(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Re: Breastmilk

My cousin drank and ate alot of dairy products and milk, afterwards the milk supply became alot.. so I'm not sure whether it helps to minimise the worry about not having or not enough breastmilk..
Hmm.. or take soup with papaya and pork ribs? Put in the white fungus also.. For me, it may taste weird initially cos I usually eat papaya as a fruit not soup hehe..
I'm also not getting the pump now unless I'm sure abt it.. But hubby needs to know where to get if really need it so that he can buy..since confinement also cant travel anywhere..

Cheerios

pinksorbet,
For breast pump if you using for the 1st time, try not to buy manual or single motor pump, its not as strong as a double pump, no point buy a single and end up you will think that you don't have milk. From my view I suggest you at least buy a Ameda or medela mini which is a double pump and is affordable, for me I looking for a stronger pump suction that why I go for Avent Duo instead but price will be much higher than the 1 I suggest you to buy.

How to Increase Your Milk Supply

There can be many reasons for a mother's supply to decrease. Stress, returning to work, or even baby's growth spurt can be cause for concern.

Fortunately, there are some simple steps you can take to steady or increase your milk supply.

Pump or breastfeed more frequently. If you're breastfeeding, try pumping for five to ten minutes after a nursing session. Whether nursing or exclusively pumping, you can also try adding a pumping session or two during the day to increase your supply, such as first thing in the morning or after baby has gone to bed. Make sure that you're using a hospital-grade pump that efficiently removes your milk.

Drink plenty of water. Make sure you're drinking enough water and are hydrated during the day.

Eat enough. According to kellymom.com, breastfeeding moms should consume 1,800-2,200 calories per day to maintain an abundant supply; fewer than 1,500-1,800 calories can cause a decrease in supply and decrease in the number of calories your milk contains. Make sure to eat plenty of fruits, vegetables and protein-rich foods.

Rest and relax. It's easier said than done, but do make sure you are resting and getting sufficient sleep. Try taking a nap during the day or just resting on the sofa with your little one. Some sources also suggest co-sleeping with your baby.

Give oatmeal a try. Many moms say that adding oatmeal to their diet increased their milk supply. Have a bowl or oatmeal for breakfast, or snack on oatmeal-granola or even oatmeal cookies throughout the day.

Take away the pacifier. Your nursing baby should be sucking only at the breast -- no pacifiers. Your baby's need to suck will ensures that he or she spends enough time at the breast to stimulate your supply.

Avoid supplementing. Supplementing with water, formula or juice will fill baby up and make him or her nurse less, meaning that your supply will decrease even more.

Try massage and relaxation techniques. Before breastfeeding or pumping, take a few deep breaths and try to relax. Sit in a comfortable chair, play soft music and massage your breast for a minute or two before you begin to help with letdown.

-------------------------------------------------

meebaby,
Thomson medicial did serve the papaya soup, and I also taste it for the 1st time when I delivered there. Its taste normal like soup but coz they use fish to cook with so it will improve milk supply. Try to take more fish during confinement.

jasmine - thank u for the advice, i'm oso thinking of getting a dual pump too...did u get the pump before u deliver or after u deliver yr #1?

meebaby,
Yeah think oatmeal is good, I also ate that every morning during confinement oatmeal cereal which need to be cook type.
Its good to share before all of us start popping soon.

pinksorbet, don't worry so much, u will have milk. Hugs. When I had no1 this issue was always bothering me. But definitely have milk. I didn't even have Fm to stand by. Just stuck with it, cause each Fm that I give, I know I will be cutting my own supply. I just latched on whenever bb cries, and when time is up to build it up. But I didn't pump out cause I don't want to have over supply. But if u want a good rest, like what other mommies suggested, u need to pump out regularly to maintain supply. Even at night. So I can tell u, there is no way we can sleep through the night when bb is born. In fact, I only slept through when my boy turned 10mth.

RE: Gripe Water
Other than 1 hr after feed, another time is after bath. Usually after bath, I will rub Ru Yi Oil on palm till warm and then place on baby's tummy. Cannot pour direct onto their skin cos it is very delicate. After finish bathing, if u notice, some baby will hiccup. Then u feed some warm water with gripe water inside. I pour abt 1/2 cap of gripe water and mix with abt 300ml water. Then it last the whole day. Just feed abit by abit.

i dun seem to catch the previous tread for the doctor's talk.. can anyone tell me where the address again? i will be going..

thanks meebaby!

pinksorbet
maybe you can rent the breast pump first? and before u deliver, maybe can go shopping with hb and show him the breast pump model that you want so that he can buy for you during your confinement. actually I also have the same worries as you. so also intend to buy after delivery.

Re: Gripe water
Haha I super kiasu bought 2 bottles at NTUC about a month ago cos it was on offer. My fren use gripe water and gauze to clean baby's tongue. Does any mummy do that?

Yo jasmine..
No problem, I can share if I have any tips/infor on hand.. well at least we'll try to do something about it first then won't worry too much.. if aldy done our part still no result after that then really boh bian
But think no need to feel sad about also.

For papaya soup, during pregnancy can take aldy no need to wait for confinement.. As for confinement, I saw my list, all the damn hot tonics stuff to replenish the body including the wine..heh
Yah meat and vegetables, in fact the gynae said the baby absorb more from meat and vegetables, carbos like rice or noodles not really.. so imagine what you eat is only a small amount of what the baby is getting..

Cheerios

Mui Hsiu,
If the baby is totally breastfed, there is no need to clean the mouth as there is a component in breastmilk which does "self cleansing" for the mouth. But if the baby is taking FM, then need to swipe the tongue to prevent build up of "milk felt". This is a white layer on the tongue which if not properly cleansed can lead to oral thrush.

morning mummies!!!

tink tis wkend quite a couple of major stores hving sales... taka is one of them - 10% discount storewide fr tmr to sun...

cindy - thanks for the encouragement...ya i do hope i will have enough milk supply for my bb...if u latch on how much would u know bb has drank enough?
Last time i got an ex-colleague who will buy the maguro (its a sushi - sorrie dunno the actual spelling)) to eat to build up her milk supply...she said it helped...mayb i will do that too...

Mui Hsiu - i thought of renting it too...but due to hygiene purposes not sure whether it is encouraged...and besides the hospital which i'm delivering at (East Shore) not sure if they do provide renting of pumps...i tink i will buy after delivery ba...dun wan to invest so much of $$ in the pump at the moment and end up not liking or using it....

Yo May,
Thks for the advice.. Ok now I know the function of Ru Yi Oil.. was wondering what the hell Ru Yi Oil is used for =P I take down in case I forget haha.

Cheerios

I'm more likely to buy the pump before deliver although I've got an Avent Manual Pump already. Just wanna make sure I'm prepared before I go give birth, so that don't need worry so much after that.

Using gripe water to clean the mouth, this is the first time I heard of it. Wouldn't it be too sweet for the baby? What my mom did is to use the handkerchief, with clean water, wipe the inside of the mouth.

Re: Gripe Water
My hubby don't want me to feed baby with gripe water. Not sure why also, never check with him.

pinksorbet,
I brought the pump before I deliver. Its best to standby 1 as when baby not latch on we can still pump to keep the flow coming.

pinksorbet,

Maybe u should at least buy a manual pump first. IN any case, manual pump can be used anywhere. My colleagues tell me that manual pump is quite useful at times. At least cheaper and got pump to standby.

I intend to put the bb with CL so that she can change diapers and tend to the bb at nite. But when bb is hungry, i would ask her to bring bb to me. THis way, the number of times i need to wake up is minimal. These are the sacrifices required to induce more BM.

Dont worry too much ok, am sure u would have BM. If not, then worse come to worse, sell the pump off 2nd hand.

prosper
Its at Singapore Chinese Girls' School Auditorium on 13 Jan, 7-9pm.
190 Dunearn Road Singapore 309437
pups
Thanks. I think my fren TBF but she still mention the cleaning of tongue. But I never asked her details then.

Jasmine/Asura - if thats the case i may consider to buy a manual one first...
if we wish to pump out the milk in the hospital the hospital will provide the pumps or we use our own?

Mui Hsiu,
This is the first time I heard can use gripe water leh. The alcohol smell isn't it too strong and sweet to clean it? My mum use plain water with a cloth to clean the tongue and gums.

Kome,
I think there is an article that says the alcohol content or some ingredient inside is not good for baby. But this gripe water had been existing since I am young. Think should be ok bah.

meebaby, i think most of us got the destiny creamy nappy rash cream.
you can see the oversea spree for spree to purchase it. cheaper to buy at spree then in singapore

There is 1 type for mouth washing one. think can check with the TCM uncles. My hubby last time brought 1 bottle to clean my son mouth.

Meebaby
If you want i can spare you 1 tube which i just recently brought from the spree. Thought that i had only brought 1 tube but in actual fact i got 2 tubes instead.

pinksorbet,
think u can go look ard now for pumps then let ur hb now how much and which type so he can take note. I bring my hb to shopping now and instruct him to take note so he will take a pic of the pump. when i need then he will go buy lor.

mummies, just to share my tumtum pics i took last night. The pics was taken after i applied the Clarins oil so a bit "shiny' heehee
2057191.jpg
2057192.jpg

queenie, u see my SM more jialat than urs!!!

May/Irene
Maybe she use a very diluted gripe water mixture for cleaning. Next time I'll ask her. last time when she mentioned I just listen and did not ask for details as I thought I'll ask again when closer to date.

Vernice
Your SM seems alot. You only get them now?

Meebaby
It is available in singapore but heard from some mummies here that it is more expensive and only 2oz, but if buy from oversea spree is 4oz @ $10 only.

good morning mummies....

hope the night all slept well...i do tended to wake up int the middle of the night couple of times...but if i do fall asleep it'll be deep though....

asura..
that was the last time i asked when my hubby was booking the ticket...maybe can get letter from doc to confirm safe to fly..
i rememebered when i was flying then..i do see mummies coming near to term flies..but usually they allow one way...eg...from USA to sin and deliver or Sin to Indon to deliver...if 2 ways they quite reluctant...

meebaby,
I think depends on baby bah. Eg, my girl can only use a pigeon wet wipes, others will caused rashes. I bought Drapolene to try out, since she is ok with this nappy rash cream then I carry on. U might want to get one tube of ur preferred choice to try out first before buying in bulk.

pinksorbet,
I know mt a can let u use their pump if u want to pump in hospital. The only prob with latch is u won't know how much bb drinks, so I just use time as gauge Haha, ard 20 to 25min one side and 10 to 15min the other side. Plus feel if boob lighter and softer.

powder..

maybe do not use talcum powder....use CornStarch instead if mummies wans to put powder on baby...???
coz they won't clot and finer..i was advise by my gynae if i wan to put for my V area too...so have been using it for years....no adverse effects though...

i have bought some for baby...and intended to apply on baby buttock too...and creases area...

pinksorbet,

Can rent hospital one but not sure if they charge for rental of equipment, u might want to call and check so that can evaluate the cost involved in renting. For me, i getting the dual electic pump first, if really fall under no milk category, i would just sell 2nd hand lor..

Sigh, last nite when I woke up from my sleep to pee (I think 3 times) I felt my tummy rock-hard which is strange coz normally these BH contractions don't happen when sitting/lying down. So this morning unwilling start on Salbutamol (presribed by my gynae but i tried not to take till now).

kome,
ya a lot hor?! i got those on the left when i was 6 mths preg. now the right side also appearing lor. no matter how much i apply also like that tho sometimes they look lighter.

prosper,
haha must be photo effects lah. i am already hitting 80kg liaoz. my relatives all commented that i put on weight on overall basis so whole body become fat.

sun96,
yeah they are the horrible SM!!!

there is this black little spot below belly button at the centre. There is where they withdrew amnio fluid when i did the amnio test 4 mths ago. i guess i must have ate those dark soy sauce thats why become black mark

There is one type of washing mouth liquid for babies. It can be find from chinese medicated hall. The brand is 3 riffles if i still remember correctly. I use it for my gal when she is a baby to take away all the milk stain in her mouth. Hope this help.

Vernice,
I think must continue to apply SM cream already. Else will become mine. Tonight I go home take the pic and post. My first pregnancy SM turns silvery, not sure can still see or not. Ask hb to take tonight for me. hehe.

meebaby,
ya lor. but i started on SM cream somewhere in Nov only n that time still no SM. Then suddenly all appear in Dec.
sigh...so ugly till i donno what to do. when my hb look at me i become so self conscious!

i am using both Clarins SM cream and tunic oil.

ha don look like? u look at how big my waist is?!?! my friend who gave birth in Nov, her peak waist size only 37inches. and now i am already 43 inches very big oh...