(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

giggler: the waiting time is very fast. For the bloodtest result onli told mi abt 10mins onli. Is onli waiting for the Doc abit longer onli abt 20mins. NB got piority.

samval: Ya...dr ang really zun zun predicted kyler weight...but heard normally is heavier one...
u start your leave already ah...then touch up last min bb things? go eat whatever u want to eat? confinement stuff prepared already?

suika: if u scared that your boy got jaundice...before PD visit, sun him during the morning and evening sun...but if going to bath him with the ginger things, dont do it before PD visit ok...

kamy: VE is nothing compared to labour pain!! hehe...

blessedmum: even later few days of CNY also only CNY menu ma? maybe can find those smaller not so well know caterers...should be able to negotiate..CNY menus ex leh...

bbstarlet: that means u only have 2 choices rite? either try to induce and see cervix open or not...or else c-section straight??
discuss with your hubby/gynea and see what is better la....dont be moody...
think of able to see your darling soon...

hi blessedmum, just don't order from Glory Catering. The recent experience during baby's first mth was way below my peranakan family's taste buds. maybe chefs had bad day...the other aspects of coordination, timing were ok.

Love Angeli Catering though, used them last year, regret not using them again for baby celebration.
http://www.angeli.com.sg/

think my case will be similar to bbstarlet... i also very scared later induce and not open, have to do emergency c-sec... then may as well just direct c-sec hor... tomorrow discuss with my dr...

samval, at my mom's place today... at least have someone to talk to! keke, yesterday at home alone was so boring... ended up watching alot of discovery channel... some squid special... hehe...

Went for haircut & did last min shopping

Did last min packing till 2.30am.
Got up at 6am, got ready & 'reported' at hospital at 6.50am.
Admission was done pretty quickly & was soon prepared for surgery.
Wheeled into OT at 9am.
Gynae was delayed as still helping out in another OT.
Wheeled in for epi to be administered, HB was told to change into OT gown.
Wheeled into OT at abt 10.15am
Gynae came in & action started almosted immediately.
Gynae ordered for someone to get HB into the OT.
Started cutting as soon as HB got in.
I could not see the op, could only hear, feel & smell... think HB had posted his 'observation' in an earlier post... irritating guy, described as if my skin was a slice of streaky bacon for frying...

Yes, could feel what was going on... even with the epi, I could feel gynae cutting... slight pain, but dulled... as the procedure progress, could feel gynae & assistances tugging after the slit. After that was lots of pushing, even the anesthetician helped. Then gynae stopped mid way for polariod moments. Then more tugging & baby was totally out.

Gynae & his nurse commented that my organs & muscles were in perfect condition, as if 1st time delivery... (think gynae was just boasting abt his own 'work of art')... then the anesthetician, gynae, nurse & assistance went into a discussion on the max number of c-sect, etc... record breaking, etc...

Gynae & nurse commented that given my condition, a 5th c-sect is not a problem. Nurse was saying can even gun for 6th... but gynae's record was 5 only.

Well, baby was placed on my chest for some time... after awhile, another nurse said she needed to take baby out for check & cleaning up... so HB left with baby.

While gynae sew up, they were talking about concerts... etc... I was drifting in & out... dozing off... cos tired out by all the excitement... but can feel the stitches lor... dull pain, not too bad, but certainly not too pleasant a feeling...

What was horrible was that towards the end of the stitching, I started to feel the side effects of the epidural... for the next 2hrs plus, I was shivering uncontrobably... it was just this involuntery shivering... so much so, my teeth were chattering & my throat started to feel dry cos I could hardly close my mouth... it was not till after 1plus that the shivering stop..

After that, felt like hero... cos except for the numbness in my legs (cannot move them at all), I was almost totally painless & very alert...

By the next morning, I was able to go to the toilet... & the first trip although nurse insisted on accompanying me, it was totally effortless... I was braving for the pain, but almost none... after that first trip on my feet, I seem to have found my freedom & mobility...

However hor... son realised it was shortlived lor... cos after the epi has worn off totally... all the pains (though milder by now) & aches sets in... not much diff fr a GA c-sect... just that for GA, pain is fairly intense s son s I came round, gadualy tapering off... with epi, it was painless hero on 1st 2 days... but when epi wears off, day 3 pains sets in... kind of anti-climatic cos when I got home.... beside coping with 's&^#$%' maid, there's pain to lor.. sigh... then my maid like wood head everything so overwhelmed like that, just stand & watch stupidly.... one of the moments I wished I had kept my previous phil gal... sigh...

ok lunch now... typed half way earlier en had to attend to my 3 princesses... so only just resumed after #1 went to sch, #3 nap & #2 went for walk with MIL...

bluen/mercs: so many buffet selection till i dunno what to choose. will be holding my man yue on feb 1, but now i haven confirm my guest list and caterer. think i gotta get my butt moving soon!

heh, today slp till 12pm! very very very shiok. haven been slping in for such a long time. i think its time to delegate day shift to maid and mil liao... but breasts feel so hard, could have slept more if not for the breasts!!!

mercs: bathed him with the herbs they say can bring dwn jaundices wor...not sure how true but juz true lor.... evening sun can meh? my PD says morning 8-9am sun wor

Zill: to me the jab at the spinal is very painful maybe cos i had low threshold for pain. . . Giggler: dr ang did mentioned that having to open the same spot again n again, the wound will become thinner n thinner. . .

BP for

1. Maclaren/Peg Perego/Maxi Cosi Strollers/Car Seats

2. Babymallonline, 2nd batch, still taking orders

3. Cot mobile / Play mats

4. Desitin creamy, california calendular cream still few pieces left. Also, drugstore spree closing Jan.

Pls PM me for info. Thanks

kamy/samval/dazed/ashley: me too.. was so bored yest.. but later my boss called and give me some work from home.. dun mind doing work during ML cos time passes faster lah =)

samval: get some drama serials to watch? But only 2 more days, will be very fast..

dazed: wah wish I got cable tv too =)

Wonder how ju is doing..

i oso got apply SCV but no time to watch....

ni: u still got time watch while bb's slping meh? i so busy doing this n that sia

dazed: I dunno lor... I think effect will wear off gradually... but up till 2nd evening, was still feeling ok... but by 3rd day am, can feel the pains setting in...

Mummies... no, I did not complain la.... am thinking maybe to write in when I'm more free... hee hee... yeah, come to think of it really not up to mark man...

Well, my 'neighbour' delivered at 26wks... baby was in NICU... so poor thing right... then I overheard from her 'loud' conversations... din mean to eavesdrop, but they were loud la... that her 1st was still born at 32wks... then this 2nd one premature at 26wks wor... baby only 996g... (see I could record all her details man)... hee hee... then think so poor thing... if hospital dun make noise, abt HB staying, think she'd appreciate the HB's company la... I make noise for what... I mean I also lost 2 babies, can undestand her anxieties... then 26wks wor... less than 1kg, baby's survival also a question... live & let live la...

Then I'm naturally light sleeper one... even if alone in room, I'll wake up the moment nurse opens the door... (hee hee can't spring surprise on me one... unless I'm dead tired... hahaha)... so dun be so zi jiao la... so I let it be lor...

But then hor... on 2nd day, when her HB decide to go home, she had the cheek to call nurse in & complain my TV too loud!

I hit the roof man... I was like huh? They talked non-stop the 1st night... even had tv on till very late... cos I think she was resting after op & HB bored, so had tv on... then when she was better, they kept talking la...

Then 2nd night, her HB still around at close to mid-night, I was like? Huh? Staying again ah? Then my family not around cos all were at the wedding ma... I was getting bored... so turned on tv to watch news... then ai yeah I always multi-task... watching tv & reading papers at the same time... hahaha... the min her HB left, she turn off tv, then called in the nurse... then the next moment, I was requested to turn down my vol or put on head phone... I hit the roof, almost screamed at nurse... Hey, hello, when her tv was on, I could hear her tv better than mine lor... but of course after turning hers off, my certainly sound loud in the dead of the night what... well, I turned off tv la... but was furious lor... this was only when I questioned the nurse on why her HB was allowed to stay overnight... they just say, dun angry la...

Then so funny, the next moment, a nurse came in & took my BP... naturally my BP went up to 120... typically was below 110... & the next moment, she asked the funny questions, any contractions? Got show? I was like, hello, my BP went up cos of the incident that just past, what contraction & show? Beside, dun they know I had already given birth? That was when I questioned her & she realised she was recording in the wrong file!

I was thinking... 'AGAIN'? This is unbelievable!

I've already discharged... paid up liao... dun care abt what discount... if service is pathetic... dun expect this 'loyal' customer to ever return again lor...

Well, anyway, after everything, then my HB related his conversation with one of our GP friends at my sis' wedding... apparantly, Parkway Group had some bad investment & group is running into problem... maybe that's why the management at GlenE is detriorating...

Also, out of curiousity, we surfed the web to check out hospital rates.... (had never bothered to do that cos love my gynae... been with him for last 8 yrs... & have been at GlenE since I started seeing him... so never considered another hospital...) realised Mt E rates even lower than GlenE's! I was thinking, S%^&, should have gone to Mt E man... that's the most prestigous hospital right... but still cheaper than GlenE le...

Well, we think due to Parkway's bad investment, & poor management, many doctors are leaving Mt E... as a result, Mt E has dropped rates to attract patients... maybe GlenE's management also affect & service standards have dropped...

Too bad la... what can they do? Doubt they can gurantee super service for my next visit what... hahaha...

Samval: Since you are already on leave, take this time to pamper yourself lor... go for a walk, shop, eat!

Before I delivered, we really went for all the good food man... hee hee... on NY day, we went for tim sum at Red Star... then went Chinatown for all the delicious traditional desserts... Then few days later, went for seafood! Had prawns, fish, crabs - done in 2 ways some more! Had Chilli crab & Steam Ginger Crab... I was like... huh? Order so much? Can finish or not... FIL says, never mind, we just eat... cannot then pack home... well, in the end, after 2hrs, we did finish most of the food... which was shocking to me lor... cos before PILs stay with us, we will never go eat seafood... cos both HB & I small eater... can't even finish 1 small crab & 1 bee hoon lor... we tried a few times, but always end up throwing away... cos can't finish... so never tried again after that... hahaha... dunno that night the company... or becos I going to kanna 'starved'... or what... HB, me, PILs, maid & kids did finish all those food...

Then the day before I delivered, I went Taka for walk, had my hair cut, ate durian pan cakes... wanted to buy pineapple tarts but did not find a delicious one... HB wanted to buy Bens & Jerry for me... but I told him late liao... may not be able to eat by the time I get home... then dun wish to see ice cream lying around in fridge but I can't eat... then worse if they eat, I can only see... more pek chek... so told him not to buy... & told him they cannot eat my favourite food during my confinement, if not, he kanna from me... hee hee...

wow...
ni
very shiok hor... how come din try to catch so sleep when bb is sleeping??

i think i might be like u also... to have some "Me" time wehn bb is sleeping... and only sleep when REALLY TOO tired...

ni, hehe... dun want lah, oni on ml then will be watching mah... maybe after confinement no watch wasted wor... i already borrowed 8 books from library.. keke...

emQ...
aiyo...the way u described GlenE seems so scary... i compared the rates from the leaflet given, Mt E still more ex than GlenE ma... I already got the admission letter from the hospital alraedy. Can I still change now? But my gynae also stationed at level 8 of GlenE medical tower, I also not sure whether he will go to another hospital for delivery ornot... Will he charge differently?
mmm

ni:now SCV show all very sian..i only watch the chinese movie channel but hor all repeat want.you alone handle bb sure not enough sleep still got time to watch tv ah??u not tired meh??

me until now still dun't really have a gd sleep..while bb cry, i will awake that's y even sleep more also feel tired..haiz..

sperzz:ya lor..you still have your boy to take care wor..more jialat then me..for me..luckly i have mum help me during at night..if my mum tired..i will help for 1-3 hrs..then the rest my mum will handle liao..my bb drink his milk can take 1-2hrs leh..dame tired lor..cos he half sleep while drinking his milk leh..sometime naghty leh..dun want to sleep want us to carry and walk here and there before sleep..if we put him down..he will start to cry liao..haiz ba tan han ah..:p

cjteng: ya lor still need to worry abt my son sch work. my maid still abit slow. Giving her chance to learn. Most difficult is that she cant understand much English. Everything had to do example to her. But she can take care of my BB. My Bb seem to like her too. At nite my maid no help mi bec she slp like a log. No noise can wake her up

sprezz:at least she can handle bb..ya give her time..once she can cope liao..u will be much more relax..so endure first ba..

mo3: No le... did you look at the maternity package or the normal room & board rates? I was comparing the maternity packages le... & I found the site only after I called them for infor...

I realised we just presumed the previous maternity packages remains the same... then neither clinic nor hospital gave us the hard copy... previous deliveries, both hospital & clinic also gave us updated copies of maternity packages... we even had them filed in each kid's delivery file... so I called them when I was doing last min checks on the nec docs, etc...

Mt E is cheaper than GlenE... not much though... but definitely cheaper... then HB says dunno la, there's a 'not included in the list items'... so maybe Mt E charges less but more items not included...

cjteng,
that's exactly what is happening to my baby too. drink milk she is ok, takes abt 15min to half hr, depending on how hungry she is. but the minute u put her on the cot, she will whine. my cl got to pick her up, hum her songs, walk here and there, wait for her to fall into deep sleep, then can put down. when the cl goes home, i siao liao!

wonder if we have let baby learn the wrong sleep associations? my #1 had a lot of trouble falling asleep too, so i was quite determined not to let the same thing happen to my #2, but seems like history is repeating itself... sigh

and handling a toddler and a NB is no easy business... sigh sigh

twws: I think all BB wan to carry. My gal also like this. Once wake up will cry n cry to carry. I think we cannot escape from carrying them to make them stop crying.

twws:ya lor..I also worry that we carry to much..or giving them the wrong sleep associations..haiz..i guess after bb is toddler will be much more easy to handle ba..

sperzz,
i read the gina ford contented little baby book, and find her routines so idealized! she proposes putting baby down when she is drowsy, and not to help her fall asleep to prevent wrong sleep associations. but we're being held hostage cos bb won't sleep without us helping them fall asleep! so difficult, right?

cjteng,
toddler so much more easy to handle, not so fragile also. i was getting so comfortable with handling my son already, now got to go back to caring for NB, it's really a drastic change.

twws: i also have this problem as u... after drinking milk, bb is so drowsy, but once put him down on his cot, start crying and want pple to carry... hb say just leave him lone to cry, tired liao will slp, but hw can ren xin? still so small... alwes cry till machiam sore thorat...

EMQ: looks like u got a terrible experience with GlenE! Pay so much yet tis kinda service! i got very gd service with MT A. very satisfied! once call the bell, they come like almost imediately.

and EMQ: i had Red Star on NY day too! how come neer see u and ur family there??? The night after i had Red Star dim sum, my waterbag burst! haha...

cjteng: i never take care bb alone la. my maid is of good help. she do day shift i do nite shift. thats why day time i more free. can watch tvb drama!

cjteng,
yes things will definitely get better. we just hv to hang in there!

ni,
TMC service was good also, even in a 2-bedder ward like mine.

Ni: I had very good experiences previously... so have not considered an alternative hospital... even when I had my ectopic surgery, could have gone to NUH, nearer home & cheaper la... but since GlenE service gd & gynae is there, just went lor...

What time were you at Red Star? I think we were there abt 11+am Place was so crowded... I met my colleague on our way there... I was waiting for the lift but she decided to take the stairs... in the end, did not see her the entire lunch! Think place was simply too big & crowded... hee hee..

kamy > wat's e size of ur bb now?
ya,now i everyday tell my gal to burst her own waterbag so mama no need go for
Csection.

mercs > ya,gynae says either i can induce on EDD or delay another 3 days after EDD.
but i dunno by then ,shld be induce also right?
he says if induce liao,cervix still not open,den got to Csection.

INDUCE additional cost?

suika > dunwan la,i try not to go for C-section.

ni,sus> Thanks,everyday i ask my gal to self-service

Giggler > really more ex? i tht Csection more ex leh.
i wonder can i induce liao,den go home and wait for dilation.

twws: Yes, toddlers are not easy to handle... I'm facing it too... when I had #2, #1 was already 5+... we had a fair bit of jealousy issues... attention seeking, etc... but being 5+, she was matured enough & we could talk & reason ith her...

But now, #2 is only 18mths.... & a very active & cheeky toddler at that!

The first day baby came home, I had to separate the 3 gals! #1 was patting baby & #2 wanted a piece of the action too... it ended up both fighting for a piece of the baby, each gal grabbing a leg while I was carrying baby! Imagaine, what a warm welcome for lil baby....

EMQ: i was at Red Star around 1plus. so i think by then u might have already finished ur food and go off liao... =)

babystarlet: walk more! induce birth

hi everyone, i wan to ask how to have more milk flow.. i pump out only 30ml.. not enough for my girl to drink.. my girl now drinking 90ml already.. how how?? help me..

Hello mummies, I have just finished my 7 days massage session with Ida's sister, Mas (Hp : 90068026). She's really good. I can see a big difference in my tummy, its so much flatter! During the session, she helped me check my stitches, bath & massage baby too. So happy with her service. If any mummies still looking for ML, she's highly recommanded

Anyone know how soon we can start doing sit-ups? Wana tone up my tummy

Fiona, How often do you pump? Must pump frequently (every 3 hours) to get the milk flow going. Must also drink at least 2 litres of water and I am also taking fenugreek. Don't give up okies? Jia you!

EMQ, wow, didn't know service is so bad at GlenE. So not worth the money, but at least your gynae is good yah!

May I check if any babies spit out milk after every feed? My baby always spit out quite alot of milk after every feeding, then he gets hungry quite easily...