(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

cindy, sun
true lah kinda sick staying at home. but to see them grow can be a nice thing. if can, i dun mind stay at home for their 1st few years..

Sy & Sun
My mum also say the same thing. She say women must have their own income if anything happen also don't need to rely on hb.

I intend to quite my job when my son is pri 5, coz this is the period which they turn bad. Might be consider to do part time instead.

sy76,
how old is your #1 ? boi/gal?
hey my colleague is 38 & she is expecting her #2 now! I don't think i'll have the energy & courage to have a baby after 35, risky for mummy & baby.

hi sun96,
Do u happen to be a Virgo mummy too?
Having #1 is an exciting journey. For me, i ttc #1 for 3.5yrs & my boy is 6mths now. We didn't expect/plan #2 to arrive so early since we tried so long for #1. I was gg thru an emotional rollar coaster last week thinking whether to keep the baby anot. I wanted but hubby not keen. But now, glad he has come to accept baby

steph
my gal is 13 mths. ya i also dun think i can have a bb after 35. That is why now chop chop. finish by 35.

did u bf your boy?

Hi Corene,
What's the brand of your pimple cream?
i tot of getting the same cos im not sure if the current one that im using is safe.

Hi Kome,

Please take care. Your health and bb is more important than your job. I will still hope you take rest at home.

sy,
i total bf/latch only for 1 month. Not that i wanna give up bf but due to pretty bad engorgement & block ducts. I suffered 2 high fever during my confinement. I have plenty of BM supply & need to pump every 3hourly to clear engorgement otherwise breast turn rock hard very fast. I have to massage very hard to relief engorgement till breast also blue black. Hubby ask me to stop bf when he see me so xin ku. I have to take pills to stop BM. How about you ? How long did u bf yr gal? I hope this time round, i can persevere BFing for #2 for at least 6mths.

Hi ladies. Wow this threads moves so fast!

I have been sick yesterday.
After the lump scare, I fell sick cos hubby is sick. Feverish, cold and nauseaus. Today also, feel nauseaus. Is it normal to experience some nauseausness so early??

I spoke too soon when I say I have no symptom. :p

strawberrys79
Will consider taking tomorrow. Will find chance to tell my boss that i work from home and rest.

steph
I heard from my mum that if taking pills to stop BM, next time will affect the BM flow next time. Don't know how true is it

Padi
Pls take care

steph
i'm a leo mummy... earlier than u =)
ic... me oso ttc-ing for 2.5yrs b4 got tis #1 =)
but gd for yr kids for small gap group so they can play w each other... =)

i think i need to migrate to february mum thread.

cos my gynae just reconfirm my edd last night and have shifted the EDD to 22 of feb. Actually that was what i initially calculated based on my ovulation hehe.

anyway i think can safely take me out of the list.
will come in once in a while to say hi.

mummybear
i hope for the best for you. most importantly is take care of your health and emotion.

just back from meeting. cannot stay focus..

steph
i bf my girl for 7mths... stopped cos i wana to try for #2.the initial stage is very xin ku... but once get the hang of it, it is ok..

jiayou! ur supply is gd. i m sure u perserve, u sure can make it for #2

sy76, steph
how we noe whether our supply is enough for the bb? coz i only feel bit soreness in my boobs or is it too early for me to feel anything?

sun
now sure if can tell by anything now... but u will get to know if supply is enuff or when bb is out n when bb latch on

Think bf is quite fun but also tiring. I bf for less than 2 mths than no supply already. Coz i did not eat well and i was chosey for me food.

ic..ic...
curious abt bf ma... hee hee
but during bf, wat MTBs eat oso hv to take into consideration right?

sun u must persevere on with BF, u can do it! and yes up till now i'm still BFing my 8mth old boy, gynae says it's stll okay for now cause bb still small but not advisable as we go along in the pregnancy. so now, i must think of how to stop him. hmmm!

sy76 & elita,
Salute & well done with BFing for so long

Hopefully this time i am still bless with gd supply. For #1, i took pills to stop supply & scare dunno whether will affect my supply for #2

sun96,
now i think still too early to tell. My colleague also experience breast soreness but her milk supply was limited, she has to take fernugreek to boost up her supply which didn't help much. For me, i don't have soreness but was bless with gd supply. The reason could be explained as, i've told myself that demand = supply theory so the more i am determine to bf, the more my supply build up. My breast milk kick in during the 4th day when i delivered my baby. As for my colleague, she wasn't so ON to BF & scare of engorgement so abit negative so the brain is not having the let-down signal, therefore no/low breast milk bah. Bfing is a lot of hard work, every women can do it if we persevere! JIA YOU!

steph
fr now i must hv tis bf mindset so tat i'll be blessed w gd supply when my bb deliver =)

Hi, I am new to this forum. First time MTB. Just tested positive. Based on my LMP, I should be 5 weeks plus. so excited but scared at the same time! am trying to get an appt to see my gynae soon.

I bf for 1 year. Had all sorts of problems when I first started. Engorement, fever and also milk duct was blocked (even had to go to a breast specialist to remove the blockage).
Still preserve on to bf after all the hassle and indeed very xin-gu.
My supply was not a lot initially but grew more and more as you bf more. Also a good breast pump is impt and can help increase supply. esp for working moms is impt to get a good pump.
I invested on Medela double pump and it was really good - pump fast and can help increase supply. So new moms can consider....
I tried the manual ones like Evant, no good - nothing came out esp. when you have bad engorements, they cannot clear at all (too hard like rock).

Next time, if you have very very bad engorements, try massage your breasts with warm towel, then get baby to latch on - they can help to clear engorements fast. Otherwise, if your baby is not close to you (like you are working), then massage and pump with breast pumps.
Else, you can seek help from lactation nurses in hospitals like TMC - they have very powerful pumps that are for commercial use - can help clear engorements (though they charge).

ddtan
wat's the difference btw manual n auto pump? which one is better?

1579787.gif
sweet basil
when's yr LMP?

ddtan
Initially my supply is not alot also, as my son was quite heavy i carry him to breastfeed till my hand want to broken already + i like to eat junk food. Thats why i did not bf him anymore. That time had buy a farlin single breastpump which was not good at all and had brought it abit late.

Sun
Electric one is better. Manual one not that good to use although its cheaper than the electric one

sweet basil
Congrats. You tested on pregnancy test kit so late?

hi sun,
The one I am referring is the electric pump. Just switch on the power, and place the pump on 2 breasts and they will suck the bm for you. Manual one, you have to keep pressing the lever for each suction. Very tiring esp. if it is single. e.g. One breast take 15min, 2 breast take 30min !!! Your lunch break will be gone by then.

Bf is good for babies... My gal did not fall sick for first 2 years with 1st year on bm.
She only started falling sick after she joined playgroup.

ddtan
how much u buy for medela pump? > $100?

kome
thks, 1st time being mum so a lot of Qn gg ard in my mind...hee hee

ddtan
i oso heard bf is gd for the child, immune sys oso better... now u send her to playgrp? pick her aft u KO?

One thing I learn when bf, you have to drink a lot and eat well.
For moms like me, whose supply is not a lot, we have to work harder.
During your first few months, drink a lot of soup. All kinds (of cos the best they say is papaya and fish soup.) as you bf, you lose water, so need to replenish your body with water and soups contains a lot of nutrients good for your bb.
Eat well too.... Carry on to take calcium pills after giving birth and also eat a lot of fish. It helps to produce milk. That is what the lactation nurses taught me.

For lucky moms, I saw a few, their milk is so much ... so envious and they don't need to work on it .. just come naturally. After 4-5 months, when your supply is established, your body knows it needs to produce that amount of bm, supply will just come naturally.

sun
The breastpump for medela cost more than $300. I was consider of buying also.

ddtan
i don't eat fish and i did not diligently bf. Thats why my supply stop

hi sun,
The Medela electric double pump is around $290 when I bought it (few year ago). Not sure if they increase the price now. But it is a good investment. You can get it during GSS sales period 20% discount.

yes, now she is in playgroup (2 hrs). My MIL pick her up as I have to work. Next year, if 2nd bb comes, will plan to put her in child care cos my MIL cannot take care of 2 kids.

ddtan
My mum also not able to take care of 2 kids. I thinking to employ maid or put in child care.

Thanks kome and sun96!
Yup, tested so late as have been stressed out with work recently so thought delayed. But actually have been TTC since Jan, this is the first month that I told myself to take it easy and not worry about TTC. So never test until a few days ago. my LMP is 16th June
Actually thinking back, there were some signs present: like i keep feeling bloated and not wanting to eat oily food (which i usually love!)
also my clothes have started to feel tighter, esp around my waist. Is that normal? I thought usually only after 3months than the tummy will show.

kome,
My MIL is quite particular and she does like maids. So likely we put my gal in child care. A bit hard pain but then in child care, they can learn more and play with other kids lah.

congrats sweet basil !! I also TTC since Jan this year. Almost thought of give up and see a doc for advice - is it something wrong with me or hubby.

sweet basil
I think shld be normal ba... Don't know some of the ladies had also mention that they cannot button up their pants too. For my case the same. Don't know is i put on too much weight leh or due to pregnant.

ddtan
I agree with you. Although heart pain, but they can learn alot and will not be spoilt by grandparents to.

Thanks ddtan!!
me too! I was also initially worried if there was something wrong with me or hubby. Was seriously considering seeing a doc for help. So was really pleasantly surprise when i tested postive!!

sweet basil
me too... currently i've to avoid my pants n wear 1 pc dress to work... =p

caca
yr nausea still very bad huh? *hugz*

sweet basil
congrats and welcome

caca
me also feel nausea but no need pill i guess. the pill is for those who cannot control and have the need to puke.

me bought the medela PIS. Very good. It helped me to relieve my engorment and increase my supply. But of cos mummies have to pump diligently.

ddtan,
Is the Medela electric double pump noisy?
Previously i had the Medela Mini Electric & the pump is abit noisy like grass cutting. I sold it off in March. Anyway, my massage lady was recommending me the Ameda Dual Electric Pump (S$368) but i find it too costly. Maybe i will consider to buy a 2nd hand or to rent.

sun96,
Don't rush into buying a breast pump. Try to borrow from friends to try or rent from hospital. Whether it's a manual or electric pump, it all depends on the user & your supply (how effective the pump work for u). Trial & error b4 u invest in a ex pump & consider how long u wanna bf to make yr pump worth the investment

steph
thks a lot for yr advice!!! will consider tat... but pump can borrow 1? will pple patang abt anything anot?