gripe water mixed with water 1 hr after milk feed
Ok! Will take note!

Re: Protruding belly button
Yea, mine protruding but gynae said its a girl leh.. or baby decided to give me "surprise" last minute?? But too bad it doesnt turn out to be girl, "he" still have to wear all the girlie or pinkie clothes LOL

Cheerios

pinksorbet,
Don't stress yourself up. All mummies will sure to have supply just a matter of time and the way you should plan to pump your milk or latch baby on as often as possible. I also have engorgement the last round and my hubby have to help me to use super warm water to message my breast and pump out the milk even its very little. At start I only have 20-30ml each time I pump, and I was thinking do I have enough?? So I still do give FM to add on since my supply not enough at start.

I will be getting a 2nd Avent Duo from a seller tis coming sat. Will be replace the parts with new ones. Set still under warranty till Sept 09. So think is still worth buying...