(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

meebaby - nw i order economic rice, i ask them to add rice.. HAHAHA! some of my insensitive colleagues keep commenting that i eat a lot -_-" duh... then after awhile when i look for food to eat they will be wah so fast hungry liao??? -_-" but dunno why when i eat buffet cnt stomach leh... one round i bth liao... sian...

Misscandy,

got to cut down on carbo and eat more meat and vege. I am trying to minimise my weigh gain cos i saw on documentary that overweight mummies will have higher chances of getting abnormal babies.

now when i hungry after dinner or in between meals, i only drink HL milk or nibble on biscuit.

for the gatehring at rajah inn, i ate heartily. never touched anything carbo but pigged out on beef, pork, chicken and fish.. kekeke...

then forgot to leave some space for fried durian and chocolate fondue. hahaha.......

hihi everyone, long time did not log in and wow.. the threads really moved very fast!!! congras to all the mummies who popped!!!

Btw, can anyone send me the confinement recipe by Mui Hsui? [email protected]

i will be exactly 37 weeks tomorrow, going to see my gynae early in the morning, last appt my princess was 2885g at 35weeks, guess she might be at least 3.3kg tomorrow. trying to cut down on my noon snacks cos i m scared bb will be too big..

re : nipple cream
i bought the avent nipple cream, tink i saw on the box that it is safe for bfeeding.

re : epidural
my gynae passed me the admission letter and instructed me to bring along if i were to admit for labour. have been keeping it in my hospital bag since 2 weeks ago. out of curiousity, i took out the letter and he ticked the epidural option on my behalf. hubby also told me to take it, why torture myself? tink i might only take it when i really cannot endure, anyway my pain threshold is very high, so shall try without it.

re : tummy size
realised my tummy is getting super big these 2 weeks which my colleagues tot that i might deliver anytime. luckily i did the brazilian wax cos i cannot see anything down there anymore....

i just managed to book a massage lady for my confinement, whew!!! called the malay heritage jamu massage and all massage ladies are fully booked for march liao, if i want to get one, got to pay the deposit of $200 first. In the end got a contact from my friend since she highly recommended hers to me, no deposit required, no need to sign package and the price is within my budget too ($70 for 2 hours), so went ahead with it.

missycandy, tink i took too much rice and noodles and bread, that's y my bb is big, so now i m trying to cut down on carbo intake

lenny
lately i'm oso not tat interested in taking rice, noodle as meals... suddenly no appetite...
wondering will affect bb growth anot.. keke

Oh hearing u gals talk about it, i miss the Rajah Inn fried durian so much, feel like joining but have friend's gathering on friday night also...
So exciting to hear mummies popping 1 by 1, my gf in Jakarta also delivered her bb boy last night, 1 week earlier than EDD. As for appetite, i seem to be constantly hungry, then i worry i will put on too much weight coz he's already 3.1 kg last sat...wonder what gynae w say this sat again...
Haven't book my malay massage lady yet, think i should start looking around right...

Here Ethan photo sleeping most of the time.
2176143.jpg

2176144.jpg

2176145.jpg

Yuppies.. Best to cut down on carbo like rice, noodles or bread.. Cut down but still must take some lah.. and take the meat and veggies, cos carbo is only for mummies' food.. not for baby..
Economical rice i order 4 dishes =P Then eat with some rice can fill up tummy.. Later hungry again then think what to eat..hehe.. but keep the meat and veggie in mind.. =)

My friend also told mee not to repeat her mistake.. she gain 20kg but baby turns out to be 2.6kg niah cos she aiming for 3kg baby or so.. I believe she ate too much carbo, so she is the one putting on weight not baby..

Cheerios

Just suggestion. Can replace white rice with brown rice. I also taking brown rice for my confinement now. Even before preggy I all along taking brown rice, is good for health too.

Jas, ur boy is so cute!
Ya knowing that can drink fried brown rice water as well beside red dates tea...I love brown rice too beside complex carbo is healthier

Wah so many new mummies pop, Congrats!!
How many liao ah..haa lost count liao :p

My rib bone/Chest bone pain no joke leh...:p
Anyone also??

jasmine
ethan is so cute. thanks for sharing his pics!

sunshinebaby
me too, no appetite to eat these days. Even vomitted ytd. Like 1st trimester again.. Hubby so worried BB not getting enuff.

Thanks thanks... Some say his mouth look like me, forehead look like daddy. Today realise he got double eye-lid, during hospital he don't seems to have double eye-lid. But both me & hubby both got double eye-lid de.

Jasmine
ethan so cute... wo...

mangogal
i do have chest bone pain but only when i sit at a wrong position for too long.. when i stand up, my pain will be near where i urine, dunno issit of the sudden drop of bb pressing on the veins below or not le..

Lately so hard to walk.. jiat liat sia..

Can I still buy the TMC panties if I am not delivering there? I bought some disposables already but they don't look that comfortable.

Really hope can make it to the expo baby fair!! Is it true that on the last day prices will be reduced? And if so, is it on all items or just certain brands/stores. I am going down specially for MEV and Bumwear.

Been so lazy so didnt really read all the postings...too many archives

P3, the chest bone pain is below my breast n in the middle...feel the womb moving up n stretching thus gt suan suan pain feeling
u hv that?

Feeling very nuah n lazy! Think I am nt gng the bbfair liao plus gt NATAS fair...better rest as much as I can during these few precious weekends before my gal is born

pumpkinseed:: me also got just a 2 nursing tops from MEV, so exp but really like it. I also got 2 maternity bottoms from them!!

jasmine:: so nice to hear you're doing so well and so positive! seems like the worry that #1 sticking to you is no longer there eh? hehe i do hope I'll be able to manage come my turn!

mangogal
ya same here.. maybe bb kicking ba, maybe becoz my body too short so it seem like not much space for tis little one..

cindy which ones did you get? Well, it's not cheap but it's not that expensive either. I find them the nicest ones so far. Vain huh? Haha. The good thing is they are very comfy and lasting. I got hand me downs from my friend who wore them through 2 pregnancies and they still look good for me! So want to invest in their nursing wear now. Not sure if the nursing bra gives sufficient support though.

Sunshinebaby,

actually no need to worry about bb's growth if u cut down on carbo.

I only take carbo in the morning for food like bread or poorridge.

then lunch.. if got carbo.. then take half portion but more meat.

for dinner.. i skip rice but will eat meat and vege that my mum cooked. if late evening hungry then drink milk... or steal a lice of bread (high calcium & high fibre)

but hor.. i very notti.. i hardly eat vege.. unless its sambal kangkong or spinach soup with pork ribs..

that day when we had steamboat.. end of the meal.. my soup becomes beef broth, hahahah..

gynae ask me to eat more meat, fish and vege... beef will give good source of iron "bu" blood..

i gave up chocolate and had 5 ice creams thru out prenancy so far.. dying liao...

about bb's growth, as long as we eat well.. bb will grow. i saw documentary.. bb will just take from mummy's reserves if mummy is not eating enough. i got take supplement religiously.. kekeke.. so.. bb's growth is so far so good.

everytime i go check up.. i am very nervous... scared i put on too much weight and also worry about bb's progress.. think we all mummies are the same..

will see bb tomorrow at TMC.. so keeping fingers crossed.

Pumpkin seed:: I got the organic Tees from them hehe!! will wait and see if Bf succeeds and if Bfing out often, will invest in more.. yea nursing bra, no idea how good too...

Mangogal,

is it a burning sensation that u are experiencing?

for me.. i do get chest pain.. my old injury from my tae kwon-do days.. now lying on my sides to sleep kinda pressed on the muscles around my ribs and caused the inflamationa along with the pain.

cannot eat pain killer.. bo pian, got to endure.. so can't really sleep at night

Lemontree,
I’m also bad. I got so exciting by my new idea for a nursing cover that I went to the nearby petrol kiosk to buy ice cream and potato chips. Initially wanted to buy just one cone and one mini pack of chips. Ended up buying 2 cornetto cones and 3 bags cos they have bundle discount. Ha! Sucker. Now just left with one cone. Hopefully can reserve that for tomorrow. Heheheh

Wow Devil,
You best ah. Did it without epi. Incredible. As for me, BRING IT ON, man! The more the merrier. I cannot tahan pain one.

Ling,
Same here. I was so worried when my usually super active bb didn’t move much. But then later at night and today she moved a lot again, rather painful at times but I’m happier this way lah. At least I know she is ok. 

Sassybaby,
Wow you another one. Gave birth without epi. Super woman!

Meebaby,
Same same! Since the last couple of weeks I always feel very bloated yet at the same time, strangely empty/hungry. Very weird feeling. Am always looking for food late night. :p

To all mommies struggling with BF-ing,
Though I haven’t experienced it yet I am very touched by your struggles for the sake of the little ones. Jia You ok!

Eh? Tsp also gave birth already?? Congrats!

Jasmine,
Oh Ethan is so cute. He looks like a happy and contented baby. It’s hard to imagine that the rest of us have something this size still moving about inside our bellies!

Winter,
Wow so happy for you! Post pics of Wilber soon yah?

wow lenny,
you are very disciplined. I had buckets of ice cream and batches of chocolates since preggie. Also continued my love for carbo since pre-preggie days just even more now. Cannot survive without rice, potato, noodle and bread. And I absolutely hate veg now, used to like them before I got pregnant. Think my baby doesn't like veg. hehehe

Re: leg cramp like pain at my inner thigh area
anyone else got it? Started experience these leg cramp like pains (very strange) since two days ago. Comes and goes really suddenly and always makes me double over.

jasmine - so cuteeeeee!!!!

okie i will cut down on my rice then.. i also order 4 dishes with my economic rice... hahahaa! =P

anyway i havent put on wgt.. been weighing myself past few days.. still stuck... but hopefully bb is growing cos can see tummy is growing... also cn see when bb kick whole tummy move! quite funny... heee =P

alfafa Yes I have leg cramps too. Sometimes, only my right leg will 'lose strength' and I have to stop or limp slightly. Must be the baby's weight resting on some nerve.

lenny you are so disciplined! I think I read earlier on you gained v little weight? Well, whatever it is, most impt is baby is gaining a healthy amount of weight. Those of us who have been indulging in ice cream, choc and chips will need to work harder after delivery to regain shape!

Hey Queenie, Teddybaby, MissCandy and May,

Thanks for your support! finished it earlier. waited to show hubby before posting. But hubby say the fabric not nice leh. I thought it was ok :p after all it was recycled from an existing bolster cover - no need to buy cloth whatsoever since the size is perfect. Also recycled the two buttons and a separate cloth scrap for the neck strap.

Oh yah, guess what I used for the curved bit on top (the centre part)? This is a curved-out part (convex) so that you can look down and still maintain eye contact with baby even when bb is hiding inside the cover. I was thinking of using those cheapo clothe hanger (the ones with thin metal encased in plastic cover) but figured that might rust. Ended up ripping the plastic handles off plastic shopping bags! I ripped out both handles (each bag has two handles) and bound them together to reinforce the strength, and then simply inserted and pushed it into the centre of the casing / binder.

Voila! The whole thing is machine washable.

RE: handmade nursing cover (short cut by recycling an un-used bolster cover)

2176285.jpg

Dimensions of finished product

width: 71cm
height: 60cm
length of neck strap: from end to end 65cm. But adjustable as I have two button holes on each end - can shortern up to 56cm.

Extra feature: I’ve also inserted into the casing/binder a long strap (can use string/ribbon whatever you want), way longer than the width of the nursing cover, for tying loosely at the back for more privacy. If you are worried about the sides flapping that is.

p/s as for the neck strap you could also use things like your old cloth-based belt .. anything goes man. As long as it looks nice. Don’t have to use buttons. Can simply stitch on directly.
Can be easily hand sewn too since it is basically straight stitch all the way. Besides if you recycle your bolster cover chances are the casing/binder is already done for you.

Enjoy!

p/s May, don’t know if you saw my reply to you some days ago. Don’t go spotlight if you can. I went once but always come back empty handed cos I find it too exp. Then when I researched online I realised that lasalle students go to People’s Park centre (the one with a huge hawker centre below, not people’s park complex. Next door only) 2nd floor. Wow the fabrics and sewing accessories there are at least half the price of what you get at spotlight. Worth the trip! Somemore some shops allow you to buy in half yards, esp useful since you are making baby booties. Oh yah, try the above if you have an un-used bolster cover. Very fast even for hand sewing. 

p/s MissCandy, can use the rest of the bolster cover fabrics for burp cloth too. I am thinking of using the hand me down diaper cloth for burp cloth. But becos the cloth is not so pretty, I might stitch a nice fabric as a top layer over the diaper cloth. Diaper cloth makes good burp cloth cos they are very absorbent plus super cheap.

Pumpkin,
I've been having leg cramps since I was 5 mth pregnant. Damn painful. Wake up quite often in the middle of the night clutching my cramped leg.
Hubby used to it by now. He will auto jumped up from his sleep to massage my leg, but he almost always massaged the wrong leg. Haizzzz

But then the new pain I am referring to feels just like the leg cramp (muscle pull) type of pain except that it is right at my inner thigh, right below my V area. Strange right?

alfafa same same, middle of the night leg craps at the calf area. The worst is when BOTH legs cramp at same time. Hmm, your new cramp is maybe due to the baby pressing on nerve? Cos by now baby is moving downwards.

Alfafa,
Wow, sounds complicated, am already lost. Don't think I'm cut out for this, keke!

Jasmine,
Your boy looks so cute! Babies all look like they are in a world of their own, enjoying ;)

Re taking carbo:
I have to take carbo like bread, rice etc if not will get hungry real soon. If eat economical rice, also order 4 dishes. Even then, evening time b4 dinner, still need to take tea. Other than 3 main meals, I take another 3 sub-meals in between becos hungry leh. Not sure if its due to BB boy so eating more. I have put on abt 15-16kg so far. Hope not to cross 18kg!

2176353.jpg

very blur pic. always like this in front of the mirror. Very big yah, more than enough privacy

2176354.jpg

oh yah, obviously I haven't bothered to iron my nursing cover. hehehe

teddybaby, no lah it's just a big rectangular piece of cloth folder by half. Then straight stitch all around with a casing on the top side for inserting whatever curvy contraption you have. I also inserted a white rope like thingy for tying behind my back. It's exactly the same as what they sold on a BP thread some time ago except that one cost about $30+. heeee actually if you have nicer bolster covers i.e. nicer fabrics it can really look very nice. Too bad mine looked a bit dull.

Pumpkin,
yah maybe ... very weird feeling. Inner thigh cramp. :p

OMG both legs at the same time? Heng I haven't got that. Already in pain with just one leg. BTW, I read in some overseas pregnancy websites that eating bananas help so I tried. Seemed to work wor. Less frequent attacks since I started taking banana. My MIL says cannot eat the long type of bananas sold in super market .. aiyah I heck care one lah. My gynae says no problem and besides I don't eat like a bunch a day.
you migt want to try that?

Re: weight

put on 14.5kg as per my last visit one week ago. But this morning when I weighed myself again on my digital scale, I have lost 1 kg leh. And I always weigh myself at the same time everyday.

Then again, I just pigged out on a cornetto classic cone plus 3 mini bags of potato chips. Not to mentioned the many spoonfuls of milo powder this morning. YES! I eat the powder straight from the tin! kekeke

is the bolster cloth so big ? hmmm nvm i asked hubby to take out all the bolster covers frm under our bed... wahahahahaa i shall try it tooo!!!!! heeeeeee

teddybaby,
Talking about baby looks all the same haha... That day when we about to re-admit Ethangot another baby beside us. And when waiting to be admited got 1 couple walk pass and saw both my baby and the other baby, she say oh is both twins? But they're not hehe... than I look at both my boy and the other boy they do look a like lor OMG just that my is slightly smaller in size their face do look alike though.
Cindy,
During my stay at hospital, my gal do really change alot in her character after returning home realised she become more active and talkative than before. And now she start to be setting a example for her little brother, so I been telling her when she start to shout or cry I will say 'Hey di di looking at her, and big sister cannot be like that de' than she will say the same thing to me,'cannot be like that di di will look at Nichole de. Now she kept wanting to carry her little brother in her arm and start kissing him non stop, but of coz with adult around than let her carry with help. Now whatever she do she will just say Ethan looking at Nichole... guess that must be a good thing that Im happy about it.

I'm going to shower .. AGAIN. The weather is so hot that I'm perspiring like a horse. I am no longer amused to see pearls of perspiration streaming down my huge belly from under my breasts!

arrrrggghhh damn hot these days!

misscandy,
yah very big. Mine was just a standard size type bolster cover, the type that comes with full bedding set. The length is definitely there. After I unpicked the long sides then I realised how wide it is also. Was thinking of using it for burp cloth at first then upon realising how big it was even after folding in half, I changed my mind to try a nursing cover. Try lah, unpick very fast one. Unpick and then see how.

Can't see from the full body pic but it is very wide, just that the sides were hidden in the pic.

cannot tahan. need to shower liao.

back laterz

Weight lost,
Mummies, think we all can worry about weight lost after birth ba. As still have to do our confinement. As for me I have lost 10kg after discharge from hospital last weight. Now starting BF will be greater ba. As I didnt put on much only 3kg and now - out 10kg I myself still lost 7kg of my own weight during preggy. So mummies not to worry, if doing BF sure can take away most of our weight de.

jasmine

u lost sooo much weight?? i put on 18kg... only lost 5kg... still got a bit of water retention.. my tummy almost flat.. thanks to massage... my body tuned to min rest... only got 3 hours sleep each day... just fed lil rayyan.. next feed 2am...

congrats wintertime, SG, tspgal.. jia you... jia you on bf... me joing u gals on the moo moo jobs soon..

nana u also jia you on bf.. dun give up yet..

jasmin yr boy so cute..

somebody was asking about tmc disposable undies.. yes u can buy from the pharmacy there beside delifrance..

btw my gynae has finally decided to schedule me for a c-section cos bb head move up again n cervix still not dilating so me will go in for c-section tmr afternoon..

lemontree.. jiayou for u 2.. hope u n i hv a smooth delivery tmr...