(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

sun,
The mooncake I ordered they too bad they don't have website to browse, But hor noe they got road show at Raffles Place my work place can test the mooncake until xiao. I ordered their 100% Pure Black Durian Mooncake with normal ping Pi durian mooncake. The black one the promoter say its make from black charcoal powder. Something different so I tried. But not cheap after 10% discount still paid $45.90 for 4 big pieces.

ok mummies..

i will check online later tonite.. my hubby wants to go for the thomson medical hospital tour.. and i also need to kkh to pay for my aqua fitness test... take care... and have a good lunch later....

asura...

yes planning to BF....both my mom ( not good with babies last was my granny who looked after us), MIl...too old and can't handle babies...so i have my elder sister but she didn't BF then...so leave with the choice of a confinement lady....my hubby has no opinion on that coz he has no idea wats good...
yah my galfren gave me 2 contacts....and quoted the price of $1900 too...

asura...

pls let me know about the cordlife talk too....coz i am planning to bank the blood...so might go and listen ....thanks alot

hi asura - oh ok. cos' my friend kept telling me to engage even tho' no. 2 and i was thinking too many ppl at home liao la.. do i really need a CL? hope I dont regret!

nana...

thanks for the tips of prune juice will try tonight...hehehehe...

hmmmmm i think it's normal and i am also ard you height and that we need to get ard 12kg in total period of preggie...

Oppsgal,

For me, i am still deciding whether to sign up for private banking in the first place. but i think no harm listening to the talks. Doubt i would sign up until i pass the 2nd trimester... a bit too early i feel... maybe got CNY promotion by then? kekeke... no extra discounts for early birds anyway.

Those going for the cordlife can ask if we sign as a grp will we have better discount ...

Taking about mooncakes .. make me drooling .. but think I will not take as now I cannot take too sweet things .. will make me puke .. hope by Mid Autumn Festive close to 12 weeks will be better for me and can take man ..

asura..

i check and got a brochure from CORDLIFE the otherday at gleneagles hospital...
they asked for my gynea and when i told them they gave me a list of pricing..
and then told me that my gynea has tied up with them with a promo price....it's $900+ for the initial process, 1st yr banking FOC, 2nd yr $250/yr....
anf read the write out...seemed impressive...and can be shared to other family memebers....
my hubby said since it's very useful and can keep for infinite....why not..never know the future..

Pammie,

You might want to consider engaging. CL can help to look after ur elder child when u BF. Most CL are quite cin cai i think.. My colleagues got 2 also engage CL. They say more convenient + freedom from in-laws.

Nana..u are pretty slim leh...envy envy. I can imagine u still having washboard tummy now. My bump starts below stomach although I lost 2kg leh. Dunno issit bloated?

I was craving for double cheese burger and went to eat at Mac few days in a row!!! I didn't really check properly what can and cannot eat like what I used to do during my 1st pregnancy. Made egg mayo sandwich for my son to bring to sch this morn and i ate one too. I didn't touch half-boiled egg so far though. Whenever I visualize that plate of runny half-boiled egg with dark soy sauce and pepper, I would drool. must wait till at least confinement then can eat, sigh.

moonackes cravers....

hahahhaha...i have found one yummy and yet MTB can eat all you wan...
it's marriot straweberry YOGURT mooncake with snow skin..it's not that sweet and must thaw for awhile...it's yum yum..to ease the crave of both mooncakes and ice cream...hehehe

I think with #2 all the more need help during confinement right? otherwise got #1 there, so busy how to take care of #2. I dunno, that's what i think only. Maybe ask wishaboy and irene, how they handle during their #2?

The snowskin mooncake can eat or not since the skin is raw? or partially raw? I'm craving for iced lemon tea now...Arrrghhhh!!!

guest123, did u check status? seems like status for the clothes still same leh. i ordered from motherhood on Tues not yet shipped out. old navy also no change. I'm so anxious to see the clothes.

DAPHNE,

Yah... i did read the write out.. But my friend and her husband, both practising doctors in the UK, feels that there is no point in private cord blood banking... say public cord blood banking would do. try getting more info from www.virginhealthbank.com they got some unbiased articles or references there. My worry is that it is advertising gimick when we read brochures. So now trying to find out more.

asura..

you are right....maybe the talk will enlighten our queries....pls do let me know about the CORDLIFE thingie....shall go and listen to them and dcide from there...thanks

Daphne,

I made my own snowskin mooncake. Recipe uses cooked Glutonese rice flour, boiled cooled water, vegetable shortening and flavouring. Though the flour is cooked, it is actually cooked at the factory. So it can be unhygenic from all the handling. I think just dont eat too much. I know some recipes uses hot water, but not all manufacturers uses hot water cos the hot water method is very difficult to make.

Daphne,

No prob. Would ask the guy how to register when he calls me tomorrow. Would post it up to see if any of u wanna attend.

asura...
thanks for the making of snowskin....i asked the lady who's selling the mooncakes..she said is edible and preggies can eat...eeeeeeeeee...she LIED....okie will remove the skin and take the yogurt instead.....

Cordlife....thank you in advance..

okie mummies...

lunch time now going to the supermarket to get my prune juice...
enjoy lunch and the day...talk to you ladies later....
cheers!!

Hi Fairymoss
We just rem we forgot to send the invoice to Vpost. my colleague gonna do it later. din receive any email from on and gap yet leh. will update u.

<font color="#82CAFA">Wintertime</font>
go and ask up for the antental class. it is useful and informative. wkend class more ex.

<font color="#82CAFA">fairymoss</font>
yeah, yeah, I also want to know how to handle no #1 when one had no#2 wor...need to engage CL one mah so that the caregiver will handle no#1 for u while CL help u to take care of No#2.

<font color="#82CAFA">Pammie</font>
ai-yo....but if all the kids are sticky to u, very hard to cope leh....my gar already very sticky to me,I'm just like a tree and she is like a koala bear. hopefully, she will get close to hubby.

better not to take coconut juice, very coooling. take it after 35 or 36 wks onwards. heard that coconut juice will make the bb clean when one delivered.

true, even malay and Indian also eat all sort of food unlike we chinese will confine a lot of cooling and heaty food.

post it in the Wanted to buy thread loh to ask for 2nd hand maternity clothes.

re:confinement lady. if u have helper at hm, then gd mah, dun need to engage loh.

<font color="#82CAFA">SeaBreeze</font>
same same, also wear bck my old maternity clothes but will only start after 6-7mths. last time, I only start to wear it after 7mth cos tummy is still small. for me, all those maternity clothes are passed down by my hubby's frenz. so save $$ no need to pass.

re: coconut drink. me so sad, I bought 2 coconut during my wk 37.only managed to drink 1 of them only cos by wk 38 supposing I wanted to drink but hor never expected that that week when i went for my checkup, my cervix already opened 4cm liao. haa....hubby and I even asked the doc " can we go hm and pack cos we were not ready yet".of cos, the doc gave us the kind of look.

<font color="#82CAFA">Guest123</font>
re:itchy nipples. I dun experience but only experiece tingling sensation.sometimes, need to wash away the white stains, need it is part of milk.

yeah, durian mooncake from goodwood park and mariot hotel one the BEST wor.....but hor, price increase liao. if one is the M1 customer, one got discount for the mariot hotel mooncake. hubby mentioned that u want to eat durian mooncake,might as well go and eat durian only...last time, I bought the swensen ice-cream mooncake then hubby said, u want to eat swensen ice-cream mooncake, might as well as go and buy a tub of ice-cream. haa...

<font color="#82CAFA">Oppsgal</font>
we are still in early preggie lah. so normally, dun really gain much weight. I only gain 12kg during my first preggie. most of them goes to bb and the system (placenta, water retention etc).my friend gg to deliver thisoct, only gain 7kg and her bb weight 1.5xxkg only. ppls advise her to eat more durian to booast up weight.

re:nipple crack. either go and see doc or apply the nipple cream.

<font color="#82CAFA">Kome</font>
re: sun the bb. the normal light used is not the same as what the hospital used (think the hospital used the ultraviolet light). but at least, yr mum made a effort and just gave it a try. but won;t it warm when the bb is under the light?

<font color="#82CAFA">misscandy</font>
my body temp is always 37.5 one. wow, u like spicy food, me opp fr u. now, a bit of spicy, like whole body on fire......

gd that u think postive, at least, yr hubby knew what he is doing. stay cheerful.

<font color="#82CAFA">Lenny</font>
oh, then u must be drooling at the table. haa at least, a bit of console for u, u can smell the rendang cockles which is gd for u liao.

<font color="#82CAFA">Asura79</font>
ai-yo, we not supposed to eat cockless one cos of the batercia infection loh. better to stay away loh for the sake of bb.

RE: Cordlife. for me, I just donate my cordblood thing to the sg bank after delivery.

<font color="#82CAFA">SG</font>
yup, sian, this mth, I had admitted to hospital twice liao. today, saw a dark brown thick discharge. sian....

<font color="#82CAFA">Jasmine</font>
better not to eat too much mooncake cos it is sweet wor....

re:confinement lady. yeah, I also think so, bb stable then book. maybe u want to go and attend the antental class cos it is quite useful. they taught u how to take care of yrself, bb up to postnatal, breastfeeding issue.

wow...so fast book CL liao....I think I waited for my preggie to be stable first.

ask u hor, who will be looking after yr no 2 when u deliver next yr? for me, i'm thinking of sending my no 1 to ccc then my mum will be looking after no2. my mum asked me to engage maid but mil and some forum mummies advise not cos they have bad experience with maid. either the maid run away or is a complain queen.

<font color="#82CAFA">DAPHNE CROSAILO</font>
wow, craving for fries and coke. fries very oily leh and coke got caffine liao and will make one fat.

re:bloatiness in the tummy. last preggie have but not this time. so I went to tell the doc and he prescribe stomach bloatness medicine (mixture magnesium trisilicate) for me and I was allegry to that.

<font color="#82CAFA">Nana</font>
re:cold stuff. maybe some ppls can take it. for me, I seldom take cold stuff, prefer my food/drinks to be warm or hot. heard fr old folk better not to take too much of cold drink, it will trigger astma for bb in future.

same same, sometimes, I also sense butterflies in my stomach also. dunno is it bb fart inside...:p:p

u also went KKH for checkup?? me too....

lenny, there are 2 pcs not shipped and it says backorder 1-3wks. does that mean i can't consolidate delivery from US to Sg then? >2 weeks need to pay extra for holding at vpostusa right? what happen when yours no stock and u paid for 2 separate deliveries?

hmm.. haven't logged in for a while, there r so many posts!

i went for my checkup today and the gynae did a pap smear and a nuchal translucency test (bb's neck). she said tat there's some cervical erosion n hv to wait for the pap smear result to see if this maybe a symptom of something more. any mummies heard of this "cervical erosion" thing?

afcai

Cannot take sweet things? I love sweet things, or rather my BB loves sweet things. Love chocolates, sweets, soft drinks or anything sweet. Saw mooncakes, asked Hubby to buy CHOCOLATE MOONCAKES for me. Hubby really bought for me.
Cant really take too sour things, will puke. And I cant really take hot drink now. The hot beverages muz be cooled 1st before I can drink, but loved COLD drinks esp COKE. My BB is a junkie, loves fast food and soft drinks! Previously (Before my pregnancy), I take only warm beverages like coffee and warm water. Now Both I cant take.

fairymoss
Hubby let me take what I want except raw food, or things he thinks is not good for me. Think u r coughing so hubby dun let u have it. My mum say better dun take too much cold drink coz not gd for BB. But it makes me feels better, ease my MS. So I try not to take that often.

Sharon
Y u need to do pap smear?

fairymoss, minnie,
it's been almost a year since i last did my pap smear so they just wan to do another one to make sure. there's nothing much that can be done right now if it's bad, but at least can monitor.

on kimchi,
i think a mummy mentioned about cravings for kimchi? apparently, it's good for providing fibre! in fact, the doctors here recommend eating it to prevent constipation, however, take those that are not too spicy. also here are some other food recommendations based on korean culture:

to prevent constipation:
sweet potato, potato, spinach, milk, yoghurt (can freeze this to substitute for ice cream), celery, lotus root

to prevent anemia:
spinach, grape, apple, egg, tofu, sesame, clam shellfish (guess they r really fresh here in korea), liver

taking care of #1 when having number two:

It will be good if you have a good helper, in my case, my mom helps me a lot when I gave birth to #2 and also, my elder one is quite old le la. 4yr+ when I gave birth to my #2.
Don't attempt to do everything on your own. You will feel stress and what we need after birth is to rest as much as we can. This is why I'm thinking of hiring a maid to help out my mom when I'm giving birth to #3, cos #2 is will be turning 3 next yr and is quite a handful.

Pap Smear:
Why do we need to take it during pregnancy? I thot those who din take before pregnancy must take after deliver?

Cold Drink:
I cannot resist cold drink also, especially gassy ones. It curbs my MS. Plain water make my mouth has that metallic taste and I hate it. Nose getting sensitive also.

Tummy:
I'm showing already. Totally cannot fit into my existing pants and jeans. I'm wearing leggings and those cotton stretchable pants to work now. Wear dresses also. Feel bloated all the time also and keep burping and always feel like farting also.

Complexion:
Anyone experiencing complexion getting worse?
Mine is. Pimples popping up. Skin look dull also. No glow at all.

irene,
my skin too, pimples kept popping up, n skin looks bumpy and rough. worsened by not getting enuff sleep coz kept tossing and turning at night.

Fairymoss,

Vpost will charge you holding fees after 2 weeks, think they start calculating from the day your fist package arrived.

if no stock, then depends on you if you want to pay the holding fees or you want to cancel that 2 pieces or you want to ship what every you have first. so far.. what i ordered got stock le..

re: having #2

i will be putting my #1 in full day cc so that my mum can help me with #2. the maid is to help her to do housework cos we dun really trust them with kids.

sharon
dun have to do pap smear every year rt? my last pap smear is last year, this year didnt do. my gynae check me when i'm in my 5th week coz I had spotting and bad cramps the other time, but didnt say it's a pap smear.

Guest, irene &amp; Sharon,
i am having the same problems too, i keep having pimples popping up non stop.

I hope i won;t look so terrible on my best friend's wedding next Sat.

I started listening to music to make me sleep thru the night. the radio that my hubby bought for me had 3 sounds to choose from, the sound of rain, ocean waves and calming music. i started switching it to sleep mode for it to auto-off in 120mins to calm me down to sleep.

i dont have itchy nipples yet, but can see that my skin is drying out. i stop using palmer's tummy butter cos my skin reacts to it. i think i will go suntec city next weekend to look at the maternity lotions and stuff with hubby when he gets back.

I will be putting my #1 in childcare too. As gov has subsidy for infant care too, most probably will put #2 in infant care after 3mths.

minnie,
the general recommendation is to do a pap smear annually. however, some do say tat if u r monogamous and hv not had any abnormal pap results, it's ok to do less often. i just did some web research and some mummies refuse to do one during pregnancy coz they r worried abt any implications on the cervix. so i guess whether to do the pap smear is a decision to b taken with the doctor.

irene
my skin oso looks dull... but no mood to put on any makeup, even lipstick... juz bare face go work... hahaha

<font color="#82CAFA">minni24</font>
based on my experience and pt of view, my last preggie, I also do not take sweet thing but most of the time, when i went for urine test. the test will shows 2 ++ or 1 + sign which indicate sugar in my urine. it is not gd. so in the end, need to take glucose tolence test during my third trimster. luckily, I passed the test or else jialat got to come bck for diabetic consultan which cost like $300 for few sessions...so ex. my frenz kana and need to jab herself every time before meal...poor her....

<font color="#82CAFA">sharon</font>
tot, pap smear is done every 3 yr one....I dub even bother to take until my 'auntie' got haywire after wean of fr bf so doc took the Pap smear for me.

re:kimchi also raw...can eat meh?? . for lotus root dun eat too much cos it is cooling. celery also help to lower blood pressure. for shellfish, better not to take loh to avoid batercia affect the bb.

<font color="#82CAFA">Irene</font>
thks for sharing the taking care of #1 when having no#2. will u consider to send yr no 2 to ccc then when yr mum help u to take care of no#3.

err..I oops fr u...luve plain water and drink a lot. so freq visit toilet loh.

re:complexion
think my freckles getting worst.