(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Blurgal
Jia You.....jia you.....wish you have a smooth delivery.

Prosper
Maybe yours will come out next week. Jia you.....

For me, i hope bb will only come out in early mar coz by that time i will be in wk 38. But recently start to have headache and had not been sleeping too well, hope will not end up in c-sect due to blood pressure again (touchwood)

Prosper, soon will be ur turn babe

Tell ur bb that u want to see him soon, is a boy for u hor?
Soon all ur rashes wil be gone..btw u engaging any massage lady? Maybe can ask the lady any essential oil or herbs to reduce the marks/scar after birth

Yalo Kome, 2nd birth will be faster one..

Blurgal ,wah so excited for u,hee...update us!
I thot induce is drip, how come insert ah?

Moomoo I see...well maybe do more squatting and walking can make labour come faster?

mangogal,
hehe mine is a gal. THANKS. my rashes is not that red anymore but still ugly and itchy. Hopefully rashes will go off immed after birth. tat y i cant wait to pop.... hehe

lenny - me too...right side...have difficulty wearing bottoms...like no strength to lift the legs like that...

mangogal - is that when bb kick hard and hit the rib bone type of pain? sometimes i get that...

think we need to do more pelvic floor exercise...likely is that pelvis not strong enough to carry the bbs increasing weight...

more squating i guess! kambate mummies!!

prosper,

mine is like a stab of pain on right butt bone, not the butt but the bone there. every step i take its painful..

it started when i was half way walking from Novena MRT station to TMC yesterday..

SG, congrats darling.. ur bb looks so cute.. keke..i had yet to download my photos. will post up once i m downloaded.

TMC fees
Total fees for mine. natual delivery with epi in single ward
total 4.9k
medisave claim(max) 1.8K
cash payment 3.1k

my bill is inclusive of gynae delivery charges. hospital explains tt some gynaes will reques for separate payment, i.e the hospital bills are not inclusive of gynae's delivery..
In addition, special cases like assisted delivery, C section, jaundice cases etc, can claim more medisave.. So har, in the end, pple with the above cases may ended up maying lesser cash compare to pple with just normal delivery..

hope my above explaination helps..

Bf,
wow, this is really stressful and challenging. Till date, i only got colustrum nia.. just few drops.. still trying to dig out all my milk supply.. breast are getting painful and nipple are sore.. think got many block ducts.. hb massaging for me dutifully to help me release the blockage.. so now, i got no choice, but to cup feed bb with little FM.. else bb will be dehydrated..

To the rest of gals, all the best for your delivery!!!! you all sure can do it!!!

Wintertime, try warm towel to massage as well to let dwn the milk flow...warm bath and drink warm milo/soup to produce ur milk supply...yalo bf nt easy and need alot of determination;)

SG - Alvey is so cute! heee! im nt sure hw i wld react when i see my lil one after i give birth... i think i may just cry... heee! =P Anyway tk care!!!

Winter - tk ur time... dont be too stressed ba... drink more fluids as well... gd lucK!!! enjoy ur maternity!!! =)

mango - maybe u cn try carry heavy things and squat ba.... haaaaaaaaa

lenny - is it trapped nerve? hmmm

pain - nw everytime i stand up i will feel discomfort... becos of the weight of the bb and the pressure ba.. all pushing down... if at home i will hold up my tummy.. but outside doesnt look nice.. so jus tahan... 9 more days to see Dr AnG!!!

Here's my birth story. I try to be as detail as possible for your reference..

18th Feb
8.00am-went for bf with hb
8.45am-gynae visit, 2cm dilated. check amino fluid, too low, so suggested for induction today. inserted a pill to enhance the dilation
9am-left in observation room, strap on CTG to monitor contraction. also stay for 30 mins for pill to dissolve.
9.30am- left hospital and went for lunch and shopping at velocity...slight contraction.. still bearable. before return back to TMC, went buy coconut at cold storage
12.30pm- "check in" TMC. was send to labour ward.
change clothes.
1.00pm-inserted lotion into asshole to clear bowel.went toilet, bath. during bathing, suddenly felt warm water dripping down my legs. waterbag leaked.
1.30pm- Gynae came, help me to prick burst waer bag and check on dilation. only 3cm.. i was expecting more dilation. so disappointed. Nurse shave a little so that gynae can stitch me better later.
2pm-set on drip, strap on CTG. they will increase the drip dosage every half an hour
4.30pm- contraction getting painful, but still bearable.. still considering if I should go ahead with epi or bear it through..
5.30pm- buay tahan already.. started on laughing gas, not much use.. each every contractions hurts like hell manz.. asked the nurse how much i had dilated. if i m fast, i will bear with it.. to my dismay, it's only 4cm!!! if one more hr dilate 1cm, that means i got to suffer 6 more hrs.. immediately asked for epi
5.45pm- started epi.. was really afraid. was asked to bend like foetus and ordered not to move.. to my surprise, the process was fast and not tt hurtful.. started to feel numb on my legs, but still can feel the contraction. so can imagine how bad the contraction is
7.15pm-Legs are numb, wow... now i realise why pple say epidural is "happidural".. but still can feel contraction. gynae came and check on me. 7cm dilated.. soooo happy. she say will arrange to push me into the birth ward soon. expected delivery should be abt 9pm
8.10pm-pushed to birth ward.. not as scary as wat i thought. it's quite spacious ward and my hb still have time to take photos and video..
8.40pm-fully dilated. Nurses came and teach me how to push since i m on epidural. My dosage of epidural is finishing soon and they suggest not to top up the 2nd packet. so that I can stil feel a bit when i push.
9pm-gynae came and I started pushing.. i used all my strength to push and push.. finally after 3 pushes, bb Wilber is out.. i was tearing with joy the moment gynae place bb on my lap.. it's such a wonderful feeling and i felt soooo relieved that I finally did it.. my hb cried too.. Nurses quickly clean up bb while gynae stared on my stitching..

I realised that drinking coconut really helps.. my bb wasn't bloody at all when he delivered. in fact, i was surprise, he's fair and clean.. so many mummies here should drink coconut dutifully.. they say 2 times a wk is optimum.. 1 may not be sufficient.

mangogal, ya manz.. i am drinking like a cow now.. i told my CL to cook lots of soup so that I am drowning myself with fluid.. I will perservere..

missycandy, jia you.. u can do it.

Re:Depression
I think i had slightly after delivery of bb.. i know it's common and stressful, but the feeling of getting depress is really inevitable.. I can't control esp when i see bb crying when he din have enough milk.. esp when i insisted on total bf at hospital, when bb cry, my mil asked why i don't give bb FM.. i was soo sad tt i cry behind the curtain.. too emotional..
my colustrum only comes in today, 3rd day of delivery. first 2 days nothign much. The moment i saw my first drip of colustrum, i teared again.. so happy.. thought i might be the 1% of the gals who are without milk.
btw, i am using the PISA to help me, i must say it's' really good.. my first drop of colustrum was "aided" by it.. though i kept latching bb on, my nipples were so sore..

anyway, i told my hb to tell his mum and my mum not to visit me for the next one wk at home.. in case, they started nagging at me and i will get into depression mode.. so at least, now i am much better.. getting more rest, watching tv and reading mag..

as for bb, i only latch him on when he cry for milk, then the rest, i will let CL and hb settle...

Wintertime, it is good that u are resting and let ur mind be in sane, let ur CL settle the other stuff

BTW is ur v area painful and does the breathing exercise that u learn in antenatal class helps during labour?

Hee..take ur time to upload ur cutie darling pic

Lie down as much as you can

Sportygal n other mummies to pop , nt sure is this useful...heard that do the kegel exercise helps the v area recover faster after delivery, do it when lie down.. can start doing after stiches are 'melted'/disappear...

mangogal,
V area is still painful, but can tahan lah.. no choice. breathing exercise is quite useful, but only for the first initial stage.. perhaps mine is on induction, tt's y so painful.. but after 4-5cm dilation, the pain really can cry..

anyway, i told my hb already, if i m going to have 2nd child, i will sure opt for epi immediately...

Finally caught up with the posts. Phew! Everyone's getting really excited seeing sooo many mummies jump queue to deliver their precious ones! hehee... Congrats to Corene & Lemontree!

Blurgal/ alfafa, jia you and can't wait to hear your birth stories!

Wintertime, jia you! Don't worry, am sure your bm will come. Your hubby is very sweet to help you massage.

I am counting down now. 10 days till EDD and my bb's still in no hurry to come out to meet us!???!! Trying not to get worried over here... she is still moving a lot more these days. Think she's getting ready to help push as she's kicking my right side a lot more.

Yea, I'm the MTB in Melbourne. Weather's been beautiful and my Mum, hubby and myself have been doing a lot of walking, shopping and sightseeing around here. Mum's been buying so much stuff for my confinement!

RE: PISA with Backpack
I bought mine here online for SGD487 with 3 free medela bottles, a nursing band and purelan nipple cream, so quite a good deal. Just don't know if can use with normal adaptor if I bring it back to S'pore?

I also hope I won't need epidural. But over here, they don't do epsiotomy as a standard procedure so I don't know if I can tahan the pain. They are very pro natural here. They don't even do VE till 40 weeks and will only consider inducing at 41 weeks if bb is not out by then. Usually, the docs are happy to wait 2 weeks past due date to deliver the bb.

Ah well, we first time parents to be better enjoy the last few days of couplehood before we join the panda club.

Have a good weekend Mummies!

Congrats to all who gave birth!!
Quite surprised though because this is the Mar thread but it's still Feb haha

Anyway, I have question to ask SG or whoever else knows. I bought the Kotex Maternity Loop pad, opened one packet up to have a look. How do you wear it?? Instructions on the packaging say to attach to belt. What belt are they referring to?

Also, am going to baby garage sale tomorrow 12-6pm at Fourtrimesters. It's at 33 Taman Warna (Holland Village). Maybe can see some of you if you are near by!

Back from gynae visit, he only gained 100g from last sat's visit, so now 3.2kg at 38w3d...wonder if this slowed down growth means he's almost ready? winter, read ur birth story, i was tearing by the time i read the part about u crying & hb crying, so touching leh...i think i will also try to tahan, and maybe not ask for epi so early, until maybe 4cm-5cm...sounds so scary today when gynae asked me if i'm all ready and packed...i said yes and started to shiver....

thk u mummies for compliments..hee. =)

Missycandy..thk u..haha...yah i tink its tears of joy..so touching..i'm sure u will cry too..

pumpkinseed...tink the hospital will provide the loop..its like normal white cloth thread..maybe u can request from them when u admit? i din use that coz they are not firm..its like more for after delivery...if u stand up..i tink they are hanging there ..dun feel secure. =)

wintertime...u have the same thinking as me...nx delivery straight away ask for epi..haha...unless aldy dilated alot. hee...jiayou!!! me cried also..coz my enuff milk..and my nipples are sore + bleeding..act. i have abit of milkflow liao..no more colostrum (aldy fed my bb in hospital till dried liao haha)today try pumping..and its dripping 1 drop by 1 drop but with blood..i tink i gt sensitive nipples..bb suckle too hard aldy..nw he's on FM...i'm hoping my nipples will recover soon..

pinksorbet...u r welcome...i also dunnoe why the bb turned blue..either push too long?

moomooland..i tink i did share the info on bb's position..my bb was in posterior position..face down..better to be anterior position..face up..easier to give birth. =) hee...looking fwd to yr turn!! jiayou!!

looks like bf-ing aint going to be a smooth ride for most of us... luckily my parents are pro-BF so i will perserve...! nt sure abt my in laws though... bleahx...

Babe - when u coming back?

Mummies who is on TBF... MUST have PRESEVERENCE ok... I did it for my gal so do YOU CAN DO IT!!!

Winter - How r u feeling now? Still feeling depressed? Dun be ya... Me also down to depression when i have my gal... Just keep crying over alittle thing... U can make it de... Hang on there ya...
Cheers...

Congrats to all mummies who have popped! And Jia you to those popping these few days!

Blurgal: U shld be one of the 1st Mar mummies to be delivered by Dr Adrian, can't wait to hear how it goes. All the best!

Went to chinatown today with my mum to buy all the confinement herbs, spend $400+ in all, burn a hole again. Plan to pack my hospital bag tomorrow and tidy up BB's room.

teddybaby - what herbs did u buy? a lot ah? im stil waiting for my mum to come back from her holiday haaa! then will go with her & mil to buy the herbs at chinatown...

missycandy:
The more expensive herbs are dang gui, dang shen and also 8 packs of "bu" soup which they packed for me. I bot the better grades dang gui and dang shen for soup. Also bot cheaper dang shen for drinking. Then there's the red dates, black dates and blue dates (better and more expensive than black ones) for our drinking purpose. As I've already got longan at home, I didn't buy any. Also bot bei qi (bu qi), wolfberries, black fungus and the shen hua soup (in the confinement recipe from Mui Hsiu). Oh and also the da feng cao for bathing. As my mum patronise this shop regularly, can trust them. Also the owner has completed TCM course, so he is quite knowledgeable in this area. THe shop accept credit card as well.

Sorry mummies to interupt:

Selling a rarely used lucky baby warmer bought at $35.90 selling at $25.00

and Avent niplette bought at $70+ selling at $60 (used once)

Self collect at sembawang.

ooooo.... i dunno where my mil will be bringing us... becos she says she will bring us lor... hmmm hope i wun have to spend that much... *heartpain* anyway ive asked devil get for me the bathing herbs... hee... the rest i need to buy lor... what is the name of the shop u went to? maybe my mil might bring us to the same one...

babe, sure, i will jia you.. hope you will have a smooth delivery over there in melbourne.

st, Jocelyn was very good.. though i had not tried others, but she's very professional. and I have my complete trust in her.. PD, i got doc Ong EK in the end.

starflower, ya.. i bet u will the exactly the same as wat i felt at that moment.. seriouslly, i had never felt tt before.. amazing..

blur79, jia you jia you... u can sure make it..

SG, we have the same birthday for our bbies.. hees. next time can celebrate together. As for milk, i am still struggling with colustrum. hope my milk flow will come in tomorrow. but at least my colustrum is increasing liao.. i was so afraid that i might be the 1% of gals who do not have milkflow.. but, the moment i see the first drop of colustrum, i teared with joy.. cos i really wan to bf my bb lor.. envious those gals with lots of milk milk..
bleeding har, then u better rest well.. rem to throw away the milk with blood. not gd for bb..

sassybaby, i m feeling much better. my hb is very supportive and keep telling me to perservere. I try to relax now.. sleep and rest wheneve i can.

Wintertime,

Good to know that Dr Wong is good..
Me also quite trust her.. hee.. So is the PD good?
Yah... i guess the use of epidural depends on the length of labor.. would take epi if i were u too.. cos 1 hr 1 cm is really torturous!
Jia you on the moo moo career ok!

Congrats to all mummies who have popped! Really so fast since we first started chatting in this forum.

Oh yah... in case sun never log on. Good luck to Alfafa and Daphne for your induce on Monday! So excited for u!

hmmm besides Kome does anyone have the file for all the mummies details? in case Kome gives birth at least someone else cn help to update. hee hee =P