(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

gwen, i'm keen, jh daddy not keen. prob i'll bring him myself, but these 2 months kind of busy leh, with x'mas, new year and birthdays coming...

Morning mummies.

I had ordered Delia's bday cake liao. Left food to order. then will need to juz wait for the day to come.

But 1 thing I very disappointed is that I cant invite alot of pple.

emq: ya right. i'm giving up my taitai day plan tdy. hai.. feel so moody now

Dazed: Huh? They charge RM50 for playpen? I probably need 2 (for Yen & my niece)!
Yes, there is 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom & 4-bedroom units. I think 4-bedroom is RM720, plus festive season surcharge. & strange, they told me b'fast is RM15, 50% for children 6-12.

How many toilets are there in your 2-bedroom unit? We prefer to all stay together in a bigger unit, but if there is only 1 or 2 toilets, can imagine what a nightmare for so many pp & the amount of time needed for all to get ready!

I dun think we will cook (since only staying 1 night), but the microwave would be good for heating up baby food, etc.

Is the food served at the restaurant tasty? We will probably take dinner out. Every CNY my family goes to Desaru, Pengaran for the butter lobsters. The price has gone up over the years, but still much cheaper than in Sg & we just love their butter lobsters. Before the kids came, we used to drive up at least once a month to eat it! But with the many lil ones, very difficult... so now only during special occasions.

Then of course we are bringing the kids to play with fireworks. It's an experience no longer available in Sg. Hee hee... they probably just cower in fear of the noise.

Jan: Dun feel moody la... lots of things you can do with Shyan too... or you wanna take her here for a swim? Just hop on the shuttle bus outside Mos Burger.

You can come later in the afternoon.

i need help, i am planning the food for my Christmas party, however besides the normal ham and turkey,what else is suitable to be served ?

dazed: wat interesting about desaru? besides the beach? my hb wants to drive up....
dunno wanna go desaru or the other resort...(shit i forget the name...)

emq, 2 bedroom got 2 toilets. yah lor, we were surprised to that they charge... anyway, the place is very new, and staff are pretty inexperienced. for mine, they din charge cos they forgot to tell us when we request. subsequently, they called us to inform us only after they brought up and fixed up the playyard, and my dad told them they are free to bring back... and they din charge us lor... hehe...

if 1 night then you can't us my coupon liao, cos mine is 2 nights. yah, can drive up to pengarang for seafood. i dun think can play fireworks there though. the security is quite strict!

ladies: very very tired lor. last night shyan i think block nose, every hour i have to on light to find her pacifier cos she make noise almost every hour.

i have been having back pain for the past one week due to too much carrying of shyan. and now having menstrual cramps. argh!!! super sian..

then my sil bringing over all 3 kids later cos she gg out. i am too tired to bring shyan out. so i will just stay at my mum place and help to jaga all the kids

alot of things not done. haven't go and take my photo at cisco for the civil servant card. haven't register myself for the EPT, haven't go and do my hair, like grass now. haven't settle shyan birthday party

sperzz: did you get my message? i think tdy will not be going out liao. next week then i meet u ok?

ashley / mercs, easy to drive up. just follow signs quite easy... kota tinggi road and look out for signboard to desaru. attractions ah? beach lor, and seafood if you drive out to pengarang. basically rest and relax only. JH had fun playing with the sand! and this little fella saw the sea waves and immediately crawlled towards the water, like a new born turtle like that!

dazed: i not worry about the routes there...my hubby sure know how to drive one. i just scared nothing to do there lor...well...beachplay is not my interest....perhaps kyler only..
pengarang is my MIL home town! ya..the seafood there so nice and fresh man!

janjan: at least u still have chance to clean yr dog shit...i wanna clean my family dog shit also no chance liao...she passed away yday...

merc: i hate to clean dog shit.lol. she seldom shit at home one. must be these few days the gras downstairs wet, she no shiok, so come up liao want to shit some more.

i am thinking of putting shyan in IFC leh. but hubby say no.

for lotus resort, they have swimming pool at the club house, plus a pool at block B and a new pool with slides and attractions at block A, scheduled to complete mid Dec, din get to use it but saw liao quite nice... then clubhouse got a kids playroom for free use. also can rent mahjong, bicycle, board games, beach volleyball etc... if driving up to pengarang, can go visit fruit farm and ostrich farm. then i know once a month one of the sat got pasar malam at pengarang. my aunt stays there... in fact, my dad was saying maybe will go again mid dec.

jan: IFC will fall sick quite easily. But overall i think quite ok, my boy started walking at 9 months, cos his teachers always encourage him to walk. But importantly the ratio, mine is still one is to 2, i hope will remain like this till he go to playgroup :p

Oh ya, ifc baby mummies, for your baby first birthday, will you be buying a cake and giving small presents to the other babies? My hubby seems very eager to do it, cos we receive presents from other babie's on their birthday.

ashley: ya lor. thats why the daddy said a flat no just now :D

but i am very frustrated now!!! i dowan shyan to grow with in a grouchy & rowdy environment. scared she will learn and affect the development of her personality

jan: arr true true, esp now they absorb everything! In IFC, they play music for them all the time which i like. Now, my baby seems to like going to IFC and very friendly towards other children.

i think i am very contradicting leh.. one moment i want me-time and when i am happily upstairs enjoying myself, i feel guilty that i am not downstairs helping out. argh.. wat am i thinking man...

tdy must have been a true not-me day for me

ni: my mama house got 6 girls, age 2 months, 11months (shyan), 3yo, 5yo, 6yo and 9yo. all making noise at the same time. u think will be rowdy or not? and when they all notti, my mama will be super grouchy lor.

and the oldest member (70yo grandmother) just went back home cos their part time maid coming over.

i seriously think my mum is taking on more than she can chew. so she is starting to get grouchy and touchy. see liao very pek chek.

if i go down and help, i will be asking why i must look after other pple children also. if i dun go down and help, i feel guilty. thats why i choose to bring shyan out, so that i won't feel guilty i not helping and yet i won't feel grouchy that i am helping to take care of other pple children. u know wat i mean...? and now i take her out until i too tired liao. my back aching, stomach cramping and eyes twitching cos not enough sleep

janjan: wow, i seriously think ur mum is overloaded too! even in IFC also, one teacher to 5 kids. your mum is 6 kids leh!!! but actually hor, your SIL not working why she dun wan to at least help out in taking care of 1 kid, instead of throwing all 3 to your mum. if wan to say irresponsible, i think she more leh...

ni: usually she put 2 only. the youngest she look after. but tdy she want to go out, so gg to tompang all here.

ystdy my lil assistant very disappointed. so i told my sil maybe next week we bring her and the middle girl go taka lah. then my mum say she canno handle shyan and baby. so i suggest to her she bring her baby, so leave shyan w mum. see lah.. i think i too nice leh... volunteer to drive her and the 3 kiddos there. means i gotta help her see the older ones. and poor shyan cannot go... :D

my sil i also dunno wat to say. think she also stress.. 24hours with the baby.. can be very tiring and frustrasting lor. so once in a while some me-time for her should be ok ba

Ashley: Desaru quite easy. I'm not for driving into M'sia these days, after all those reports. But if travelling in a bigger group, I'm fine with Melaka, Desaru, JB. Signs are quite easy to follow. But for starters, would be good to travel with pp who have been there. Or use GPS? I've not tried using GPS in m'sia though.

As for Christmas meal, it all depends on what you like. I dun think there is a need to serve traditional Xmas dishes, since we are not 'ang mo' & it's not exactly our culture. We like to go for a cross, providing a range that is suitable for 'old' asian paletes too.. but the old folks at home have learnt to take turkey & ham la.. you can serve pasta, salad, bread pudding, fruit cake, roast chicken for the more 'traditional' dishes or go asian with stuffs like curry chicken/pork ribs, popiah, mee siam, bee hoon, nuggets, sushi, sandwiches, etc.

mercs: Nothing much at Desaru... except pool, beach, food. That's why we decided to keep to 1 night only.

sperzz: ya lor. i now trying to ren.. dowan to go to 5th floor. wait kenna stuck by my sticky bum-bum girl again

so now i'm trying to do my thing.. and one more thing i need to do is sleep... haha

Jan: With so many children at home, we need to burn off their energy. If possible, can consider bringing them downstairs to play? Sometimes, I just lug all to the library, or bookshop, better still, toys r us! They'd have a good time playing with the toys, 'running' around, burning off all their excess energy.. after that, when all are tired, feed them, then bring them home to ZZzzzzzzz... try it, I find super effective... hahaha...

A bit more tiring for us (than if we stay home), but definitely saner & when they all knock out, we can have our bit of rest too...

Yesterday, I lug kids & PILs to the zoo from 10am-6pm. Got home, FIL & maid cooked dinner while MIL & I minded the kids. We expected the kids to kong out, but strangely, after a short rest & dinner, all 3 were up & about again... but by 9+/10, all kong out till this morning 8am! Shiok lor... cos my kids never turn in before mid-night one... hahaha...

Dazed: Lotus seems quite nice... no worries about the coupons. We still need to do the customary visiting on the 1st day, so can only go on the 2nd-3rd day since resume work on 4th day, so can only stay for a night.

Cannot play fireworks in the resort itself (not safe), gotta go to the beach. So it's either beach of the resort (if there are pp doing it) or drive out to 'no man's land' part of the beach. During their festive season, sure got pp let off fireworks, just need to see where they are doing it... hee hee...

I dunno la, my dad has his contacts... will also need to call them early to get them to help purchase the fireworks 1st...

Hi Mummies, Just to share, Saw from the March thread, There will be cater's warehouse sales coming up. Anyone went there previous years?

The sales is at the below address. :)
Gimmil sales
43 TAMPINES STREET 92 SINGAPORE SINGAPORE 528887
17 dec to 19 dec
9am to 9pm

Jan: Yup, nice weather to sleep... & after you are refreshed, you'd be in a better frame to go play with the kids. Actually, the girls are all very big liao, can do more structured stuff with them. Get them some fun IQ booklets that they can challenge against one another (5, 6, 9 can do this), some colouring booklets for (Shyan, 3, 5 & 6)..

Can also bake cookies with them (but must make sure the older ones help to clean up), if u have an oven. Or buy ready made cookies, run over to Phoon Huat (near bus interchange) to get icing & get them to decorate. This can use up half an afternoon. After that, make them nice milo & have a hi-tea at home...

When we have more structured activities, the kids are more likely to cooperate and we dun get driven up the walls... hahaha...

The 5, 6 & 9 can do cross-stitch - I like cos once they are hooked, they will be very quite for an afternoon, trying to complete their master pieces...

My girls are resting now, once they up, will have to get my butt moving.. I think the older ones at your side are easier to handle lor.. I'm so worn out by my #2 & #3, so active... but #2 is beginning to settle down much more... think she's growing up liao...

emq: thanks for the suggestions. they are not my kids, so i cannot be bothered. haha. i tot of taking shyan to the library also.. got story telling at 7pm every evening. but dunno if she can guai guai sit still or not.

i only concern that my mum so stress and black face hor, wait shyan learn from her, next time always black face also. and my parents like to say in front of my niece bad things abt their mother. i feel that is very bad also. i always stop them then they not happy. as for the other 2 girls, they are my nieghbours girls, so i dun care the least abt them. haha

having said that, one thing good abt my mum is, all kids MUST nap in the afternoon. like it or not, she has a way to make them all sleep.. irregardless of age. in that way, she get some peace also

u notice i only bring shyan or one of my nieces out.. this is to lighten mums load and also to make sure shyan doesn't catch their 'virus'

Precious_bb: Carters warehouse sale nice... but I think more for bb items. I went last year & grabbed a few nice rompers, but now that #3 is so big, not sure if can still find good buys... can get some for my niece though. Think will still ask HB to drive me there to look see. I'm waiting for Poney warehouse sale. Will go grab their dresses man... hahaha... & the 2 venue quite near each other...

Thanks for sharing yeah..

OMG, just realised the Carters Sale is happening when I am out of town. Sigh.. too bad.. maybe send my sis to go check it out.

haha.. i remember carters sale i went with 4 other mummies here.. all of us with huge tummy... if remember correctly its, me, pat, ni, suika and piyo? that was the first outing i had with mummies. then i keep saying i wanna eat junk food so we ended up at pizze hut after the sale.

time pass so fast man.. so fast one year liao

Jan: Oh... I thought all are your nieces... but why is your mum's neighbour dumping their kids on your mum? Your mum is too nice liao la.. hahaha...

Cos my mum sure won't do that... I think she had enough of her own brood... hahaha... she won't even want to look after her grandkids lor.. thankfully my MIL still ok...

Hey, thanks for the 'suggestion'... since I have the car today, I shall drive my brood to Queenstown library later this afternoon.

emq: no lah.. not all my niece. my bro only got 3 girls.. the neighbour put here cos their maid went back to filo then dowan to come back. they are in the midst of engagin new maid and now is school hols, nobody to jaga their kids. my mum offer to help lor. thankfully they are quite big, so no need to entertain them the way i entertain my niece and shyan. haha

u not working tdy?

maybe later i will bring her to the nieghbourhood children library. test test see if shyan can spare the story teller some attn or not.

suika: haha.. yalor.. the hot topic... and i remember us taking turns to queue for payment then go and dig for our stuff... i still got one toddler set (2T) waiting for shyan to be tall enough to wear.

suika: lol i still remember u complain say boy got nothing to buy. end up u spend most money. i was the only one expecting girl then, i spent the least. hehe..

glad that all these while shyan wears alot of old clothes from my nieces.. so i save quite a fair bit liao