(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

misscandy
SO COOL!!! from where did u get that counter?

Sashamama
My next appointment is 6 Aug. Me alittle kiasu, so wants to see gynae to ask loads of questions.

minnie24
she got it fr baby-gaga.com
u can create 1 for yrself... =)

yr EDD few days diff fr me only right?

Hi Pink_Piglet,
Many of us at TMC, referring to the table, there's Dr J Wong, Dr Eunice Chua, Dr Yvonne Chan etc. You might wish to visit a clinic nearer to ur place then the delivery hospital is TMC or simply select a clinic at TMC itself. Here's more info from their website:
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/doc.htm

You can search for their tenant clinics or those situated in the heartlands
You need to consider if u have preference for location, male/female, etc. There're many threads with many reviews!!! I had a hard time reading through most of the recommendations and decided on Dr J Wong. My first visit was pleasant, she's nice
I have another forum friend who visited 9 gynaes before and said she's the BEST! BUT her appts are very packed

Hi Minnie,
My next appt also 6 aug. I'm gonna write down a list of questions, will start compiling! hehe... But actually many questions i've gotten answers from the helpful MTBs here or through reading from books and surfing internet

Hi Sun

Sas,

So sweet of you, thanks for the info.. So u are seeing J wong now, I was considering her too. i read some goood remarks on her too. But i think we need to visit her at TCM right. its a little far for me.

there's one Thomson women's clinic just opp my place at bukit gombak, but its a male gynae which i prefer a female and i'm not sure whether he is good.

wah u KS ah listing now ur ques, will the dr have time to answer us? heehee.

Sashamama
hehehe... yup, I got alot of info from the MTBs here. But this is my #1 so i'm still an idiot in alot of things. =P

Sun
Oh.. thanks! will go there to create my own ticker.
My EDD is the same as urs. But the EDD is derive from my LMP by my gynae not from the scan. Too early.

Pink
To avoid confusion of acronyms.
TCM = Traditional Chinese Medicine
TMC = Thomson Medical Clinic

It's important to ask your gynae as many uncertain things that are on your mind with regarding to your pregnancy as possible, that is what the consultation is for. They are the best people to answer your questions. And it is important to choose the right gynae, as in one you can trust as you will have to follow their advice throughout your pregnancy. So if you prefer a female gynae, like myself, you should look for a female gynae. Hope that helps.

ya ya baby ga ga... i tried to post the ticker here but cnt.. so have to post it as image... hehehe... its really cooL! =)

minnie24
mine oso derived fr LMP not by my gynae...
tink will hv the cfm EDD next wk... u too right?

Sas,

check w with the appt, how long roughly is the waiting time to see joycelyn Wong? my colleague used to have a gynae who is v generous with mc, so whenever she go for she monthly check her dr will give her a day mc.

any idea joycelyn Wong does that. But i know so clinic do that becos they only operate within office hrs, so they will give mc. whats the operating hr for her clinic?

Hi Guo,
I mean Dr Joycelyn Wong at TMC

Update?
Nick:
Year of Birth:
EDD:
Place of Residence:
# Baby:
Doc:
Clinic:
Delivery Hospital:

Hi Pink,
Ya, have to visit her at TMC. Surely the doc must answer all the questions we have! Of cos it depends on which doc u go to i guess!

Hi Minnie,
This is my #1, so am also blur on lotsa stuff. But we will learn and grow together!

Hi Pink,
ACJ Clinic #03-03 TMC
Operating Hours
Mon-Fri 9am-1pm, 2pm-530pm
Sat 9am-2pm.

As for MCs, I didn't go to work on Mon and visited her, and I have some brownish discharge, so she gave me 2 days MC for yesterday and today and said if i still have, can call to extend the mc, which i'm doing. So i guess it's good
The waiting time shouldnt be too long, within 1 hour? It's worth the wait
Try calling for an appt if u're keen 63532033.

Babe,

kekeke, sorry. confused by the two..i'm referring to TMC.

Sas,

Thanks for the info, actually i have made an appt via e-appointment (TMC website). I think its too late for me to book for this week le.

Hi Pink,

I've not tried the e-appointment yet. But when u do that, can u choose ur gynae? Most prob will be TMC's resident gynaes instead of those with clinics there right?

Pink
Hehee, it's alright
Btw, you're still early in your pregnancy so can call up to make an appt for maybe next week or the next which is not too late. Any pregnancy symptoms yet? Just start taking your folic acid if you haven't done so, eat well & rest more during this time.

funny - me! but ive always had back pain on and off... im worried with pregnancy it will aggrevate it... not sure if i can tahan...

sun96 - iron is needed for some preg moms. depends on your blood composition i think. I wasn't prescribed any iron pills before as I was ok on red blood cells. some of my friends are given iron pills to take, but need to watch out for constipation. everything in moderation. take only if gynae prescribes.

wow! this thread is moving so fast, can't keep up!

missycandy,
back pain does get worse with pregnancy! esp in the last stages when we can't even sleep well coz of the bump. i find that pilates helps! n also wearing comfortable shoes. sometimes flats may not b the best coz the impact when feet hits the ground. best to get shoes with good support.

pammie
coz i like the iron biscuit by julie so was wondering can i take tat daily dip in hot milo anot... =p

sun96
Taking iron supplements is okay for preggies. My gynae suggests to take that after 1st trimester. I've been taking the GNC Women Iron Supplement (which contains folic acid) since I've been pregnant and my gynae says it's okay, too, though not necessary as our daily intake of iron through food is probably sufficient at this stage and the bub is not needing it yet. Note, not to take with calcium. Take with some orange juice or food is best.

missycandy,

Errr...I mean preggy come wif backaches...since my preggy, I been having backaches...last pregnancy dun hav leh, only final trim then hav... nw getting it on the 1st trim liao...

usually preggy in 2nd or 3rd trim will come wif backaches....it will be gd if mention tis to ur gynae if u r having backaches b4 preggy....let ur gynae advise u.

pammie,
same as u, i had to terminate my last pregnancy. mine was in march this year, similarly, no heartbeat n sac was empty even at 8 weeks so we decided to let it go. was really down for some time coz kept wondering wat happened, was it the soft boiled egg i took or walking too much etc, but gynae said it's most likely the egg chose to abort itself coz there's some chromosome problem. anyway, looking back, it's best tat it had happened early rather than later. would b a harder decision to make!

sun - iron in biscuits are fine!! eat all u want.. everything u take, just remmeber to check n see if it reaches the max limits for preg moms. such as coffee and tea - u may say 5 cups , but u need to go by xx mg of caffeine to be exact.

it's ok now sun, my hsbd kept saying that it's not anything, there's no heartbeat so it's not a life yet... which is quite true i guess.. the only aftereffect now is tat i m restraining myself from being optimistic abt this pregnancy, just in case...

sharon, i had a blighted ovum. yes my doc also said the same... I was coming out of a very stressful job situation at that time. Not sure if it contributed in any way.
anyway, all the best to your pregnancy. Do take care and rest well.

U all are strong ladies and that gives the rest of us strength to persist!

Hi pammie & guo,
Update?
Nick:
Year of Birth:
EDD:
Place of Residence:
# Baby:
Doc:
Clinic:
Delivery Hospital:

Hi emmum,
How are u over at seoul? how's the weather there?

sasha,
we'r in hong kong this week! :p yes, i know all abt not travelling in first trimester, but lik i said earlier, i m trying to b more nonchalant abt this pregnancy, wat's meant to b is meant to b! it's summer sale here n shopping is just great! food is wonderful (though i miss old chang kee in sg more) esp after all that kim chi stuff in korea.

sun,
u can read abt it here:
http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancycomplications/blightedovum.html

tat's y i think it's better not to discover the pregnancy too early, more things to worry abt...

A blighted ovum (also known as “anembryonic pregnancy”) happens when a fertilized egg attaches itself to the uterine wall, but the embryo does not develop. Cells develop to form the pregnancy sac, but not the embryo itself. A blighted ovum usually occurs within the first trimester before a woman knows she is pregnant. A high level of chromosome abnormalities usually causes a woman’s body to naturally miscarry.

sportyger - i recalled in my 1st preg, headache in the initial stage was q common. I was also extremely tired, sleeping at 8pm for many weeks. Painful breasts, nausea - these are common.