(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

thanks fireangel
really hope it'll heal and grows back to normal

yuki, actually when she fall down from the sofa and had a big bump u should hav already bring her to c doc..

still remember when bb Jo was only 3mths, he fall down from the sarong and had a big bump on his head right side..everyone cannot c de bump but only me..i tot its ok lar..then let it be..but then his baluku get worse getting bigger and darker..so i was worried n bring him to clinic to check. clinic refer us to KKH to do X-Ray. by then only doc found there is a minor crack line on his head...he say the line will heal by itself very fast as they r still growing but must make sure no falling at the same area again!!

so was admitted to KKH for 2days for them to observe if he got vomit or refuse milk..actually doc say he should b ok as its already pass 3weeks since the fall..if not..within 3days after the fall, if its serious, he should hav re-action already...

from that incidents onwards, i told myself tat if anything happened, i will straight away bring him to clinic/hospital to check. do not take things easy..

yuki,

my boy's on nestle cereals, for lack of other choices here in switz, but even on holiday in sg he has been on nestle. ok lah, no complaints abt it.

yuki
dont worry so much. what is done cant be undone. be careful nxt time. i ks, i will bring her see doc.hope everything goes well... and i think as the mummies have said, they are still growing and should heal by itself...

Meebaby
i drop you a mail. any sahm staying near katong do let me know...
i m actually staying v near city plaza...

I am using electrolux front load washing machine since 2007 and still serving me well...

yuki - babies are quite strong. if u r worried then bring for check up. but if she is fine n playing. no vomitting or any other signs of discomfort, it shld be fine

anyone went for bb expo fair?

jo's mummy
ya i kinda regretted not bringing her to the doc immediately after her fall. Thought should be alright since she's ok after that. Went to PD only 5 days after the fall but didn't check on her bump thoroughly. PD said should be ok, didn't suggest any scan or x-ray. Now i won't take any chances of her falling.. my eyes glued on her every movement. By her side when she's walking and get ready if she loses balance.

pigpig
thanks for your concern.. she's fine except that little dent on her forehead. Hope it'll heal *cross finger*

reverie
thks.. now i feel much better after sharing and reading mommies' comments and advise. I felt so miserable past few weeks. I am extremely careful now, will not let her fall so badly again. Thanks to all mommies

fireangel
will let my gal try nestle cereal tomorrow!

jomummy,
longan reddates drink very good for replenishing blood. i have a contact for tcm, not eys. if you want, i can pass u the contact. you can also buy off the shelf tonic drink manufactured by the same company in most chinese medical hall. it's not a china product. It's manufactured in singapore.

rejecting milk - our kids now taking more solid food and its tastier than milk and hence rejecting milk?

btw, i feel nestle cereal is quite sweet..

for those going baby expo, don't miss metro expo sales! Today my brother bought a pair of kids pink crocs shoes for my tot at $20 only! She love it and kept wearing walking in the house. HaHa...

yuki29,

babies knock here and there v often. just be more careful not to knock onto sharp edges which can b v dangerous. other than that should be fine if bb is still active. don need to worry too much..

oh man, Kee juz went through 2 days of soft poo & vomiting but thank goodness all ok by today. the big discovery is that our medela lanolin which was some leftovers from breastfeeding was such a fantastic bum cream, the super red sore bum was healed in 2 days flat! super amazing, think its the ability to hold back the moisture from the constant rinsing at the showerhead. Imagine he pooed 12 times a day, poor kid's ass heheee

kiston,

RE: Nestle cereals.. yep.. its kinda sweet so i add in earth best cereal.. ratio 1:1

Bree is ok with it.. she don't like it too sweet

Pamper Active Baby got promo! bought 2 pack (size L, 60pcs) at $49+
But last time they used to have promo at $46+
Haiz... increase in $$$

yuki, I will bring bb to see doc first just in case of any regrets. But u dun have to worry too, cos my ger also got one scar on her face when she was few mths old, i am worried that it will stay there forever, but indeed it disappeared before turning 1.
Her head behind also got 2 soft like marble running about if you touch it. I am worried too..
But doc says it is actually born with it, it's nothing at all.

My baby has been cracky these few days. I am so regretted about the incident.
I brought her to my fren's baby party. And all my frens fed her with sweets and even gave her drink those packet of cold lemon tea. I didn't even stop them and think that they a ittle won't harm her. But i was wrong...
2 days later, she was down with mild fever, cough and flu. whenever we give her milk, she will throw out all.. she was scared of drinking milk cos she tot we are feeding her medicine. Last night was the worst, she cried and cried non stop. she was feeling pain. But not exactly knowing where.. ended up turned on the cartoon for her to watch and finally she stopped.
brought her to bed after watching tv, she slept shortly but with alot sound..she did not sleep soundly...
my poor baby..

hmmm i dont think it was the sweets n drink that harmed her... the drink maybe if she shared the drink with someone else who may be sick... past few days/weeks, quite a number of babies have been sick... Kirs is also sick... every medication time is a struggle... one have to cradle n pin her limbs... other pry open her mouth n feed meds... lolx...

*hugs to kayle*
she will be fine.. dont worrie... u tk care too babe!

Nestle is sweet. My ger rejected it. I dun like too cos got starch n sucrose. She love Heinz n bellamy rice cereal. Those plain n tasteless kind haha.

I think it is not e food that made ur child sick. It is whether they were shared.

Hi all..

we had went all the way out to JB just for beggar's chicken lunch..

chicken is good.. as well as the fish and other dishes.. the glutinous rice.. so so..

went to Jusco to shop after the meal.. and snapped up 7 packs of Huggies Ultra selling at MYR29.90 each (exchange rate : SGD 1.00 = MYR 2.32, its SGD12.89 per pack).. a customer can only purchase 2 packs.. we had 6 adults.. so can buy 12 packs.. but only left 7 packs..

i kiasu.. buy all.. think will last Bree about 7 weeks.. haha..

missy n lenny: ya lor, luckily i took a bus with elixir else really waste money n time.. even the huggies diapers are more ex than ntuc now..think ntuc baby fair so much cheaper...plus pigeon also have a booth but all selling the same price as retail malls...i only got 1 trg pants for elixir from FARLIN at $8, 3 pairs of socks for $10 and 2 pkts of mozzie patch at $10..same like those sold in BPs...haiz!! disappointed!!

lol nvm la. i guess it relli is BABY fair ... now our babies are toddlers... sigh... but hor i wana go carters sale.. lolx. must wait til dec again... woot... duno june have or not... hmmm

is it jus kee or are the babies sleeping less? he used to do 1 morning and 1 afternoon nap, each about 1.5 hour. these few days, he only sleeps once at 2.30-4.30 +/- .....also, his top 2 incisor teeth is like 30% complete and molars at the back are showing about 10%....saliva is like *dripz dripz*

Nestle -
i try not to let my bb have too much of these cereals.. so sweet and they are processed food. but when you don have time to cook, these came in handy.

But i realise that my bb feels abit uncomfortable each time after eating the nestle cereals compared to porridge.. I'm not sure if it's too filling for him or is it because it's harder for him to digest. He will have difficulty sleeping after that. Still trying to figure out what is the exact cause. Anyone has the same problem? can advise?

kirs sleeps more when with po po but sleeps less when daddy n mummy are at home...
with popo she takes 2 long naps ranging from 1-2hrs+ ... with daddy n mummy only 1hr nap...

Starflower & Missycandy,thot only my gal napping time is lesser, she will miss one nap over weekend...she will sleep either morning or afternoon, only at most like 2 or 3 hrs nap during day which is very little lor

Daphne, on weekend, my mum will brew cordyceps as soup n let my gal drink with other ingredients like slice pork and some vege eg corn or carrot so that soup taste sweet, so she drink soup and eat only did not eat the cordyceps

wah Pinkdemoness, thks for the update for the bb expo fair,hee think we shall wait for the motherhood fair in June

gino cutters - asura, jomummy, babydreams, pseed : ive passed ur cutters to pei, do liaise with her on collection

jtho - urs passed to daph.

northvirgo - see u at city hall on wed 630pm...

p3pp3r, strawberrys, keron&jeris,cfchangdee & katz - lemme knw when is good for u.

starflower,
I read from somewhere that toddlers bet 12-18mths tend to collapse 2 naps into 1.

Mummies, Do u know where to get curved spoons for our kiddos to learn self feeding? My boy is very keen to feed himself and managed a few spoonfuls each meals, but the spoon not so easy for him to spoon feed himself.

for cordyceps, havent been able to find any solid article or info online for giving our lil ones... but i give her powdered form in her porridge twice a week

hi kiston, you might want consider change to gluten-free cereals? e.g Heinz.

BTW, ever since my BB started taking porridge regularly, I stopped giving her instant cereals. Personally, I don't want her to take too much processed food.

hi teddybaby, it is very interesting to watch tots self-feed! but prepare for the mess. I also have to look for very curved and bigger spoon for my LO. She can self-feed porridge, but 50% in the spoon goes into her mouth and the other 50% drop on her lap. HaHa... hubby ask me to get a small "chinese" spoon.

I've bought Pigeon "Spoon and Fork Set with Travel Case" which i felt is good as starter, as they are short so easier for tots to hold but the spoon is too flat so not useful for porridge, but the fork just nice for her little hand to pop food.

But my mum and I still spoon-feed her porridge while she at the same time will use the avent spoon to feed herself too! Hee...

kiston,

My boy has no problems after eating any type of cereal, nestle included (and he takes the heavier Nestum too). But the thicker/stickier it is the harder it is to digest obviously.

All cereals are processed food. Doesn't matter the brand.

BTW, this morning my LO got a cut when I opened the door halfway, she walked and hit on the edge of the door. She got a cut and bleed at her little toe.
felt so guilty for my carelessness. She got hit by the door before which caused her to have a mole on her hand. Haiz... recently she already got a long cut on her leg; although the scar has healed but the brown scratch mark still there!!! i hope it will slowly fade off as she grow up. Sorry baby.

kiston/prosper
hope her scar will disappear too

prosper
i think your baby might have caught the flu bug from someone at the party? Hope your baby recovers soon and you take good care of yourself too ya.

reverie/kiston
i find nestle very sweet too. Don't dare to give her HT for the time being so tried nestle over the weekend. Though she finished it but i was thinking of stopping nestle cos of the sweetness. Prepared bellamy's baby macacroni yesterday. She's ok the 1st few spoons but then started to choke and gagged then don't want to eat it anymore. End up gave her nestle cereal. I realised she's not so good with not-so-mushy food. She chokes and gags on gerber's puffs, baby biscuits etc. But then, she eats rice without any problem and likes ritz bisscuits. So i'm puzzled why she'll gag on some food.

reverie
heinz and bellamy's rice cereal, is it easy to prepare? But bellamy is not available at ntuc right? i ever tried the pasta stars before and my gal doesn't like it. haiz headache.. wat else can i try beside HT cereals?? her lunch is porridge so i thought of giving her a different menu for dinner.

Lenny
S$12.89 for 1 pack of huggies ultra is cheap!!! I just bought 4 packs of dry comfort (red) from giant over the weekend at S$16+ per pack. I think I must find some JB lobang ;)

re: sleep
yes my gal is sleeping lesser in the day too. Used to take morning and afternoon nap about 1-2 hours each. Now only take morning nap about 1hr.. sometimes no afternoon nap. Then she'll fall asleep in the car when i fetch her home from my mom's place afer work.
Recently my gal will wake up crying from her naps. And sometimes in the middle of the night. Anyone experienced this?? Is it because they play too much before they sleep? Or nightmare?

idlecat
sayang your gal.. i understand how you feel. Did you put those door cushion thingy (sorry can't remember what it's called suddenly) at the bottom of the door? My friend told me to put it right at the bottom corner of the door to prevent LO's little toes from getting hit when the door opens/closes. I did that and i think it helps.

oh ya mummies, my sis recommended me Organic baby oat which can be bought at ntuc. transparent packaging with green label. Cheap $3.50. I use that instead of giving her bellamy pasta star etc which is exp. She love it!

Usually i cook my porridge with veg, fish & stock for 10 min in Thermos. For oat, i put into the pot only after 8min.

Kiston
bellamy rice cereal, ht rice cereal come in handy too. i gave her 4 scope of ht oat and 2 scopes of bellamy rice cereal when we are rushing or inconcenient. jus add water to it. bellamy i bought mine at vitakids at forum. cheaper than cold storage etc.

My bb still taking 2 naps. mrng and aftn. vary from 30min to 2 hours each.

teddybaby
i think combi etc which u can find at big dept stores, they do have that kind of spoons. I saw before.

kiston,

yah see how your LO goes lah. each type of cereal doesn't necessarily agree with all babies, esp as nestle is quite rich and heavy. i just give it here for lack of choice, but since he handles it ok and still likes bland/savoury stuff i just carry on

yuki,
u r right, i think she got the flu from the birthday baby girl. Cos my the other friend also brought her boy there, go home kena fever too... hahaaa.. i just came to know this yesterday