(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

Overload,
WAH... okie... sianz... but hor, okie la... I also prefer to play cooking with Mer leh... hehehe... I hardly ever flash anything lor. LOL.

Putting her at the back... sometimes when I do this to Mer she will also fuss. On good days she just ignore, on bad days she will cry until the sky fall down lor. Then I will hv to extend my arm to the back to touch her leg until we reach someplace where we can stop to change seats.

not pregnancy dementia la...wahahah.... taking care of your cupcake and being pregnant takes up alot of brains cells u know~

Think all mummies busy with the busy tods now. hahaha... no longer just babies loh, our little ones... lately everytime Mer fall asleep, I also simply black out next to her until next morning.

overload, congrats! got another gal to play with! I love gals.. I hope if i get preggie, I will have another gal to play with kylene

dj, kylene also 11.5kg now but she looks slimmer than mer.. i feel abit breathless when i carry her leh..

DJmama:
ya now also I dun do flash cards liao. I think if dun do often they will tui bu lo but now i am very lazy. Actually I have always been lazy. I did it cos I feel God entrusted her to me so I have to take care of her well. But now, I really surrender liao SIGH...

re: stranger anxiety
she is ok to b in d car alone with me, i drive and she sit at d back. She is just not fine if got other people. SOmetimes i wish she has Mer's friendliness or like Chimun u know, d super entertainer n people pleaser??

Re: Housework
I discovered my old self again. (i forgot before) I HATE COOKING!!! hahaha... If can get somebody who would come over to cook for me n hb i'd b very happy. I dun mind cooking for baby myself. I think I really cannot manage being a housewife who do all la... really peifu those who can do it all...

Sandy:
(read prev paragraph... cont) U even geng lo... study some more!!! I wanna peng lo!!

Whitegalz:
Hi!!!! Thank u thank u!!! I did not "pok" any gender before. After discovered she is a girl, I was happy for a day then 2 days later, was very upset (may b it's hormone, mood swing)... I realised cos I hated my sister (who is 2yrs younger than myself)!! hahaha... I dun anymore la but I am still very worried they do not "play" well together le...

ok excuse my rants and random-ness ha... my brain cells do not operate optimally, I have lack of sleep and lack of food... and then this thread so quiet some more make me v paiseh to write so long

Overload,
Haha... no worries... we will come in to reply you!

I dun think they will tui bu if we dun flash card with them la... way before flash cards we also have alot of geniuses leh... just point out things to her and tell her what they are whever and whenever lor. Thats what I do. Much easier and more interesting than flash cards.

Otherwise you can get pretty picture books and read to her, while pointing out the different things in the pages. Its a v effective way of making them sleep also leh. HAHAHA. My fav books are the touchy-feely series from Usborne... I will open the pages with Mer, touch the diff things int he pages and go ooo and aaaa.... then i will start from one corner of a page and point out the stars, leaves, clouds, princess, fairy, flower, leave, bug, etc etc... after I am done, I will count each type, ask Mer: How many stars are there? Then I go 1, 2, 3.... slowly and softly... normally after abt 15 minutes they konk out. AHAHAHA.

And this is a superb way of bonding and teaching cuz we can lie comfortably on the bed while doing it. Hahahaha... at the bkground can play some soft baby music... then keep the room cool and cosy. Perfect setting for lulling them to sleep de.

Whitegalz, maybe your gal has heavier bones bah... fat is not as heavy as muscles and bones leh. Haha...

This morning my precious Mer suddenly had a nose bleed. Sigh. Hopefully it is nothing. Dunno why she suddenly nose bleed, so scary.

Hi, sorry to disturb...

any mummies here enrol your 18th old babies to playgroup, those 2 hourly kind?

can advise talent plus, apple tree? which is better?

between 2 hourly playgroup and full day cc , which is better?

pls pm me as i dun check this thread.

hi hi, how's everyone?
looks like most of us are busy busy? the thread hardly moved. :p

han went for his toddler class last thursday. basically it is the same child care as the infantcare, just a change of class, teachers and friends. from air-con room to non air-con. more flexible activities to fixed schedule.

first 2 days he is still enjoying and playing with his friends. but yest and this morning, he cried when he is at child care. dont know what in the toddler class that he doesnt like.

just went to peep him again around 10am, and he is quite ok. the teacher says usually kids will need some time to adapt...

sigh... the mother's syndrome, never stop worrying.

I am BACK! missed me? haha!! *juz joking* scanned thru the posts ... keep the posts incoming and this forum thread alive!

some updates abt chi mun ... juz wanna say "THANK YOU!" for all your advices ... they really worked! now we are hearing chi mun speaking repeatedly "Wai Gong" (Grandpa) and "Ze Gor" (meaning 'this one' in cantonese). I'm over the moon! Unfortunately for daddy, daddy still remained "die-die" so daddy's KPI as of today is still not fulfilled :p

I'm currently weaning chi mun from BM fully so that I can start medication to try seriously for #2. A bit reluctant to wean her but wat to do. Maybe I can start her again on BM if I got BF the #2 next time. :p

brought chi mun to PD tonite for the 3rd time in 7 days. This flu stains A&B are really jialak. First time she's sick for so long. Chi Mun dun like the PD. The moment we stepped in, chi mun started to eyed him suspiciously liao. When PD told chi mun that he needed to check her breathing, chi mun just gave her all to wail and cry on top of her lungs! The PD shook his head and said "I just said 'check' and she knows what I'm going to do next and I hadnt even moved yet!" After PD said chi mun needs to have her phlegm sucked out, wah, the wails and cries got to the next level liao. tik the clinic nearly collapsed again. This little terror actually understood wat PD is trying to say in English! Goodness! So ok. Next time we must speak in another language so that she dun understand what we are going to do next.

Classes:
For the past few weekends, we have been to kindermusik, GraceKids(MyGym) and Gymboree trials. Chi Mun as usual is in her own world during the trials, too busy inspecting the stuff/equipments there to pay any real attention to the teachers. Will be starting her with CS Montessori in maybe another week's time for weekend playgroup once she has recovered from this stupid flu strains A and B. My search for a cc is still in progress. haha! I am giving up soon, and planning to enroll her in the nearest cc I can find .. nvm the standard there. it is not easy to find a good cc around my area that is convenient and on $1k budget.

Overload:
congrats! Now u can share the clothes from ur #1 to #2! :p hehehehe! I hope my next child will be a girl too

SSO ticket:
hey who else got them! I'll be going on the 18th! How abt ja and djmama?

Hallo Lonerunner~

Welcome back~! And awesome news that Chi Mun is picking words up at such amazing pace!

We are going on the 18th too~ Saro and myself... I will be going with hubs tho.... which slot are you going for? So looking forward!

Seems like Chi Mun is much more socially at ease than my Mer... until now she is still quite hesitant during class. But I suspect she is not comfortable with crowds or lots of noises. We brought her to the zoo this weekend and again, she seems overwhelmed and stressed with so many ppl. She calmed down considerably when we went on the tram and boat rides though and could see the animals better than when we were jostling with the other 1000 visitors that day! LOL.

Mer also cries now when she see the PD. Hehe... once she sees his face she starts liao... hahaha... and wun stop until we r out.

We just brought Mer to make her first own library card today. So happy! We hv been bringing her to borrow books but always forgot to bring her BC out to register. Finally did so today. Haha... And she is just loving the library and the books~

Owl reporting in .... eyes are still round round and big big at this hour. Think I had overdosed on coffee this afternoon. haiz.

djmama:
We're going for the 1st slot. Hope that I can wake up and reach in time! haha! How abt u and saro?
Looks like both Mer and chi mun are good at recognising PD! haha! :p
Wow, i din know that our toddlers are able to own a library card already! Good to know that Mer is loving the library and books!

starbright:
yeah the sso tickets were quite hot!

lonerunner,
yup missed the purchase period. anyway, little one enjoyed sesame st loads on sunday. hehe....just noticed i had a typo, sunday, not saturday, hehe.....

oh yah, i hv decided not to enrol him for cc until he turns 2. my maid has been doing a gd job teaching him english vocab every week. i am also worried if he joins now, the immune system may not be strong enough to take flus and coughs. will wait...

i will be on leave from today till 22 sept. so excited! stay home and nua, i like =)
gd to hear everybody and their little ones are well....oh yah, anyone bringing baby for hep a jab? i hv done pneumoccoccal and chicken pox. any mummies can advise?

dj and lonerunner,

Naomi tooo!! as we came out of the elevator and approached the clinic, she was already hestitant to enter the pd's clinic. but since it is a glass door, she could see that the pd's face was not present, so she went in...when the pd came out from her room to say hi to her, she started wailing and pulling me to the door to leave. when it was her turn, she wailed non stop until the whole consult ended. the funny thing was after the consult, we usually have to stay for another 20 mins for monitoring (of any allergenic reaction to the vaccine) and during this 20 mins, she saw the pd several times but did not wail. she was happily playing with the other kids. so i reckon that our babes are anticipating the vaccine lol...pd = vaccine

Lonerunner,

congrats! happy to hear that chi mun has started talking
you have done a great job

Hi star bright,

I had bring my little one for hep A last month. he had hep A(1st dose) and flu jab together.everything is okay, no fever. No worries.

he will be having the 2nd dose in another 6month, then it will be complete.

hi starbright,

my girl is having her hep A in 2 weeks time (at 20 mths). she finished all her vaccines for this year except hep A. next is menigococcal and typhoid when she turns 2 next yr. shouldnt be a problem if your boy doesnt react to vaccines.

have you started looking for a CC? because thats another 4 mths to go....unless you have already enrolled him

starbright:
wahhhh!!! Envy envy! Enjoy your leave!!

yeah actually I think 2yrs+ is a better age to enroll to cc too. My thinking is that they are older, and can communicate to us better if say they happen to fall sick. At least we will know roughly where they feel discomfort.

Last weekend when I was at Pat's schoolhse @ Tanglin for their open hse, this teacher was telling me to get mentally prepared that our child will get sick after going to school, regardless of whatever age. Sometimes as often as every alternate week. I can understand that. But my main problem is how to make chi mun take medicine. Like for the past 2 weeks, we have to pin her hands and legs firmly down like a judo opponent before syringe her med into her mouth cos she'll struggle and scream like mad as if we are poisoning her! Then I think my neighbours all tot that we are ill treating our child! hahaha! I cant imagine this routine after she enters cc! jialak leh.

HepA:
din arrange for my girl to take. Maybe shld go abt this soon. Wait for my girl to get recover fully first.

sandy:
pd = vaccine! hahaha! That's a good one! Naomi is really cute! Why are kids so afraid of seeing PD? hahaha!
Guessed wat? Chi mun just learnt how to say "Dog" and "Cat" today! And I felt like I'd won the 1st prize for this week's Toto and 4D. hahaha! Think the main person to make this happen is my mum who was at my hse quite often in the past few weeks taking care of her.

lonerunner,

congrats for winning the first prize for this week's Toto and 4D lol...next is big sweep!! anyways, that is very good...u must be so happy

did u try spoon feeding her the meds? naomi also hates to take paracetamol and she would run and hide from me when she sees me holding the bottle..if ever i need to give para, what i did was secretly bring the bottle to the kitchen, fill up the spoon with the amt required, walk to her while shes playing, then just pop into her mouth quick...she thought i was feeding her some random stuff and she just happily took it..i also change spoon rather than sticking to one so that she wont remember and associate the spoon with the medication and avoid the next round. then immediately i gave her water to prevent her from spitting. so far this method worked well for me..hopefully it will work for u too..

Apologies but am in need of many tins of the following:

[1] 400g Enfapro A+ ($10/$11)
[2] 900g Enfapro A+ ($32+-)
[3] $5 Off Enfapro A+ Voucher

Pls pm me if you've any to let go.. thanks & appreciate lots! =)

Am also in search for pre-loved Parklon/LG Bumper Playmat

lonerunner,
fall ill every alternate week??? *gulp* arrggghhhhhhh, i thought every month is bad enough. sigh. help me!! hehe.....

nway, it is wonderful that chi mun is picking up very quickly =) happy happy for u.

tods crying at sight of pd
my gal too! once she is seated in front of e pd, she starts bawling... even when there's no jab! but e moment she's carried near to e door, she can even wave bye to e pd... so funny!

starbright:
i tot u juz started ur new job? so fast can take leave, not bad ah...

lonerunner:
hehe, ur chi mun dun speak dun speak... once speak, speak 2 syllables... not bad leh! my gal still single syllable most of e time...

we're finally back! it's quite easy to catch up on e postings now, wif so few since i was gone...

anyway, juz an update of e trip... it was a gd trip overall, although very tiring both for my gal and us... an interesting experience, will do it again... but probably will have lesser activities then...

although we did tis hokkaido trip free and easy, it was not really free and easy... cos we still had to rush from place to place everyday to check in at e hotels we booked... we changed location every nite, except e last 2 nites where we stayed put in 1 hotel... so u can imagine e rush...

e rest of e time was spent in e car and sight-seeing on and off... very very packed, and we din even manage to see everything we set out to see... so think my gal was very overwhelmed...

somemore on e flight up, she only managed to catch 2.5 hrs of sleep... for someone used to sleeping 12 hrs, tat's a torture i think! so she was pretty cranky by e time we landed... and we were on e rds immediately after landing, so she only managed to have 2 naps of abt 45 mins in e car... out of e 15 hrs sleep she needs daily, she only got 4 hrs! so poor thing, she cried uncontrollably whenever she woke up from her naps... for e 1st few nites, she even whimpered in her sleep...

then she din have her usual porridge, so she din eat well... only 2 days, we managed to cook porridge for her... e rest of e days, she ate plain porridge from our breakfast wif fish or rice wif soup... breakast no issue, only lunch and dinner... by e time we are back, she lost weight liao... think abt 600g!

then finally, due to e lack of rest and food... she had fever on e flight back! so poor thing lah... gd thing we are home liao! she can really identify her surroundings... e moment we got back, she was able to sleep in her own cot on her own without our help... by e next day, she is back to her routine... her porridge intake is back, so is her poo output! hahaha...

conclusion, we will go on a trip wif her again... but definitely not 1 packed wif things to do! think for babies, we really need to take it slow and easy... then we dun have to deal wif a whiny and cranky bb!

Everyone must be very bz with the little ones that's why the lack of post!

Sheepish
Glad that enjoy the trip. I want a holiday too!!!!! Once ur hubby approve of table food, it will be so much easier to bring her for holiday. No need to cook porridge! My hubby told me no more holiday unless to club med or cruise. He don't want to carry zac with all his barang barang around. So sad!

Starbright/Lonerunner
A friend of my also told me that they will fall sick quite often when they start school. Just that when they grow older, there's more medicine they can take. So just a matter of time that all parents will have to go through this.

Vaccination
My zac is due for his 18 month booster. My hubby was suggesting that we go back SG to take his booster jab, but that will be 3 months later. Mummies, you think it's ok to drag for 3 months?

the_simz:
we sort of gave her table food there leh, cos all their soup so salty! but hor, she herself doesn't like... so tat's why she din wanna eat...

but quite happy oso lah... cos when we got back and i cook porridge for her, she ate her usual portion again! meaning she still prefers wat i cook - "healthier food"... even when we gave her ice-cream there, she will stop asking after a while...

as for vaccination, not too sure abt a booster... but if never take e vaccination before, can delay... if taken liao, think must complete within a time frame if not it's no longer effective? hmm, try calling ur pd for advice?

Anyone starting to look for school for our 19mths baby?

Mine at Young Talent @ Fernvale Lane now attending the flexi hour prog for 3 hrs a day cost $215/m after $110 subsidy, but still looking out...

Any recomendation?

hi sheepish,

glad that the trip went on fairly well...not too bad for a first trip with the todd

hi simz,

im not sure how far you can delay the booster shot but my pd would always ask me how old is naomi so that she can give her shots on time. i think its ok to delay for a month because the child who we saw during naomi's visit was 19 mths old when she had her 18mth booster. so i guess 19 mths is fine but not sure if 20 to 21 mths would be alright or not.

thx mummies! I'm really happy that this inspector is starting to catch up on her speech too! Oh, my mum striked her lottery tonite! the inspector called out "Wai Po" loud and clear repeatedly just before my mum went home. hahaha! This girl really knows how to get to ppl's heart by doing the rite thing at the rite time :p Think my mum is dying to look after her tmw again. hehehe ...

sheepish:
wow ... hokkaido! Did you manage to catch the fall kouyou?? I read that the season starts from Sept in hokkaido every year! you are very adventurous indeed! Change hotel every night! Wow!! That must be really tough! And to lose 600g! poor thing.... The soup based there is saltish as well? hmmm ...
You just gave me hope that a trip out with our tod is possible. Btw how you managed to get bb sit still in the 5-6hrs trip there? Can give me a tip or 2?
Hb and I are seriously considering bringing the little inspector with us to japan next mth to either osaka or tokyo. I still couldnt bear leaving her at home while I'm on holiday! Think I'll miss her like mad. If we are going tokyo, most prob we'll just stay in ueno for the entire week, then travel around by their subway to other towns since we dare not drive there.

theSimz:
hey my hb also shared the same idea as ur hb. thats why hb suggested going to japan, since our gal likes japanese food too so I dun need to bring all sort of bb food there.
Try calling ur PD to see if can delay getting the booster?

daish:
may I asked if there any reasons why you are still looking out for school? is ur bb adjusting fine? how long have ur bb been there? I'm planning to send my girl to bright kids school hse @ leng kee cc next year. it'll be an extended full day. I really love Pat's school hse but at $1471 per mth, I dun think I can afford it even if I eat bread for all my meals. haha!

sandy:
hmmm ... thx for the suggestion ...! I'll try the diversion technique once again. Today I took her to chinese doc as she has rashes all over her back and this made her back really rough and very itchy until she cant sleep well. the rashes suddenly broke out since she has stopped taking med for her cough and flu. So the medicine war began tonite again. haiz.

starbright/thesimz:
i think fall sick just once is bad enough liao! Imagine alternate week! Oh help me too!

Welcome back Sheepish~

Sounds like you had a super happening trip man... bet you also lost weight yourself from all that shuffling hotels and getting baby to eat, sleep, etc! I simply cannot imagine surviving such a trip man! Haha!

Lonerunner, looks like I will soon be joining you girls in the quest for a good CC. HB wun be working from home soon, in another month's time at best, so we have started to search le. Sigh. TPY is SO POPULATED and there's only 6 centres here. Mindchamps is out of the question, simply ex! And the rest are all heavily waitlisted.

Am going to check out one that I shortlisted tho. They hv a long waitlist too but of all the centres I called, they gave me the best impression over the phone. So hopefully, the place will also impress us bah. Sigh. Simply cannot imagine sending Mer to CC. Sigh. Seeing that she is so sticky during he rJG classes after almost a term, dun see how I can get her to settle down in CC without me any sooner too. Already can imagine her crying in the class and me crying outside the class.

Only consolation is I dun hv to put her there all day.... either set of our parents can come fetch her by early noon. So I dun feel so keksim la. But, still keksim. Sighz.

One consolation that I try to tell myself is Mer seems to be very interactive and quick in learning of late. Probably more confident now after our time at JG also. So am really glad I started her there. Else now sure tear my hair out worrying about hw she will take to attending CC when we are working!

Been so busy this week since coming bk from my last biz trip. Sigh. Never ending emails and work to clear. So v tired and so v looking forward to the weekend!

Here's wishing all mummies a happy friday in advance! :p

sheepish,
i started work in june hor. now already 3+ months, can take child care plus annual leave lorr. hehe =))

i brought baby and daddy to the zoo today, our 2nd trip there since his 9th month old celebration. saw a group of toddlers from etonhouse, such envy. cost a bomb to place the kid there, but guess their curriculum should b cool too. oh well....i need to buck up lorr....haha =)

djmama:
hey u are lucky. at least u can put mer in school for only half day or at the most 3pm. actually I also abit heartache to put my gal to cc too, but after going around to see the schools and seeing how this inspector reacts to each place, I feel more at ease now. you try bring mer around on a weekday where things are in full going to let her have a feel of the environment? At least mer is with JG for sometime liao. the inspector hasnt start on any formal classes to get her 'engine' going. hahaha!

daish:
Thx for the link!
You wan try this link from MCYS website? All cc/preschools are registered with MCYS, whereas pure kindergardens are with MOE.
https://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp

starbright:
hey dun envy. we can work on the same approach for our child at home too! tats one reason why I like to visit preschools and talk to the teachers. even if I cant send my girl there, I can learn how the teachers approach a certain topic and expand on it. then at nite or weekends, I can teach my girl using the approach too! steal idea. heehehhee ...

lonerunner:
no leh, we din catch e autumn leaves... think it's end sep... anyway, now e weather so freakish... it's actually hot there! i brought so much clothes for my gal - 6 bags, end up only used less than 3...

actually, think chi mun shd do fine leh... since she's taking table food liao... yah, their soup dunno why all so salty... i asked 1 waitress not to put salt, she looked at me queerly and said they dun use salt in their food... i'm like, ok... but when e rice in soup came, it's super salty! duh...

hmm, it was nite flight on e way up... so it's sleeping time anyway... juz tat she din sleep thruout, so she was lying/playing in e bassinet/at my seat e rest of e time... for my gal, not so much an issue of not sitting still... but more of tat she can't sleep... then on e way back, she had fever... so i was carrying her most of e time... but oso thank God tat there was an empty seat for her, so she could sit at her own seat...

as for driving, think can only drive in hokkaido... if we ever go to other parts of japan again, we'll be taking public transport too...

dj_mama:
yah, i think i lost weight... my hb still asking me to go exercise, as we ate so much during e trip!

star_bright:
wah, time flies huh? think as sahm, i lose track of time...

Sheepish, Sandy, Lonerunner
Maybe you couldn't believe this.. but I cannot call back sg. Hahaha.. the SIM card I am holding only allows local call and my sg SIM card already suspended. Unbelievable how kuku we are right? Anyway, lili suggested Skype call. So maybe I will try out soon! =)

Sheepish
The next trip you can consider adding in some hot water to the soup?
How's dew? She recovered from her fever? Hope she's doing well now!

CC
Wow.. seems like to get into a CC is not that easy ah? Have to depend on the vacancy too? Oh dear! Think I have to look at one too. I was thinking what kind of CC should I consider. To place them near your work place is better or near inlaws/parents? Should I enrolled him to a CC that has infant care too, so that IF I have a number 2, I can send both of them to the center. Do I want them to proceed to after school care when they are in primary school? So many things to consider when choosing a CC. Or I think too much? Hahaha

Sandy
Share with us what is your curriculum!! LemonT shared me on this website www.myplayschoo.net which I think it's very useful for this very uncreative mum.But the activities only take up about 30 mins or so.. My zac has too much energy to burn and I am running out of idea!

sandy:
how u set ur own curriculum? u read from bks?

the_simz:
oreidi added leh, but she still din like it... gd lah, i'm successful in training her to prefer healthy food... (in other words, picky lah!)

yeah, she okie liao... juz slight change in character, very sticky to me and daddy... then oso keeps wanting her way, if not will burst into tears...

hey, give me ur pd no over msn lah... i call for u!

simz and sheepish,

i didnt read up but just plan based on what i want to teach her. but basically there are 3 basic areas - reading, arithmetic and writing and each area i dedicate 30 mins per day. since these 3 areas require more concentration, i usually do it during the time when she is "freshest" (e.g. after breakfast, after a shower, after waking up from a nap). i keep the activities age appropriate but if she can handle higher level then i will also accomodate. but basically reading and language comes together for me so activities will include reading books together, playing flashcards, vocabulary, reinforcing the words that she can already read, learning concepts like colors, shapes, etc. arithmetic would only be basic numbers and counting. writing i just place materials on her table and she goes free and easy with what she wants to do. depending on her mood and interest for the day, sometimes each session can last for 30-45 mins but at times 15 to 20 mins. i make it like a play session so its more interesting for her (e.g. i ask her to read the words to her stuff toy as if shes the teacher). so 30 mins for each area makes 1.5 hours. i think its already sufficient for them since they are only toddlers. but outside "curriculum" time is also learning opportunities because i talk alot to her lol and when we do things together, i will also teach her concepts like heavy and light, near and far, etc. at their age, each activity should not last more than 15 minutes. so for each area (e.g. reading and language), the 30 mins can contain at least 2-3 activities, sometimes 4!! tiring but its fun and fulfilling when we see them learn

this inspector really tickles our laughing bone this weekend. just yesterday when my mil carried her to the shops downstairs to buy some groceries, this inspector suddenly kept pointing and talking in her own language to my mil urgently and my mil cant understand her so continued to head back home.
seeing that my mil still dun get her, the inspector got very aggitated and suddenly started to struggle in my mil's arms. so in the middle of the busy corridoor outside the shops, there is one grandma and her granddaughter putting up a real fight rite there until the inspector finally managed to lift her bare foot up to grandma and pointed urgently down at the floor.
My mil finally understood - a shoe had dropped and the inspector was trying all means and ways to tell her that! We all had a good laugh after mil told us the story.

sheepish:
wat! it's hot there? think the weather is mad liao.
haha! u also asked the waitress that ah? yeah last time when I went kyushu, I was very surprised to find their soup so salty, but it is by having saltish food that keeps the ppl there warm in the cold climate. most of the time I have to pour water into the soup to dilute it, otherwise I will feel that I'm eating salt instead of noodles. haha!

thesimz:
haha yeah I really cannot believe that you cant call back sg! :p but hey if u need us to call ur pd on ur behalf, just let us know over msn!
CC - last time i also shared the same concerns as u
But after going thru CC search, I conclude that anything that is logistically convenient and within budget is good enough. haha! for us, wherever we choose to send our kids to, it must be on the way for us, and not take alot of efforts or resources to go abt it cos once the noverity wears off, we will find it a chore liao :p
curriculum - dun worry, I'm also one uncreative mum. and a lazy and always busy one too. :p let us jiayou together! sandy's curriculum is good!

sandy:
love your curriculum very much! great that naomi is learning so much things!
I'm not sure how I can teach the inspector concepts like heavy or light at this moment, but think is a good goal to go for it!
I dun have a wide or planned cirruculum yet, so I'm basing my lesson plan on wat she is interested at the moment. e.g. colors, movements, body parts etc. my duration for each segment is at most 5min cos this girl's attention span is super short so I have to be fast, pick 1 or 2 items to focus on, then conclude. I'll repeat again at a later part of the day to recap what we have gone thru earlier on. So it is via multi repeations to hammer in the concepts to the inspector. quite time consuming but no choice lah. her butt got needle one. haiz. naomi is a real darling to teach!

sandy:
thanks for sharing! wah, u really put in quite a fair bit of hard work huh? think i better be more structured too... cos now, i juz play wif her watever she chooses... she determines e things to learn, not me... guess i shd do something abt it, so our time is better utilised...

lonerunner:
haha, yah... i can imagine e scenario, cos my gal ever did tat too... but not so dramatic lah, she juz kept pointing and went "hng hng hng"...

oh, din noe e salt will keep out e heat... hehe... for myself, i dun mind e saltiness lah... but my gal, better not...

Lonerunner, so funny! Think this kind of stories will keep us entertained through the years, even as they grow up and hv their own kids! Mer also had similar experience too... its really amazing that at their tender age, they r so much more observant than us! Dunno how many times she dropped her paci or shoes outside and we were alerted to it by herself. Hahaha... really really sweet and clever!

I also first time hear that salty is to keep warm leh. Haha... maybe thats why even in hot SG I sometimes feel cold, I take v little salt! Mer does not like my food at all. HB also always complain the food I cook is almost always bland. Best part, I enjoy it v much and tell him its flavorful! LOL.

Agree with you that convenience and lesser logstics is the way to go. I have been going to the diff CC ard my place and seriously, just finding them and then thinking about how MIL can bring her bk in the afternoons is tiring enough lor. And serously, must consider safety too. If MIL need to travel alot, cross more than 1 road, take more than 1 bus etc, all wun work, cuz the more exposed they are to public roads, the more chances of safety issues happening. And taking taxi is not a solution either.

Sigh, I hv been worrying so much abt whether my MIL can cope looking after Mer on her own anot lately. Sometimes I think I am paranoid but I cannot help it. Worry my MIL physically cannot take the running after this active tod, worried that MIL might think its no sweat then later out of weariness or lack of alertness allow Mer to do something dangerous without knowing. Then worry Mer dunno will learn anything during the day with MIL anot, since MIL is not like my mum, who will read chinese poems and rhymes or play with Mer with the bjective of teaching her stuff. Worry and worry and worry. Then scared Mer cannot adjust to MIL's cooking or way of feeding.

By the time we actually do get a spot in a CC for Mer to go half day in the morning, I worry if Mer can self feed by then, and if not, will she not get enuff nutrients (even tho she is already bigger than most her age), worry about hygiene, and etc and etc. f not becos my salary is really abit much for me to give up, I seriously rather be a SAHM. SIGH.

Talking about curriculums, I dun hv anything in mind or action leh. Hahaha... right now I just go with the flow. On a typical week, I will do flash cards in the car on the way to work with Mer, and flash her everyday objects and repeat the same set once in English and once in Chinese. Then at nite will read her the books we borrow every saturday from the library. Usually she will hv a favourite which she will request me to read abt 6 times max before surrendering to sleep. I will sing twinkle stars until she is asleep lor.

Tonite was abit diff, she asked me to do flash cards. Yawning away and still insist I have to do it. So i flashed until she turned away and hug the bolster. Then I just softly read the words without flashing since she wasn;t looking anyway and gradually start to sing twinkle stars. She fell asleep after the 4th time I sang twinkle. LOL.

Other than the above, normally I just let her pot around the house, moving her toy bricks, doodling with her toys, etc. Shd be enuff liao la hor. Hahahaha...

DJ
Though you are working, your curriculum looks very structure! If I am working, prob I won't do anything at all and just leave everything to the school! Aww.. I am just plain lazy!
To have a quality life, it's really better to work. My hubby already telling me that I have to go back to the work force after we are back next year. Stressed!

Lonerunner
We didn't realised the SIM card we are holding cannot call back SG. Haha.. first time staying in a foreign land and thought everything should be the same as Singapore. Haiz.. I am just like a frog in the well. All these months we had been chatting with our parents via skype, so thought it's ok to do without it.. =(

Sandy
I don't know to be impressed by Naomi, or you. Haha.. You are really a super mum! Study, cooking, etc.. You do more than me, a SAHM! Where you get all these energy from? Your curriculum sounds really easy but when I wanted to implement in the day, it's just so difficult to get Zac to be involved with the activities. Eg, He will play with his train while I colour on his paper. Hahaha..

CC
Any CC provide school bus? I thought it will be perfect if there's school bus. Also don't know how can I find a CC when I am not in SG. Finding a CC is really a chore! A friend of my shared that she can't find an after school care for her 10 years old daughter cos most of the students in the center progressed from the Childcare.

Simz, I am also a lazy mummy la. Haha. The lucky thing is Mer so far seems to enjoy my story telling and flash cards. Else I also give up. Hohoho. I love reading myself as well. Actually, before I read the books to Mer, I would already have stolen time to read them all myself! LOL. I love books!

I dunno if it will be great for CC to provide bus leh. Our kids are still so young now. I wun feel safe letting Mer take a schoolbus at her current age. In fact, even at 3 yrs old I might feel abit worried.

After tossing and turning around in bed all of last nite, I came to the conclusion that maybe it is better to engage a maid to help MIL watch Mer and then forgo the idea of sending Mer to half day CC in the morning. The waitlist is too long, the choices are too little and frankly, I am abit scared by the recent spate of deaths in CC that I read from the papers.

I remember a nice mummy shared a set of rules for maids here. Can someone share with me too? I think it was AG or Overload or was it Deedee? Hehehe... so long ago I also cannot remember le. Sigh.

Now, I think I am gg to focus on finding a good maid. Sigh.

Monday morning and I only managed to get into my coy system now. My lappie has been striking on me!

Have a good week mummies!

Oh yes, and Simz, I think have to peifu Sandy for her discipline and diligence and then of course got to give 2 thumbs up for Naomi for her good behavior and intellect!

Sheepish, the one that I read was a 4month old in one of the Chinese evening papers when I went to my inlaws. The 18 mo death was lonerunner that shared with me.

Star Bright, hee, I hope it will be a good decision la! But hor, abit apprehensive. Sigh. For so many years HB and I refused to have a maid because we value our privacy above everything. But now, after a child, it seems like our home has been invaded anyway, by in-laws, relatives, our own family, etc etc. HAHAHA. So, no point trying too hard liao la. It's gotta happen, its gotta happen!

DJ mama,
u know, it is a good invasion. coz having an outsider is always better than in laws and own parents. after 18 mos with my maid, she knows hubby and i value our privacy so she doesnt bother us when we r watching tv. she doesnt come into our bedroom at all unless she is cleaning and she will always knock. parents and parents in law may forget to knock at times, sigh. i think it is a wise decision. and because the maid is paid for her job, thus she will be more professional, compared to mums and MILs, haha. my mum will conveniently forget my reminder of not letting the baby watch tv while having dinner. my maid will <u>always remember</u> i don't like tv with meals. that's the difference, enough said =P

Hi DJ Ma Ma and Lonerunner, may I know more or where can I read about the 18mth old death in cc? Or how he or she died? Sounds scary.
I intended to send my boy into CC in Oct, as he is becoming too much to handle, needs 2 spoons for him to hold and a bowl when we give him porridge or soup, seemed like he is trying to tell us he wants to self-feed. But he ended up stirring the bowl which contains the food we want to feed him and refused to let us feed, then refused to put on diapers, etc. However, while we keep telling him he is going to CC, he suddenly fell sick last Fri, and poor boy, got bronchitis and need neubilisation yesterday when I sent him to pd again after last Sat's consultation. So heartpain to see him vomit while sleeping when the phlegm comes up and he dare not sleep for 2 days! Coz he is scared if he sleeps, he will vomit. Could not eat, this mummy keeps crying when I see him suffer like this. HB not in SGP, luckily got my mum, both of us stayed awake during the nite, until yesterday, cannot take it le, slept from 3 - 7am. Hope he can get clearance from pd tomr when he goes back for review.

Been very busy with work and taking care of him after work, so hardly post but every now and then will read the posts.

My boy can also say 2 - 10 and backwards, so happy! He can point to parts of the body and say the words too. Not sure it is due to the DVDs I played him or Shichida. But going to Shichida is becoming more and more difficult for me as I usually have to rush to work and my mum will bring him home via train after class after I alight, at mid-afternoon, so hot for them. If take cab, will usually cost 25 or more, very siong. Intend to stop after next term as most of the activities are quite repetitive from week to week. But don't think I will have the discipline or he will have the patience to sit and listen to me if I were to coach him at home.

Its been such a long time since i log in.... so overwhelmed with my work + caring for my boy.. hehe...
need some help... gg to bring xavier to perth this thursday, how can i make him sit through the plane ride? his backside seems to have lots of needles these days! worried... sigh
i also wont be bringing slow cooker to cook porridge for him, abit worried if he can get used to the food there... read sheepish post, abit scared le haha, your experience in japan sounds fun but tiring lor! lucky i am staying in one hotel throughout....