(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

padi/ sun96,

i had a mc before.. up to 8 or 9 weeks no heartbeat. doc says without duphaston drug, 20% of preg end up in mc. hence i was put on the drug, but still had to terminate the preg - that was last year. howver, most impt is to keep a postive outlook. if u feel good yr baby w also be happy

pammie
so sad to hear abt yr m/c...
do u hv any spotting or cramps in wk 8 or 9?
hv take duphaston then wouldn't cause m/c?

hi sun, dont be sad. i got over it. no, i had no spotting at all. when i found out the news it was the morning of my holiday - after that i spent a week in hk - during that time I had severe cramps for one night. When I came back to spore, immediately i went for DnC.
Gynae like to prescribe duphaston to support preg and minimise m/c.. however, im against taking drugs so most likely if she ask me to take again this time i will tell her no. i'm seeing gynae on fri

Welcome on board pammie,
It's more difficult to know your conception date unless you charted your ovulation dates for this particular cycle. Most websites follow the average cycle. To be more accurate, you will need to wait till your gynae can see your bub and measure to give you a more accurate indication of the conception date.

Duphaston/ Utrogestan are just progesterone hormones which is a natural substance (not a drug) just like what your body will produce during your pregnancy (HCg). Not everyone has to take them but it's known (subjective, not proven) to help stabilize a pregnancy in the cases of pregnancy spotting and bleeding.

Kome - too early wait cnt see anything leh... im only in my 5th week... next week then 6th week leh... i read somewhere that we shld nt go for sauna or hot steam baths early stages... cos nt good for the peanut... at this temp im maintaining no need go sauna hit that high olredi... hmmm 1 more week to go i think cn stil tahan right? jus pop pandadol once a day lo... i dun wan to take that often...

one distinct diff I experienced is that for the m/c case, I had absolutely no symptoms whatsoever. Im not saying that's always a bad thing though as i"ve read many reports of mothers who went thro' 9 mths without any symptoms, nausea etc.. at least this time round I feel breast sore, I feel like puking (now even as I write!) and there are days when I just dont feel like eating. and worst thing i can smell tuna and durian on my hands but I didn't touch any tuna or durians - not for past few days

hi babe - thanks. I also used ovu kits but they were always -ve -ve and i was just fed up.. .around 12 jul when I tested, it was very faint line but I BD anyway.. so I guessed around 12 - 14 july, baby was conceived cos' i hear that preg kit can pick up hcg from 6 - 12 days after conception.

missycandy - you are right. hot baths not recommended for preg moms all the way to full term. dont worry abt yr baby affected by fever, as long as u dont take meds that may harm bb, it shld be fine.

Pammie: Oh..okok. Sounds scary. :S I think I am getting a bit nervous. Haiz. Just need to try to be optimistic and trust that all will be well. Feeling a bit emo these days, esp with the nausea feeling. I was so sick with nausea yesterday I had to go home after half day of work.

a lot of ppl take duphaston to stablize and stop spotting leh... a lot of gynae also prescribe it... can be no good meh ?????

sun96.. no im not saying duphaston no good. Im just saying i dont like to take med, drugs, pills whatever during preg so may end up telling doc not to give. but as babe says it's not a drug so maybe i'll take. see how.

pammie,
Yea, I never charted my ovulation days and my cycles are 32-35 days on average so I just aga-aga try to conceive during the most fertile periods. I have read that the longer the cycles, it's harder to conceive as the lining of the uterus may not hold, and the number of cycles to conceive are also less. So, for us, it's better to take those progesterone pills just on ere of precaution.

Based on your cycle, you should get a good reading on your hpt. Some hpt can detect pregnancy very early (i.e. clearblue). Best to take hpt a few days after a missed period so to eliminate the confusion.

Welcome pammie
I think at least take some folic acid will be good for baby. So will you be taking folic acid?

babe - after DnC last year, my cycles changed from clockwork to haywire. 30days - 60days! it's very hard to chart. I go by mucus texture as indication when fertile... i had no spotting so I think the duphaston was really not needed.

I am taking Utrogestan vaginally and the only side effect is that it may cause drowsiness. Duphaston pills are taken orally and side effects may include nausea/ MS. Both are just progesterone hormones (like HCg) which is what your body is producing for the baby. Not everyone has to take them. I had some spotting previously which is why I asked for them. It has since stopped. I will be taking it up to 12 weeks as recommended.

pammie
if you do not have spotting don't need to take duphaston. I also taking duphaston for 1 week. Today is last day and going back for check up later.

pammie
ic... ya if no spotting of coz no need to take pills... u saying hot bath oso not recommend for MTBs? Why huh?

Hi hi

Just came back from gynae. Just a followup coz I'm having bad cramps. Gynae says BB is fine, can already see a yolksac and a faint heartbeat. Will be able to hear a heartbeat next week or another 2 weeks more. I cant help it, this is our first child, very anxious. Today already start to have slight MS.

Pammie
you shd take folic acid already. Can get it from any pharmacy.

Welcome pammie
sun96, don't worry I took the pills for about 2mths during my #1. Its ok, its to stable the baby. If gynae say have to take than better take.

thank u sun! I think i'm abt the same as u, i'm in my 5w3d.

Guo
I think it's better not to eat half boil eggs coz of the presence of bacteria.

pammie,
When considering whether or not to take these progesterone pills, my 1st gynae advised that if I miscarried this time, next pregnancy, she will prescribe me progesterone pills. Of course, I didn't want to risk m/c so I requested to take them for this pregnancy since there is no harm in doing so.

Thanks for all ur reassurance. My discharge is faint brown, on-off. Am resting and most prob rest til tmr at home cos i have no lessons tmr, won't affect my students.

Doc tried to do U/S for me but couldn't see clearly, maybe my bladder not full enough + the waterbag too small. So did a V/S, just a few mins, could see a 23mm waterbag and a crescent shaped yolk sac but no bb no heartbeat. Supposedly i should be week6day6 yesterday but i guess i'm just in my early 6th week. Am so worried now. Doc says if still have symptoms means safe.

Also, just to share with u gals: Doc says the waterbag is trying to attach itself to our uterus and is growing little 'roots'. Spotting occurs when u strain yourself and the little 'roots' break. Duphaston helps to build the roots back to hold the waterbag in place. If all the roots break, then a m/c happens. I believe taking duphaston is safe or it will never be prescribed to MTBs

Hi sun,
I suggest going for U/S for piece of mind, really
Like some of us here say, might need to hide from ur ILs. If no scan, then visit gynae really no use. Now i need to wait til my next appt 8 days later and i gonna panick everyday, how u tahan til week 12? :p

Hi ddtan,
When is ur next appt? Mine is next Wed! Hopefully by our 2nd appt, we will both see bb and heartbeat!

Hi funny,
What are the charges like for your doc at PP? My dh says if i can't wait til next wed, we can try visiting another gynae just to do a scan this fri or sat. haha. But that's abt $100? He said he wants me to be more an xin...

sashamama
ya lor, i dun tink i can tahan till 12wks...
now i'm already worried whether the sac is growing well inside... coz u in w6d6 still cannot see the bb, i scare me in w7 oso can't see =(

Guo
Since you are 24yrs old only, i think you do not need to take Oscar scan. I gave birth to my son when i was 27 yrs old and my gynae said i fine so i did not do any.

Sahahmama
Today is exactly 1 week after my spotting, tonight go for checkup. I am same as you feel so worried till every night cannot sleep well. Pls take good care of yourself. Yes, pls go for another U/S scan so that you will be more an xin. You be alright.

Hi Guo,
As mentioned in previous posts, taking an OSCAR test will just give you an 90% accuracy indication (not a Yes or No) of Down Syndrome. Since you are still quite young, you're not in the high risk category. That is already a good indicator. Just my frank opinion, unless you choose to abort this baby, I don't think you really need to worry yourself more with this test. There are many things we will all have to worry about, even after the baby is born.

yes, i've got appt on fri morning
i had no spotting n yet told to take duphaston. not sure why. Must be my age.

guo - oscar is recommended only for those above 35. why would u want to do it if you're only 24?

Hi Sashamama, dont be too worried over the next 8 days, if u're relaxed, bb will do better rite, so more rest and read some comics, etc and keep yourself happy. (for now no more shouting at students ;p)
I don't like to take medicines, but the vommitting too tiring and finally succumb to taking meds from my gynae called Stemetil. I only take before dinner, which i feel is the worst time of the day...think they should call it evening sickness instead of morning sickness....

pammie
but no spotting y need to take duphaston... dun tink age makes a difference ba...
so yr nexxt appt is tis fri right... must be nervous ba... =)

New March 09 MTBs,
please fill this in and sun will update the table for you

Nick:
Year of Birth:
EDD:
Place of Residence:
# Baby:
Doc:
Clinic:
Delivery Hospital:

Sashamama,
You had a very similar 1st check up as me! I think you may have ovulated late, like me. A week small
No worries, k?

Hi sun,
Week 7 should be ok la! Doc says i'm in earlier part of week 6 lo, so i guess i o late.

Hi kome,
All the best tonight! Everything will be fine, no worries!

Hi starflower,
Ya, for sure i won't be shouting at my students now. haha... My nausea is throughout the day but no vomitting... yet! If only the nausea can be more pronounced today then i might feel emotionally better but physically worse. haha...

Hi Kazooie,
It's rather disappointing to be a week smaller compared to MTBs who are 1 week in advance! haha... But well, 6 weeks out of 40 weeks mean we're 15% through our preggie journey!!!

Hi sun,
My gynae did say it's good to have symptoms, it means ur bb is growing. But of cos no symptoms doesnt mean bad la.

I do experience some slight tugging cramps. Thought it's normal. U gals?

Sun, my gynae did say that having MS is a sign that bb is growing well but definitely it differ from every woman cos I have friends who have no MS at all and their bb are fine.

sashamama
so far me not much cramps symptom, tat's y kind of worried... =( so far every MTBs seem to hv cramps...

hi sashamama, i also experience some light tugging cramps yesterday when i shouted at my students.

other than this, i do experience some cramps once in a while but not as frequent as during implantation period.

Hello MTBs,

I'm new to this thread.
Nick: Fairymoss
Year of Birth: 1978
EDD: should be Mar (not yet visit gynae)
Place of Residence: Bishan
# Baby: ?
Doc:
Clinic:
Delivery Hospital: TMC

sun96
MS and cramps are just one of the symptoms. Not every preggy has ALL the symptoms and it's not constantly must have symptoms either. There are slight consensus that suggests that many bad MS, it's probably a baby girl and less or no MS could be a boy.

Sashamama,
Yes, we lose out to others by 1 week. It's out of or hands and nothing we can do... :p Your gynae is also Dr Wong?

startflower,
I have what you experience the evening sickness when I have my #1. After dinner even I only take soup also will throw up. If I dont throw I cant get to bed and sleep well.
sun96,
It depend on some mummies do have cramps some don't. My colleague don't have any M/S all the way, I so envy her. Yeah I just replies your PM about the DVD. Will let you know when I received the copy.