(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi Mummies, I went to Borders and bought a baby book. It can let you insert bb 1st scan picture, a picture of mummy during pregnancy, Family picture, how daddy and mummmy discover having bb, when bb born, bb weight, who deliver bb and record all the way till baby 1st year. Very useful book to record the happening of bb before born all the way till 1st year!

1755057.jpg

Tuskywollie
Thanks. i talked to hubby again last night. he said come to worse we continue staying or sell the house and move to a big hdb...

Itch tummy
i do feel itchy too and flaky. i told and ex preg mum. she asked if i am allergy to elancyl.. i dont think so leh.. so i din apply religiously... but when i do, i apply generously... Hope it is normal...

btw, www.reverieisland.com.sg having new designs on the baby beansprout pillows. mummies you might want to check it out or let ur friends know.

cindy
haha i noe that.. but sian to do also bcoz of myths going ard saying the chemical blah blah blah.. so i juz use my 'Kiap' to kiap my permed hair.
can save $ too. since im a sahmtb =)

sung
i tink ur skin is sensitive to cocoa butter...
better don use coz if too itchy will cause rashes. u try using olive oil alone, olive very natural n mild shdnt cause u itch.. =)

Re: UTI
omg. i hate this. as im a regular for this during my teens - adulthood.
my sis once prewarn me about the risk of getting it during pregnancy is higher. so i very scared,always drink plentiful of water, and visit toilet frequently..

mommies having UTI, muz drink cranberry, honey, or apple cider vinegar and take in more water..

yiyi
i got a somehow similar book from NLB free.
juz have to go to the receptionist desk and ask for the pregnancy free gift.. fill in a form with ur particulars and bb's edd dan u get the kit free le.
Cant rem if previously our thread got posted on this on not.. haha

Queenie, is the free gift still on? I may have miss the previous thread.. I will go and check with the receptionist at Bedok liibrary maybe later in the evening. Thanks for the info!!

keron
u r interested? heard fr 1 of mummy tat there's yoga class in orchard area... me oso interested but not sure will travel there to attend anot... hahaha...

yiyi..
the free gift is ard for quite a long time le.
i tink shd be still on..
if u passby library, no harm askin =)
u are most welcome..

Keron & Jeris
im considering the normal aqua aerobics sessions by Singapore Sports Council..
Coz im v lazy to travel all the way to kkh..
more over kkh oni 4 sessions.
SSC have 12 sessions. but not every swimming pools have this course. You may want check it out at their website.

hahah thank u pink demoness and queenie!!
hehe!! how much does it costs and is it safe to do now? i know the rebonding and all is not safe lohs.. hehe

for #1, i just look like a total shack after preggie and after confinement want to do rebond and colour but breastfeeding.. aiyo! hahaha!!

cindy
got myths saying no gd.. but also got moms who did chemical treatments to their hair b4 during their pregnancy period.. tink is sharon if im not wrong.
u wan play safe, ask ur gynae. hehe..

for me, i will oni colour my hair if i realli buay tahan when black roots come out or wad..

queenie - i also get ear block!!! esp my right ear... hmmm maybe its part of pregnancy? either that or its becos of my sinusitis... i also get UTI frequently but i dun like to pop pills... so i jus let it go away on its own... long run actually no good... this time round i must be good and take antibiotics liao... i dun wan to have kidney problems in future... =\ long term if left untreated can lead to pylonephritis... so better to be safe then sorry...

dry/cracked nipples - luckily mine is not to the extent of cracking (yet) i think will be very painful right? but i do sometimes feel pain in my boobs... jus will suddenly get sharp pains... then i will jus massage it abit...

teddybaby - ooo maybe its the same for me bah... becos everynight my nose will get blocked and i breathe thru my mouth... morning when i wake up to bathe & brush teeth i will vomit gastric juice... thanks for the link! will check it out *muacks*

yiyi - my sis bought for me the book from spring maternity... also charting since week 6 til birth... also have space to paste the scans and photo of tummy... also how we feel this and that... but i a bit lazy to chart lor... *lol*

pink - is birds nest very exp? i never buy... i did buy for my MIL before but i bought frm BKK... then i bought in jan for my frn who gave birth but is frm EYS then already mixed... hmmm so i dunno the costs... i think i will also be like u ba... xue ge... heh heh heh... or buy those already pre mixed then jus drink slowly... =X

has anyone tried drinking goats milk??? my colleague's wife drank goats milk during pregnancy... her baby girl come out very fair n smooth skin... and chubby... very cute... i dont recall how it tastes becos the last time i drank it was like... ard 20yrs ago? *lol*

before i end,

SELAMAT HARI RAYA to the muslim/malay mummies!!! =D

cindy - do hair halfway... tell stylist pls hold... then feed baby.. then continue again... kekekeke...

im very tempted to chop off my locks... actually wanted to do so after wedding but hubby says no becos he says long hair nicer.. which i also agree... short hair has never suited me.. eveyrtime i cut i regret... but itchy me la... *lol* really feel like cutting so my boss wun nag at me all the time to tie my hair properly... kekekeke... then i will look like round round ball with short hair... kakaka

cindy/queenie,
yup yup, me me just colored my hair. in my last preg, i also rebonded and colored my hair. i just tell the hairdresser tat i m pregnant so she din leave the chemicals for too long n also din use the uv light thing. cindy, lik wat u mentioned, it' hard to take time off to do such things during bfeeding too, esp when feeding on demand in the first months.

missycandy,
do u intend to follow full confinement practices? if so, better cut short hair! coz cannot wash hair. cannot turn on aircon, can u imagine having greasy long hair? :p if u r gg to wash hair as usual then i think long hair is better, coz can just tie it up if it's messy, short hair need to cut often to maintain the style. too high maintenance

sharon - hmmm i dont but i dunno if i will be forced to... i cannot go without washing my hair at least once a day... i will be very tempted to shave my head if that happens.... LOL maybe nearer to giving birth then il chop my locks... becos chop now still long way to go.. by then hair also grow long liao.. hahaha

oppsgal - yeh my frn tried some powder thing... i didnt see her during confinement so i dunno hw it went n smelt... but i dun tink i wan to go thru that... hw can the oil & smell disappear without washing away???

miss83 - chinese tradition.. i think so that next time u wun get arthritis n migraines... for ard 30-40days... gd luck.. heh heh heh...

but my MIL said when she did for her own daughter, she let her wash her hair... she's not that strict... true or not i dunno la.. i nvr ask SIL...

miss83,
if follow confinement practice strictly, u can't wash hair throughout your confinement period, think abt a month? some mummies use a kind of powder thing over the hair.

oppsgal,
yar yar, there's the no rinse shampoo too, not sure if it wil work for the whole month though.

missycandy,
me too, i wash my hair everyday. in fact, i wash on the very next day i delivered (n everyday after tat, when i hv the time) coz wan to look pretty for the visitors mah :p

ya true..there will be alot of visitors...i plan to perm hair as soon as got the time..maybe can only 'tahan' not washing hair for 1 wk is the most!

sharon - wahahahaha.... ok ok...

miss83 - nt sure leh... have to ask my frn... or maybe cn try checking out those chinese shops or pharmacies... hmmm if u r those type that tend to drop a lot of hair, i advise u nt to perm ur hair... or unless u perm b4... for me i permed 2 times... but after perming, my hair become very little! then keep dropping hair -_-" dunno if its becos of my diet or what... even now i drop a lot of hair... heh heh heh... im tempted to rebond my hair ... i did it once look quite nice.. but if i cut short n rebond i will look like flat head... hahahaha with big body... argh...

i have round face... anyone has tips on how short i can cut my hair? i knw cannot cut til chin becos if end at chin will look even rounder... -_-" wait look like pig... =(

i drop alot of hair..but my hair also very thick..even drop alot still look very thick (last time when i was bb, mother gave me aloe vera on my head before washing my hair ---> maybe u want to try on ur bb too

missycandy,

I did concave short with soft straightening...Supercuts at Far East Plaza does the soft-straight very well. Not flat and has body cos they left one inch at roots untouched and they straighten with curving techniques.

i used to have waist long hair, and after i crop it short, i never looked back. I've been holding this style for more than 2 years liao, and I am also a L Size person!!!

Hi ladies...

E hair topic veri farnnnyyy leh...
For hair length, tink no shorter that our chin...how abt those straight bangs abt chin length? Like Cleopatra style woh...

Rebond...guess we like e straightening look as our facial features r more enhanced w this hair style...i always admire galfrienz who look yummier after giving birth...really hope my post delivery look will not scare me...haha mayb remove all mirrors @ home?!

Wash hair...i intend to wash e very minute i rest in my ward after delivery. Well, i those cannot stand itchiness n greasiness of my hair...dunno whether i get 'tou hong'?

Hi sung, teddy baby, miss candy, pink demoness n e rest, i used to see an ENT in Mount E. Can pass u e contact if u need relief.

Dry flaky skin/ itchy breasts/ skin breakouts...
I hav slight eczema in my early adulthood so not sure if being preg will worsen e condition...bo bian lor...jus make e best out of e situation...
I notice my aerola area has small white lumps...read frm books these r normal occurences as they r getting ready 2 bf e bb...i oso hav white flaky skin...sometimes when i peel it off, a bit painful...so try hard to leave them alone loh...not so pretty animore...look lumpy n scabby...

Soya bean pdts...
I tink u can resume eating them once u confirm ur bb's gender a boy boy...jus eat or drink them in moderation...

E only thing i really miss eating is sashimi...oysters and mussels...will eat prawns / crab every now n then.
Ani1 here loves grass jelly? Can continue to eat despite being preg? Heard qite liang...

Oki... looking forward to read ur responses...we r really fast movers...e responses increase @ an exponential rate... cheers!

Dear ladies

Sorry to interrupt, I'm from Oct 2008 thread

I have a set of belly belts bought from Mothercare in May 2008 to sell off. The set consists of:

(1) 2 sizes of belly belt button-up
(2) 2 sizes of belly belt slide
(3) 3 coloured panels to mix & match

The above are all brand new and unused, except for the small sized button-up, which was used only twice.

Perfect for wearing your usual clothes when preggy!!!

Bought at: $32
Selling at: $20, inclusive of normal postage

Please PM me if you are interested

1755849.jpg

haha..

Re: Perming Hair
my frd permed her hair 1st time, hair loss
but at her 2nd attempt her hair didnt drop.
so i tink is the chemical tt the hairdresser used...

Re: Cutting Hair
I wont cut my hair short de. i will rather die. :p
i love long hair.. hahas..
but the way, mtbs with round face muz need hair to cover face.. from the side..

Re: Bathing / Washing Hair
if we ever go to Mrs Wong prenatal class. she cfm will say cannot don bath don wash hair de. esp if we are breastfeeding. Coz we need to be v hygiene when comes to contact with our little ones..

here is a website selling some shampoo and bath shower using lemon grass which got dispel wind the effect.. u all may try if u all wan..

http://www.littledreamers.com.sg/catalog.html

is the warming shampoo and warming bodywash. but how effective is it. i donno haha..

miss83 - my hair used to be thick lo... then after perming drop a lot... now... not thick but not thin la... but im sure if i perm again... will drop more... =( am tempted to perm la.. becos some pple say i look nicer with curls...

gingal - how does concave look like? is it a bob? i actually wanna try bob... but ... nt sure if suit or not... actually... im thinking of going to reds to do it... ive been to reds twice and i do not regret going to them... i guess u pay for what u get... the last 2 times i went, i spent 400 per visit... usually is for trim, colour & treatment... so i guess is ard that price range? nt sure if its really pricey... but i really feel good after goin to them... maybe psychological effect becos spend so much must feel good la... hahaha... if i go neighbourhood... i dun feel that good lor... jus feel its like normal... how much does it cost to do ur hair at supercuts?

woollie - i read in another thread that one mummy still eats sashimi lo... but she said in moderation... hmmm.. guess she very "brave" dunno during confinement can eat or not.. if can i will ask hubby buy for me liao... muahahaha... U see ENT also for sinusitis?

Queenie, CIndy, Sharon,

I read the new art and science abt pregnancy by the 4 gynaes. They say no rebonding.. So that's not a myth. They did say that perming and chemical dyes are alright... so poor me with my permed hair which is loosing the curls got to bear with messy hair for quite a while.

Heard that 3 - 6 mths after birth would drop lots of hair so not advisable for rebond as well..

missycandy,

Yes Concave can be Bob too...Concave is longer in front and shorter at the back. Most stylists will cut concave with Bobs. If you are afriad that Face will be round withBobs, can ask the stylist to go less on dat.

Supercuts trim my hair for $30+ and Soft-straight at About $200. Sometimes I do go to neighbourhood salons for a wash and blow and trim. Their washes with massages are sooo damn good...you will be surprised that you can actually find A-Class Stylists at Neighbourhood salons...

Asura,
I'm dropping alot of hair already, i'm now at 16 week + 2 days..My hubby vacuumed the floor on Sunday and on Monday, my hair is all over the floor again...he is making alot of noise about it...
My hair parting looks so obvious now...like abit hollow hollow...so sad...Hope that after give birth will regain my hair density!

dinner time..dunno what to eat..no appetite..and lazy to go out (since pregnant become so lazy..doing anything also vr lazy)
haizz..when will things go back to normal?? almost 16 weeks now..

gingal,

oh no... i thought during preggie, hair would become thicker. Actually i seem to be dropping lesser hair since i got preggie. Is it cos ur scalp is too oily? Maybe u can try using those treatment shampoo to remove oil once a week. Might improve ur condition. I used to drop a lot of hair cos of oily scalp. Got better after using treatment shampoo.

miss83,

Same here..... i cant do much in a day as well. feel tired so easily. thought they say energy level would return in 2nd tri.. the only diff for me is that i no longer feel terribly sleepy in the day... but i still sleep ard 9! Big diff from my 1 am sleeping time pre-pregnancy!

ya, same here, esp don't feel like going to crowded places. And I'm still waiting for my energy level to return leh...Wk16 liao but like Asura79, feel sleepy by 10pm, not back to pre-pregnancy days yet. Sometimes wonder if I'm just lazy or really my body is tired...

Hehe, queenie , sharon, asura, so no rebonding, no soft straightening Haha. Oh my. Cham man. I can see the auntie emerging after march! but for dropping hair, its true. I started dropping like when my no. 1 is 5 to 6 months for like 4months! Everyday must sweep and vacuum else is like hair salon Haha!

Missycandy, yes! That is what I did for no. 1 le! Ahah. I brought him out at 4months cause couldn't take it anymore and when doing halfway Haha just latch under the big cloth Haha!

And ladies with long locks, I once had them too, but cut it all away just before I went hospital. I am glad I did it cause just those days in hospital with no bath is terrible Haha. easier to bf with short hair too! Hehe.

Sian. Tmr working again!

hi missycandy,
i visited a nose n ear specialist in Mount E pre preg... jus when im 3/4 way to recovery, news of my preg reached his ears...@ e same time, i had a bout of flu/sore throat n cough...w phlegm...lasted 2+ wks; never so ill in my life?!
E ent told me emphatically tat my sinus will b 'resurrected' n sooo, gotta live w it lor...5+ months 3 go...

i went for my 1st swim today...a bit breathless @ 1st but felt really great! Looking forward as been feeling rather lazy n lethargic since 1st trim.
Glad tat my energy level returns...now working on my sensitive skin...

Last but not least, teddybaby n azura79, hope u 2 can regain ur energy soon...then pple ard u will b amazed by ur readiness...frankly speaking, im not so worried abt energy level...im more worried over memory lapses. It's scary to forget e impt stuff while @ work...hopefully this improves too...

Jus curious...did ani1 here regain ur bedroom fun routine w ur hb? Any difficulties? Though indeed, my 'appetite' came back but e feeling is different; probably got e fact tat we hav a bb in our midst...my hb tries 2 b gentler 2wards me...haha...

cindy - lol

woollie - hmmm my boss was suggested i go for irrigation... then it will last for few mths lor... ENT says cannot be helped during pregnancy ah? OMG... very torturous lehhh... how to survive...!!! actually i find that sitting upright is a gd position... i tried it once but after awhile back ache la... i doubt can maintain that position whilst sleeping!!!

i guess i need the courage to chop off my locks... maybe when i go for my short trip to penang end of the mth... hee hee... come back with new look... short hair & fatter me.. lol

MTBs, i crave for barley drink this afternoon and started brewing since 4pm...but i've act. forgotten abt it and left it brew for 3 hrs!! while i'm doing my accounts in the room..I did smell something burning but i tot pple are bbq - ing...It was my hubby who realised the burning smell and my whole pot was burnt. Nw my house is filled with burnt smell =( so sad...hw can i be so forgetful..feel so useless..tink i dare nt cook if i'm alone just incase.

tuskywollie: i actually started BD in week 6 with hubby cos dun wana deprive him then wait he go find woman outside...touchwood!! however he was gentler n slower cos i worried harm bb plus tummy crampy so sometimes must stop awhile...but gynae say wont do bb any harm as bb protected in the sac then... 1st trimester dun really allow him to kiss me cos i was having ms n he smokes so before tat he must take a gum lor cos ever since pregnant, i cant stand ciggie smell...hehe

misscandy: i went to get xue ge tdy, abt 29.90 for 20g... but medical shop(ZTP=name of shop) person say its liang one so must combine with some heaty stuffs to boil to lessen the coolingness...like dried longan, red dates etc...seems like i can only imagine its birds nest n take...sob sob...

mummies, i've been getting headaches nowadays... so disturbing...btw we can take cordyceps chk essence in the 2nd trimester ma? i'm currently in my week 14...tummy very crampy on the left side...normal ma? any advice?

SG..
it's allright..most of us tend to be forgetful when preggies..dont feel useless..its just the hormones not u

anyway, are u the one who gave us tips to feel bb kicks yesterday? if yes, i want to ask u somehting

Hi gingal,

Since my taste buds change, lots of food I used to eat become difficult to stomach. I don't like prune juice. So, sometimes I take Fybogel if too many days haven't poo. BTW, I'm also dropping more hair nowaday. Considering shorten my long hair.

Hi sung,

I bought the book "My Little Baby" from PageOne bookstore at Vivo City. It can also be found in NTUC magazine section too. I find this book very good as it include info such as local hotline for emergency, newborn tests to consider, taking care of newborn, and many interesting and important checklist to look out for (eg. baby proofing your house, why discourage to use sarong cradle & baby walker).

RE: UTI

I used to get it before pregnant. I found cranberry juice the best prevention.

RE: Robinsons Sales at Expo

I bought for my BB 2pcs set of t-shirt with short at 2 for $10 and sleeveless top at 3 for $10. Now found size a bit too big for newborn. But never mind, big is better than small. Almost bougth cot & playpen but in the end hold on first. Too excited when buying baby stuff...
Considering going Centrepoint as got Sales too! http://www.robinsons.com.sg/whatson/Exclusive_ASE_1Oct08.htm

pink - hmmm u sure its not UTI? i get pain in my left side but i knw its UTI becos i get it quite often so i knw the diff... so now i started myself on antibiotics.. hopefully it clears up... last night was really torture.. i had back ache plus left sided abdo pain from the UTI... so cnt lie on back... lie on side also uncomfy... had a hard time tryin to sleep... which i managed to i think becos i was so darn tired... middle of the night woke up to pee and luckily both pain had subsided... so tempted to take painkiller !

idlecat - ooo makes me wana check it out!! maybe i shld... dang... we're lookin for playpen... hmmm... what brand playpen and hw much was the one u were eyeing ?

miss83, yup yup..i'm the one who ask those in >week 15 to try out the hand/palms on the tummy..have u tried? feel any "poping"? =)

ya i tried...i felt something like 'poping' but I was half asleep so i just thought it might be gas..and then ard 3am after I pee, tried again and felt the same thing..so i began to think..could it be the baby kicks?
I'll try again later

hee...maybe its a light "move" from yr bb...initially nt very obvious..the pop is as if you are feeling your pulse, except that it pop once in while..then continuously..maybe u can feel the pop "harder" in the coming weeks..or even see a small "bump" pop out from your belly. gd nite and sleep tight!!

Hihi!

Idlecat & Pinkdemoness - thanks! i found the book at NTUC yest and bought it, yup seems very informative esp for 1st time mtbs

Hair Washing During Confinement:
Heard from a TCM uncle last time that can't wash hair for the first 12 days at least, else mothers will suffer in future. i'm intending to try bear with it hee. tink slightly long hair that can tie up is better coz the hair wun touch my chin and irritate the area else very itchy. oh oh tink can get dry shampoo from most pharmacy, just put, dun hv to wash off. can still use this as long as dun touch water.

Stomach Cramps:
Pinkdemoness, I get cramps like feeling on either left and right side from time to time too. Not sure if it's normal but as long as it's not on the lower area, more relaxed. Mine on the higher part nearer belly button, gynae told me before if pain nearer the lower part then to do with bb else is our own digestion stomach area. i'm 15wks+.

Feeling bb's Movement:
awghh SG and Miss83, i'm disappointed after trying for 2 nights and the whole of yesterday leh. can't feel the popping feeling SG describes. kept trying even midway when i wake up at night, coz not sure when bb will be active. so far, din feel it. all i felt is sometimes a hard spot/bump on the lower tummy area that'll go away after i sayang it for a while. or a sudden feeling in the lower tummy area like someone kicking me from inside but this is very rare, felt it only 3 times since pregnant, it comes suddenly and is a shocking feeling. not sure if dis are bb... will cont to monitor lor. i can't wait to feel bb move!