(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

For those who have already went for your gynae visit, any idea whether week 8 still need to do virginal scan or is it the u/s? AM trying to avoid the virginal scan.

Asura79
Yeah, my hubby will be making it for me today. He works at NUH so its easier although I stay in Bedok. btw, I remembered at around wk 7-8 i was still doing Vscan.

asura79
i tot mostly is u/s unless gynae can't find yr sac via u/s then he/she will need to do VA scan... like 1 of the MTB...

northvigro
me seldom take soda drinks but must avoid pepsi... most important take moderate will do...

Hi Northvirgo,

I still drink soft drinks, esp coke. Makes me feel better. My colleagues were telling me that all preg women love coke. So just drink in moderation, i.e. prob not more than 2 glasses a day. So far, I only avoid raw food, all my favorite..
And of course, reduced the intake of liver as i read that too much liver intake in the first trimester is not good for bb.

Hi sun,

That's a relief. by week 8, no longer a sac right? shall make sure i dont empty my bladder before i go for my gynae appt.

Shashamama,

Rest more n take care! Dun worry too much!
I oso still hav nt c my BB heartbeat coz still too small to c when doing my checkup...

good morning ladies....

sun....it's okie to do U/S even at the beginning of the preggy...that way the gynea can monitor the baby's growth and position.

asura79,
i have never done the VA scan since the 1st visit...i guess dun need to like sun has said..unless can't see anything via US..

northvigro..
read in a pregnancy book.....soda water is actually quite good for preventing MS....drink those without sugar content...plain soda water..or gingerale for MS...

Good morning everyone.

Sashamama,
Pls take care and rest well. Do not rush and run or walk very fast.

Since like alot of ladies here got spotting. Everyone, pls take care and rest well.

Asura
My gynae always do the U/S for me tonight i going for my 3rd visit. Last pregnancy, my gynae do U/S all the way and never done a VA scan for me before.

Northvirgo
I never drink soda drink at all, but those non-gases drink i will drink some.

asura...

8wk....baby's heatbeat will be present...so the US can detect and ou can see it cearly...so won;t need any VAscan le..

strawberry...
how's the throat??? any sore from the curry puffs attack????hehehee...

asura79
liver is rich in vit A so try not to take...
go for u/s must hv full bladder? y?

crosailo
but dun noe how to chg inlaws mindset lei... *sigh* to tell them tat u/s is no harm to bb one...

Sun
The clinic's nurse also told me must have full bladder to do U/S. There was 1 time i empty my bladder before doing the U/S and doctor had difficulty finding the foetus. After 1st trimester than we can empty our bladder before doing U/S as BB is more easier to be found.

sun...

yah i know wat you mean...quite hard to tell old folks of their beliefs...but i hope they dun follow you to the gynea...
let the pro do wat best for you and baby....
i believe the mummy's peace of mind is better then gold....to see with your own eyes the progress of your making..hehehhe,,it's unbelivable and beautiful....
i even made those scans cpies into a scrap book...hahaha...
dun change their mind...respect them is all we can do...but i'll do it withut their knowledge for my POM..hahaa

hahhaa....yah i was also told to have a full bladdder before the scan...guess it helps with the sound waves and better picture???

cherrios haha, for me i had to do the VA scan, cause I went to empty my bladder before the scan, as i just couldn't take it anymore!!

I think for some gynaes, in the earlier stage, they would ask us to fill our bladder for the scan as it lifts the uterus and would be able to see better then as the bb is too small. did u girls encounter this? ehhe!

as for drinks, i still drink coke and such. really craving for it!

Hello gd morning mummies,
Asura,
8 wks is just right to detect sac and heartbeat for baby.
Sashamama,
Hugz... Don't worry everything will be fine. Take more rest and relax don't think too much at the moment.

Crosailo
Same mindset as you. I don't think i will let my in laws follow me nor i will tell them when i going to see gynae. The only way that we will know bb is fine or not is thru U/S, if we did not go we will not be able to have a peace of mind.

crosailo
totally agreed w u... is the peace of mind for me when i see the bb with my own eyes... =)
will let hb to decide coz is his parent who disallow us to go for u/s... if not will do it w/o their knowledge... hee hee

kome....

yes......at this point...we are excited and worry somehow...coz we can't feel our baby inside..
each time i visit the gynea..i'll pray for healthy growth and the heartbeat...ghehee
that gives me great peace of mind...

Crosailo
Don't know is it i think too much or what. Every night i cannot get to sleep well and morning i be very tired and headache. Haiz.....don't know this will last how long. I so tired.

sun...
educate your hubby...hehehe..let him know that to see the baby grow inside you together is a beautiful sight..hehehe...

let him participate into the growth of your making...hehh sure he won't reject that..hehehe

kome....

you are not the only one.....

i had only one day of a real good sleep coz i didn't have the night before..then subsequent nights...it's either i have bad dreams or when i wake up to wee wee...it takes a long time to head back to bed...

i tried to relax and take deep breathes..it does help...so maybe you can try....breath thru you nose deeply and release slowly..repeat it few times....will calm you down..

i tell myself that baby will be fine....read a mag to distract my mind before i sleep and get my eyes tired out..

Yes, its exciting and fun an xin fu. My hb last time just gt new job so not able to go see gynae with me. Now he insist to go with me for every appt. He said he want to involve.

kome...

that's really good and happy to know that your hubby is excited and greatl involved...

hahha.....do you know that hubbies can take over your MS..hehhee...i am quite lucky so far that besides nausea..i dun have much symptoms..but my hubby has the MS...he'll feel nausea, feels sick and smelt of food he'll feel lousy and tired..well that happened once only during my earliest stage of preggy...hhaha..

Hi everyone, i feel that my face is getting extra oily, esp at my T-zone. Is this normal? i'm still using my normal garnier face wash, hope its ok....

sashamama,
***hugs***
Rest well and spotting should stop. When are you seeing your gynae again ? Did she say which week of bb you are in ? Let's keep fingers cross for good news next week then can be more an xin :)

Kome,
Don't worry too much, you're going to your gynae check soon right. By then you should be able to see your baby from the U/S.
sun96,
Ultra Scan is safe don't worry. If don't scan how to make sure that your baby is alright. I have check back how many times I have went for ultra scan from my No#1. I have 11 copy of the scan print out till I gave birth. So that will be 11 times till giving birth.
crosailo,
Don't worry too much, I have been through the whole process of preggy same like you now. I actually have been trying for 4 long yrs before I got preggy to my gal at last. And I also have spotting for the 1st 2 mths. The gynae gave me injection at 1st than gave me the pills to take as to stable the baby. my MS last for 4 full mths. And I feel so lousy at 1st.

cin,

hehe... me too. intend to break the news to August mummies only after i pass 1st trimester (hopefully). but if anyone chance upon this thread, haha! it wont be a secret anymore!
my ILs, mum, 3 close colleagues already know about it.
becos of my days of MC, i need the understanding of my colleagues. they are very nice and supportive.

yes, #2 is planned. we thot it'll be time to have another when Doren turns 12months...

good that u are having MS. it is a good sign baby is growing well... i only feel nausea now. my vomiting started from 9 to 14 weeks previously.

Over the weekends, Doren was very clingy to me.
he even cried when i walked to the kitchen. didn't want hubby also. kinda unusual of him... now it is better, normally he is a good boy.
i think our kids can sense that there is a baby in our tummy. the old folks believe strongly in this as well.

sun96,
what is ur ILs' rationale for not letting u go for U/S. in my opinion, U/S in the first trimester is important for checking the viability of the pregnancy and also to check for accurate EDD.
OSCAR test which include U/S (11 to 14 weeks) is also important to rule out Down Syndrome

startflower,
I also have the same problem of having oily nose. Guess is our hormo. changes.
crosailo,
I too woke up in the middle of the night check my girl blanket, when to pee, go back to bed and took me almost an hour to fall asleep again... sigh.... so dam tired everyday.

bliss
cause they heard fr chinese sinseh tat u/s is not gd for bb if done b4 3 mths... hv to be done aft 3 mths where teh foetus is stable...
tat's y they ask me to go for u/s aft 12wks...

Bliss/Cin,

I am surprise to see yr nick here, got to know 2 of you are preggy from my twin sis who is also preggy here, her nick is jasminenbc, due in Mar'09. I will let the august mummies do a guessing game 1st...will keep my mouth shut and let them guess & guess....until both of you ready to announce...wowww...the feeling is so nice cos that time, some of them also make us guess and guess...kekeke...

I just tested + yesterday and still not very sure how many wk am I preggie. Can anyone tell me, whether should we count from the date of our 1st menses and I heard if our cycle is longer, the length of pregnancy is shorter.

The 1st day of my last menses was 24 July, and my cycle this mth is 33 days. so should i consider as 4wk or 5wk?

My neighbor is doing renovation. Drill and hammering. Will affect baby's hearing?

Got any test to do on the baby's hearing?

jasmine

Sorry i type wrongly, is 24 jun. i try use the online calculator some said i'm 4 wk some said 5wk. so i feel confuse.

jasmine
correct, but they listen to the sinseh tat everything will be fine b4 the 12 wks... i really dun noe wat to say when i hear tat... =(

congras pink piglet!!!
should calculate fr yr 1st day of menses...

sun96,
Think for you and baby must let your hubby know. It will be best to check everything is ok with baby. Don't wait till 12wks lah. Have your make appt already? You're in how many wks now hah?

jasmine
my appt is next Fri... if based on my LMP on 20 Jun, me should be in 5w4d ba... am i correct?